Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xbox live 12 month subscription for £2:99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,980 ✭✭✭✭GBX

5uspect wrote: »
    I never bothered with LIVE but for £3...

I live in the UK now so free delivery!

I doubt anybody will get them. As the OP said .. other people were getting emails yesterday saying their order was cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭BeanFlicker

jamescd wrote: »
    8e a month??? You can get a 12month subscription for 30 odd euro online

hopefully it'l be sorted if hmv come good,my cc is usually maxed..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Cheers OP, just found this thread and only read the first 14 posts, I'm pretty sure some gobsh!te will come along and order 10 memberships!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

L5 wrote: »
    Just ordered 10 also, ebay here i come :)

DonJose wrote: »
    Cheers OP, just found this thread and only read the first 14 posts, I'm pretty sure some gobsh!te will come along and order 10 memberships!!!

What did you call him?!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Thanks OP!
    Can't really see them honouring this, but it'd be a nice gesture if they honoured it for their regular customers who only ordered one and cancel orders with multiple items/from new accounts...

I can dream anyway:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

cheers OP, ordered one there so worth a shot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭jamesd

Ordered 2,worth a try.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

GBX wrote: »
    I doubt anybody will get them. As the OP said .. other people were getting emails yesterday saying their order was cancelled.

Ah well. Worth a shot at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭iceferg

definitely worth a go , but cant see it working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭wilser

cheers op, just ordered 1 worth a shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Thor

Thanks for all the(thanks) everyone, It probably won't work.

Would be okay if they just let everyone who did just buy 1 or 2 away with it as it was there fault in the first place.

Also for all the people who got cancellations already, You think they would have fixed the problem already, Its stead of wasting everyones time.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Tried it for the craic.

Thanks OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭Dexterm99

Ordered one about an hour ago and just received a confirmation email :)
    fingers crossed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,305 ✭✭✭yoshytoshy

I love these threads ,it's like someone walks into a bookies and lets you in on a secret:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

DonJose wrote: »
    Just ordered 10 of them for €62.

Ask and you shall receive, 1 Gobshite ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭kendragon

scudzilla wrote: »

yep... its that kind of bollix acting that makes companies not honour these mistakes. Greedy fecker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

kendragon wrote: »
    yep... its that kind of bollix acting that makes companies not honour these mistakes. Greedy fecker
    scudzilla wrote: »

1. If you're able to order 1000 of them and the site allows for it, then by God I'll order 1000 of them if I want to.

2. I could argue the creation of threads like this, is what ''makes companies not honour these mistakes''

3. Another poster said they saw another thread on this ''mistake'', that was over 30 pages long. The website is also commonly used by people in the UK.The volume of people that see this ''mistake'' would be huge. Are you really fickle enough to think there won't be hundreds of people ordering 10+ at a time? Do you really think that 99.9% of people will only order 1.

4. With The vast amount of people ordering it, they are obviously going to notice something suspicious going on, regardless if there are people ordering 10+ of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Rafloution

5. Your a dufus for ordering 10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Thor wrote: »
    Hmv seem to have made a mistake and the 12month subscriptiosn with free black ops t-shirt is only £2.99

Now i just bought 2 with shipping at £5 so came to around 12 euro or so.

Just taught i would mention it here.

here is the link

Add says tell a friend, not tell the whole country.

Thanks mate I ordered 2.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Tevez101

Rafloution wrote: »
    5. Your a dufus for ordering 10

Don't be so childish, soccer is right. It makes no odds whatsoever, whether or not you order 1 or he orders 1000. These types of big mistakes are noticed regardless whether people are purchasing 10+. Why? Because of the vast amount of orders.

Tevez101 wrote: »
    Don't be so childish, soccer is right. It makes no odds whatsoever, whether or not you order 1 or he orders 1000. These types of big mistakes are noticed regardless whether people are purchasing 10+. Why? Because of the vast amount of orders.

If it's all so logical ,why order ten items ?

