Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where the hell is Ireland and its EU protest? Is Cowen afraid to stand up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

meglome wrote: »
    We are where we are due to voting for people who couldn't run a sweetie shop. So effectively we did this to ourselves.

I hate this we did it to ourselves shite. Yes, we did! But what was the alternative? Everyone to spoil their votes. There wasn't exactly a huge selection in the chocolate box to pick from and I'd think that about 98% of the chocolates were either the ones filled with yucky strawberry cream or double centres. Personally, rather than spoil my vote because there wasn't anyone I really wanted to see elected, because they are all a shower of deal doubling, two-faced twats who once they get elected only seem to want to work for No. 1, I picked the candidates with the pretty faces. It was one way of making a decision.

Next time I'm going to run for office myself, on the no experience, no qualifications ticket because I couldn't do a worse job than any of them and it would get me off the Lone Parents and I only have myself to blame if I screw up the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

I hate this we did it to ourselves shite. Yes, we did! But what was the alternative? Everyone to spoil their votes. There wasn't exactly a huge selection in the chocolate box to pick from and I'd think that about 98% of the chocolates were either the ones filled with yucky strawberry cream or double centres. Personally, rather than spoil my vote because there wasn't anyone I really wanted to see elected, because they are all a shower of deal doubling, two-faced twats who once they get elected only seem to want to work for No. 1, I picked the candidates with the pretty faces. It was one way of making a decision.

And I'm personally very sick of the blaming of immigrants and the EU which is very popular right now. All you can do is vote for someone and if they don't do what they promise (within reason) you vote for someone else and actively campaign against the previous person. We don't hold our politicians accountable so they don't improve. Too many people saying 'they're all the same so why bother' but we see how that worked out.
    Next time I'm going to run for office myself, on the no experience, no qualifications ticket because I couldn't do a worse job than any of them and it would get me off the Lone Parents and I only have myself to blame if I screw up the country.

Well you couldn't be worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭PanchoVilla

Biggins wrote: »
    Who says anything about cutting it? Standing up and saying "Hang on, shouldn't the EU itself be looking to make saving internally and/or retaining its current budget be a good start?"
    ...Instead of telling all states to cough-up while telling them to cut back!
    Anyone else see the madness in all of this?

What I want to know is why people think it's a good idea to take more loans from the EU/ECB when we're already in debt up to our eyeballs. Who the hell do they think is going to pay back all this money? Oh that's right, our children and grandchildren. You know what they call people who pass their debts on to their children?

This credit based economy is bullshít and the sooner we realize that the better. People in this country need a serious fúcking wakeup call if they think borrowing more money will get us out of debt. It just passes that debt on to future generations who will remember us for being stupid greedy ****. We need to tell the EU/ECB to shove their loans up their fat arses and learn how to run our country efficiently and effectively.

Skip to 3:30 to get to the main point of the video. This guy is pretty smart and really pissed off!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,127 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

What I want to know is why people think it's a good idea to take more loans from the ECB when we're already in debt up to our eyeballs. Who the hell do they think is going to pay back all this money? Oh that's right, our children and grandchildren. You know what they call people who pass their debts on to their children?

This credit based economy is bullshít and the sooner we realize that the better. People in this country need a serious fúcking wakeup call if they think borrowing more money will get us out of debt. It just passes that debt on to future generations who will remember us for being stupid greedy ****. We need to tell the EU and the ECB to shove their loans up their fat arses and learn how to run our country efficiently and effectively.

Skip to 3:30 to get to the main point of the video. This guy is pretty smart and really pissed off!

Who is suggesting we take loans from the ECB? This has nothing to do with the topic at all.

EU/ECB then, happy? It's all the same at the end of the day. The EU loaning money to the government, the ECB loaning money to the banks and buying government bonds. What difference does it make? We're getting billions of euros at huge interest rates and we'll just end up digging ourselves deeper in debt and it's all passed down to the taxpayer. Tell me how that has nothing to do with the topic?

Despite the moves and an announcement about Anglo Irish Bank, the gap or 'spread' between German and Irish borrowing costs was at 3.81pc in afternoon trading, the highest level since Ireland adopted the euro.

Ireland is still facing the second highest borrowing costs (after Greece) in the eurozone, with 10-year debt trading at 5.89pc. This yield dropped by just two basis points following news that Anglo will be split into a savings bank and an asset management company.

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/ecb-tries-to-stabilise-the-cost-of-irish-borrowing-2330995.html

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,127 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

EU/ECB then, happy? It's all the same at the end of the day. The EU loaning money to the government, the ECB loaning money to the banks and buying government bonds. What difference does it make? We're getting billions of euros at huge interest rates and we'll just end up digging ourselves deeper in debt and it's all passed down to the taxpayer. Tell me how that has nothing to do with the topic?

You still haven't said where people are talking about borrowing whether it be from the ECB or the EU. I haven't seen anyone talk about borrowing money.

