Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Embarrassing night at Jimeoin(comedian) in Revolution.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Butternutz1

Lol WTF

Care to explain yourself?

Of course with that attitude to simply boot out your customers , simply stating your pub won't make it a year if not less .Unfortunately Darren your attitude is like the bar owners in this city gone by, which is simply come into my pub and do as I say or get out and drink elsewhere . So like I said good luck .
    Applogies op for off topic so will leave at that

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭puppetmaster

I would say Jimeoin is Reasonably well known in Australia From his TV apperances. Many Aussies seem to know him. Unfortunatley i dont know why. Dont find him funny at all. although it aint a reason to Ruin his Gig.

Although i Saw Delemare in Waterford a few years back and he had an arsehole Heckler in the second row. Delemare spent 10 minutes rippin shreds off him, was the funniest part of the show. A professional comedian should be able to deal with it tbh , its part of the business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Of course with that attitude to simply boot out your customers , simply stating your pub won't make it a year if not less .Unfortunately Darren your attitude is like the bar owners in this city gone by, which is simply come into my pub and do as I say or get out and drink elsewhere . So like I said good luck .

Sigh....

Those people were watching a live show...if you pay to see a comedian, or maybe a musician and proceed to talk your way through the whole thing then I think you should expect to be ejected.

You're just trying to be smart and by using my real name you're trying to convey in some way that you know me and can judge me fairly quickly. I wouldn't bother if I were you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Eh, if a person is being obnoxious and ruining the night for other customers when he clearly has no interest in the show himself/herself, they most certainly should be booted out

Doesnt mean Darren has a bad attitude for saying so tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

So what, people should just be allowed do whatever they like even if it's bothering other patrons? I can only hope that you don't have a bar, club or restaurant with that attitude.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Butternutz1

Ok , Darren I don't know you just know some of your work like battle of the businesses and when you dj , what I am simply saying as a publican/bar manager I believe there is a better way than just booting out these people. Surely a quiet word or moving them to the back of the club. As they were out in a group I'm guessing it was part of a social club or something and they may not have known they were ruining other customers experience.

Adyx I don't own a bar/restaurant or anything like that , my only experience is I used to manage bars and nightclubs in the past and would have been the first person to "boot out" these customers but at the end of the day there are only so many customers
    that can be booted out before you have no one coming in

By the way op did you inform flash/ manager that these people were ruining the show for you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭baronflyguy

I have been to the Forum Comedy night a few times and I was impressed at the way the security guy discreetly handles the nights, he is proactive in his actions. One night he had a word to a hecklar who wouldnt shut up (like it went on for a bit) even after the comedian gave her some 1 to 1 time. Thankfully a quite word sorted it out and she put a sock in it. Someone from Revolution should have sorted it out regardless if there was tension in the background or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭snuggles09

surely it should be as simple as discreetly asking people to be quiet and if that doesnt work to tell them to leave

if people are in a pub causing a disruption whatever that might be and they are disturbing other patrons, surely you try to please the majority of your patrons and not the small minority causing the trouble

as abouttobebanned said, boot them out...if people are warned and still won't shut up then definitley ask them to leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭Boooourns

By the way op did you inform flash/ manager that these people were ruining the show for you ?

No i didn't but it was pretty obvious what was happening. Wish i had done thinking back. Should have been handled better by the staff in my opinion but it still won't stop me from going to gigs there.
    I've been to a few of the comedy gigs in the forum and i've seen the hecklers as well and it doesn't bother me at all once is all in good fun. I just can't understand people going to a comedy gig and just chat away loudly during parts of it even after been told to stop by one of the staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭giles lynchwood

Christmas is comming and all those christmas parties i'm sure this was on Flash's mind and no matter what you do the only thing for sure is that you will never please everybody.The key to sucess is put the business first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

I have been there before for a comedy show and I know heckling can be all part and parcel if it and sometimes can add to it if the heckling is good or the comedian puts down the heckler really well. BUT the night I was there we had to put up with two absolute muppets, husband and wife, who insisted on making the most ridiculous comments over and over. Wasn't the slightest bit funny and you could see all the comedians were just completely sick of it and couldn't get into their rhythm at all. It ruined it completly. The staff just stood about doing nothing and saying nothing, Flash included. I have never gone back.

Hecklers are part of stand up, loud morons aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

In fairness Flash has already said that he was at the gig anad that he talked to the Tesco group at half time. He reckoned they quietened down. The OP didn't think so. Would be interesting to get another person's perspective on it although I'm inclined to believe the OP as he doesn't have a vested interest and because I've experienced problems at a comedy gig before (Ardal O'Hanlon in The Forum a few years ago) which makes me think that some people are just assholes and have no regard for others.

• Registered Users Posts: 107 ✭✭MFZ

nkay1985 wrote: »
    Would be interesting to get another person's perspective on it

Ex ante: This was my first visit to the comedy club and I did not know Jimeoin before.

I was disappointed, too. But I do not think it was solely the problem with the Tesco crowd.
    I'd assumed this show was just part of their night out, they had a few drinks before and would have some more afterwards and just wanted some fun without focussing on that event.
    They maybe were the last straw.

IMHO 2 more problems contributed to the/my disappointment:
    Jimeoin had "2" audiences to address since the layout was:
    Audience 1 - sta
                 ge
                 |
                 Au
                 di
                 en
                 ce2

He said at the very start of the show he was very confused by that. When performing his show he had to necklegt half the people whatever he did (but you could have included this split into your performance or at least ignore it and not start the show with moaning about it)

And I think he was not in his best form. He should have handled the situation much more competent. And he missed some obvious punch lines.

