Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Why do thankers on boards discriminate due to posters looks?

• 25-10-2010 10:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭

Was browsing the thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054892994 where nerds post pics of themselves for all to see.

What annoyed me was that most thanks were awarded to attractive women no matter how many times they posted pics of themselves.

I ask, wtf is wrong with men posting pics of themselves? Men posted many pics of themselves and they got feck all thanks in return. It ain't fair than men are discriminated against by fellow boardsies as after all it takes alot of balls to reveal your pic!

There are a small number of women posters who regularly show quite good pics of themselves and gain maximum thanks, now that ain't fair to poor blokes who go to all efforts to post a pic and yet receive feck all thanks. It ain't right!

Any thoughts? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Not their fault you're ugly as a hog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I don't thank male pics. That's just ghey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I agree, unless they're funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

^ This guy gets thanked a lot!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

Today you learned: Men are creeps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

If I thought they were decent eye-candy I'd thank them :)

But beauty is in the eye of the beholder...

One woman's hunchback is another woman's Mr. Pitt...

EDIT: I've never actually looked at that thread...
    *immediately goes to KYN to check it out*

the_syco wrote: »
    I agree, unless they're funny.

That's still a bit ghey. Well, at least bi.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

They thank the user's post in the hope that the user will therefore consider having sex with them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Cos 90% of boardsies are male, and they don't want to thank a photo of a fella for fear that it might be interpreted as them wanting to shag him.

I don't thank any post in that thread unless it's a really cool pic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The thanks is not a thumbs-up for going to the effort of posting a picture, it's an "I would like to have sex with you".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Yeah, i cant see blokes saying "nice form, great chest, nice bulge :eek:" where as wimmin will respect nice pair of bewbs when we see them, or a nice waist, smile, good hair, all her own teeth etc.

PM's OP for pic :p (bit of a drought so i may seem stalker---ish at first :pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

There are more men to appreciate the women than vice versa, case solved. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

gurramok wrote: »
    What annoyed me was that most thanks were awarded to attractive women no matter how many times they posted pics of themselves.

Don't be annoyed, those women that put up tons and tons of pics are more than likely sad individuals that put so many pics seeking attention, they most likely have daddy issues and are looking for validation from internet people.

There's a lot of blokes in weird helmets on that thread.

Twee on page 131 is seriously hot though. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Look at this page of the thread. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054892994&page=49

A few girls post pics of themselves a few times and yet get a tonne of thanks. A few newbie pics of males get feck all thanks, thats discrimination against the male species! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Only the good looking women put pics up, guys are more deluded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Life isnt fair.

Generally a woman is a thing of beauty, a man isnt. thats just the way it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Look at this page of the thread. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054892994&page=49

A few girls post pics of themselves a few times and yet get a tonne of thanks. A few newbie pics of males get feck all thanks, thats discrimination against the male species! :pac:

i see fúck all thanks on that page to be fair. I also see fúck all women to thank.

TheZohan wrote: »
    Don't be annoyed, those women that put up tons and tons of pics are more than likely sad individuals that put so many pics seeking attention, they most likely have daddy issues and are looking for validation from internet people.
    Well someone has to do the validatin'.

It's not like there's a "Let's not thank pictures of guys" movement though - it's hardly a conscious/intentional thing. As said, there are far more males than females here, and it seems men - possibly younger men which is much of Boards' demographic - are more wired towards the visual (nothing wrong with that btw).

But yeah, the one or two women who dont even post on AH and who's posts are comprised of just contrast ridden pics of themselves must have serious problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

There are no good looking people on the internet , guys just have lower standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Dudess wrote: »
    The thanks is not a thumbs-up for going to the effort of posting a picture, it's an "I would like to have sex with you".

How many thanks do you think you'll get for pointing that out? ;)

There's 2 new pics on the last page. The standard has just gone up big time. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,214 ✭✭✭wonton

for that thread it should be called "****" instead of "thanks".

There's 2 new pics on the last page. The standard has just gone up big time. :p

was just thinking that. sexy beasts.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Welcome to the internet. Where the majority of opinion and discourse is carried out in the remote possibility of tits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

some people in this thread really need to go out with me so i can introduce them to a good pal of mine named REALITY.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

theres wimmin on the internet, what are they doing out of the kitchen?

