Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2012 4 Races for 4 PBs

• Registered Users Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

General Aerobic 10 Miles

Run home from work day. It can only mean, stiff legs, heavy footfall, pavements and traffic lights, bag on back and next to zero enjoyment. Stuck with the recent route, i.e. through town and down Thomas Street entering the Park at Park Gate. One humid heavy anticlockwise lap of Phoenix. Pace hovering between 9:00 and 9:05.

As if the run couldn't get worse. On mile 10 I'm running up the Luas tracks after Heuston and I feel a twinge from my right hip. Not very strong, but strong enough to make it the defining memory of this run. I drop the pace. It twinges again, less strongly one more time.

Hmmm. I am nearly certain now that racing the 5 miler and then running the 6x1M interval session, just a week apart from each other was a mistake, especially as I hadn't done any significant speed work in the previous month. First my knee on Sunday afternoon and now the hip this evening, both on the right hand side and so probably related. I'm going to pay close attention to the leg during tomorrow's recovery run. Might yet knock Saturday's 400s on the head. Which would be frustrating but I'd sooner skip them and ensure I get to Fingal in one piece. I don't think the 400s are essential for Fingal. Pity is that it would mean a fairly unhappy start to McMillan's 8 weeks of 10K training.

I won't decide anything until after tomorrow's run.

M01 8:58
    M02 8:59
    M03 9:11
    M04 8:55
    M05 8:51
    M06 9:02
    M07 9:22
    M08 9:10
    M09 9:12
    M10 9:27

Total 10.01 @ 9:07

McMillan 10K Week 2 Session Targets|Actual Distance|Actual Pace
    Recovery 6M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 6.69M | 9:20
    General Aerobic 10M @ 9:00 to 9:15 | 10.01M | 9:07
    Recovery 4M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | |
    McMillan 10K Key Session 2 of 7: 10x400m @ 3:40/45 min/km off 200m recovery | |
    LSR 14M @ 8:30 to 8:45 | |

Miles WTD 16.70 / MTD 57.68 / YTD 1047.19

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Listen to the body, as somebody else says in these parts 'keep the main thing the main thing'. If your not up to it dont do it, missed session isn't going to cost you squat, an injury could cost you the rest of your running year.

tang1 wrote: »
    Listen to the body, as somebody else says in these parts 'keep the main thing the main thing'. If your not up to it dont do it, missed session isn't going to cost you squat, an injury could cost you the rest of your running year.

Thanks. The slightest hint of anything amiss this evening and I will knock the 400s on the head.

I think whatever happens I'm going to have to revisit my calendar for Blessington. The second key McMillan session I've down for the weekend after Fingal. I don't want to repeat the mistake I made running the 5 miler and the first McMillan session too close together. The logistics are not working out very well for me. The real problem is the two weekends in Italy prior to the race, where my options for running are either up steep hills or down steep hills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

neilc wrote: »
    Yeah meeting point would be cool. I'd say you'll be good for that no problem but 3:55 is probably a bit too hot for me though, 39:55 would be a PB which I'd take right now!!

Despite what you say, you went out a lot faster than 3;55 pace in Dunshaughlin a few weeks ago :pac: I think you were the only one I passed on the second half!!

OK lads, I am in for the sub 40 bus. I paced Claralara through halfway in Dunshaughlin then fell away to a 40:30. I am pretty hopeful that things are going a little better now (due to recent results) so would be great if we got a bus going. I'd be happy to drive it up to halfway anyways then every man for himself!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

menoscemo wrote: »
    Despite what you say, you went out a lot faster than 3;55 pace in Dunshaughlin a few weeks ago :pac: I think you were the only one I passed on the second half!!

Yeah have to admit you're right meno, as I told you after the guy did call 20:04 going through half but looking at my splits after, the first 5k splits were 3:52, 3:58, 3:58, 4:06, 4:08. Splits slightly off though because was nearly a minute into the race before I realised garmin wasn't recording!!

Definitely on for the bus, as can be seen above even pacing is not my forte:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

I'm in for the sub 40 bus. Just in from a tempo run where I unwittingly ran 40:33 so I'm right in the mix!

