Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rant about mature students

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭bobblepuzzle

And you sir fúcked up your first chance at a third level education by drinking and doing drugs and now you're back on your knees desperate for a second chance to get somewhere in life.

See, us taxpayers should not be forking out on eijits like yourself with no prospect.... thank this post if you agree :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭Adriatic

This is stupid, if anything you should be learning from them instead of attempting to dumb down everyone to your level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

I'm a mature student. Thankfully it's part time in the evening when all the kiddies who want to sit at the back and chat or sleep, listen to their iPods, ignore their assignments and panic towards due date, and appear as though they are heading to the catwalk and not a class.

It is 'Mature' for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭up for anything

ILA wrote: »

Also I pay fees.

You? Or your parents?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

Well get used to it "sunshine". The thread is a rant about mature students. I expressed my opinion clearly stating that I was in agreement with the OP, and you come here and call me a wánker. Grow up the fúck, I don't know what angle you're coming from being so defensive of mature students and I'd be hard pushed to assume you are one, but if so, please in future keep your fúcking mouth shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

No opinions, no questions, no fuss. Keeps his mouth shut, takes the notes down and leaves. Speaks when spoken to as a true college student should...

... grows up to be a good little drone, never questioning authority or forming a opinion on anything, not capable of analytical thought or an original idea.

And people wonder why the country is in the state it's in?

Well get used to it "sunshine". The thread is a rant about mature students. I expressed my opinion clearly stating that I was in agreement with the OP, and you come here and call me a wánker. Grow up the fúck, I don't know what angle you're coming from being so defensive of mature students and I'd be hard pushed to assume you are one, but if so, please in future keep your fúcking mouth shut.

A wánker is what you are! And you've come across (not just to me, but the boards community) as a complete imbecile, not worthy of our taxes because NOBODY could educate someone like you, or change your idiotic view on life! Thank you! AND GOOD NIGHT FOLKS!

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭tooler08

Cmdr Keen wrote: »
    They may have a lot more experience in actually doing work than you do...

Listen to your elders, and don't be a complete pratt all your life!!!

Just because they have worked does not give them the right to think they are better than the rest of us.

Also Personal abuse isnt allowed on this website and also shows your lack of debating skill.
    if you are the type of elder I am supposed to listen too then i am probably better off deaf!!

tooler08 wrote: »
    Just because they have worked does not give them the right to think they are better than the rest of us.

Also Personal abuse isnt allowed on this website and also shows your lack of debating skill.
    if you are the type of elder I am supposed to listen too then i am probably better off deaf!!

Who said that I AM an elder to you lmao... maybe I'm younger than you and know better :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

... grows up to be a good little drone, never questioning authority or forming a opinion on anything, not capable of analytical thought or an original idea.

And people wonder why the country is in the state it's in?
    Or else he understands the material and doesn't need to ask any questions...

But don't let logic get in the way of your rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Cmdr Keen, don't risk getting banned because of the likes of that person - you're better than them.

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭tooler08

Well I know better than to call people **** and pratts on this website.
    Bad attempt at trolling in my opinion

Cmdr Keen, you are a joke. I'm 18 years old and I'm actually being insulted by a 30 something year old man who can barely type. Seriously grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

I am developing a strong dislike of mature students at third level. They're so annoying for a number of reasons, including:

and what you freash from the leavings are any better? :confused:
    • They always sit in the front rows
    Right so when i sit in 4 lectures a week I sit close to the front for 3 reasons

1. Little gob****es that sit there in a lecture, talking complete ****e for half the lecture which they could do at lunch but no. I really wanna listen to how two girls got the box ridden of them bye some idiot with a stupid hair cut! fascinating.
    2. Its easier to get out for a smoke at the break.
    3. Who the hell wants to be with the cool kids who are so wet behind the ear that they post stupid sh!te like that :rolleyes:
    They always ask the most anal questions
    Yes at times we do but we genrally have a reason. for it.
    They always have the textbook, and pencil case full of stationery and a range of highlighters
    whats your issue with being prepared ? I never really went to college not because I was out working in a factory but i had other interesting things to be doing with my early life its called living. or have you not got that far yet?
    • They always have the require slides printed out for classes
    Again you complain about something that can be considered anal too?
    • They dress in their ancient style of dress.
    well Now buttercup ypour being really anal this is college some women were new rock boots fishnet stockings. and pink clothing. Who the hell cares.? Oh wait you do is that not anal to.
    I mean why can't they just be a bit more normal and adapt to the environment which they're in? No one wants to know what you think of the concept of Scientific Management or your experience of it in practice.