<runs and hides>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,778 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

Hey, thanks for the heads up, now I dont have to sift through all the ugly mo' fo's...

Ok, why does this girl get maximum thanks? http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=68224952&postcount=1935

And this girl http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=68311228&postcount=1938

And this one http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=68558316&postcount=1953

This thread is outrageous http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054892994&page=47

Blokes go to as far as they can to make themsleves cool and yet female posters post yet another pic and they get 4 times as much as thanks, like wtf!

Because there are more men? FFS, are you being serious?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

Who would have thought there was hot people on boards?? :rolleyes:

Also that thread is brilliant - but not for my self-esteem :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

People love Gimli.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

What about the guys that do it? There are a lot of serial male pic posters too. Do they have the same issues that you mentioned, or is it just the chicks?

Me as a thanker? I thank posters who I recognise who's pic I may not have seen before, or if it's funny or different or they are doing something other than posing. I don't tend to thank hot poser type ones much. Except for my own, which I rereg to do for that specific purpose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

simples if you are not pretty no-one is going to thank you for it! :D

Ok, why does this girl get maximum thanks? http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=68224952&postcount=1935

And this girl http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=68311228&postcount=1938

And this one http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=68558316&postcount=1953

This thread is outrageous http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2054892994&page=47

Blokes go to as far as they can to make themsleves cool and yet female posters post yet another pic and they get 4 times as much as thanks, like wtf!

The first 3 posts get loads of thanks coz they are of really hot chicks.

What part of that do you not get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

I gave her thanks because she thanked every other photo on that page. (out of sympathy I'd imagine.) :)

If ye don't put up an interesting/funny/hot then you can go and feck off.

WindSock wrote: »
    What about the guys that do it? There are a lot of serial male pic posters too. Do they have the same issues that you mentioned, or is it just the chicks?

Me as a thanker? I thank posters who I recognise who's pic I may not have seen before, or if it's funny or different or they are doing something other than posing. I don't tend to thank hot poser type ones much. Except for my own, which I rereg to do for that specific purpose.

I was addressing the topic of the OP.

The guys that are posting tons of pics are probably looking for sex!

This thread reeks of jealousy tbh.

The first 3 posts get loads of thanks coz they are of really hot chicks.

What part of that do you not get?

Eh, it ain't fair!!

Whats wrong with thanking male pics?!

Eh, it ain't fair!!

1. It's ghey

2. No

3. Just no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

What I don't get is the posters who only ever post in those threads. It's like they don't have any opinions and all they have to offer boards is their picture.

SugarHigh wrote: »
    What I don't get is the posters who only ever post in those threads. It's like they don't have any opinions and all they have to offer boards is their picture.

If they're female & hot, I'm not complaining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Eh, it ain't fair!!

Nothing.
    But like has been said, people seem to thank posts because they fancy who is in the photo, and with ten times more men than women, the men lose out on the thanks.

I was addressing the topic of the OP.

The guys that are posting tons of pics are probably looking for sex!
    arent all guys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

*while scrolling through picture threads of "real people" on the internet*

dude,
    pic of somones eye
    emo pose
    fella,
    pic blured on purpose
    ouuld lad,
    teenager,
    teen,
    hot girl,
    man,
    dude,
    dude doing somthing funny,
    pic of guy/girl but edited so you can barley see him,
    guy,
    girl,
    man wearing mask (not hallloween),
    nice girl halloween pics.....
    etc...

BOLD = thanks
    italics = unthanks if i could

theres alot more unthanks ones

It's another of these perceptions rather than realities about Boards - e.g. the clique one, the thanks whore one, the moderator conspiracy one. Things aren't always as they seem. And where stuff appears to be the case, it's highly unlikely that was the initial intention.

Jaysus...look at that ugly bastard at post number 1970 in the KYN thread. :p

Absolute fekkers :) Yeh, i've been PM'ed to put my pic up after challenging the AH status of other posters, damn ye!
    alwaysadub wrote:
    But like has been said, people seem to thank posts because they fancy who is in the photo, and with ten times more men than women, the men lose out on the thanks.

Will you thank me now? :)

Teutorix wrote: »
    arent all guys?

Lets not turn this thread into something that it's not.