Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SU spending Recklessly ??

• 30-10-2010 12:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 16

Ok so I presume by now most people have heard about the march and that the figure its rumoured to be costing the SU is estimated to be 20,000 euro!! Anyone else think that is a ridiculous sum to be spending on one days march? I do of course believe in the importance of keeping education as accessible as possible to all sections of society and would fully support the march if i didn't feel it was simply being used as an opportunity for certain figures to showboat themselves and court the media. Don't get me wrong i am not one of those that are simply anti union no matter what and i have to say this years team seem to have upped the game thankfully!! However with UCDSU spending 20,000 euro alone and other colleges and institutions spending probably similar figures the cost of the march seems to be absurd. Surely in these tough economic times costs should be minimal. I don't see how a march needs to be so expensive!! Are t-shirts and ads in newspapers necessary ! Facebook and the internet are the most widely used mediums used by the student body and are very inexpensive. I really feel that it would suit the SU better to direct that money into improving the limited student services we have that will more than likely be cut again following the budget. Observer receiving more than the welfare fund !! What's that about ? Thousands spent on Class rep training, Union Taxis, trips away to national council ... extravagant spending in my opinion. I am not saying the SU doesn't do anything in fact i was very grateful for the way they brought in splitting the reg fee this year but with this current climate i expect to see the SU tighten its belt and spend its budget a lot more wisely
    What do you guys think?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,612 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Yes

• Registered Users Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bobby42

couldn't agree more. how could a few hours marching possibly cost that much? do we really need t shirts and buses? surely people could just make posters and signs at home and meet up in town.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Has anyone found a source for this figure?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Bobby42

source: college tribune.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 FiendishFriend

its also in the SU Budget and can be found in the UCDSU website
    http://www.ucdsu.ie/site/view/397/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Fair play to the Union. More of the same I say! Looking after impoverished students by robbbing them blind. They remind me of the likes of David Begg at Siptu. He still sports his socialist beard and left leaning ideology but creams a salary of over 100k. Best of both worlds. Huzzah for the union!

uncategorized-monopoly.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,129 ✭✭✭pljudge321

The real joke is the €125,000 that goes towards the USI every year.

Thats more than goes towards Belfield Fm, the Observer, Welfare and the exam shuttle bus combined. Even then theres a around half the total ents budget left over from the difference.

Also I'd love to see the breakdown for the €37,500 in election & referendum costs.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Perhaps what is wrong with the SU is a microcosm with what is wrong with politics in Ireland in general.

Cronyism, overspending, a philosophy of 'once I'm elected I don't have to care', a lack of direct democracy, showboating, fear of acting in the general interest in case it causes you to step on toes of those who may give you a dig-out later down the line...

For the analogy's sake just assign random affiliation to SU members for variety (FF/ FG/ Labour... same coin, different sides)

Okay I know a coin can't have three sides.... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭EduKate

its also in the SU Budget and can be found in the UCDSU website
    http://www.ucdsu.ie/site/view/397/

Thats the 2009-2010 budget. Although the figure is still the same for 2010-2011 - http://www.ucdsu.ie/site/view/396/

The figure is for fees and grant campaigns for the entire year, not a single protest.

The real scandal is the €65,000 being spent 'to cover the range of class rep activities'? Fecking booze ups and class parties.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Chet T16

You're all so quick to moan about them but you're forgetting that they do lots of good like the exam shuttle bus and ummm...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Why don't ye have a rally against the union? It would probably attract a bigger crowd than the other one. Shower of robbing bastards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

€7,500 on an exam bus when it's a 25 minute walk from the college, wtf?! Anyone who can walk properly, who protests at the length of that walk, is a lazy bollox!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭33% God

Fair play to the Union. More of the same I say! Looking after impoverished students by robbbing them blind. They remind me of the likes of David Begg at Siptu. He still sports his socialist beard and left leaning ideology but creams a salary of over 100k. Best of both worlds. Huzzah for the union!

David Begg doesn't work for Siptu.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭TheVoodoo

' Hi, do you want to buy a t-shirt for the march'

' You want me to spend my money on a tshirt that is protesting about spending more money?'

' Yea, do you want one? '

' ehm.. no.. '

' We'll be here all week if you change your mind '

• Registered Users Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

€7,500 on an exam bus when it's a 25 minute walk from the college, wtf?! Anyone who can walk properly, who protests at the length of that walk, is a lazy bollox!

