Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2012 4 Races for 4 PBs

• Registered Users Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

Recovery 4 Miles

Slept in (through alarm) yesterday morning, so ran this one this morning instead. Not as cold out as I'd feared, or maybe I'm just getting used to it. I like recovery runs, especially the 4 milers. I start off at a jog and just zone out as the legs warm-up of their own accord and the pace gently increases. Legs were happy enough with this one.

M01 10:47
    M02 09:30
    M03 09:08
    M04 09:18

Total 4.03M @ 9:41

P&D55 Week 03 Session Targets|Session Results | Post Run Weight
    General Aerobic 10M @ 8:45 to 9:00 | 10.01M @ 8:47 | 72.80 KG
    Recovery 4M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 4.03M @ 9:41 | 73.60 KG
    Lactate Threshold 13K with 6K at 4:03[6:31] to 4:08[6:39] | |
    Recovery 5M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | |
    MLR 14M @ 8:10 to 8:25 | |

Sessions Completed / On Target / DNS / DNF / Remaining | Miles WTD / MTD / YTD
    10 / 08 / 00 / 00 / 76 | 14.04 / 129.82 / 129.82

Lactate Threshold 13K with 6K @ LT

This was fairly tough. Managed to run this one home from work. Definitely an evening for gloves. I ran home via Francis Street, Tomas Street and James Street. Dropped my rucksack home and continued my warm-up. I could feel an extra bounce in my step once the bag had been ditched. Head down to Chapelizod Road and start the LT section at Islandbridge Gate.

Once again I start too quickly, I overtake and say hiya to another runner who's travelling maybe at 7:00 min miles, so I don't feel I can ease up the pace too soon. There's a cold headwind blowing against me. The pace drops from 10K pace down to LT pace and when I reach Chapelizod Gate I've dropped it down to 4:05 [6:34]. Really happy though to turn 180 and head back toward town with the wind at my back. I keep the effort steady and watch as the pace quickens. I recover a little on this stretch and prepare myself mentally for the third length. Turn at Islandbridge Gate with average pace at 4:01 [6:28].

This second battle into the cold wind takes a fair bit out of me. Lungs are working and it feels at times a little more like a VO2Max session than an LT session. Legs are tired and pace drops. Delighted to turn at the gate and put the wind behind me again. Try keep a fluid stride for the last K, I'm happy to bring this LT piece to a close. Average pace 4:04[6:32].

I'd hoped this would feel more comfortable than last time out but instead it felt a little more difficult. I'm hoping this is due to the two full headwind lengths, the town-ward lengths were very manageable but the outbound lengths felt like long intervals. Cannot say I'm looking forward to the next LT section when the distance jumps up. Right now it's hard to believe I was running 10Ks at sub 3:55 pace only a few months ago.

2K cool-down brings me home.

5.01K @ 5:28 [3.11M @ 8:48]
    6.02K @ 4:04 [3.74M @ 6:32]
    2.21K @ 5:31 [1.37M @ 8:53]

Total 13.23K @ 4:50 [8.22M @ 7:47]

Lactate Threshold 13K with 6K at 4:03[6:31] to 4:08[6:39] | 13.23K @ 4:50 [8.22M @ 7:47] with 6.02K @ 4:04 [3.74M @ 6:32] | 72.65 KG

11 / 09 / 00 / 00 / 75 | 22.26 / 138.04 / 138.04

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭overpronator

I do my tempos down there too and the Chapelizod road is always like a wind tunnel heading out of town, makes things very very tough, makes for good sessions though!

makes it feel like an interval session, with town-ward recoveries

Recovery 4 5 Miles

I need to pay more attention to the schedule. This should have been 4 miles recovery but for some reason I got it into my head that it was a 5 miler. Still all recovery pace so no harm done.