Bus sounds good.
    Statss for an unwitting run that's more than fairly handy. Front seat for you.

Recovery 4 Miles

I'd like it to rain. It was far far too humid out there this evening. Sweat pouring off me after a slow and relaxed 4 recovery paced miles. Discovered that if I run into the Park via Islandbridge, head up Military Road and take that first little path after the fort up to the 15 Acres, run one lap of the playing fields, exit by the same path and then retrace my steps home, I cover 4 miles pretty much spot on.

Hip was fine. I'll make a call on the intervals tomorrow. I'll probably head over to the Park and just see how the first 400 goes and take it from there. I'll see.

M01 9:32
    M02 9:22
    M03 9:12
    M04 9:27

Total 4.03M @ 9:23

Recovery 4M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 4.03M | 9:23
    McMillan 10K Key Session 2 of 7: 10x400m @ 3:40/45 min/km off 200m recovery | |

Miles WTD 20.73 / MTD 61.71 / YTD 1051.22

MP 9K

Decided not to risk the 400s. I probably would have got away with them but played it safe instead. Part of the decision was made because of concern for my right knee/hip.

But part of the decision was made because I think this:
    • 3 weeks before race: 5 mile race PB.
    • 2 weeks before race: 6x1M attempted at sub 38:30 10K pace
    • 1 week before race: 10x400m @ 5K pace

doesn't seem as wise as this
    • 3 weeks before race: 5 mile race PB.
    • 2 weeks before race: 6x1M attempted at sub 38:30 10K pace
    • 1 week before race: some MP kilometres to stretch the legs.

Aside from not risking injury, I'm hoping that playing it easy this weekend will allow the legs recover properly and next weekend allow me reap the benefits of the recent 5 miler and 6x1M McMilllan key session. That's the plan anyway.

Didn't want to run recovery, GA or LSR pace today so opted for MP pace, targeting 4:40 to 4:44 min/km [7:31 to 7:37 min/mile]. A little warm-up over to the Park. Then one MP anti-clockwise lap of the Park. Once again the sweat was pouring off of me, t-shirt stuck to my chest. This humidity is a killer. I want rain and breeze or bright sun next Sunday, but not this warm heavy muggy stillness.

I held the pace without any issues, breathing was fine. More importantly the legs were ok. No feedback from right knee or right hip. Wore the old ST5s today, I wonder are they past their best, footfall felt a little flat at times. Might just be my imagination.

1.47K @ 5:49 [0.91M @ 9:21]
    9.42K @ 4:41 [5.85M @ 7:33]
    1.54K @ 5:15 [0.96M @ 8:28]

Total 12.43K @ 4:53 [7.73M @ 7:52]

MP 9K | 12.43K | 4:53 [7:52]

Miles WTD 28.46 / MTD 69.44 / YTD 1058.95

LSR 14 Miles

Headed out yesterday morning for another warm and humid run. Maybe not as humid as recent days, there was a wind blowing which helped keep things someway cool. Over to Chapelizod Gate via Ballyfermot road. I checked pace for the first time on entering the Park, 8:52 pace, that’s fine, plenty of time to speed up.

When I get to the end of the Upper Glen Road, ready to turn left towards the Knockmaroon Gate I realise I’m heading straight into the Castleknock 5K. I get off the road and onto the footpath, but there are runners coming toward me on the footpath. I move onto the grass, but there are runners coming toward me on the grass as well. Busy field. If I had a euro for every time I was told I was going the wrong way :rolleyes:

Whenever I find myself running with or against a race field I find my pace picks up. Same this morning as I head up Tower Road. I pass the tail-end ambulance shortly before Tower Gate. And 100m later I find myself running with the field rather than against. Give some words of encouragement to some of the runners that were working hard. I leave the race behind as I head down White’s Road. I had planned on a loop inside Farmleigh but realise that the race course is also going through there and some gates have been closed. I just continue towards Ordnance, once again into the race field. “You’re still going the wrong way!” Pass the ambulance again on Ordnance. Then turn onto Furze.