People saying Cowen was right for not saying anything because we depend on EU funding etc and basically saying we should keep our mouths shut if we want to see more money in the future. I'm saying we don't need their money, what we need is to stand on our own two feet for once. By saying nothing about the increase in the EU budget we'll be seen as nothing more than beggars happy to take what we're given.

Edit: And I'm talking about all money received from the EU/ECB. Grants, loans, whatever. Let them keep their money. It's sink or swim time for Ireland and I'd rather we drown with what little dignity we have left.
    The Irish governments position here seems correct - as a net receiver of funds from the EU budget its good for us if the net contributors can be convinced to put oodles more money in.
    So why exactly should we allign ourselves with the net contributors?

In fact I humbly suggest that if Ireland had signed this then someone would have started a thread pointing out how stupid it was of the Irish government to do so.

Of the 11 signatures, all the net contributors are included except Italy.
    That is, Austria, Germany, France, Holland, Finland, Denmark, Sweden and the UK.
    Italy is the only net contributor not to sign.

17 of the other EU 18 countries inc Ireland are net receivers (Cyprus is ~0 either way).
    Of those 17 only 3 have signed (Czechs, Estonia, Slovenia).
    Irelands position amongst the 14 non-signers seems eminently sensible.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭flash1080

LOL at people complaining about Cowen not protesting. Most of ye wouldn't protest, most of the Irish population wouldn't protest. If Cowen was making headlines about protesting ye'd be complaining about him too.

Edit: And I'm talking about all money received from the EU/ECB. Grants, loans, whatever. Let them keep their money. It's sink or swim time for Ireland and I'd rather we drown with what little dignity we have left.

So we go back to what? How do we pay for our transport/heating/electricity since we import our fuel and gas? How many thousands will be forced to leave?

While again I agree we need change setting the country back to the 1930's isn't a positive change. We created this mess and the medicine will be bitter but purposely making it worse seems pretty damn stupid to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Cowen does what he's told by the banks. Simple as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 galwaystudent

Eleven members of the European Council - including Britain - have agreed they will not accept any increase in the 2011 EU budget beyond 2.91%.

The members, attending a summit in Brussels, detailed their stance in a letter set to be sent to the President of the Council.
    It was to be signed by the leaders of the UK, Germany, France, Netherlands, Sweden, Czech Republic, Denmark, Austria, Finland, Slovenia and Estonia.

I hate FF as much as anyone but in fairness, what is the big deal here? Do you think the EU give a damn what Ireland thinks, with it's 4 million people and joke of government? All the big and important nations have already stated they are against this, Ireland is superfluous to requirements here. It won't make the slightest bit of difference what Cowen says so why would he even bother?

This is a non issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,007 ✭✭✭Moriarty

OPENROAD wrote: »
    I can see why the UK might see it that way, especially with the huge cutbacks they are going through.

The huge - nae, end-of-the-world - cutbacks that bring the UK government budget back to where it was in... 2007.

Oh. Hm. Maybe not then, eh?

Also, this thread is full of lol. WHY DIDN'T COWEN PROTEST ABOUT THE POTENTIAL FOR IRELAND TO RECIEVE MORE MONEY FROM THE EU THE STUPID BASTARD?!"£?!"£"!£! Fùck me, we certainly get the politicians we deserve if the idiocy in this thread is anything to go by. You are not the solution, you are the problem. Clowns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

agreed, I really wish biggins would actually engage his brain before posting his now daily "the guberment is bad" thread

To be fair the government have a lot to answer for. It's this blaming the EU I don't get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭gonedrinking

meglome wrote: »
    To be fair the government have a lot to answer for.

not in this instance, they did nothing wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Canis_Lupus

A major cause of the hole we're in is the Irish peoples failure to stand up to our leaders first. We prefer to shout into the internet instead of into the streets.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

...And I equally wish you would engage yours and see what I'm on about rather than just seeing one aspect (or conveniently wanting to see it).

...And for the record, if you add up the threads I've started or posted into in AH, you will find the majority of the non-government related. Lots of others recently I have by-passed.

P.S If you don't like threads or posts, do us all a favour - kop yourself on and by-pass them. Even most idiots are capable of doing that - I do!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

flash1080 wrote: »
    ...If Cowen was making headlines about protesting...
    It would be a god-damn first!

People saying Cowen was right for not saying anything because we depend on EU funding etc and basically saying we should keep our mouths shut if we want to see more money in the future. I'm saying we don't need their money, what we need is to stand on our own two feet for once. By saying nothing about the increase in the EU budget we'll be seen as nothing more than beggars happy to take what we're given.

That money isn't borrowed though we don't have to pay it back so no one is suggesting that we drown our kids in debt. One thing I don't understand is that you don't want us borrowing money from the EU or anywhere but you want us to stop taking EU funding. That means we'd lose out on billions every year that we'd need to make up by borrowing. Kinda contradicts your first point a little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...considering the beneficiaries of more EU funds will certainly include this country, its called "doing the right thing".