/Mild rant
    Bit more normal what? Are you like some Napoleon syndrome little hittler with a complex....

Just out of curiosity who wants to listen to some "wannabe's" Ideals on whats cool? Do you still live with mommy and have your arse wiped for you? or are you another one of the "diet of goodfellas pizzas" hows that working for you?

if things like this bother you? :pac: god help you?

or do we make you feel really uncomfortable about the fact that your not so intellectually advanced?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=25N-4zrk390

Go to around half way through and this actually happened with a mature student in our class one day!! Went on for a good fifteen minutes!! No joke!! You wouldn't mind but it was a Masters course!! To be fair the majority are grand, but there's one or two who don't get the whole lecture concept!! It's not meant to be a Q&A session. That's what tutorials are for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I'd say most people know the mature student the OP is talking about, but then there's the usual AH sh1t of applying that to all mature students, of all ages (your 24-year-old mature student is gonna be a lot different to your 44-year-old mature student).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Dont really hate mature students but i can see why people do

- They ask the most redicalus questions that are irreverent to anything quickly followed by a story about another irreverent experience they had while working in some company.

- They get massive grants

- Some maybe all, get back to education allowance (maybe i'm just bitter that i had to work during college to buy things)

- Takes them ages to understand everything.

But i bet mature student find non mature students annoying too such as

- Giggling like morans for no reason

- constantly saying they're so hung over

- always showing up late to class with a coffee.

- General messing

- moaning about having no time for assignments but yet do F-all till a few nights before and try steal notes

so both ways really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I had an army officer in my class during my degree, he used to turn up with his books covered in wallpaper. It was like being back in primary, though I was a mature student too, but to be fair he was in his 50s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

I forgot to include the above in my original post:
    • Hardship stories about having to leave school at 16 and "work on the buildings" or "work in the factory" until you became redundant and had nothing better to do.

Well with your woeful attitude you won't have to worry about working anywhere because nobody in their right mind would want to hire someone like you.

EDIT: The day we see more students that do what "mature students" do the better for the entire country. There are far too many people going to college with no interest in their course.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Dont really hate mature students but i can see why people do

- They ask the most redicalus questions that are irreverent to anything quickly followed by a story about another irreverent experience they had while working in some company.

- They get massive grants

- Some maybe all, get back to education allowance (maybe i'm just bitter that i had to work during college to buy things)

- Takes them ages to understand everything.

But i bet mature student find non mature students annoying too such as

- Giggling like morans for no reason

- constantly saying they're so hung over

- always showing up late to class with a coffee.

- General messing

- moaning about having no time for assignments but yet do F-all till a few nights before and try steal notes

so both ways really

ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

The OP is well fúcking right, those of you who are arguing with him are sad sad cúnts, For every 5 príck mature students there's always that one guy who sits at the very back and keeps his gob shut. No opinions, no questions, no fuss. Keeps his mouth shut, takes the notes down and leaves. Speaks when spoken to as a true college student should, not letting loose 30 seconds before a lecture ends basically spewing what the lecturer's been shíteing on about for the last hour back at him/her word for word so they can get the nod of approval. For Gods sake, us students don't hate you initially, we really don't, but when you start being annoying and genuinely interrupting the class with your worthless opinion then you're interfering with OUR education, and yes that does piss me and many others off.

I think you post is unbelievably criminal.

Apart from the fact that I had to read it thrice to get a basic understanding of what you were on about, the lack of paragraphs, mis-spellings and atrousious choice of words is simply dumbfounding.

It is shocking that a so called third-level student will castigate a person irrespective of their age just because they find it odd that they are asking questions!!! ( I am positive that your lecturers would have indicated that everyone can ask questions if they don't understand parts of the lecture)...

How old are you?? I think you need to really spend less time drinking and concentrate on your studies ...its very shameful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

TimeToShine <
    If this represents our future then all I can say is that this country actually doesn't have one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

I am developing a strong dislike of mature students at third level. They're so annoying for a number of reasons, including:
    • They dress in their ancient style of dress.
    I hope you realise that you will get older too!

I hope you realise that the style of dress you are wearing now will go out of fashion and you will laugh at the state of what you are wearing now!

I hope you realise that as you mature you actually don't care what people's opinion of your style of dress is!

I hope that someday you will understand what being mature means!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Education is wasted on the young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

An important fact I forgot to note is that mature students are a joy to teach. They engage with the course material by asking questions, making points etc. .I only do a small amount of lecturing, as I work full time and I'm also back studying myself, and it's mostly mature student I teach, either part time short courses or post-grad.