I’ve been travelling far far too fast for an LSR, I start to slow down gradually. Into a headwind up Chesterfield. Along North Road and down to the 15 Acres. Onto Military Road by the fort and then back up the Khyber and down Acres Road exiting at Chapelizod Gate. I had planned on running along the Liffey walk but not for the first time today I find by path blocked. This time by a couple of cyclists struggling at the turnstile. I just kept running straight and went back home the way I started the run, along Ballyfermot and Inchicore Road.

Pleased with this run. Legs behaved ok. I logged a 7:31 mile during my encounter with the Castleknock 5K, I didn’t realised I’d sped up so much.

Now time to ease up a little on the mileage ahead of Sunday’s sub 40 attempt.

M01 9:19
    M02 8:34
    M03 8:33
    M04 8:14
    M05 7:46
    M06 7:31
    M07 8:22
    M08 8:46
    M09 8:49
    M10 8:42
    M11 8:33
    M12 8:44
    M13 8:41
    M14 8:37

Total 14.01 @ 8:31

MP 9K | 12.43K | 4:53 [7:52]
    LSR 14M @ 8:30 to 8:45 | 14.01M | 8:31

Miles WTD 42.47 / MTD 83.45 / YTD 1072.96

Do you have a plan in mind for Sunday?

Not sure if you've done it before but here's my stats from last year, you'll note mile 2 is a fast one where time can be made, but the last mile is a toughie. I reckon I'm going to try and go out at 6.20 pace and see if I can hold it.

Lap Distance Time Pace GAP Elev HR
    1 1.0 mi 6:33 6:33 /mi 6:30 /mi 7 ft 177 bpm
    2 1.0 mi 6:31 6:31 /mi 6:49 /mi -58 ft 179 bpm
    3 1.0 mi 6:51 6:51 /mi 6:46 /mi 18 ft 179 bpm
    4 1.0 mi 6:52 6:52 /mi 6:53 /mi -7 ft 176 bpm
    5 1.0 mi 6:39 6:39 /mi 6:43 /mi -8 ft 178 bpm
    6 1.0 mi 6:44 6:44 /mi 6:28 /mi 49 ft 180 bpm
    7 0.2 mi 1:12 5:11 /mi 5:27 /mi -12 ft 187 bpm

http://www.strava.com/activities/83103063/laps

There's a separate entrance down a lane to the sub 40 pen, (last year it was well-signed and a steward was present to send me down that way) I suggest we all meet at the back of this on the main street around 9.45, then move up top?

statss wrote: »
    Do you have a plan in mind for Sunday?

Not sure if you've done it before but here's my stats from last year, you'll note mile 2 is a fast one where time can be made, but the last mile is a toughie. I reckon I'm going to try and go out at 6.20 pace and see if I can hold it.

Lap Distance Time Pace GAP Elev HR
    1 1.0 mi 6:33 6:33 /mi 6:30 /mi 7 ft 177 bpm
    2 1.0 mi 6:31 6:31 /mi 6:49 /mi -58 ft 179 bpm
    3 1.0 mi 6:51 6:51 /mi 6:46 /mi 18 ft 179 bpm
    4 1.0 mi 6:52 6:52 /mi 6:53 /mi -7 ft 176 bpm
    5 1.0 mi 6:39 6:39 /mi 6:43 /mi -8 ft 178 bpm
    6 1.0 mi 6:44 6:44 /mi 6:28 /mi 49 ft 180 bpm
    7 0.2 mi 1:12 5:11 /mi 5:27 /mi -12 ft 187 bpm

http://www.strava.com/activities/83103063/laps

There's a separate entrance down a lane to the sub 40 pen, (last year it was well-signed and a steward was present to send me down that way) I suggest we all meet at the back of this on the main street around 9.45, then move up top?

Thanks for the profile. Hmm. My plan was fairly straightforward. Try hold 3:55 [6:18] for 9K. Resist all urges to run faster than that over the first few K. If I get to 9K with something left in the tank then I push. If nothing left in the tank I hold on.

