Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connemara Half maratho..??

• 23-10-2010 10:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭

I finished c25k in Aug and am have run 10K the last few weeks, not finding it too bad. Am thinking tho that I need a challenge to work towards. Am still veeerry slow just over 1hr for 10K......but..... was thinking I might try the Connemara half in April. Just wondering if any other new runners have done this, or are doing it this year. Obviously Id have to sign up soon and its expensive enough to be signing up on the offchance I may do it or not.
    Just thinking with weather colder and winter really setting in be good to have something to aim towards. All advice appreciated!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,541 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Just do it! It was my first half marathon, when I was new to running, and what a great way to pop your cherry. Go for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sarsfieldsrock

Just do it! It was my first half marathon, when I was new to running, and what a great way to pop your cherry. Go for it!

I would say go for it too.
    But somebody else might have been in America for just too long!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Countess Macky

With all the DCM chat at the mo, I’m thinking of giving the half in Connemara a go. There I’ve said it now so I’ll have to!

Like you I feel that I’m ready for the challenge – I’ve been happily running 5 and 10 kms for too long now. I’ve made a start reading the Half Marathon Support thread – lots of great advice there. I just need to start the proper training now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

I've signed up, even though I haven't ran my first race yet since taking up the Couch to 5 Mile plan 5 weeks ago or so!

It seems like a very well-organised event and I've heard great reviews of it.

When are you starting the training for it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Absolutely, do it. You've got lots of time to train up to that distance. As Krusty says, Conn is a great way to break your duck, as much for the experience of the whole day as for the run itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭maria74

Break duck...pop cherry....??:P
    Suppose Ill have to do it now!
    Looked out window this morning and it has been raining and leaves are off all the trees..uggghhh! Horrible day but I did long run yesterday (11k) so maybe the sun will come back tomorow?
    Checked out the finishing times from last year Connemara and thought yeah..I could do that. Then I saw the route and patic. the hill profile! Looks scary..especially at the start. :confused:

Yep you'd need to put in a bit of hill work beforehand otherwise the first mile and the Hell of the West :eek: might come as a surprise. But the extra challenge is all part of the experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Signed up for this half marathon too, as the next step in my running progression..

I dont know anyone else in it, but one of the lads I met from the boards running club said it was a good bit of craic, so thats good enough for me :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

would love to do connemara half , its suppose to be really tough though , lots of hills but the scenery over there is just superb , had planned to do it for 2011 but think i will be out of the country so wont be signing up .

think i might be able to do this now , anyone here any idea when it was sold out last year ? may need a bit more time to decide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭jb-ski

Seres wrote: »
    think i might be able to do this now , anyone here any idea when it was sold out last year ? may need a bit more time to decide

hi S,

sold out last year early/mid December,
    it's at about 2,600 entries now, according to Conn website.

(hope to see you over there)

thanks jbski

was just lookin at the website there , €70 for the half seems a bit stiff , it was €88 for GF and that was a bit much , whats the story ? was it that last year ?

The cost of Conn is an annual debate. However when you see what's involved with this particular event it begins to make some sense. Unfortunately lesser events think that they can take that price as a sort of benchmark.

RoyMcC wrote: »
    The cost of Conn is an annual debate. However when you see what's involved with this particular event it begins to make some sense. Unfortunately lesser events think that they can take that price as a sort of benchmark.
    if you can outline the extras of this race over and above the other then i may reconsider?, i want to do the race but i feel i need some sort of justification for the spend . Who runs it , is it a couple of the members of athenry ac ?

Seres wrote: »
    if you can outline the extras of this race over and above the other then i may reconsider?, i want to do the race but i feel i need some sort of justification for the spend . Who runs it , is it a couple of the members of athenry ac ?

I'm sure aburke of this parish would give you further info. However it's unlike most other races in that the logistics of bussing everyone from Galway and elsewhere into Connemara is a huge logistical and (no doubt) very expensive task. The whole race weekend is run very professionally - as well as any I've taken part in.

