Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool fc v Blackburn Rovers 3pm KO

• 24-10-2010 10:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭

[insert crests here for the kids to look at]

Righty-ho. The latest last game for Hodgson is against the side he managed for nearly 1 and a half seasons in the late 90s, Blackburns record at Anfield is poor with just 1 win in the last 16 visits (Nov 1993) but they will surely fancy their chances today. RH sent a shadow side to Italy midweek so the likes of Gerrard, Torres, Johnson (?), Ming, and yes Lucas will be fresh.

One imagines the visitors will be looking to use high balls and set pieces to get some joy so Soto/Skrtel in the centre would be my choice but no doubt Carra will start having been tactically subbed at half time on Thursday. No team news from LFC which is unusual as its generally known by now. Chris Samba will miss the game for Blackburn due to suspension.

Liverpool and Blackburn have both scored 7 goals in the league, so we can expect a nil-nil or one goal game.

Feared LFC line up

Riena
    LB---Carra--Skrtel--Konchesky
    Lucas-Poulson
    ---Ming--Gerrard----Cole
    Torres

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,313 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I am expecting a poor performance, a dull and boring game but with a bit of luck we might scrape some kind of a win - 3-pts is an absolute must. Hopefully a blatantly offside goal in the 7th min of inj time - just to annoy a certain manager.
    If we lose - I'm sorry but he should walk himself if he has any respect for himself or the club!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Reina
    Carra-skrtel-krygiakos-konchesky
    Maxi-Lucas-meireles-Cole
    gerrard
    -
    -
    -
    -
    torres

Not looking forward to this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Latest and last game for Hodgson, fingers crossed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

I think we will see a scrappy goalless draw which Hodgson will praise as akin "to watching total football" or some other such nonsense

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

Lads anyone know any pubs in Blanch/Clonee/Dunboyne that will have todays game on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

If Blackburn get a result and I have to look at Allardyce's buck tooted smirk , I think I will punch myself in the balls !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

mixednuts wrote: »
    If Blackburn get a result and I have to look at Allardyce's buck tooted smirk , I think I will punch myself in the balls !

Then you really will have mixed nuts :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

2-1 Liverpool. You have to win sometime.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

If Liverpool don't win today it's the final straw for me. Hodgson has to get a win here.

I'm not confident but I'm going with a 2-0 win. Torres double please (FF reasons)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,833 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

As a neutral to this game, I wish I could watch it. Blackburn will be thinking they have a chance and Liverpool simply have to perform.
    Don't think the goals will rain in but I do think it could be a good contest.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭ilovelamp2000

I don't know about anyone else, but I've put the derby game to the back of mind and now can't remember who started in it.

Whoever it is, that's the starting team today too. Presumably since it was our "best performance of the season" according to that laughable excuse for a manager we have.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

Rosco1982 wrote: »
    I don't know about anyone else, but I've put the derby game to the back of mind and now can't remember who started in it.

Whoever it is, that's the starting team today too. Presumably since it was our "best performance of the season" according to that laughable excuse for a manager we have.

Well if thats the case at least Poulsen isn't playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,369 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

this is going to be dire to watch.

i'm going 1-1, unfortunately.

but please may Torres pull something out the bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Blackburn will kick and hack, win 1-0 and Hodgson will hail a great performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Aurelio in for Konchesky according to other forums

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

SlickRic wrote: »
    this is going to be dire to watch.

No live tv coverage, so its a stream only.

tok9 wrote: »
    Well if thats the case at least Poulsen isn't playing.

But his twin will be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

Feck it, in spite of everything, I'm feeling optimistic.

1-0 to the Pool in a pulsating game. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Aurelio in for Konchesky according to other forums

Rumours of Carra playing RB. Don't know what Kelly has done.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Team is:

Reina;
    Carragher, Skrtel, Kyrgiakos, Aurelio;
    Meireles, Lucas,
    Maxi, Gerrard, Cole,
    Torres

Retweeted by Tomkins so probably reliable enough.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

LZ5by5 wrote: »

Still drunk ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Revolution9

K-9 wrote: »
    Team is:

Reina;
    Meireles, Lucas,
    Maxi, Gerrard, Cole,
    Torres

That line-up is too good to be true.
    Konchesky dropped? Poulsen benched? Meireles finally in the middle and not stuck out on the right?
    Pray this is the correct team.

LZ5by5 wrote: »

Same, I think we'll win.