I looked at your elevation profile. The temptation will be there to bank time near the start alright. But I might resist. I think everytime I've raced/TT'd 10K I've started out a little faster than target and everytime I've been holding on near the end. As my times get faster this gets harder to do and I no longer negative split. I'd like to see how/if the end of the race differs if I insist on sticking to target right from the start, not a second faster. In my recent 6x1M session I was impressed with the difference just a few seconds per KM can make when running at higher speeds.

The race profile looks fair. With that long descent after half a mile I reckon you should be feeling fairly good (relative to flatter/hillier 10Ks) at the 5K mark. From 3.5 to 5 miles you have an opportunity to recover from the first proper climb. And then that last mile does look like hard work alright, but scope for a decent sprint finish.

Meeting point sounds good - is it where the alley meets main-street? Do you have a google street view link?

I think it was this laneway:

https://www.google.ie/maps/place/Swords,+Co.+Dublin/@53.457953,-6.220664,3a,75y,285.97h,79.22t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1s2xdwVJJp2ATBgcLL9T1Amw!2e0!4m2!3m1!1s0x486710e443cd3c35:0xa00c7a997317060

It should be fairly obvious, if they set it up that way again, as you'll have no choice but to go down that way if you tell the steward your going for sub 40. I'll be wearing my white & red club top anyway with blue Mizuno runners.

Cool. I'll be wearing black Blessington 10K top. And either yellow/white old ST5s of shiny blue new ST5s. And my race number is 2330.
    (will be using luggage drop area - so reluctant to bring phone with me)

McMillan is off the cards.

Not because I’m not up for it, but because the logistics just are not working out. I don’t have enough suitable weekends to fit in all 7 sessions before now and Blessington. I like to follow plans to the letter and you really need a clean run of 8 or 9 weekends to dedicate to it. The sessions are so challenging that I don’t think it’s wise to try work it around races. I’ll try schedule it better next year, or if I can find a 10K around late November or December (a 10K that doesn’t involve the Furry Glen) I might start after the Race Series HM.

Sub 39 in Blessington remains the goal though, It’ll be targeted instead through a make-it-up-myself plan. I will still lift two sessions from McMillan, the 5K race or tempo run, and I aim to repeat the 6x1M session. I’ve also measured a stretch of road near where I’ll be staying in Italy. If I remember correctly it is fairly flat, measures around 600ms, so hopefully I’ll be able to do some 400s while over there. Couple that with two big hill climbs that I’m planning and it could actually be quite good training for Blessington, with the hill after 6K in mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

statss wrote: »
    I think it was this laneway:

https://www.google.ie/maps/place/Swords,+Co.+Dublin/@53.457953,-6.220664,3a,75y,285.97h,79.22t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1s2xdwVJJp2ATBgcLL9T1Amw!2e0!4m2!3m1!1s0x486710e443cd3c35:0xa00c7a997317060

It should be fairly obvious, if they set it up that way again, as you'll have no choice but to go down that way if you tell the steward your going for sub 40. I'll be wearing my white & red club top anyway with blue Mizuno runners.

you'll know him from his wig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Feck it - after much deliberation I might join the sub 40 bus too!

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Feck it - after much deliberation I might join the sub 40 bus too!

I have 6 at last count: statss, neilc, menoscemo, wowzer, yourself and myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭overpronator

outforarun wrote: »
    I have 6 at last count: statss, neilc, menoscemo, wowzer, yourself and myself.

Solid group there, best of luck with it.

Recovery 4 Miles

My first early-ish run in a while this morning. On the road for 6:15. Unusual weather out there this morning. Once again it was overcast and uncomfortably muggy. But there was also a warm wind blowing and then some drops of rain were added. I just stuck to 2 laps of the block plus a little out-and-back. Didn’t really enjoy it and was glad to get it finished, felt like a long 4 miles. Largely due to weather, partially due to it being the first pre-work run I’ve done in a while.

BBC is predicting 83% humidity and 18 Celsius for 10:00am in Dublin next Sunday. I don’t like the sound of that.