Unfortunately I cannot be certain what was the root cause, his bad form or the distraction by venue layout / Tesco crowd.

I'd say all three contributed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭Boooourns

MFZ wrote: »
    Ex ante: This was my first visit to the comedy club and I did not know Jimeoin before.

I was disappointed, too. But I do not think it was solely the problem with the Tesco crowd.
    I'd assumed this show was just part of their night out, they had a few drinks before and would have some more afterwards and just wanted some fun without focussing on that event.
    They maybe were the last straw.

IMHO 2 more problems contributed to the/my disappointment:
    Jimeoin had "2" audiences to address since the layout was:
    Audience 1 - sta
                 ge
                 |
                 Au
                 di
                 en
                 ce2

He said at the very start of the show he was very confused by that. When performing his show he had to necklegt half the people whatever he did (but you could have included this split into your performance or at least ignore it and not start the show with moaning about it)

And I think he was not in his best form. He should have handled the situation much more competent. And he missed some obvious punch lines.

Unfortunately I cannot be certain what was the root cause, his bad form or the distraction by venue layout / Tesco crowd.

I'd say all three contributed.

Agree with a lot of this, i mentioned the layout earlier, it was very poorly laid out, there were mirrors at the back of the stage which reflected the lights back into the audience eyes and the sound wasn't great.
    When he came out first i thought he was in good form but in fairness he did get agitated by the layout and some of the audience. Personally i'd put most of my blame on that section of the audience as they were just plain rude.
    I'll certaintly put it down to just 'one of those nights' and i'll go to gigs there again and i'm glad someone else posted here that was there as i was looking for more opinions on the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

Been to a couple of comedy nights in Revs, two of which were upstairs when it was still Revs upstairs, one which was in the basement bar and one in Escape. The layout for comedy in Escape is terrible in my opinion. I can't see how a comedian can adapt to looking or performing in two different directions. You direct the jokes and perform toward the crowd in front of you, not to the front and the side. In the basement bar they had the comedian in front of the tv screen and the seats were just gathered around there, and it worked perfectly.
    As regards to people disrupting a gig, if the performer asks you to tone it down and you keep acting the maggot and talking over him/her, then I see no issues in you being asked to leave or kicked out. I couldnt give a ****e if you paid to be here, so did I. I didnt pay to listen to you chat to your friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭Chris P. Bacon

I remember seeing Des Bishop in the forum a few years ago,and it was just after he made that RTE programme where he worked for minimum wage in Abrekebara in town,and he got a fair bit of abuse thrown at him from the crowd but he was well able for it,i saw about four people been thrown out,these things happens.

Apparently this Jimeoin guy thinks he's someone. I was told all the antics he got up to from the moment he arrived in waterford and read what he posted on his twitter about us. He doesn't deserve to have people pay money to see him. An absolute disgrace to his profession. Forget the tesco crowd...I'd have booted him out.

Wouldnt say he will be coming back to Waterford any time soon.
    In waterford. Ireland. Praying to the Chilean miners to get me out of this hole.

http://twitter.com/jimeoin

And that's comedy eh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭gscully

Wouldnt say he will be coming back to Waterford any time soon.

In waterford. Ireland. Praying to the Chilean miners to get me out of this hole.

http://twitter.com/jimeoin

Idiot...does he not realise that they couldn't even get themselves out? :rolleyes:

Apparently this Jimeoin guy thinks he's someone. I was told all the antics he got up to from the moment he arrived in waterford and read what he posted on his twitter about us. He doesn't deserve to have people pay money to see him. An absolute disgrace to his profession. Forget the tesco crowd...I'd have booted him out.

I'll put it this way. He goes to venues all over the country and yet he felt the need to single Waterford out as being a hole. You think that it's his fault though, nothing to do with the fact that he got a better reception in other venues or anything then?

No. But I'll contact the promoter who booked him and get him to come on here and explain how he acted the prick from the moment he arrived in Waterford, before he even got to the venue. For the money he got for that gig there is no excuse at behaving like that and slagging off the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Hi guys!:)

Someone said that this jimeoin guy is big in oz. I dont think that is correct as I never heard of him.

I have heard of him, I went to several of his gigs in Sydney and I owned his CD.
    This was over 10 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Not to mention his movie The Craic, and he had his own prime time comedy show.

No. But I'll contact the promoter who booked him and get him to come on here and explain how he acted the prick from the moment he arrived in Waterford, before he even got to the venue. For the money he got for that gig there is no excuse at behaving like that and slagging off the county.

Well that's fair enough. If he acted the prat from the minute he got here then there was no need for that. Feckin diva.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 bravowhiskey

I am part of the Imagine Festival that looked after Jimeoin during his stay in Waterford. I must admit that I found him to be a gentleman, not a diva at all. we socialised over two days and found him to be a very intelligent and funny. I don't know where some of these people are getting their info. You are just spreading lies and you should drop it.

Were you with him in revolution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Well he obviously had a completely different opinion of you...

I am part of the Imagine Festival that looked after Jimeoin during his stay in Waterford. I must admit that I found him to be a gentleman, not a diva at all. we socialised over two days and found him to be a very intelligent and funny. I don't know where some of these people are getting their info. You are just spreading lies and you should drop it.

Is that you Jim?

What did he think about Revoultions and Waterford in general?