Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

We have a cold cold winter ahead???

• 25-10-2010 2:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Tonight as i drove to tescos the temperature showing on the trip computer display in my car read 2 degrees. Its already pretty feckin cold & its only October. Even as i type theres a thin crust of frost showing on cars on the street

I reckon we're in for a dang cold winter. Maybe the coldest in a long dang time.

Could you give a sh!t? Or is it a worry for you? Would a severly cold winter cause you distress.

Hilarious quips to follow...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

deja vu?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

ISN'T IT FIERCE MILD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Once the pipes don't freeze and leave me without any water for nearly 3 weeks, like they did at the start of the year, i don't mind.

Anyway this way debated here a few days ago. Keep up man! :p

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

chin_grin wrote: »
    ISN'T IT FIERCE MILD?

AH NO, IT'S VERY CLOSE, DON'T YOU THINK?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭tommyboy2222

This October has been one of the mildest on record.

Even if its a cold winter, we get to leave work at 2 o'clock cos de buses can't make it out to Lucan once a bit of frost hits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

Its not that bad. What do you think Jack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Millicent wrote: »

Whats this? bogger language? Someone translate.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

You've never heard of the weather being described as "close"? Get thee beyond the Pale some time, my friend! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Humid.

*not a bogger though :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Tonight as i drove to tescos the temperature showing on the trip computer display in my car read 2 degrees.

The closer you drive to Tesco, the colder it gets.

They are the epi-centres of the bad weather. Under every Tesco supermarket, there are giant ice machines which radiate freezing temperatures through the earths subsoil.

Each winter, they plan to make it colder & colder in order to make people buy more and stock up. They have already bought up the world's supply of snow chains, hot water bottles & Bovril, with the plan to sell them at exorbitant prices to the public.

You will of course get extra Clubcard points, so it's not all that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,702 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

Saila wrote: »
    Humid.

*not a bogger though :cool:

Thanks. I choose you as my translator.

I will summon thee when required.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Daisy Steiner

Yep, there's loads of signs for another damn cold winter. I'm installing a new stove tomorrow, I NEVER want to have the house as cold as it was in January.

The water froze in the bowl and the cistern of me tyleh.

Also no water due to frozen pipes, hence no heating.

Also I was in a job that required a lot of driving . . . not good on icy country roads in the freezing dark.

It's remarkably cold at night already. Must find someone to hibernate with once college finishes for Christmas. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭MidnightQueen

The closer you drive to Tesco, the colder it gets.

They are the epi-centres of the bad weather. Under every Tesco supermarket, there are giant ice machines which radiate freezing temperatures through the earths subsoil.

Each winter, they plan to make it colder & colder in order to make people buy more and stock up. They have already bought up the world's supply of snow chains, hot water bottles & Bovril, with the plan to sell them at exorbitant prices to the public.

You will of course get extra Clubcard points, so it's not all that bad.

Sorry but i think this post is hilarious. :D

I really dont want another freezing cold winter! Last year was bad enough! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

A cold winter? As if there's ever any other kind of winter.

yep, wet and mild

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It's quite fresh.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    It's quite fresh.

go 'way outta that 'twould shkin ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

A lot of weather we're having lately.

Powerful

jd007 wrote: »
    A cold winter? As if there's ever any other kind of winter.

Depends where you are in the world.. :cool:

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,941 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Its hitting a nice 32° here.

Nice... It's only 29° with me. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Tonight as i drove to tescos the temperature showing on the trip computer display in my car read 2 degrees. Its already pretty feckin cold & its only October. Even as i type theres a thin crust of frost showing on cars on the street

Yeah but remember that ALL cars have cheap crappy temperature guages - so I would not base your end of the world forecast on this. It's quite warm during the daytime for the time of year. Today I saw lads in t-shirts on the main street so it's not the apocalypse.
    I reckon we're in for a dang cold winter. Maybe the coldest in a long dang time.
    Anyone who lived through the snows and freezes in the early 1980's will tell you that we have it easy now and people are panicing at normal weather. Jesus we had one of the nicest Summers and Indian Summers for a long time this year. Get out of your house/car more and enjoy the sunshine and warmth.
    Could you give a sh!t? Or is it a worry for you? Would a severly cold winter cause you distress.
    Yes. :rolleyes:
    No. :rolleyes:

Stop watching hollywood disaster movies and thinking that the next rainy morning is the end of the world. It's not !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Ah 2012 anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

The Day After Tomorrow

A car-driver tries to figure out a way to save the world from abrupt cold weather in October (October ... cold ... imagine !!!). He must get to his young son in Dublin, which is being taken over by a new ice age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

R_H_C_P wrote: »

Hitting a nice pleasant -4.7 here :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

R_H_C_P wrote: »

The cold is shutting my brain down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Man up OP. It ain't that cold yet and your giving out its too cold at 2C! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

There's a grand stretch in the evenings anyway...

foxinsox wrote: »
    Hitting a nice pleasant -4.7 here :(

Seriously? Fuk me that's cold for October..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭seawolf145

I love a long cold winter.
    As long as its dry,and not raining,which is a typical Irish winter.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

If they manage it the way they did last winter, I probably will be barely able to get to work for a couple of weeks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Well I just bought ice spikes for my shoes. I learned my lesson at the beginning of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,948 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

ISN'T IT FIERCE MILD?
    The-Rigger wrote: »
    It's quite fresh.

Sure isn't it a grand soft day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

3 pages in and no one has said "so much for global warming :rolleyes:"

I'm so proud of you AH!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭talla10

The headline in a newspaper i saw said 'Cold Winter Ahead' :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Harden the **** up OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Harden the **** up OP

Don't worry, the cold will do that to him soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Harden the **** up OP
    That's what she said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

OisinT wrote: »
    3 pages in and no one has said "so much for global warming :rolleyes:"

I'm so proud of you AH!

So much for climate change......

And OP of course we're in for a cold winter, haven't seen a warm one yet :cool:

The OP hasn't responded since 3am last night, has he frozen to death perhaps or just locked himself inside a fridge? :eek: ;)

gurramok wrote: »
    The OP hasn't responded since 3am last night, has he frozen to death perhaps or just locked himself inside a fridge? :eek: ;)

That must be a yes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

some people have said it will hit -10 in parts!

i just cannot wait for the snow since traveling time for me is optional! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

longshanks wrote: »
    Sure isn't it a grand soft day

good dryin out

The forecasters are saying there is an Arctic blast coming, temps of -5C at night time for the rest of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

ISN'T IT FIERCE MILD?

At least it's dry, thank god

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    At least it's dry, thank god

The wind be grazin me baubles so 'tis. Fierce chilly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Serious answer - yes. A bit worse than last winter by the looks of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

After the ads, cut to 8 mins 40 :)!!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fFqNkIzA_2I