M01 9:40
    M02 9:45
    M03 9:06
    M04 9:16

Total 4.10M @ 9:25

Fingal Race Week Session Targets|Actual Distance|Actual Pace
    Recovery 4M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 4.10M | 9:25
    General Aerobic 10M @ 9:00 to 9:15 | |
    Recovery 5M @ 9:20 to 10:00 with 6x100m strides | |
    Fingal 10K Sub 40 attempt | |

Miles WTD 4.10 / MTD 87.55 / YTD 1077.06

Solid group there, best of luck with it.

Good luck with the physio this evening. Might see you yet on Sunday.
    And do you have a target for Blessington?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭overpronator

Good luck with the physio this evening. Might see you yet on Sunday.
    And do you have a target for Blessington?

Ill keep an eye out for you lads on Sunday, I know what a couple of the heads look like so will hopefully get to say hello. All going well Blessington will be a sub 40 tilt, if I can get back going consistently. I was on the cusp of it after Terenure so with some sensible training I'd hope to get back there.
    Physio should be fine tonight, I reckon I could skip it but probably best not to, I have some good leg strengthening exercises and some stretches which were new to me going, I reckon they should be a big help.

Edit to say, Might pick your brain on Sunday about what you're thinking for some sessions over the next few weeks!

No bother. I have everyday down on a spreadsheet (not at hand). I'll post it up tomorrow.

General Aerobic 10 Miles

Early run saw me on the road at 5:30. The legs felt surprisingly fresh on this one. The plan was for an out and back, out to Castleknock along Chesterfield and back. Changed plan as I was running, went up behind the zoo and onto the North Road instead of Chesterfield. Sun was hitting most of the Park with a layer of mist over the ground around Machine Lake. Beautiful morning and had the Park mostly to myself. I exit at the Castleknock Gate and see road-sign for Chapelizod and decide to head there instead of doubling back.

So head down Tower Road and down into Chapelizod, follow the main road back to Islandbridge, squinting into sunshine. A little diversion up Con Colbert Road and then back home past the Hilton. The last mile was fast because I thought that maybe the route was longer than 10 miles and I had to be back by 7:00. Turned out to be 10.02 miles.

Been a while since I ran double digit miles in the early morning but it actually felt so much better than an after work run. Legs feel better for it as well.

M01 9:41
    M02 9:32
    M03 8:59
    M04 9:04
    M05 9:13
    M06 8:47
    M07 8:50
    M08 8:50
    M09 9:02
    M10 7:59

Total 10.02M @ 9:00

General Aerobic 10M @ 9:00 to 9:15 | 10.02 | 9:00

Miles WTD 14.12 / MTD 97.57 / YTD 1087.08

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Best of luck Sunday man.

No bother. I have everyday down on a spreadsheet (not at hand). I'll post it up tomorrow.

Here you go - nothing fancy. Focus is on trying to get more 5K paced running completed. I ran 39:13 in training back in April off the back of several 5K paced sessions. This is something I've been missing since CCM. Makes 10K pace feel so much more manageable.

tang1 wrote: »
    Best of luck Sunday man.

Thanks. Fingers crossed for fresh legs and fresh weather. Fairly confident of going sub 40 but I know I'll have to work for it.

Recovery 4 Miles

Third early run in a row Friday morning. On the road at 6:20. Heavy clouds overhead. After 10 minutes, was that a drop of rain? 5 minutes later I am as wet as I could possibly be. Heavy torrential rain with thunder and lightning. Roads turned to streams. I love it.

Ran my Inchicore, SCR, James, Heuston loop, for the first time in a while. Legs feel ok. Right knee has a slight non-painful niggle. Hopefully it'll pass.