2-1
    With Torres scoring and Soto heading one in from a corner kick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Blackburn's style will suit Liverpool and and the back four they have these days far more than the likes of Blackpool who are decent in possesion of the ball. Carragher, the Greek and Skertl will head balls away all afternoon. Blackburn themselves are barely above the relegation zone and in truth are a fairly dour outfit. That line up looks far better as well, pretty much everyone playing in a position they want to play in.

2-0 Liverpool, Torres and N'Gog.

Woo, Aurelio! Finally, someone who can take a free-kick and a corner!

4-0 Liverpool. Torres brace, Mereiles and Krygiakos.

Apparently Roy and Fat Sam have a birra bad blood.
    Never heard this before, what happened between them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

K-9 wrote: »
    Team is:

Reina;
    Meireles, Lucas,
    Maxi, Gerrard, Cole,
    Torres

thats how most managers would line that team out but this is roy he will prob go

reina
    carra--skrtel--soto-aurelio
    gerrard-lucas
    meireles---cole
    maxi

torres

am only joking but seriously nothing would surprise me with roy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭DaNiEl1994

official team v blackburn
    The team in full is: Reina, Konchesky, Carragher, Kyrgiakos, Skrtel, Lucas, Meireles, Maxi, Cole, Gerrard, Torres. Subs: Jones, Jovanovic, Babel, Ngog, Poulsen, Shelvey, Kelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Aurelio not starting

DaNiEl1994 wrote: »
    official team v blackburn
    The team in full is: Reina, Konchesky, Carragher, Kyrgiakos, Skrtel, Lucas, Meireles, Maxi, Cole, Gerrard, Torres. Subs: Jones, Jovanovic, Babel, Ngog, Poulsen, Shelvey, Kelly.

Aurelio should be in there over Konchesky :mad:

Good to see Shelvey played his way on to the bench. I imagine jay Spearing must be a bit p*ssed off.

Prefer Martin Kelly at RB rather than Carra. Carra is just too slow and crap on the ball for full back.

Still, could've been a lot worse.

Nice to see Shelvey on the bench, can't see him being used though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭MR NINE

lads whats up with pacheco hasn't made a squad in a while.

MR NINE wrote: »

Babel gets chance after chance and never really impresses.
    Pacheco deserves the nod over Babel for at least the odd game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

I doubt he will be at Liverpool next season. Also wouldn't blame him one bit if I was him I would be looking to get out in January.

Opr

Same team as last week then.

I don't like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

He single handedly unravelled Roy's gameplan against Northampton by trying to pass the ball and attack. For that he is being punished

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

cole is poor on the left, maxi is poor on the right

reina
    kelly----carra--skrtel---chesky
    gerrard--meiriles--lucas--joca
    cole

torres

how i'd play it with injuries we have,

any streams

any streams
    loads how you think rivers form

Rosco1982 wrote: »
    Same team as last week then.

I don't like it.

But that was our best performance! Hope we're not as "unlucky" today! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Carragher and maxi down the right, that must be one of the worst attacking flanks in the league.

any streams
    i'll try post some up when it starts if i find any,

argosy2006 wrote: »
    i'll try post some up when it starts if i find any,

sound;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,021 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

One thing that makes me laugh and shows the cluelessness of some posters on here is when they say that Blackburn are a dirty team.

We finished 6th in the fair play league last year behind Fulham, City, United, Arsenal and Tottenham.

This year we are 8th and thats after Samba getting sent off in the last game for a last man back foul and it wasn't dirty either.

Anyways on to the game. David Dunn is finally fit to start, he has had a dreadful start to the season with injuries but he really changes our team when he plays. The loss of Nelsen and Samba means that young Phil Jones who imo is a future England international and Gael Givet partner up in the centre of defense. A lot of people have wanted to see the two of them play there together and they get their chance today. Emerton blows hot and cold but he will help out defensively while El Hadj Diouf has been in magnificent form this season and is without doubt Rovers best player so far this term. Olsson is the worry, he moved to midfield last season and really did well but has been caught out a few times when he has played at left back.

Rovers team today is:

Robinson
    Salgado
    Jones
    Givet
    Olsson
    N'Zonzi
    Pedersen
    Emerton
    Dunn
    E.Diouf
    Kalinic

Atdhe.net for an English stream

eagle eye wrote: »
    Rovers team today is:

Robinson
    Salgado
    Jones
    Givet
    Olsson
    N'Zonzi
    Pedersen
    Emerton
    Dunn
    E.Diouf
    Kalinic

Any team with him in it will be classed as dirty by Liverpool fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

Nice one the sopcast YES stream is showing this.

sop://broker.sopcast.com:3912/6816

Opr

great singing lol

• Registered Users Posts: 787 ✭✭✭bUILDERtHEbOB

so.much.cheese.