But what's value for one person may not be value for the next. For me (and many others) the experience of racing in that environment is worth the extra €€s

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Im about to "Press the Button" on the registration on this as I hear its very good, but with a "cot midget" on the way in January it could play hell with my training! :)

I did the Westport 1/2 back in Sept in 2hrs so I would say this is a good bit tougher.

yop wrote: »
    Im about to "Press the Button" on the registration on this as I hear its very good, but with a "cot midget" on the way in January it could play hell with my training! :)

I did the Westport 1/2 back in Sept in 2hrs so I would say this is a good bit tougher.
    you can defer for one year , already checked for myself , the young one would be well on the way by 2012 conn if you couldnt make 2011 , think i might go for it too despite the cost ,three months would be great time to train for the HM and could do craughwell 10mi as my builder race , im in love with connemara since GF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Bit the bullet today and signed up for the half, that said there is about a 50-50 chance that I'm going to switch my registration to the full. I've got Galway demons to exorcise. :)

Am really looking forward to this..seems like ages away but am keeping it in my sights when I am doing those long runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭jb-ski

But what's value for one person may not be value for the next. For me (and many others) the experience of racing in that environment is worth the extra €€s

@ Seres,
    it's not just the €70 for the race, there are accommodation costs, eating, drinking etc.
    It's a weekend away for us, an event, as distinct from just a race. we're heading to Clifden for the 3rd time with a group of fellow runners, and i'm looking forward to it already.

Also I left 9 minutes behind last year between Leenane and Maam which I want to reclaim this year!:)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,517 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Really debating signing up for this, will be running my second half in Waterford in December and want to do the full marathon in April but pretty steep at 70e

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Cabaal wrote: »
    Really debating signing up for this, will be running my second half in Waterford in December and want to do the full marathon in April but pretty steep at 70e

"You can do it" :)

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭itsalltrue

i ran it last year and it was my 2nd half mararthon, one of the hardest races ever. But it was really hot that day up at 25 degrees with no shade.

Enjoyed the race but it was really hard,the last hill from 10.5 to 12 miles was long and hard. I ran the kildare half 3 weeks later and was 9 minutes quicker. Make sure to include loads of hill work in your training and be wary of the start. I was been honest and started in the middle of the group to let the quick runners go out front. After around 400m you take a left turn up the first hill and the number of people walking was terrible, if they had planned to do that they should have went to the back, it was really congested and slowed me down by 2 minutes for the 1st mile. Considering the walkers were allowed go an hour early i was shocked. I put it down to people who woke up one morning and decided they would run the race with no training and when they hit the first hill it was all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Just in case anyone's still on the fence about it, an email was sent this morning saying that it is about to sell out.
    The 2011 Connemarathon is about to Sell Out.

Please ensure immediately that your entry has been successful.
    You can check your entry online here
    www.connemarathon.com/search/searchentrants/
    The database is updated every 12 hours.

If you tried to enter before January 4th and your name is
    not listed, you are currently not entered into the
    2011 Connemarathon. You must enter your details again and
    proceed to checkout to pay for your entry.
    http://www.connemarathon.com/connemarathon-entry-form-2011

• Registered Users Posts: 408 ✭✭PIORUN

Signed up for half yesterday, was nearly put off by price but heard it was worth it. Using it as training for full in Limerick in May, home town race.
    Done Dingle full last September and found it very very tough. I am thinking that Connemara will be more of the same.:) Bring on the hills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Signed up today for the half. Time to start training again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

I cant believe it's sold out already, I was about to sign up.

Birroc wrote: »
    I cant believe it's sold out already, I was about to sign up.
    yeah right you were Birroc.............:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Signed up myself and a friend of mine yesterday at 1.45pm. €140 was charged from my acc but I have yet to see my name pop up on the entry list, is this usual or should I be ringing someone to make sure I'm in?

Can't wait for it though!

Signed up myself and a friend of mine yesterday at 1.45pm. €140 was charged from my acc but I have yet to see my name pop up on the entry list, is this usual or should I be ringing someone to make sure I'm in?

Can't wait for it though!
    I'd give them a ring podge. Im the opposite, myself and my friend are on entry list but money hasn't come out yet.
    Email: Ray [ray@proactive.ie], he is very helpful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

PIORUN wrote: »
    yeah right you were Birroc.............:)

Well I did the last 2 so was going for 3-in-a-row. Never signed up before 6th Jan in the past and had no problems. Will do Craughwell 10 and Limerick half instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭WalterMitty

Do cancellations come up for this race at all due to injuries, personal stuff etc? A few friends signed up and i left it too late as im only starting running past few weeks and wasnt sure if i would be able for it.

No you won't get in now WM - probably just as well as it would be a big ask if you're just starting out. Suggestion - put your name down for stewarding or something. Be a part of it and cheer your mates on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

PIORUN wrote: »
    I'd give them a ring podge. Im the opposite, myself and my friend are on entry list but money hasn't come out yet.
    Email: Ray [ray@proactive.ie], he is very helpful.