Ran this one at lunchtime yesterday with the sun shining. Headed into the park at Islandbridge Gate, turned left and ran the S-bends and turned right up Acres. Very strong crosswind blowing across the 15 Acres. I turned down Chesterfield and decided to run on the slightly muddy dirt-track. Enjoyed this descent, protected from the wind by the trees and feeling cosy with the sunshine on my face. Hard work to keep the pace inside recovery range. This run was utterly effortless and surprisingly enjoyable. Legs felt good during and after the run.

M01 9:33
    M02 8:46
    M03 9:06
    M04 9:20
    M05 9:56

Total 5.10M @ 9:21

Lactate Threshold 13K with 6K at 4:03[6:31] to 4:08[6:39] | 13.23K @ 4:50 [8.22M @ 7:47] with 6.02K @ 4:04 [3.74M @ 6:32] | 72.65 KG
    Recovery 5M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 5.10M @ 9:21 | 73.30 KG

12 / 10 / 00 / 00 / 74 | 27.36 / 143.14 / 143.14

MLR 14 Miles

Easily the coldest run of the year so far.

I headed out a little before 8:30, ran down to Heuston and into the Park at Park Gate. I met a friend outside the Garda HQ and already my hands were numb. Friend ran one lap of the Park with me. The run up behind the zoo and along the North Road was into a bitterly cold headwind. It was a relief to reach OS Road. Turning onto the Upper Glen Road we were running into the sun and slowly slowly we started to thaw out. Pace was a little too quick at 8:08 or 8:09.

Started into a second lap, my mate jumped on his bike and accompanied me as far as Mountjoy Roundabout. All the thawing out was very quickly reversed and my hands were painfully cold again within 5 or 10 minutes. On the North Road I stretched out my right arm and could feel a weird pulse shooting from my hand up to my elbow. Not painful but a bit unnerving. I stretched out my arm again and same thing, a pulse from my hand up to my elbow. This had to be related to the cold, my right hand was much colder than my left, I think because I was holding the house-key with it. For the next mile or so any time I tried to stretch my arm the pulse would zip up my arm. I decided to stop stretching my arm.

I finished the second lap having thawed out again and then left by Park Gate and home via Heuston. I tried the arm again, and this time no pulse. Weird. i need to invest in a better pair of gloves.

Whatever about my arm, my legs were fine. Half-way through Mesocycle 1, first 5 day week completed and first 40+ mile week of the year. So far so good.

M01 8:18
    M02 8:21
    M03 8:10
    M04 7:52
    M05 8:00
    M06 8:07
    M07 8:18
    M08 8:10
    M09 8:09
    M10 7:56
    M11 7:52
    M12 8:23
    M13 8:28
    M14 8:23

Total 14.09M @ 8:11

Recovery 5M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 5.10M @ 9:21 | 73.30 KG
    MLR 14M @ 8:10 to 8:25 | 14.09M @ 8:11 | 72.90 KG

13 / 11 / 00 / 00 / 73 | 41.45 / 14.09 / 157.23

General Aerobic 13K with 10x100m Strides

Brrrrrrr!!

Fairly Baltic out there this morning, the Garmin had it at 5 below freezing. I put on my DCM12 long sleeve top, a short sleeved top over that and then a light running jacket. On with my gloves and I think only for the second time ever I put a hat on. On the road at 5:50. At least it wasn’t slippery underfoot.

I had the roads mostly to myself for a lap over to Inchicore and back via Emmet Road, SCR, James and Heuston. After less than two miles my hands were frozen and Sunday’s weird hand-to-elbow pulse was back if I stretched out my right arm. Another 6 miles of this will not be fun. Then I have a brainwave, I take off my hat and wrap it around my right-hand. I don’t suffer the cold in the head so this is a much better use of the hat. Head down to Chapelizod Road where mercifully only a light head-wind is blowing. Over 4 miles completed and now other extremities are starting to hurt with the cold :eek: I have flashbacks to some horror chaffing from 2 years ago. The sooner this run is over the better.