M01 10:28
    M02 08:45
    M03 08:43
    M04 08:53

Total 4.02M @ 9:14

General Aerobic 10M @ 9:00 to 9:15 | 10.02M | 9:00
    Recovery 4M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 4.02M | 9:14

Miles WTD 18.14 / MTD 101.59 / YTD 1091.10

Recovery 8K with 6x100m strides

Mid-morning run on Saturday. Was going to put on my Nimbus but they were still soaked from yesterday. Put on the new ST5s instead, trial run. Into Phoenix at Islandbridge Gate and around the playing fields. Bootcampers everywhere. One mini-loop down below the hospital and then back onto the playing fields for the 6 sets of strides. I was curious to see if the right knee would give any feedback, it didn't. Trotted back home. Next stop Fingal.

4.88K @ 5:32 [3.03M @ 8:54]
    6x100m @ average stride 3:19 [5:20]
    1.83K @ 5:36 [1.14M @ 9:00]

Total 8.51K @ 5:19 [5.29M @ 8:34]

Recovery 8K @ 5:48 to 6:13 with 6x100m strides | 8.51K | 5:19 [8:34] average stride 3:19 [5:20]

Miles WTD 23.43 / MTD 106.88 / YTD 1096.39

Fingal 10K 2014

:):):) New official 10K PB of 39:41 :):):)

Pre-Race

Started the day with a last minute dash into town to catch the first 41C from Lower Abbey Street. Sitting on the bus I was already sweating. There was a slight welcome breeze blowing but when that wasn't there it felt warm and muggy, maybe not as much as recent days, but still not ideal.

Arrived in Swords with plenty of time to spare. Got my bearings. Dropped my bag down to the bag-drop and made an early portaloo call. All very unrushed. I was starting to feel race nerves arriving, good ones, getting the adrenaline going. While I love 10K distance I always have a feeling of dread for the hard work that I know will be involved. I just want the race to start and get it over with.

Headed out on a warm up back along the end of the course. Went out about 1.5K then ran back to the finishing line, noting some landmarks for later.

Just finishing my warm-up when I spot a red and white Sportsworld Top coming towards me. I check the hair. Call out and yes, it's statss. He's just heading out on his warm-up so I think feck-it I can run some more, it's early. We head out and back along the Rathbeale Road. Statss heading into this off just 3 hours sleep last night, don't envy him that. A few stretches back by the castle then we head for the start line.

Start meeting a lot of boardsies for the first time, lots of faces to user-names. First we meet overpronator who stays a bit further back from the startline than we do. By the time the race starts a mini group of us has formed with wowzer, Dave_McMahon and menoscemo (edit: oops this was actually Tom_Joad :o) . Goodluck all.

01-05K

Busy start to this one. Lots of congestion for the first 500ms or so. I kept checking the Garmin and it kept showing 4:0X pace. Hmmm, I felt like I was running at least target 3:55 [6:18] pace. I kept weaving to overtake, hit a side-mirror of a parked car, still 4:0X pace showing. We eventually turn onto the wide R132 and now I have a clean racing line ahead. The Garmin beeps and I'm surprised to see the first K log at 3:54 [6:18]. Ok then everything on track.

It feels warm but I don't feel it's affecting me yet. The Garmin is showing average pace of 3:52 [6:13]. I tell myself to slow down a little, despite a little part of me wanting to stay ahead of our boards group. K2 logs at 3:49 [6:09]. Slow down! Only a little later do I realize that statss and wowzer are actually ahead of me. I ease past them on the right. I continue to ease past runners, still a fairly busy field. K3 is a more reasonably paced 3:57 [6:22], but average pace is still showing a little too fast at 3:53 [6:16].

I'm not mad about this stretch along the R132 and I'm happy when we crest the first little climb of the day and turn left onto a little country road. The next 4K would be all along country roads. K4 is slower than expected, it logs at 4:01 [6:28]. This puts some doubts in my head, and I'm suddenly aware that I'm feeling the effort. Legs are a little sore and I feel warm. Average pace is now showing 3:55 [6:18] so I no longer have the luxury of slowing up.
    I'm not so confident anymore of holding 3:55 [6:18] to the end. Mad how your perspective on a race can change in just a few hundred metres. I complete 5K in 19:44. But average pace is now showing at 3:56 [6:21].