You are right, Ray is extemely helpful, said they had a few problems on the list but all fixed now. That was big weight off my mind. Thanks for the email address it was a big help.

OK its 12 weeks!
    Seems to be a few people starting plans now for Connemara Half. Are you starting from week 1? I am thinking I might start week 2, and try to hit 11 miles before the day? (little voice in my head is laughing loudly at this after yesterday...11 miles ha ha ha :D but I am ignoring it!). Be great to hear what others are doing and as others have suggested maybe we can support each other to the start line in 12 weeks.

, I Will be following Higdon half novice plan. May have to alter some of it to suit work etc and hoping to build in some miles.

Here goes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Dow99

I'm starting my training tonight with a gentle 5km. I havent really done any training since the DHM and I probably have about 20lbs to lose as well:mad:. Well here we go guys,, the start of the 12 week training plan,,, glup! I dont know what I was thinking but on the same day I signed up for the this I also signed up for the Kildare half marathon which is 4 weeks later.. High ambitions I know!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭Husavik

If you cancel you don't get a refund - at anytime - nor can you transfer on your entry to another. It's the same with the DCM.

I have to say I think this is a lousy state of affairs. There will be lots looking to join in who can't, there are several races available to choose nowadays and we are in a recession.

Husavik wrote: »
    If you cancel you don't get a refund - at anytime - nor can you transfer on your entry to another. It's the same with the DCM.

I have to say I think this is a lousy state of affairs. There will be lots looking to join in who can't, there are several races available to choose nowadays and we are in a recession.

A perennial issue, not only with Conn. However, and knowing what it's like on the organisers' side of things, refunds would be a nightmare. The no-shows for any race are in the region of 10-15% and if each of those had their hands out for a refund it would be impossible to administer.

I think deferrals are possible, as are changes in the race distance.

However I do think that organisers generally are missing a trick. If the runner pulling out was to find a replacement runner then, for a charge of (say) €10, the entry details could be amended. The original race fee stays with the organisers and that is sorted out between the two runners. Everyone's a winner. Could that work :confused:

[HTML][/HTML]
    Dow99 wrote: »
    I'm starting my training tonight with a gentle 5km. I havent really done any training since the DHM and I probably have about 20lbs to lose as well:mad:. Well here we go guys,, the start of the 12 week training plan,,, glup! I dont know what I was thinking but on the same day I signed up for the this I also signed up for the Kildare half marathon which is 4 weeks later.. High ambitions I know!!!

How is it going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Dow99

maria74 wrote: »
    How is it going?

Yes, its going really well, better than I expected! I'm not timing myself yet, I'm just trying to get the km's up. But so far this week, I've done 3 runs and with each run I can feel my fitness improving.

When I was training for the Dublin Half Marathon I followed a support thread that was extremely helpful for motivation and advice. I am thinking of setting one up on the main A/R/T page for Connemara Half Marathon people... do people think this would be useful??

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭Husavik

A perennial issue, not only with Conn. However, and knowing what it's like on the organisers' side of things, refunds would be a nightmare. The no-shows for any race are in the region of 10-15% and if each of those had their hands out for a refund it would be impossible to administer.

I think deferrals are possible, as are changes in the race distance.

However I do think that organisers generally are missing a trick. If the runner pulling out was to find a replacement runner then, for a charge of (say) €10, the entry details could be amended. The original race fee stays with the organisers and that is sorted out between the two runners. Everyone's a winner. Could that work :confused:

Good idea. Just a bit more flexibility is welcome. The annoying thing about Conn is that it seems to fill up about 3 months out. Runners can and do get injured. I have a certified injury since last year which was made available to me following a €50 visit to the specialist. So they could consider accepting these. Or perhaps put in a cut off date of say 4 weeks.

Those would be my suggestions.

Husavik wrote: »
    Good idea. Just a bit more flexibility is welcome. The annoying thing about Conn is that it seems to fill up about 3 months out. Runners can and do get injured. I have a certified injury since last year which was made available to me following a €50 visit to the specialist. So they could consider accepting these. Or perhaps put in a cut off date of say 4 weeks.

Those would be my suggestions.

Yes, the organisers might consider a refund for properly certified injuries. Again though, and with my hypothetical RD's hat on, I've now got my entry fees in the bank and all my attention is focused on race day itself. The last thing I want to do is start writing cheques and depleting my budgeted profits. Maybe I'd write a cheque less €10 and offer the place to those on a waiting list which I'd set up. At least there would be a profit for the extra admin and Conn is a business.

Have you asked Ray for a deferral until 2012? Worth doing if not.