Into the strides, these should warm me up a little. Six sets of 100ms bring me back from Chapelizod Gate to Islandbridge Gate. Then 2 more sets out of town and 2 finals sets back toward town. Delighted to get home after this. Taking off my Garmin I realise not just my hand is numb but my whole lower arm. Hands stinging under hot shower water but at least there was no chaffing. I do not like running in the cold.

I was certain I was travelling a little faster than 5K pace on the strides, but checking the splits afterward I realise I was running them a little slower than 5K pace. I may try avoid running LT in the early morning next week.

8.55K @ 5:33 [5.31M @ 8:57]
    10x100m strides @ average 3:47 [6:05]
    1.51K @ 5:37 [0.94M @ 9:02]

Total 13.06K @ 5:26 [8.11M @ 8:45]

P&D55 Week 04 Session Targets|Session Results | Post Run Weight
    General Aerobic 13K @ 5:26 to 5:36 with 10x100m Strides | 13.06K @ 5:26[8:45] with average stride 3:47[6:05] | 72.85 KG
    General Aerobic 10M @ 8:45 to 9:00 | |
    Recovery 4M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | |
    MLR 15M @ 8:10 to 8:25 | |

14 / 12 / 00 / 00 / 72 | 8.11 / 22.20 / 165.34

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Not buying this cold lark at all :D - I was in Dublin yesterday and it was mediteranean compared to the weather in Cavan - I was wandering around in a tshirt! In an hours drive from the phoenix park the temperature had dropped 6 degrees.

Other than that some great running going on here.

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Not buying this cold lark at all :D - I was in Dublin yesterday and it was mediteranean compared to the weather in Cavan - I was wandering around in a tshirt! In an hours drive from the phoenix park the temperature had dropped 6 degrees.

Other than that some great running going on here.

Yesterday was a little oasis of warmth sandwiched between a Sunday morning from Northern Greenland and a Tuesday morning from Novosibirsk. You got lucky.

(btw - nice going with the 6:39 pace in Trim)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

I wouldn't worry too much about the pace readings during the strides OFAR - I think the distance covered is a little short to get any real accuracy into the reading to be honest, I've seen some shocking looking paces during some of my strides where I was sure I was motoring along!

Duanington wrote: »
    I wouldn't worry too much about the pace readings during the strides OFAR - I think the distance covered is a little short to get any real accuracy into the reading to be honest, I've seen some shocking looking paces during some of my strides where I was sure I was motoring along!

Cheers Duanington, you're right about the splits over 100ms, can't really be trusted. I only set it up on the Garmin for convenience sake. The effort felt right and I tried to keep the strides as fluid as possible, I guess that's the important thing.

Recovery 5 Miles

Out early yesterday morning for this one. The Garmin says it was nearly 3 below freezing, so a nice balmy day if in Cavan.

Standard out and back along the Chapelizod Road. Lights were out in Chapelizod Village so was running in the dark for a bit expecting to trip over a kerb. Kept average pace in the recovery range. Best thing about this run was the brightening horizon as I approached home. Not long now and it’ll be bright at 7:00am.

M01 10:06
    M02 09:10
    M03 09:13
    M04 08:47
    M05 09:35

Total 5.03M @ 9:22

General Aerobic 13K @ 5:26 to 5:36 with 10x100m Strides | 13.06K @ 5:26[8:45] with average stride 3:47[6:05] | 72.85 KG
    Recovery 5M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 5.03M @ 9:22 | 73.15 KG

15 / 14 / 00 / 00 / 71 | 13.14 / 27.23 / 170.37

General Aerobic 10 Miles

Got this one done after work on Thursday evening. 4 kilo handicap on my back. Gloves on but thankfully this wasn't a cold one. I followed my recent new route home, Leeson Street, Ranelagh, Donnybrook, Milltown, Rathgar, Rialto, Inchicore, HSQ. Made sure to keep it at GA pace, starting slowly and letting the pace increase naturally. Legs felt fine.

For the first time this P&D cycle my post session weigh-in drops below (just) the 72 kilo mark. Should drop further as the weekly mileage begins to creep up.