Yes there are certain types that are a pain in the hole, but I would rather lecture to mature students, they have life experience which is needed in the area I teach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Bubs99

Ok, I must admit, when I was in college last year (I was a lso a mature student, age 26), we had a lady in her late 30's, a very nice woman mind you but she'd ask the most stupid questions during class but thats not my point...

I want to say how annoying it is that I find it offensive and annoying the way people think all "students" are idiotic, immature drunks who just want to party etc.
    I know a large percentage might be (or are!) but my boyfriend and I find it very difficult to find decent places to rent...when landlords hear that we are students, we often get rejected.

I find that so unfair because we are far from the stereotypical type. My boyfriend (He's also a mature student while Im now searching for work) and I dont have mad, loud "sessions" and drink all the time and make a mess and damage flats. Im actually a cleaning freak (I do have a life though before people judge)!

And we dont drink often either for other reasons.
    Anyway...I hope people get my point. Sorry about the long rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

ya

Maybe some day you'll grow up - your the type of f@ggot student that annoys me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

I think twenty-somethings don't realize how completely and utterly irrelevant they are, the poor dears.

We really dont care. Their opinions, their unrealistic ambitions, their hopes and dreams... all meaningless nonsense.

Rant about mature students? ha ha ha ha ha!!

KINGVictor wrote: »
    I think you post is unbelievably criminal.

Apart from the fact that I had to read it thrice to get a basic understanding of what you were on about, the lack of paragraphs, mis-spellings and atrousious choice of words is simply dumbfounding.

It is shocking that a so called third-level student will castigate a person irrespective of their age just because they find it odd that they are asking questions!!! ( I am positive that your lecturers would have indicated that everyone can ask questions if they don't understand parts of the lecture)...

How old are you?? I think you need to really spend less time drinking and concentrate on your studies ...its very shameful.

Don't even go there. Just turn around with your tail between your legs and walk away. I didn't make ONE spelling mistake in my post, yet you have the sheer nerve to quote me with your abysmal spelling and basic lack of the fundamentals of the English language and call MY choice of words dumbfounding.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Maybe some day you'll grow up - your the type of f@ggot student that annoys me

And your the type of miserable human being who wants to be young again because they wasted the best years of their life doing nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Cmdr Keen, TimeToShine & Oranage2 banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,239 ✭✭✭KittyeeTrix

Mature student myself (36) and to be honest I enjoyed the OP's post as it was so one sided as to actually be funny......

He is of course young and hasn't actually realised that you firstly go to college to get a decent degree (at least a 2:1) and secondly to socialise.

Obviously it is laughable that he feels all mature students hold up the end of lectures with ridiculous questions and chat. There is only one lad in my class who does this and he is not a mature student but I wouldn't accuse all non-mature students of this because of one....that would be an unfounded and downright questionable statement!

I will however agree with him that the majority of us do sit at the front as we have surpassed the age whereby we give a flying fcuk what others think of us and do not put ourselves at an academic disadvantage just because we don't look cool at the front:rolleyes:

As for the highlighters and pens etc, I am guilty as charged...So what??? If I had a euro for everytime my younger classmates asked for my stapler I'd be rich by now.

With regards our sense of fashion we don't believe we are members of Girls Aloud or JLS so we dress appropriately for both the classroom environment and weather conditions. The amount of young girls who wander thru NUIG and look as if they are ready to join Lady GaGa on stage at any moment is bizarre to say the least:confused:

As a 3rd year science student in a class of about 5 mature students and 120 younger students last year 5 A's were awarded in the christmas exam whilst about 70 fails were "awarded".........Needless to say the holders of the highlighters with the bad dress sense were also the holders of those A's;)

Whatever about past years but there is gonna be a hell of demand for those scant few jobs in 2012 when I graduate and I'm working flat out for a 1st class honour and what of it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,959 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I am now old enough to be a mature student & I intend to do further study so I'm going to be one...so I'm allowed say this. Mature students are quite annoyingly naff when you are a younger student. It's like mammies and daddies hang out with the young people...for some reason I found them very weird at first.

Their common sense attitudes always felt very out of place in college to me. The way some of them would attempt "hey hows it going John?" familiar chats with lecturers who clearly had no idea who they were made me cringe and them putting their hands up to ask rambley questions or complain people next to them were talking during lectures was just embarrassing to watch.