06-10K

Mental games and deals are starting early. I'm not so concerned any more if some of the group should catch me. Focus instead is on the sub 40. The average pace continues to slide and after 6K it is showing at 3:57 [6:21]. I start telling myself that I've less than 4K to go, that's nothing. Tell myself this is meant to hurt. Start focusing on as many positives as I can find, tell myself that though my legs are feeling tired they could be feeling much more tired, that it's not really that bad. I try to focus on other runners. At this point I realise I'm still overtaking, and I'm not being overtaken. That gives me a bit of a boost. All this must have helped because by the end of 7K the average pace is now back at 3:55 [6:18]. Checking the race profile later I notice that K7 is mostly a gentle downhill so that certainly helped.

If I can just get to 8K then I can start a proper countdown. I honestly can't remember the profile of the course around here, which I guess means it was mostly flat. Confidence is back. For a while I feared that I might miss the sub 40 but now I reckoned it was back on for sure. Still some work to do though and I knew there was a hill coming up somewhere soon. My lungs were working now, though not as much as they were during my TTs in the park. Today I was feeling it more in the legs than the lungs.

The civil defence were out spraying runners with a fire-hose - I absolutely loved that. Great touch. K8 and K9 passed in a blur logging at 3:54 [6:16] and 3:59 [6:25]. Average pace still showing at 3:55 [6:18]. I knew, barring disaster that sub 40 was in the bag. And I also realised that the hill I was dreading was actually the drag that I'd already covered during my warm-up and convinced myself that it wasn't that bad at all. Well into the last K. Just 800 metres to go. I wondered would one of our group speed past me over the next stretch. Finally I see the finishing chute up ahead. One of the top joys of this sport is seeing the finishing line and with it the anticipation of the end of the pain. I see 39:4X showing on the clock and speed toward the line. Job done :)

Post Race

I head to the pavement unsure of whether or not I was going to wretch. I don't. Within seconds menoscemo (:o) is alongside me. We congratulate each other on a race well run. We both agree that it was fairly tough going and we're both happy to have toughed it out. Wowzer, statss and overpronator (excellent race given recent injury) come through. Only a minute or so of a spread over our times. We all head back to the castle grounds. Statss had correctly predicted that Dave_McMahon would be first home from our group, and Dave did say that while racing he felt he had to come first.

More boardies introduce themselves and it was nice to finally also see neilc and yaboya1. Yaboya1 with a stunning 37:07 pointing out that marathons only hurt right near the end but that 10Ks hurt right from the start. Very true.

Lift back to town from statss (nothing wrong with your driving!).

Good days racing. Sub 40 made official. And it tasted sweeter given the mid-race wobble. Can I find another 42 seconds between now and Blessington, hmmm. I reckon I need to get a lot of 5K paced stuff in my legs between now and then. I wouldn't be putting money on sub 39. But if I have a really good day and the weather plays game and I have a kick in the last 800ms, well it might not be impossible.

Chip-Time 39:41
    Position 144 of 2759 finishers (or 6th in a race of 100)

KM01 3:55 [6:18] avg 3:55 [6:18]
    KM02 3:49 [6:09] avg 3:52 [6:14]
    KM03 3:57 [6:22] avg 3:53 [6:16]
    KM04 4:01 [6:28] avg 3:55 [6:19]
    KM05 4:01 [6:29] avg 3:56 [6:21]
    KM06 3:59 [6:24] avg 3:57 [6:22]
    KM07 3:47 [6:05] avg 3:56 [6:19]
    KM08 3:54 [6:16] avg 3:55 [6:19]
    KM09 3:59 [6:25] avg 3:56 [6:19]
    KM10 3:54 [6:17] avg 3:56 [6:19]

Total 10.13K @ 3:55 [6.29M @ 6:18]

http://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/545921524

Recovery 8K @ 5:48 to 6:13 with 6x100m strides | 8.51K | 5:19 [8:34] average stride 3:19 [5:20]
    Fingal 10K Sub 40 attempt | 39:41 | 3:55 [6:18]

Miles WTD 32.71 / MTD 116.15 / YTD 1105.68