I've given up on the food diary. I haven't given up on the focus on good diet, but it's just to much hassle to document everything.

M01 9:07
    M02 8:52
    M03 9:12
    M04 8:42
    M05 8:54
    M06 8:18
    M07 8:40
    M08 8:41
    M09 8:57
    M10 8:23

Total 10.14 @ 8:48

General Aerobic 10M @ 8:45 to 9:00 | 10.14M @ 8:48 | 71.95 KG

16 / 14 / 00 / 00 / 70 | 23.28 / 37.37 / 180.51

Recovery 4 Miles

Quiet Saturday morning roads as I tip over to Heuston, go up Infirmary Road and enter the park by the Garda HQ. Cut through the zoo and down Chesterfield. Out at Islandbridge and then I have the IMMA grounds to myself as I run through the meadow there, round the Royal Hospital and home. These short recovery runs are so relaxed and so easy to get out of the way early on a Saturday.

Must pay attention to right knee, I got that strained feeling when crouching down to check how the food was doing in the oven.

M01 9:58
    M02 9:22
    M03 9:22
    M04 9:03

Total 4.11M @ 9:25

Recovery 4M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 4.11M @ 9:25 | 72.75 KG

17 / 15 / 00 / 00 / 69 | 27.39 / 41.48 / 184.62

MLR 15 Miles

Met up with overpronator for this one. We set off shortly after 8:00am on a foggy and chilly morning. Headed for the Park and up the North Road as far as Castleknock Gate. Overpronator feeling the effects of some rugby pints. Once we headed down OS Road and down Furry Glen the pace started to feel more comfortable and was starting to creep up naturally.

We exited at Chapelizod Gate and ran the tow-path back to Island-bridge. At this point I was starting to ease off as the average pace was now showing at 8:04. Back into the park for the highlight of the run. We leave the roads and cut through the centre of the 15 Acres. Within 50 metres we are swallowed up in the thick mist. This is really quiet and eerie, dark grey silhouettes emerging out of the mist; a water trough, a herd of deer, another runner, a copse of trees. We exit the mist back on Furze Road. Run as far as the top of the Upper Glen Road before cutting back across the full 15 Acres again. Really enjoyed these off-road pieces.

The average pace was now showing at 8:09, nearly back on target. After 14 miles I say ciao to ovepronator above Islandbridge Gate. He shows no signs now of any hangover as he starts off on another 6 miles to bring up the 20.

I finish up with one more mile, allowing the hill up to the Hilton drop the average pace back to 8:10.

Enjoyed that run, felt strong the whole way round, surprised to see some sub 8:00 mile splits in there. The run also flew past as we chatted all things running. You could have played runners’ bingo listening to us: P&D, Lydiate, threshold, VO2, London, Rotterdam, tempo, gels, mizuno, nimbus ……

M01 8:48
    M02 8:22
    M03 8:03
    M04 7:57
    M05 7:51
    M06 7:47
    M07 7:54
    M08 7:50
    M09 8:07
    M10 8:23
    M11 8:26
    M12 8:08
    M13 8:17
    M14 8:12
    M15 8:22

Total 15.01M @ 8:10

Recovery 4M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 4.11M @ 9:25 | 72.75 KG
    MLR 15M @ 8:10 to 8:25 | 15.01M @ 8:10 | 72.40 KG

18 / 16 / 00 / 00 / 68 | 42.40 / 56.49 / 199.63

Lactate Threshold 14K with 8K @ LT

Into week 5, the key week of Mesocycle 1.

I'd been dreading tonight's session pretty much from the moment I completed my last lactate threshold session two Fridays ago. Then I was properly wrecked having completed 6K at 4:04 [6:33] pace and I didn't know how I would manage once an extra 2K were added on.