However I eventually began to appreciate the comedy they brought to college life. Sometimes their behind the times-ness was quite hilarious. Like the 40 something lady in one of my tutorials. At the end of each class the 20 something tutor would say we could contact him at email address of sean@hotmail.com .This lady would always respond by going "wooooooooo...someone fancies himself" and assorted little "wooo...seans a hit with the girls!!" comments. No one knew what it was about for months. Turns out she thought it was sean@hotMALE.com :)

No offence meant to anyone by all that. It's just how I felt and how I expect younger stundents will feel about me in time. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

Don't even go there. Just turn around with your tail between your legs and walk away. I didn't make ONE spelling mistake in my post, yet you have the sheer nerve to quote me with your abysmal spelling and basic lack of the fundamentals of the English language and call MY choice of words dumbfounding.

You must be having a laugh!!...you

Is that all took out of my post? Do you think I was really commenting on your spellings ? If you have read my post and others carefully , you will quickly realise that you should really be ashamed of yourself and the comment you made about mature students that have decided to return to college. Do you think your class is a pseudo X-factor where only the "cool" are allowed...

Newsflash!!!...there are folks that take their studies seriously....if you feel a sense of entitlement to have fun and do as you please because you are so say "18"...thats good for you but don't impede others who appreciate and fully understand the importance of third-level education and the complexities attached...not that you will understand............

• Registered Users Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

you're complaining that someone comes to a lecture/class well prepared?
    what a ridiculous statement.
    If you want to do well in any academic setting you have to come well prepared, i'd suggest you do the same rather than sitting in your classes judging others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭dollybird2

Im a mature student. I have been to 2 lectures since Sept. I sit at the back, stink of cigarettes, wear a uniform of Ugg's, skirt and leggings on the occasions I venture to college, mostly for coffee with friends. I don't carry biros/hilighters/refill pad etc. I have a notebook and a bitten bic.

Am I cool?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Don't hate mature students for asking questions and coming prepared and dressing differently.

Hate us because in a few years time we'll be the rich bastards choosing not to hire you because instead of putting effort into learning something you pissed your degree away on sh*tty cider and the kind of drunken fumble that turned your string of week-long girlfriends into lesbians.

It's nothing personal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Im a mature student at 28 and im really feeling my age but couldn't give a flying fcuk.

Yes i sit at the front cause my eyesight is crap. Fcuk me if im going to wear ugg boots like the rest of the students in the class. They're like furry wellies. Il take my runners, at least i can get to class quicker in them.

And last week someone called me a swot for having my work done 3 days before it was due. Wtf? There's no such thing as swots in college, is there?

But i love college. It's great the second time round, actually going in sober and learning something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,046 ✭✭✭✭bnt

It's cooler down at the front row. Literally: in many of these big lecture theatres, the heat rises and the people up at the back get cooked by our farts. It's science, kiddies.

As for the fashion question, someone tell the OP that fashion goes in cycles. Are the mature students behind ... or ahead? :o

Ye Hypocrites, are these your pranks
    To murder men and gie God thanks?
    Desist for shame, proceed no further
    God won't accept your thanks for murder.

―Robert Burns

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

Since the very first word of your thread starts with the word 'Rant', why don't you take it to Ranting and Raving.
    I actually couldn't find that forum. It would be much more suitable, anyway I'm happy this thread has served its purpose and another successful trolling exercise is complete.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I actually couldn't find that forum. It would be much more suitable, anyway I'm happy this thread has served its purpose and another successful trolling exercise is complete.

Really?

Happy holidays so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭ILA

Since the very first word of your thread starts with the word 'Rant', why don't you take it to Ranting and Raving.
    and what you freash from the leavings are any better? :confused:
    Right so when i sit in 4 lectures a week I sit close to the front for 3 reasons

1. Little gob****es that sit there in a lecture, talking complete ****e for half the lecture which they could do at lunch but no. I really wanna listen to how two girls got the box ridden of them bye some idiot with a stupid hair cut! fascinating.
    2. Its easier to get out for a smoke at the break.
    3. Who the hell wants to be with the cool kids who are so wet behind the ear that they post stupid sh!te like that :rolleyes:
    Yes at times we do but we genrally have a reason. for it.

whats your issue with being prepared ? I never really went to college not because I was out working in a factory but i had other interesting things to be doing with my early life its called living. or have you not got that far yet?

Again you complain about something that can be considered anal too?

well Now buttercup ypour being really anal this is college some women were new rock boots fishnet stockings. and pink clothing. Who the hell cares.? Oh wait you do is that not anal to.

Bit more normal what? Are you like some Napoleon syndrome little hittler with a complex....

Just out of curiosity who wants to listen to some "wannabe's" Ideals on whats cool? Do you still live with mommy and have your arse wiped for you? or are you another one of the "diet of goodfellas pizzas" hows that working for you?

if things like this bother you? :pac: god help you?

or do we make you feel really uncomfortable about the fact that your not so intellectually advanced?

Godwins. Your entire post has been invalidated.