A trip on the bus for about €1.60 a head would be cheaper, but not as much fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Ok so I presume by now most people have heard about the march and that the figure its rumoured to be costing the SU is estimated to be 20,000 euro!! Anyone else think that is a ridiculous sum to be spending on one days march? I do of course believe in the importance of keeping education as accessible as possible to all sections of society and would fully support the march if i didn't feel it was simply being used as an opportunity for certain figures to showboat themselves and court the media. Don't get me wrong i am not one of those that are simply anti union no matter what and i have to say this years team seem to have upped the game thankfully!! However with UCDSU spending 20,000 euro alone and other colleges and institutions spending probably similar figures the cost of the march seems to be absurd. Surely in these tough economic times costs should be minimal. I don't see how a march needs to be so expensive!! Are t-shirts and ads in newspapers necessary ! Facebook and the internet are the most widely used mediums used by the student body and are very inexpensive. I really feel that it would suit the SU better to direct that money into improving the limited student services we have that will more than likely be cut again following the budget. Observer receiving more than the welfare fund !! What's that about ? Thousands spent on Class rep training, Union Taxis, trips away to national council ... extravagant spending in my opinion. I am not saying the SU doesn't do anything in fact i was very grateful for the way they brought in splitting the reg fee this year but with this current climate i expect to see the SU tighten its belt and spend its budget a lot more wisely
    What do you guys think?

Paragraphs are your friend!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Chet T16

Paragraphs are your friend!

Obviously not

It is a paragraph !! It's one paragraph :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

It is a paragraph !! It's one paragraph :D

A paragraph is a self-contained unit of a discourse in writing dealing with a particular point or idea.

There is more than one point in your 'paragraph'.;)

A paragraph is a self-contained unit of a discourse in writing dealing with a particular point or idea.

There is more than one point in your 'paragraph'.;)
    Is there ? There was only supposed to be one point, that the SU overspends on rather frivolous items, the rest were just examples ... Sorry peeps i'm rather new to Boards. I simply didn't realise it was necessary to structure my posts so formally :o . Duly noted ( apologies for using the word "peeps". I realise it's slang. No offence intended !!!)
    Should I have started a new paragraph at "sorry peeps..." ? Genuine question? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Ok so I presume by now most people have heard about the march and that the figure its rumoured to be costing the SU is estimated to be 20,000 euro!! Anyone else think that is a ridiculous sum to be spending on one days march?

I do of course believe in the importance of keeping education as accessible as possible to all sections of society and would fully support the march if i didn't feel it was simply being used as an opportunity for certain figures to showboat themselves and court the media. Don't get me wrong i am not one of those that are simply anti union no matter what and i have to say this years team seem to have upped the game thankfully!!

However, with UCDSU spending 20,000 euro alone and other colleges and institutions spending probably similar figures the cost of the march seems to be absurd. Surely in these tough economic times costs should be minimal. I don't see how a march needs to be so expensive!!

Also, Are t-shirts and ads in newspapers necessary ! Facebook and the internet are the most widely used mediums used by the student body and are very inexpensive. I really feel that it would suit the SU better to direct that money into improving the limited student services we have that will more than likely be cut again following the budget.

The Observer receiving more than the welfare fund !! What's that about ? Thousands spent on Class rep training, Union Taxis, trips away to national council ... extravagant spending in my opinion. I am not saying the SU doesn't do anything in fact i was very grateful for the way they brought in splitting the reg fee this year but with this current climate i expect to see the SU tighten its belt and spend its budget a lot more wisely

What do you guys think?

There, that looks better:D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

TheVoodoo wrote: »
    ' Hi, do you want to buy a t-shirt for the march'

' You want me to spend my money on a tshirt that is protesting about spending more money?'

' Yea, do you want one? '

' ehm.. no.. '

' We'll be here all week if you change your mind '

"But in (insert big european country) they have no fee's for college!"

"Oh really? Did it occur to you that (Same country) has a population 12+ times that of Ireland and due to its proper economic mix can probably afford to have no college fees?"

*Silence*

• Registered Users Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

If you've ever worked anywhere near the Union you'd see that this isn't a scandal at all. You're being kind to them if you call this a scandal.

What about free taxis for sabbats to anywhere they like? Free mobile phones, Free call credit, renumeration on most (any) receipts they have, free printing, free food from shops, free drink from bars.

It's such hypocrisy and I'm glad I'm out of it. Even if I only got a whiff!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

All spending by the SU in the last 5+ years is a waste of money. The SU is essentially a very expensive training program for Irish political cronyism.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭kkumk

I don't know whether this is common knowledge or not but I was shocked when I found out last week that the sabbattical officers get unlimited free drinks in the Student Bar? That seems a bit outrageous and really says a lot about the nature of the SU

• Registered Users Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

kkumk wrote: »
    I don't know whether this is common knowledge or not but I was shocked when I found out last week that the sabbattical officers get unlimited free drinks in the Student Bar? That seems a bit outrageous and really says a lot about the nature of the SU

That is an absolute lie.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭kkumk

Really? One of the bartenders told me!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

kkumk wrote: »
    Really? One of the bartenders told me!

One of the SU officers told me....

• Registered Users Posts: 889 ✭✭✭stop

Also the 47 goes from the main gate to the RDS. It's only every half hour or so though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

mloc wrote: »
    All spending by the SU in the last 5+ years is a waste of money. The SU is essentially a very expensive training program for Irish political cronyism.

Spot on.