Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

LOI rumours etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

doncarlos wrote: »
    Who is asking anybody to gracefully disappear. If someone wants to take over the club they should take over the debts. Can you name any other industry where you could buy the trading name, history etc of a company but start debt free??
    They are not debt free, the new owners agree to pay a percentage of the outstanding debt if they can show they can operate as a going concern. This is fairly standard practice in Ireland.

One of our main sponsors, EP Mooney, did just this last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,838 ✭✭✭doncarlos

"The creditor scheme at the end of the Examinership process saw Revenue write off a huge portion of money owed to them, preferential creditors receiving 4c for every euro owed and unsecured creditors, who were owed over a million euro in total, received about 2 per cent of that figure. Players that were owed money received 2/3 of that owed to them. Some former players who were due money decided to waive the amount owed.

Entering Examinership, Rovers had debts of 2.5 million euro and exited debt free having paid a significant six figure total as settlement."

Rovers have started paying some of this back? Fair play of so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,949 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Last October is still in their minds im afraid.

Haters gonna hate:D

Don't flatter yourself.

We've rivalries with some going back to the 19th century. A 2 year old outfit doesn't register with us.

You're just another in a long line of Cork franchises that we look down our nose at. Mocking you lot is really just a cheap shot. We shouldn't be at it. But it's just too easy.
    Well set up their own club then or pay off CCFC's debts if they want to buy history etc.

You can't buy history. Despite some of the lies posted on here.

Imagine if an existing LoI club bought the name of Sporting Fingal and their crest. Would that entitle that club to bump up their FAI Cup win by one?

No? Exactly.

Trophies are awarded to football clubs, not holding companies. The rights to a crest or a name might be for sale, but not honours and histories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Don't flatter yourself.

We've rivalries with some going back to the 19th century. A 2 year old outfit doesn't register with us.

Shelbourne FC(est. 1895) vs Athlone Town (est. 1887) June 24, 2011

Attendance 593

Epic stuff.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,557 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Shelbourne FC(est. 1895) vs Athlone Town (est. 1887) June 24, 2011

Attendance 593

Epic stuff.:D
    I'm pretty sure you'd take our situation over yours. If not, you're pretty fickle and should just go support City or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's going to be a long, long season.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

stovelid wrote: »

Yes, yes it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,902 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

As a LoI fan living on the other side of the world this thread makes for essential daily reading.

Cheers lads :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭AidySevenfold

Unbelievable if Limerick sign those 2 on loan.
    Heard the Polish striker scored a screamer tonight as well.
    We're away to them first game in the league as well.
    Great. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

I hope Mahon gets the sligo job, fair bit of timber in that team :D

dreamers75 wrote: »

Like karma for all that boasting about Brazilian football. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

10 to 12 team League, what do you expect? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

"The creditor scheme at the end of the Examinership process saw Revenue write off a huge portion of money owed to them, preferential creditors receiving 4c for every euro owed and unsecured creditors, who were owed over a million euro in total, received about 2 per cent of that figure. Players that were owed money received 2/3 of that owed to them. Some former players who were due money decided to waive the amount owed.

Entering Examinership, Rovers had debts of 2.5 million euro and exited debt free having paid a significant six figure total as settlement."

Rovers have started paying some of this back? Fair play of so

You need to go and read about how company law works. If the 400 club had approached the parties involved and suggested that they take on 2.5 million euro of debt their application would have been rejected out of hand and SRFC wound up. If it was possible for the clubs owners to continue operating with that level of debt there would have been no need for examinership in the first place, would there?

Nobody is suggesting that the business practices of the previous owners of SRFC were in any way defensible, Im simply illustrating the position that we found ourselves in as football fans. We put forward a plan to save the club to powers that be and it was agreed and accepted on as per the law of the land. Id agree that if we hadnt already been relegated then we should have been automatically relegated anyway.

Both the 400 club and FORAS emerged as a result of reckless club ownership and both came within a whisker of having no club to support at all. Suggesting that we were in on some kind of conspiracy to gain an advantage in the LOI is ridiculous. Our only concern ever was to save our clubs and continue to have a club to support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭overshoot

Unbelievable if Limerick sign those 2 on loan.
    Heard the Polish striker scored a screamer tonight as well.
    We're away to them first game in the league as well.
    Great. :(
    its ok, we have them first up and can catch em before them bed in....... just the 3 other times we play them to worry about....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

bohsboy wrote: »
    "You'll win nothing with kids" - :D

Great performance by the young Gypsies tonight.

must of been the other bohs match i was watching

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

Don't flatter yourself.