I had the option of running this either in the early morning or in the evening after work. I decided last night that I would get as much sleep as possible and run it after work. Got into the gear reluctantly and headed for home via the Liberties. Dropped the rucksack in the door and continued on my way down to the Chapelizod Road. I was glad to hit lap on the Garmin so I could stop worrying about the session and just get stuck in.

I'd resolved beforehand to avoid any heroics and would try and hold 4:06 [6:36] or 4:07 [6:38] pace. I'd avoid trying to hold 4:03 [6:31] or 4:04 [6:33] pace. First length is from Islandbridge Gate to Chapelizod Gate. The pace slowly dropping on the Garmin along the length and it's 4:07 [6:38] when I make my first u-turn. Normally I'd be anxious that I was too close to the slow end of target pace, but I was calm about it this evening and trusted that the second length would gain me some time for no increase in effort. This is exactly what happened and I was at 4:05 [6:34] at the second u-turn.

Start into the third length expecting it to be tough, and it is, but not as tough as I'd feared. I'm genuinely surprised to see the pace has dropped to 4:04 [6:33]. Thankfully there's no strong headwind tonight. Lots of groups of runners using this stretch this evening. I nearly take a tumble by the bus shelter as I leave the footpath to overtake two walkers, just manage to stay on my feet, and I get gasps from the walkers.

Third u-turn and I'm heading back to town. I take stock - the legs are working for sure but over 6K this feels easier than last time out. I reckon the strong headwind two Fridays ago was a big factor in making LT pace feel sooooo tough. The wind made breathing difficult and the lungs were working hard. Tonight instead the breathing is largely under control and relatively comfortable. The pace has picked up again and is now at 4:03 [6:31].

One more u-turn and I head around 500ms out of town before turning around to complete the last 700ms. The legs are feeling it, the lungs are manageable and I'm very happy to note that at session-end I'm more concerned that the pace might hit 4:02 [6:29] than I am that it will drop to 4:04 [6:33]. I end the LT section with average pace 4:03 [6:32].

Really very pleased with this. It went much better than I expected. It was tough, as an LT should be, but I wasn't gasping as if it were a VO2 session. I reckon I could have continued to 10K tonight at that pace.

I feel the back of the week is already broken and I'm looking forward to the 16K at MP on Sunday (should I be looking forward to MP miles?)

5.08K @ 5:24 [3.16M @ 8:41] (200 miles for the year)
    8.01K @ 4:03 [4.98M @ 6:32]
    1.14K @ 5:23 [0.71M @ 8:40]

Total 14.24K @ 4:38 [8.85M @ 7:28]

P&D55 Week 05 Session Targets|Session Results | Post Run Weight
    Lactate Threshold 14K with 8K @ 4:03 to 4:08 | 14.24K @ 4:38 [7:28] with 8.01K @ 4:03 [6:32] | 72.50 KG
    MLR 26K with PMP 16K @ 4:29 to 4:31 | |

19 / 17 / 00 / 00 / 67 | 8.85 / 65.34 / 208.47

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Lovely session, well done :)

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Lovely session, well done :)

Thanks, it was the session I approached with most dread this year to date, so given how it turned out I'm ranking it as my best performance year to date.

Recovery 5 Miles

I'm being spoiled this week, two runs after work equals two less early rises. Loaded up the rucksack and headed home along the canal and through Rialto and Inchicore. I took this one very easy. In a way I just forgot I was running, switched off from work and daydreamed away, just as if I was walking home. Legs were grand. And no need for gloves :)

M01 9:37
    M02 9:16
    M03 9:08
    M04 9:25
    M05 9:54

Total 5.02M @ 9:28

Lactate Threshold 14K with 8K @ 4:03 to 4:08 | 14.24K @ 4:38 [7:28] with 8.01K @ 4:03 [6:32] | 72.50 KG
    Recovery 5M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 5.02M @ 9:28 | 72.40 KG

20 / 18 / 00 / 00 / 66 | 13.87 / 70.36 / 213.49

General Aerobic 10 Miles

An early start today, on the road at 5:30, no food in advance of this.
    Some light rain falling.

