Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 121 Play by Play and Discussion Thread. WILL CONTAIN SPOILERS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭poldebruin

...except he just walked into a simple takedown. This looks done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

Is Sanchez saying 'Ha' everytime he punches? Like a punch gets past the guard, 'Ha.' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Bonavox

Sanchez is capitalising on Tiago being tired, great fight.

Great performance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Teaching MA in TESOL in a uni.

Nice one, been looking into it. Would you recommend it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

FOTN. Nightmare is back

Bonavox wrote: »
    Sanchez is capitalising on Tiago being tired, great fight.

The reply of that Dars (sp?) choke attempt just showed how tired he was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

FOTN so far.

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    Nice one, been looking into it. Would you recommend it?

Which one? Teaching in Korea or getting an MA? I would recommend both. Check out the Lecturing and Teaching forum, big thread there on TEFL in Korea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭FreeOSCAR

Great fight, ****ing love Sanchez when he's on form.

Sanchez needed that win badly, his star was on the wane. He looked really good after the first. Definite FOTN so far.

Given their present conditions I'd have Tito for that fight. It's a wonder Chuck doesn't knock himself out when he sneezes these days.

He deserves some sort of bonus for it anyway. Unless Jake "Wet Blanket" Shields can step up against Kampmann we have a FOTN already.... Or Cain-Brock could be a screamer.

Shields by RNC or GC.

Jake Shields vs. Martin Kampmann

Don't know a lot about these guys. Any prospects?

Hope Kampmann takes this. I'd like to see a Strikeforce guy come in and beat a top UFC fighter just to prove that there's more than one fight organization but Shields is so boring in his fights, it's hard to get behind him.

J

Well lets just say if there ever was an Anti-FOTN it'd be GSP-Shields. I like Kampmann though he's exciting enough.

i'd like to see Kampman win here, but i think Shields will be favourite?

Jake Shields vs. Martin Kampmann

Kampmann is a UFC veteran from Denmark that usually fights the top level guys in the division, has a very impressive record. Shields has had huge success in other organizations and was poached by the UFC while he was still a champion. Far from Prospects, if Shields wins this he will get a title fight against GSP, if Kampmann wins he gets a fight for a title shot.

Shocked they introduced Shields as a world champion there, they usually wouldn't even dream of recognizing Strikeforce :pac:

poldebruin wrote: »
    i'd like to see Kampman win here, but i think Shields will be favourite?

Ah yeh, sure look at some of the names he has beaten.

Paul Daley, Okami, Henderson, Condit, Mayhem Miller, Mike Pyle.

Oh_Noes wrote: »
    Kampmann is a UFC veteran from Denmark that usually fights the top level guys in the division, has a very impressive record. Shields has had huge success in other organizations and was poached by the UFC while he was still a champion. Far from Prospects, if Shields wins this he will get a title fight against GSP, if Kampmann wins he gets a fight for a title shot.

Shocked they introduced Shields as a world champion there, they usually wouldn't even dream of recognizing Strikeforce :pac:

Much appreciated. Heard the names before but didn't see them fight.

come on kampmann, let your hands go.

Definitely hurt Shields with those knees.

sure did, and he looks a bit tired all of a sudden. if kampmann can stay on his feet in the third he has a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

Jake Shields fights are always so god damned awful. He just lies on people and does no damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Kampmann can finish him in this I think

John McCarthy is doing a terrible job tonight. He really needs to stop looking to stamp his authority on it all the time, especially in pivotal moments of fights.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

I think Kampmann is winning this, his knees are doing huge damage and he's getting up easily from the ground.

Shields looks really tired, i'd give that round to Kampman, although it could have gone the other way.

Wow Shields just giving up more or less.

yep, he gassed really badly, Rogan suggesting there was a huge weight cut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Kampmann could have easily finished that fight in the 3rd if he kept it up and put pressure on, lost due to been silly, well i think he lost!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

why didn't kampmann just stand up - the scorecards will be interesting now. can't see them giving it to kampman

And the winner is....

16 lbs I think

Really boring fight, I blame shields.

He's been fighting at 185 for a while but I always thought that was just because Nick Diaz is the 170 champ in Strikeforce and they were avoiding each other because they train together. Never seen him run out of gas like that though, maybe he should actually go back up to 185.

An unpopular decision there.

Was it just me or did the judges take longer than usual to make a decision?

I can see him taking GSP if he's strong for the fight. Other than that I'm pissed at that result. Fecking Kampmann could've taken him.

Thrown away by Kampman

the 30-27 score to shields was ridiculous.Well Kampman has only himself to blame there. Not impressed by Jake Shields at all - did no damage and a very uninspiring style. lay and pray i think they call it?

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

COME ON BROCK!

Finally a fight that won't be going to a decision.

Would love to see Cain win, but have a feeling Brock will take it.

I like Cain, but I like Brock more.

Rooting for Brock here, has FOTN written all over it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

War Cain.....:)

someone is getting knocked out 1st rd, Lesnar i think!!!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

cowzerp wrote: »
    War Cain.....:)

someone is getting knocked out, Lesnar i think!!!

More like you Hope....I want Cain to win but I'm still doubting it.

Rooting for Brock here, has FOTN written all over it too.

They'll have a hard job tackling that cracking Sanchez vs. Thiago fight for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

c'mon Brock. He's a viking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

Good evening Cowzer!

Brock KO or Cain Sub. I'm easy with either of these results. Just want a real war.