You're just another in a long line of Cork franchises that we look down our nose at. Mocking you lot is really just a cheap shot. We shouldn't be at it. But it's just too easy.

You can't buy history. Despite some of the lies posted on here.

Imagine if an existing LoI club bought the name of Sporting Fingal and their crest. Would that entitle that club to bump up their FAI Cup win by one?

No? Exactly.

Trophies are awarded to football clubs, not holding companies. The rights to a crest or a name might be for sale, but not honours and histories.

Completely and utterly OBSESSED. The tune is getting repetitive at this stage.

Enjoy your long standing rivalries this season. Im sure they will capture the publics imagination like they do every year.

CiaranC wrote: »
    You need to go and read about how company law works. If the 400 club had approached the parties involved and suggested that they take on 2.5 million euro of debt their application would have been rejected out of hand and SRFC wound up. If it was possible for the clubs owners to continue operating with that level of debt there would have been no need for examinership in the first place, would there?

Nobody is suggesting that the business practices of the previous owners of SRFC were in any way defensible, Im simply illustrating the position that we found ourselves in as football fans. We put forward a plan to save the club to powers that be and it was agreed and accepted on as per the law of the land. Id agree that if we hadnt already been relegated then we should have been automatically relegated anyway.

Both the 400 club and FORAS emerged as a result of reckless club ownership and both came within a whisker of having no club to support at all. Suggesting that we were in on some kind of conspiracy to gain an advantage in the LOI is ridiculous. Our only concern ever was to save our clubs and continue to have a club to support.

I don't argue with any of that.
    The simple fact is Cork, Derry and Rovers have a competitive advantage over their rivals by getting debts cleared. In my opinion there needs to be harsher sanctions for clubs that go down this route. Rovers spending one season in the first division cleared over €1.5 million (exact figure unknown to me) in debt. Hardly a punishment that fits the crime.

In our case, we were docked 10 points, costing us a European spot, demoted, had to sell all our players bar a few who would not have got into any other team in the land. You cannot move the goalposts because we got promoted in the space of 2 seasons.

We took the sanctions on the chin, moved on and are on a nice footing now because of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

On the shin?

Was it sore?

Damn you and your stalking. Thought I had it edited in a timely and efficient manner.

gimmick wrote: »
    Damn you and your stalking. Thought I had it edited in a timely and efficient manner.

I feel that the blatant favoritism shown to you by the post editor has given the shiny new "incarnation" of your post an unfair advantage in the thread at the expense of Des' gag.

In our case, we were docked 10 points, costing us a European spot, demoted, had to sell all our players bar a few who would not have got into any other team in the land. You cannot move the goalposts because we got promoted in the space of 2 seasons.

We took the sanctions on the chin, moved on and are on a nice footing now because of it.

I don't blame any set of fans for going down this route if Dundalk were in the same situation I'd want to do the same thing myself. It is still highly unfair on other clubs though. In my opinion the sanctions are not enough and the FAI don't care. They are even fighting for Derry to play in Europe.

They're needs to be more of a deterrent to put clubs/fans from going down this route rather than potentially one year in the first division.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Don't flatter yourself.

lmfao.

Bitterness goes a long way with you lot.

You swear you were 150 and been around all the time.

Maybe the next time you play Cork at home you can bring more fans then us for change.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

dreamers75 wrote: »

Ian Foster come on down...

Or Roddy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Or Roddy?

See he signed his son "Roddy " for mons.

PSNI forgot about us last night and we missed 20 minutes of the match :( Supposed to escort us to the stadium but left us in a car park :(

They showed up late at that game too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

lmfao.

Maybe the next time you play Cork at home you can bring more fans then us for change.;)

I reckon he's seen every game - home and away - and has the programmes to prove it.
    It would be a dull place without such bitterness - 29th Oct 2011 just added to the flame - love it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    I reckon he's seen every game - home and away - and has the programmes to prove it.
    It would be a dull place without such bitterness - 29th Oct 2011 just added to the flame - love it!!

Erra, the standard Drumcondra Reds response when you mention that game is "we got promoted regardless, job done, it doesn't bother us".