When does everyone order ten items at once ?

It's a pre-order ,so numbers aren't going to register until the item comes into stock. And it is a popular item after all ,with a free T-Shirt.

Everyone should chillaxe, If hmv are going to pull out then they are going to pull out. Regardless of how many people order. Its just whether or not they choose to pull the plug after so many people pre-ordering them and it saying pre-order price guaranteed.

SOCCER4LIFE you do have every right to buy as many as you want. Just like if it was a limited edition item you would have every right to buy 10 of them.

I think the reason people are mad is because they assume you are just going to sell them on for a profit, Which you cannot blame them for that.

The point of the bargain section is for bargains and for not profiteering, But saying that you did say they were mainly gifts and all. When i made the thread i really expected more people to buy 10 of them(Just next time keep it to yourself so you don't get flamed)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

They may have to honor the deal , if you remember a few years ago Hoover were giving free international flights with each vacuum purchased, they had to pay up and it broke the company.

Now, Playstation online is free so its not costins Microsoft anything either in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,716 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Sorry to rain on the parade lads but they wont honour the orders placed. I haven't read the whole thread but this little bit is from their T & C's
    HMV are entitled to withdraw from any contract in the case of obvious errors or inaccuracies regarding the goods appearing on our web site. If an error or inaccuracy is discovered with regards to the advertised price of the goods that you have ordered before the contract is made (see (b) above) we will contact you as soon as possible by email.

I remember something similar here on BA a couple of years back and while the waiting and hoping was great at the time we all came back to earth very quickly when the emails starting arriving from HMV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Axe Rake

It's a pre-order lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Healium

Does their Pre-order Price Guarantee badge mean NOTHING?!

*cries*

WHAT'S HAPPENED TO THE WORLD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Dazzler80

According to these news sources (over the last 2 days), If anything, Xbox Gold, is going to become MORE expensive, so i doubt they are heading the way of the PS3.. (Which might make sense for them dropping the price so drastically)

http://www.escapistmagazine.com/news/view/104609-Microsoft-Drops-Xbox-Live-Silver-Creates-Xbox-Live-Free

http://www.examiner.com/xbox-360-in-national/could-xbox-live-be-free-one-day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭Cionád

A previous miss-price by HMV led to the following cancellation email, I expect to see the same in this case:

"Dear HMV Customer

We are writing to you in relation to your order for the following item:

Cat.No: BUG0039901 Barcode: 8717418107666
    Artist: TV DRAMA: JENNIFER GARNER
    Title : ALIAS: COMPLETE COLLECTION: SERIES 1-5: 30DVD: BOX SET

We are very sorry, but it has come to our attention that the item appeared
    on our web site with the incorrect price of £16.99, instead of £49.99. We
    will not therefore process your order.

The terms and conditions governing our online sales state that your order
    is only accepted, and a contract between us formed, when HMV receive
    payment for the goods you have ordered. HMV have not yet taken payment for
    the goods listed above, nor taken the final step of confirming the shipment
    of your order to you by email (please see point b. in the section entitled
    ‘The Contract Between US’ on the first page of our Terms and Conditions.
    We are therefore under no legal obligation to sell the item to you at the
    incorrect price.

Please accept our sincere apologies for this error. We don’t like having
    to take this course of action, and apologise that we have had to do so in
    this instance.

If you would still like to order the item at the retail price of £49.99,
    you may do so via the HMV web site.

Kind Regards,

HMV Online Customer Service Team
    www.hmv.com"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭I-Shot-Jr

That badge they have on their website is very misleading then. I know they have their T&Cs up on the site but all the same having a badge like that is very sneaky. Hope this goes through though. I can always live in hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,664 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Alway hoping but never expecting :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,318 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

People are delusional if they think someone ordering 10 is whats going to give the game away, Im sure when they go into work today and have an order for 2 million codes or something on something that would normaly only sell a couple of thousand over a weekend might just give it away!!