Just me and the sound of my footfall for most of the first lap over to Inchicore and back via Emmet Road, SCR, Jame's and Heuston. I check pace for the first time after lap 1 of 3, it shows 8:38. Too fast, slow down. On Emmet Road it shows at 8:35. Make a better effort to slow down. Early commuters appearing at bus-stops on this second lap. Pace has dropped to 8:43 after 2 laps. Still some slowing down to be done. Final lap. No obvious brightening on the horizon this morning thanks to the heavy wet clouds.

Feeling good on this run. Cadence feels neat and smooth, and the steady wet footfall is soothing and hypnotic. Almost sorry to end this one.

M01 9:20
    M02 8:25
    M03 8:05
    M04 8:36
    M05 8:38
    M06 8:42
    M07 9:27
    M08 8:50
    M09 8:57
    M10 8:54

Total 10.02M @ 8:47

General Aerobic 10M @ 8:45 to 9:00 | 10.02M @ 8:47 | 72.70 KG

21 / 19 / 00 / 00 / 65 | 23.89 / 80.38 / 223.51

Recovery 5 Miles

I’m really enjoying my Saturday morning running. Out at 8:00 again, not so early that it’s a battle with the bed, not so late that I completely miss the quiet roads and world-just-waking-up atmosphere. Head over toward Chapelizod along Con Colbert Road and Ballyfermot Road. Then over the Liffey and back to Islandbridge, keeping an eye on the Garmin ensuring I’d hold target pace. The majority of the last mile is run in the IMMA grounds, which I have completely to myself, I can pretend the Royal Hospital is my own country estate.

Garmin strap finally snapped so I’m holding it around my knuckles now. I ordered a replacement last week, in the end I opted for the same model FR210. I’ll cobble something together with elastic bands to make a strap for the old one and I can continue to wear it as a day-to-day watch.

M01 9:52
    M02 8:50
    M03 9:09
    M04 9:33
    M05 9:36

Total 5.01M @ 9:24

Recovery 5M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 5.01M @ 9:24 | 72.45 KG

22 / 20 / 00 / 00 / 64 | 28.90 / 85.39 / 228.52

26K with 16K @ PMP

Another confidence boost yesterday thanks to a successful PMP session.

Out shortly after 8:00am. Sun starting to rise and even though it’s a bit chilly at the outset I know it’ll warm-up as the run progresses. Into the park at Islandbridge Gate and I start lapping anti-clockwise. I’ve arranged to meet up with a friend who’s cycling down from Castleknock, meet him up behind the zoo. He locks his bike and joins me for a lap.

I’m holding pace at 5:04 [8:09] the fast end of MLR range. As we approach the S-bends I warn him that I’ll be cranking up the pace shortly. The initial increase is smooth and feels fine. Mate has to stop as he enters a battle with the gingerbread man. When we get going again the pace feels harder. He’s struggling (with the pace) and conversation goes quiet. He has to stop again, this time I run on a bit and double-back to collect him. He’s happy to end the lap and hop back on his bike. I say ciao to him at Mountjoy Roundabout and I continue on my own.

I’m feeling comfortable. The pace has settled at 4:26 [7:08] and I need to focus on not running too fast. I complete 10K in 44 something. By the time I reach the bottom of Military Road average pace has increased to 4:25 [7:06]. I need to ease up a little so I turn left up the Khyber. This does the trick and by the time I turn left onto Acres I’ve dropped average pace down to 4:28 [7:11]. I run to the end of Acres then along the footpath to the Fort, then back out Islandbridge and home. Final average pace 4:29 [7:12].

That was good. I ended feeling strong. So with this key session of Mesocycle 1 completed I find myself thinking again about goal times come CCM15. My minimum goal for CCM15 is to PB, but to do so while avoiding hitting a wall. This latter piece is important to me because after 6 marathons I’ve yet to finish one without being literally powerless over the closing miles to stop my pace collapsing. I want to feel at the end of the marathon like I did at the end of the HM in September last year, i.e. that I was in control of my pace.