Like feck it doesn't. It just upped their level of bitterness, and their obsession with us grew even further. It's cute really.

lmfao.

Would you believe that I'll still take our glorious record of 57 trophies over your 1 trophy that you didn't buy in an auction?

Auction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

must of been the other bohs match i was watching

So an awful performance from a group of kids playing together for the first time with a new manager against a team flying and well into their season?

CSF wrote: »
    Would you believe that I'll still take our glorious record of 57 trophies over your 1 trophy that you didn't buy in an auction?

I didn't realise that clawing back an 11 point back from the biggest bottlers in Irish football history was buying it at an "auction". Cute!

Keep going lads, the bitterness is making my day go by quicker. Some epic lulz here.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,246 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

The bitterness is strong in this one...I can nearly taste it!:D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,230 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

We really need a cork/shels bitchfest thread

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Roar wrote: »

I didn't realise that clawing back an 11 point back from the biggest bottlers in Irish football history was buying it at an "auction". Cute!

Keep going lads, the bitterness is making my day go by quicker. Some epic lulz here.
    I know literacy is poor in Cork but you've really taken the cake in your interpretation of my post.

Interesting that you refer to football history, cause ya know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,494 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

When is the first Cork-Shels match this season?

I know literacy is poor in Cork but you've really taken the cake in your interpretation of my post.

:D:D:D

You should be on stage!

:D:D:D

You should be on stage!
    You definitely shouldn't...

Mushy wrote: »

April 27th I think.....

counting leinster senior cups as part of your "glorious" record? SUPER CUTE!

Mushy wrote: »

April 27th. Imagine the fun before and after that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,494 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

April 27th. Imagine the fun before and after that :D

Exactly what I was thinking. Pity it'll only happen 3 times this season.

counting leinster senior cups as part of your "glorious" record? SUPER CUTE!
    Jesus I do not understand how fans of a club who have won one second tier division can baulk at the inclusion of ANY trophy.

Counting it as part of your "glorious" history though? aaaaaaahhhhhhhhh ha ha ha.. ffs it's a competition for the reserves to play against sunday league players! GLORIOUS!

Fine. If you won't let me include my favourite cup I'll just have to go for our 13 Championships and 7 FAI Cups that your club is yet to win outside of an auction.

the reserves against sunday league players cup is your favourite???

you lot are worse than Liverpool fans when it comes to blowing on about history. Getting into a discussion with a Drumcondra Reds fan eventually devolves into a history lesson. "We were great years ago! Whooo, go us!". It's cute really. I suppose it's all ye have to hang on to really. Crap squad with a hoofball manager in a dilapidated stadium.. what a depressing thought. Sure go on, tell me about that time ye won the league in the 20s. Amazing scenes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

I'm just going to throw this out there and if you don't like it well send it on back but just try it on for size.

How about we discuss football and the season. What happened has happened and can we leave all the crap in the past. Your club did this, but your's did that, we started a new one, yeah but it's the same as the old one... jesus wept it's gotten old at this stage!

I for one call for an end to any BS comments regarding history purchased or leased, walking away from debts, level playing field etc... anyone who brings it up in this or any other thread should be automatically banned for a month. Thoughts?

the reserves against sunday league players cup is your favourite???

you lot are worse than Liverpool fans when it comes to blowing on about history. Getting into a discussion with a Drumcondra Reds fan eventually devolves into a history lesson. "We were great years ago! Whooo, go us!". It's cute really. I suppose it's all ye have to hang on to really. Crap squad with a hoofball manager in a dilapidated stadium.. what a depressing thought. Sure go on, tell me about that time ye won the league in the 20s. Amazing scenes.
    Eh we've won the league more recently than any Cork sequel has...

iregk wrote: »
    I'm just going to throw this out there and if you don't like it well send it on back but just try it on for size.

How about we discuss football and the season. What happened has happened and can we leave all the crap in the past. Your club did this, but your's did that, we started a new one, yeah but it's the same as the old one... jesus wept it's gotten old at this stage!

I for one call for an end to any BS comments regarding history purchased or leased, walking away from debts, level playing field etc... anyone who brings it up in this or any other thread should be automatically banned for a month. Thoughts?

where's the fun in that? :confused:

iregk wrote: »

I call for anyone who aren't mods to stop trying to be a mod. Thoughts?