It's only a saving of thirty euro at the end of the day ,I doubt people are delusional about it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭notahappycamper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭cableguy.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Is it possible that this could have been a legitimate price, out in place for a limited time?
    Just seems strange that the price is now 34.99, had it of been 29.99 I would be a lot more apprehensive!

Fingers crossed anyhow!

Nice spot Op

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭sarah88

if they have changed the price surely we would have got an email to say they have to cancel the order by now, would you think??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭ciaburkie

sarah88 wrote: »
    if they have changed the price surely we would have got an email to say they have to cancel the order by now, would you think??

Id say just wait it out..if you look at your order, it says the release date is 29/10/2010.

Id say before the end of the week we will know so keep your eyes on your email :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Axe Rake wrote: »
    It's a pre-order lol

Your point?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 10,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭5uspect

Remember the whole fiassco with Aer Lingus and cheap flights to New York a few years back? Surely the same leglislation applies here T&Cs be damned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,413 ✭✭✭✭Basq

This pre-order stuff means nothing!

I pre-ordered the Blu-ray of the Lethal Weapon Trilogy off HMV when it was mispriced: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=67622857

It was still cancelled!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭Zab

The pre-order price guarantee obviously just means that you're locking in the correct price now, it clearly isn't going to cover a website error like, this nor was it ever intended to.

Also, those of you looking for some sort of reward for your "honesty" of only buying "one or two" of a clearly miss-priced item are on crack.

Zab wrote: »
    The pre-order price guarantee obviously just means that you're locking in the correct price now, it clearly isn't going to cover a website error like, this nor was it ever intended to.

Also, those of you looking for some sort of reward for your "honesty" of only buying "one or two" of a clearly miss-priced item are on crack.

I disagree, Some people have already stated they have received cancellation emails. Now if hmv are aware of the problem they should have fixed the problem.

Instead they are wasting everyones time by not and allowing people to purchase said item.

How can they possibly think of stating that the pre-order price is gauranteed and then pull a stunt and say it was the wrong price.

Doesn't matter what there terms and conditions say, If hmv are aware of the problem and haven't fixed it they are wasting peoples time on purpose which is just ridiculous, They probably thing loads of people are going to buy the subscription anyway.

Just looking at the add now.

the price was set as £2:99 and is now £35.16, Now i'm fully aware it was a mistake, But how does someone without intent enter £2:99 instead of £35:16, I simply can't understand that.

P.S i haven't received a cancellation email yet, But i'm expecting one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,008 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

ordered mine yesterday, hopefully it'll slip under the radar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭wobbles

ordered 2 myself. Gonna delete my account when i get the confirmation that its been canceled. Sometimes they make these 'mistakes' on purpose to get a load of new accounts, so they can say they have X many customers when they dont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,008 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

duploelabs wrote: »
    ordered mine yesterday, hopefully it'll slip under the radar

arse, got the cancellation just now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭jamesd

Just got my order cancelled letter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,395 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

im a sad panda

order cancelled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭Zab

Thor wrote: »
    I disagree, Some people have already stated they have received cancellation emails. Now if hmv are aware of the problem they should have fixed the problem.

Instead they are wasting everyones time by not and allowing people to purchase said item.

How can they possibly think of stating that the pre-order price is gauranteed and then pull a stunt and say it was the wrong price.

Doesn't matter what there terms and conditions say, If hmv are aware of the problem and haven't fixed it they are wasting peoples time on purpose which is just ridiculous, They probably thing loads of people are going to buy the subscription anyway.

We can certainly agree that they're inept, but I don't see how that disagrees with what I said. I can't think of anything reasonable that would have them cancelling orders before fixing the price on the website.

Their pre-order price guarantee guarantees that if they lower the price between your purchase and the release date then you'll get it at the lower price. Trying to apply it to a mistake on the website is disingenuous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

order cancelled :(

bloody outrageous :mad: never buying from them again!!!!! :mad::mad::P:pac: