Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Breaking News, Multiple Suspicious Packages Found

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

mysons wrote: »
    The reason for doing this is to see how bad or good security is at airports and by the look of it,it's ****.

Im sorry but do you mean US Airports or Airports in General? If yes for America then how can you say it is if the packages were not found on US soil so in essence nothing was found at a US Facility but Canadian and US Fighters were Scrambled so they knew what they were doing. The fact they were found is a good sign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Maybe on the international flights but internally,it is a joke.

Gotta agree with that. I fly domestically a good few times in the US each year and you can pretty much just walk onto the flights in the smaller airports with minimal security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭mysons

Steyr wrote: »
    Im sorry but do you mean US Airports or Airports in General? If yes for America then how can you say it is if the packages were not found on US soil so in essence nothing was found at a US Facility but Canadian and US Fighters were Scrambled so they knew what they were doing. The fact they were found is a good sign.

I worked for UPS and belive me nothing gets past these guys.It is screened,screened and screened again and if they are still not happy with the pkgs they will X-Ray it to make sure it is safe.
    What is happening here is planned and the media is hyping it up to make it look good for the TV.
    Further more terrorist's don't blow up cargo planes(not yet at least) as it has no impact on the media, no big impact so to speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

"Oh I see. Then everything is wrapped up in a NEAT LITTLE PACKAGE!"

And your point is ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

They aren't suspicious packages anymore, if the latest update by Skynews is anthing to go by:

http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/World-News/Terror-Alert-Suspect-Packages-From-Yemen-Found-On-Planes-In-East-Midlands-And-Dubai/Article/201010415784764?lpos=World_News_Top_Stories_Header_0&lid=ARTICLE_15784764_Terror_Alert%3A_Suspect_Packages_From_Yemen_Found_On_Planes_In_East_Midlands_And_Dubai

One interesting extract is by the president:

American President Barack Obama said it was a "credible" terror threat and he had told officials to take "whatever measures were necessary" to protect the US.
    "Although we are still pursuing all the facts, we do know that the packages originated in Yemen," he added.

Funny all this!

KINGVictor wrote: »
    They aren't suspicious packages anymore, if the latest update by Skynews is anthing to go by:

http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/World-News/Terror-Alert-Suspect-Packages-From-Yemen-Found-On-Planes-In-East-Midlands-And-Dubai/Article/201010415784764?lpos=World_News_Top_Stories_Header_0&lid=ARTICLE_15784764_Terror_Alert%3A_Suspect_Packages_From_Yemen_Found_On_Planes_In_East_Midlands_And_Dubai

One interesting extract is by the president:

American President Barack Obama said it was a "credible" terror threat and he had told officials to take "whatever measures were necessary" to protect the US.
    "Although we are still pursuing all the facts, we do know that the packages originated in Yemen," he added.

Funny all this!

When they say it's a CRITICAL terror threat then I would worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

I think it's notable that seven minutes after police were called to investigate the package, the President of the United States was notified. It shows they were clearly tracking a plot of this nature.

Mark200 wrote: »
    I think it's notable that seven minutes after police were called to investigate the package, the President of the United States was notified. It shows they were clearly tracking a PLAN of this nature.

And still no bomb.?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

Is it just me or does that thread title look like

Breaking News,Multiple Sclerosis Packages Found

every time I look at it?

*returns to fridge for more beer*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Mister men wrote: »
    Perfect timing for the mid term elections in the states. Feed them with fear and watch them back their leader all the way.
    It'll be quite the opposite.
    The fear mongers target potential Republican supporters. Democrats tend to be the more rational ones.

mysons wrote: »
    And still no bomb.?

There were explosives recovered.
    “An initial examination of those packages has determined that they do apparently contain explosive material,” Mr Obama said.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/frontpage/2010/1030/1224282321004.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭MySelf56

OMG! Its like that event. Is it bird ? Is it Plane ? things i have to do now

1) take back up of my porn stash
    2) 2maro buy ghost estate turn that into "Nuclear Bunker" and buy all the canned tomato tins from ALDI/LIDL.
    3) watch sky / fox again again again ....... (feel free to add ) :mad: :mad: :mad:

If you are d i c k to some body they wont be saint to you. get it... COMMON F.U.KING sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

MySelf56 wrote: »
    OMG! Its like that event. Is it bird ? Is it Plane ? things i have to do now

1) take back up of my porn stash
    2) 2maro buy ghost estate turn that into "Nuclear Bunker" and buy all the canned tomato tins from ALDI/LIDL.
    3) watch sky / fox again again again ....... (feel free to add ) :mad: :mad: :mad:

If you are d i c k to some body they wont be saint to you. get it... COMMON F.U.KING sense.