A PB would be sub 3:24. To be sure of this I plan on targeting at least sub 3:20 on the day. I’ve never hit the time I’ve trained for, so this year I’m training for sub 3:10, to give myself a 10 minute ‘training buffer’. But based on yesterday’s run I’m thinking that rather than shooting for sub 3:20, I’ll probably shoot for a sub 3:18. This would also give me a nice round number pace to target on race day, 4:40 [7:31]. I know some on here will say I can run faster and maybe I can, but first I want to PB and do so feeling like it was me calling the shots over the last 6 miles, and not the marathon.

10.01K @ 5:04 [06.22M @ 8:09]
    16.26K @ 4:29 [10.11M @ 7:12]
    Total 26.28K @ 4:42 [16.33M @ 7:34]

Recovery 5M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 5.01M @ 9:24 | 72.45 KG
    MLR 26K with PMP 16K @ 4:29 to 4:31 | 26.28K @ 4:42 [16.33M @ 7:34] with 16.26K @ 4:29 [10.11M @ 7:12] | 71.70 KG

23 / 21 / 00 / 00 / 63 | 45.23 / 101.72 / 244.85

General Aerobic 13K with 10x100m Strides

The final week of Mesocycle 1, a recovery week, began early Tuesday morning. It was tough to get up and into the gear, was on the road at 5:48. Legs felt sluggish and heavy as I headed over toward Inchicore. I suppose Sunday's 10 miles at PMP are still in the legs. I completed my usual 3 mile loop then headed down to Chapelizod Road to run the set of strides. Unusually the average pace for these was a quick 3:29 [5:36] even though they felt the same as last time out 3:47 [6:05]. Legs felt much better after these.

Large swathe of blue-grey sky over the eastern horizon at 7am.

8.61K @ 5:32 [5.35M @ 8:54]
    10x100m strides @ average stride 3:29 [5:36]
    1.40K @ 5:31 [0.87M @ 8:53]

Total 13.01K @ 5:22 [8.08M @ 8:38]

P&D55 Week 06 Session Targets|Session Results | Post Run Weight
    General Aerobic 13K @ 5:26 to 5:36 with 10x100m strides | 13.01K @ 5:22 [8.08M @ 8:38] with average stride 3:29 [5:36]| 73.10 KG
    General Aerobic 8M @ 8:45 to 9:00 | |
    MLR 12M @ 8:15 to 8:30 | |

24 / 22 / 00 / 00 / 62 | 8.08 / 109.80 / 252.93

Recovery 5 Miles

I was working from home Wednesday so headed out for this at lunchtime. I repeated last Saturday morning's route. Today it took a lot of effort not to run faster than 9:20 pace. Recovery pace feels really really slow at this time of the day. I'd put on gloves, two tops and a running jacket, I realized quickly that it was actually quite mild out. The sun came out for the last 2 miles and for the first time in a long long time I feel overdressed on a run. Finish up again with a saunter through the IMMA grounds.

M01 9:21
    M02 9:13
    M03 9:17
    M04 9:36
    M05 9:30

Total 5.01M @ 9:24

General Aerobic 13K @ 5:26 to 5:36 with 10x100m strides | 13.01K @ 5:22 [8.08M @ 8:38] with average stride 3:29 [5:36]| 73.10 KG
    Recovery 5M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 5.01M @ 9:24 | 72.90 KG
    General Aerobic 8M @ 8:45 to 9:00 | |

25 / 23 / 00 / 00 / 61 | 13.09 / 114.81 / 257.94

General Aerobic 8 Miles

The plan had been to run home for work Thursday evening for this one. Instead I didn't get out of the office until late and needed to be home in a hurry to cook while junior outforarun has being put to bed.

So instead it was another early rise this morning. On the road at 5:46. Ran two of my Inchicore laps plus one HSQ lap. As always on these runs I first check average pace at the end of lap 1. This morning it was showing at 9:15. Oops, slower than expected, my perception of pace in the morning is dreadful. I speed up into the second lap. Of course I speed up too much and end up logging a sub 8:00 mile. My fastest and slowest miles this morning differed by over 2 minutes :rolleyes:

Eventually do get my act together and come home inside target pace. Legs feel fine.

Looks like I may have to travel to California for work in a few weeks time for two weeks. I really don't want to go. I reckon I'll be using one of my buffer weeks while there and run off plan for a bit.

M01 10:09
    M02 08:55
    M03 08:42
    M04 08:16
    M05 07:53
    M06 08:18
    M07 09:11
    M08 08:44

Total 8.05M @ 8:47

General Aerobic 8M @ 8:45 to 9:00 | 8.05M @ 8:47 | 72.95 KG

26 / 24 / 00 / 00 / 60 | 21.14 / 122.86 / 265.99

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭overpronator

Alright D, I was asking the better half if she had heard of any good running areas in Irvine whilst she was there and she suggested looking up the San Diego Creek bicycle path, apparently it's great for running and about 6-10 miles of uninterrupted tarmac. She said its full of runners and safe as houses, if a little poorly lit in places. I think she ran as much as 10 miles on it in total.

Thanks for that. I checked it out and it does look very promising. I also think I'll be staying fairly close to it. I'm still hoping to avoid this trip, that said some warm weather training would be nice.

Recovery 4 Miles

Headed over to Inchicore early Saturday morning running out as far as Blackhorse Luas stop, turned onto the canal and headed down to Suir Road and back to Kilmainham. I'm plotting my Saturday morning routes so that the last mile or so is in the IMMA grounds. Took in a lap of the formal gardens this morning. These short recoveries are over before you have time to break a sweat.

M01 9:29
    M02 9:11
    M03 9:27
    M04 9:12

Total 4.04M @ 9:21

Recovery 4M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 4.04M @ 9:21 | 72.90 KG

27 / 25 / 00 / 00 / 59 | 25.18 / 126.90 / 270.03

MLR 12 Miles

First proper rainy run in a while.

Out a little after 8:30 this morning to run my default 12 mile route. So head to Chapelizod via Ballyfermot road. I find the legs take a while to warm up this morning, they feel heavy and sluggish for the first few miles. In at Chapelizod Gate and out at Knockmaroon Gate. Up Tower Road and onto White's Road where the pace always picks up. There's a fairly strong wind blowing in parts this morning. Need to strain into the wind going down Acres. The pace creeps up slowly as the run progresses. And it hits 8:09 average during the last mile. Legs have woken up by the end and feel fine again.

That's Mesocycle 1 completed and successfully navigated. Two sessions not completed on target where in both cases I ran too fast (I have every intention of re-running these two sessions during my buffer weeks, just to put the record straight). Toughest session of the mesocycle was definitely the second Lactate Threshold 6K run in the Chapelizod wind tunnel.

The most encouraging runs were the 8K Lactate Threshold run two weeks ago and the 10 miles run feeling strong and in control at sub 3:10 marathon pace.

Things start to crank up from next week. I'm hoping for good conditions Tuesday evening when I tackle another 8K of LT running. And I'm looking forward to the first LSR of the cycle, 18 miles on Sunday.

M01 8:38
    M02 7:53
    M03 8:49
    M04 8:13
    M05 8:33
    M06 7:46
    M07 8:00
    M08 7:48
    M09 8:09
    M10 8:06
    M11 8:01
    M12 7:58

Total 12.13M @ 8:10

Recovery 4M @ 9:20 to 10:00 | 4.04M @ 9:21 | 72.90 KG
    MLR 12M @ 8:15 to 8:30 | 12.13M @ 8:10 | 72.10 KG

28 / 26 / 00 / 00 / 58 | 37.32 / 139.04 / 282.18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Well done, good running and sounds like the plan is coming together :)