Eh? I am confused.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

Daisy! wrote: »
    Would that plane ever focking land!!!

Its not a Focker. so no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Ghost Estate

MySelf56 wrote: »
    2) 2maro buy ghost estate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭MySelf56

Trust me on this, all these who hooked into sky news since afternoon.

Just buy ghost state, put a toilet seat, loo roll, tomato tins/baked beans, few dead seeds, butter, UHT milk cartons + a big steel door (you could actually spray paint card board authentic steel look like colour from ebay) flog these ghost estate once for all, as a AL-<FILL YOUR OWN ISLAM POPULIST WORD FOX NEWS> proof to poor sods. :D:D:D

<how about that for recession for busting idea, especially after having zillion gallons of cider, copy right and patent to me>

What actually is the Big deal here,.....US in war them so ffs dont expect flower boquet every day honey! occassionaly you do get illicit packages as well. But my god all these MTV/YOUTUBE brain washed tools, are like "OMG .... its like so like __________________________"

Why don't any body just read proper news paper with egg omelet now a days in the mornings. Some times all those fukwits from Al-queda and fox/sky news sounds same to me, i don't see any difference at all except colour of their skins both are brain washed with religous extremism just one happens to be brown and one happens majority white and fat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

The second package was aboard a plane searched in England, and officials said it contained a printer toner cartridge with wires and powder.

From: http://www.breakingnews.ie/world/obama-packages-pose-credible-terror-threat-479724.html#ixzz13os23Rze

Sorry, but wtf else were they expecting to find in a printer toner cartridge? Had they never seen one of those yokes before? If they come out and say "the powder appeared to be a black carcinogenic substance that adheres to clothing, skin and paper" I think we will be rightly justified in laughing in their faces.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,656 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Ye men! All you have for us is a "dry run?" That would be no fun at all!

The New York Times is now saying that there were detonators in the packages also.
    Ms. Harman, who was briefed by John S. Pistole, administrator of the Transportation Security Administration, said that both packages contained computer printer cartridges filled with the explosive, but that one used a cellphone as a detonator and the other had a timer.

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/10/30/us/30plane.html?_r=1&hp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

...I am shocked this has happened at this particular time, shocked I am. I'm going to hazard a wild wild guess here and predict the next scary terrorist scare will be just before the next US election as well. Be afraid people, vote for me and be very very afraid. Is Obama taking a hard enough line on terror, I don't think so, we need a hard line with these scary terrorist scarers, a hard republican line, don't forget to be afraid now.

strobe wrote: »
    ...I am shocked this has happened at this particular time, shocked I am. I'm going to hazard a wild wild guess here and predict the next scary terrorist scare will be just before the next US election as well. Be afraid people, vote for me and be very very afraid.

So who do you think arranged this hoax that you're implying? Because the Democrats control both houses of Congress and the Presidency, and as Terry rightly said already... threats of terrorism would do nothing at all to help their bid.

Cop on.

So who do you think arranged this hoax that you're implying? Because the Democrats control both houses of Congress and the Presidency, and as Terry rightly said already... threats of terrorism would do nothing at all to help their bid.

Cop on.

thats kinda my whole point, see edit I did one minute before your post.

Ah right, so you're saying the Republicans now control the Government. Right.

No, that's not what I'm saying, I didn't even imply that.

Well you said that the point of these was to encourage people to vote Republican. Presumably something of that nature could not have been pulled off without the knowledge/consent/participation of the CIA... the CIA being a Government organisation, you're at least strongly implying that Republicans or people loyal to the Republicans have significant power within the CIA to do such a thing without the knowledge of the Democrat-controlled Government.

UPS do not do direct flights from Yemen to the UK, all air freight with European destinations and some US destinations fly into the UPS hub in Cologne and guess what the 2 planes that landed in Newark and Philadelphia came from Germany first then onto the US.
    All UPS air freight from the US flies into Cologne then its storted and sent onto its final destination.
    If you want to send a letter to your Auntie Mary in Cork from Dublin by UPS air freight it goes to Cologne first and is then sent back the following morning with all the other pkgs for Cork, thats how UPS do things.
    This little exercise in terror alerts was put in motion to see how good security was.
    As I said before terrorists don't want to kill 2 people or blow up auntie mary's letter on a cargo plane it has no impact on the TV.