Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beggars in galway

• Registered Users Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

To be fair, I'll take the badly-played keyboard over the badly-played spoons any day.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭inisboffin

Oh, the good old 'I didn't see it so it didn't happen' argument. I suggest you go and look some Saturday nights.

Fine, I'll ask you about this 'same specific group of Roma women' then (which for the record, I still find a little distasteful). So you are saying that you regularly saw these women have sex with random partners at the Malthouse between 2 and 4 am?
    And you know these are Roma because? Is it the way they dress? Their language?

Is it possible they were begging and not 'whoring'? And for the record I have often been in town at that time, very close to the 'bars' in the 'center' where you likely work. Your spelling sounds US or Canadian, have YOU been here long or is this a summer observation?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

So you are saying that you regularly saw these women have sex with random partners at the Malthouse between 2 and 4 am?
    And you know these are Roma because? Is it the way they dress?

Yes, yes and yes. To clarify, some of the Roma women in the group can be seen begging during daylight hours.

I worked there for about two years up until a few months ago as I needed to concentrate on studies, so I don't know if anything has changed since then.

As for where I'm from, that's none of your concern.

We noticed them whilst we would take breaks out on the street at 2am, and also whilst moving kegs around. It's amazing what you see when you're sober.

It was fairly well organised operation. A group of the younger women would go out and find 'customers', then keep their attention long enough to bring them to a secluded area (the church over at Middle Street being where we saw them most frequently). The older women would then go to each end of the street as lookouts/security in case Gardaí come along, and possibly also to advertise.

One of the more memorable scenes were when two guys were walking up Middle Street, and across from the Church start pointing and laughing hysterically, at which point some old guy comes out pulling up his trousers and trying to look all big and tough. Was hilarious. Another, more distasteful, scene was when the gypsies managed to get what appeared to be a small queue going.

A few times I have heard people complaining of being pick-pocketed by the same group of gypsies, though I've never actually seen them do this personally.

And yes, I do find this topic to be somewhat distasteful, but not talking about it or passing information on about it means people are just burying their heads in the sand and nothing will get done.

Yes, yes and yes. To clarify, some of the Roma women in the group can be seen begging during daylight hours.

I worked there for about two years up until a few months ago as I needed to concentrate on studies, so I don't know if anything has changed since then.

As for where I'm from, that's none of your concern.

We noticed them whilst we would take breaks out on the street at 2am, and also whilst moving kegs around. It's amazing what you see when you're sober.

It was fairly well organised operation. A group of the younger women would go out and find 'customers', then keep their attention long enough to bring them to a secluded area (the church over at Middle Street being where we saw them most frequently). The older women would then go to each end of the street as lookouts/security in case Gardaí come along, and possibly also to advertise.

One of the more memorable scenes were when two guys were walking up Middle Street, and across from the Church start pointing and laughing hysterically, at which point some old guy comes out pulling up his trousers and trying to look all big and tough. Was hilarious. Another, more distasteful, scene was when the gypsies managed to get what appeared to be a small queue going.

A few times I have heard people complaining of being pick-pocketed by the same group of gypsies, though I've never actually seen them do this personally.

And yes, I do find this topic to be somewhat distasteful, but not talking about it or passing information on about it means people are just burying their heads in the sand and nothing will get done.

Well thanks for at least explaining the specifics. Do you at least concede that your post read like it was calling all Roma women whores as you did not specify?
    My statement about where you are from was in relation to how long you have been observing this - I assumed where you were from by your spelling, so I suppose it is as relevant to this as you assuming where the women were from too...

Though you've said 'yes yes and yes' I don't think you've answered my questions. I am getting that because you saw someone pull up his trousers that you assumed you had sex, so I am wondering if all your yeses are based on assumptions like this. I asked you how you knew they were Roma too, and you didn't answer that.

I would also be 'sober' at this time of the night if I were in that area, as would the people with me, and I haven't seen this activity. Neither has my friend whose flat is on Middle St. I actually asked him about this and he said while he has seen solicitation once in a blue moon it has never been 'what he determines to be' Roma women, but rather younger women, and he is not even sure they aren't a couple.
    I am not saying you are lying, I just find it very odd that you report a group of women on an internet board having sex in a City Centre area of town on a very regular basis, and you don't mention ever having reported it to police, despite there being a 'queue' on occasion, even though you find it distasteful.
    I will keep an eye out for this, and I will report it if I see it, and I certainly would not assume it is all Roma women. It is incredibly taboo in their culture, and if there are Roma women prostituting, whether under duresse or not, they are most definitely at risk, as this 'activity' is unsafe where it allegedly happening to say the least.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

I'm not retracting it or apologising for it. I worked in a bar in the center of town, and I saw many of the same Roma women who beg on the streets both during the day and at night soliciting men on Middle Street, quite often beside the church there, or up beside the Malt House restaurant between 2 and 4am.

Be as offended as you want, but I saw what I saw.

any good looking wans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 catspajamas

Agree with earlier post if people don't give money to those begging they will disappear
    If you feel the need to help donate to a registered charity such as Cope in Galway which does wonderful work
    handing any amount of cash just encourages beggars - be particularly careful where children are involved
    the last thing we want to do is to make sending children out begging a profitable business - this only results in a worse state of affaire for the kids involved :(

• Registered Users Posts: 233 ✭✭KealanOCarroll

Fuinseog wrote: »
    any good looking wans?

:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds1

Unfortunately these stories of a particular group of Roma gypsies and their activites are far from lies. Only saw this happening once and was sickened as they had small children, 'keeping watch,' who tried to accost myself and my partner as we walked down near the Church near Buttermilk Lane, I was expecting and therefore not drinking. We usually leave our car down there. Pretty much word-for-word what I read here, except young fellas partaking and watching. What really bothered me was the children being used to keep watch and try to deter us from going down there.
    Second to this, a friend of my partner's is a Garda and said quite a few get their pockets seen to at the same time but come in with stories about, 'friends,' and refuse to give proper statements for obvious reasons. Not a nice situation by any means, those children should be in bed.

the market is the palce to get pick pocketed. its easy to do it as it so full of people

Unfortunately these stories of a particular group of Roma gypsies and their activites are far from lies. Only saw this happening once and was sickened as they had small children, 'keeping watch,' who tried to accost myself and my partner as we walked down near the Church near Buttermilk Lane, I was expecting and therefore not drinking. We usually leave our car down there. Pretty much word-for-word what I read here, except young fellas partaking and watching. What really bothered me was the children being used to keep watch and try to deter us from going down there.
    Second to this, a friend of my partner's is a Garda and said quite a few get their pockets seen to at the same time but come in with stories about, 'friends,' and refuse to give proper statements for obvious reasons. Not a nice situation by any means, those children should be in bed.

Can I assume you are talking about prostitution, not begging or stealing GG1? If it is involving kids with this situation?? *everyone* who actually witnesses anything should be reporting it!! A friend of ours is also stationed locally and
    said he said that while there is solicitation in town, it is not a group of Rom that are notorious at all but a handful of Europeans who have been pulled in a
    bunch of times. Not sure if there is theft associated here or not.. If there are a bunch of people doing this, regardless of where they are from, and any of them are doing it under duress or are
    involved an under age, then they are at risk!! Ring the Guards and any other appropriate agencies when you see this.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,967 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

I live in town, very near there, and am out a lot at night. Have seen Roma women working the streets often, have never seen their children out at night.

Of course there's solicitation, it happens in every town/city. And it's not just a Roma thing: there's a very tall eastern-European lad who walks a different woman up or down shop street ever half hour or so, never seen a Roma woman with him.

JustMary wrote: »
    there's a very tall eastern-European lad who walks a different woman up or down shop street ever half hour or so, never seen a Roma woman with him.

If it's the guy I am thinking of, he's a bouncer on the lap dancing club. I've seen him walking the dancers to their cars, it's possible he walks them home too. I usually see him back West.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

I was always of the belief that Galway was proud of it's hookers...

You went there...noooooooooo!:eek::eek::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

there's a very tall eastern-European lad who walks a different woman up or down shop street ever half hour or so, never seen a Roma woman with him.

As said above, he's the bouncer of the lap-dancing club on Domnick St. All he's doing is walking with them for personal safety

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭dapto1

He's one scary looking bastard.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

dapto1 wrote: »
    He's one scary looking bastard.

He's good craic we meet for pints through mutual friends every so often. Having said that i'd hate to be on the wrong side of him. His hands are so big I mistook a pint glass in his hand one night for a glass :eek:

JohnCleary wrote: »
    As said above, he's the bouncer of the lap-dancing club on Domnick St. All he's doing is walking with them for personal safety

he does look like a bit of a thug, maybe well suited to the door of that particular establishment. wouldn't exactly use the sofly softly approch and would prefer to provoke a fight than prevent one. he will get his come uppance one of these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 109 ✭✭Melty

How extremely judgemental of you.

Melty wrote: »
    How extremely judgemental of you.

i drink in the general area and have seen him in action and how he deals with people.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,967 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

JohnCleary wrote: »

So working in the club is so dangerous that if an employee is going home (ie up Shop St, heading away from Dominic St) at 8pm in the middle of summer (broad daylight), she needs an escort?

I believe ya, honest.

(It's quite interesting to sit outside Taffes or Coilis on a summer day, and observe who goes up and down and up and down.)

Not to speak ill of the dead or anything, but time was you couldn't even walk past Taffes without choking, let alone sit outside it....

This thread is giving me an insight into Galway's seedier side that I never knew existed. I'm actually shocked at how much more serious some of this is than I'd ever imagined.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

Dunjohn wrote: »
    Not to speak ill of the dead or anything, but time was you couldn't even walk past Taffes without choking, let alone sit outside it....

This thread is giving me an insight into Galway's seedier side that I never knew existed. I'm actually shocked at how much more serious some of this is than I'd ever imagined.

You're mixing up Taffes, the shop, with Taffes, the pub. Two completely different places.

churchview wrote: »
    You're mixing up Taffes, the shop, with Taffes, the pub. Two completely different places.

I've never actually gone into Taffes the pub, hence my forgetting it existed. I'll have to stand there some day and just choke random pedestrians in order to maintain my "always right" status.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,848 ✭✭✭?Cee?view

Dunjohn wrote: »
    I'll have to stand there some day and just choke random pedestrians

You'll fit right in with some of the regulars :D

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭soundbyte

inisboffin wrote: »
    Unless you post proof of A) 'frequent' sexual intercourse occuring between 2-4am at by the malthouse B) documented ethnic origin of the 'prostitutes' you claim to be soliciting C) prove that these 'Johns' were strangers and not partners, then why should I believe you seeing as I have never witnessed it myself.

Would the word of the Gardai suffice? Also, I've seen in myself at Kirwan's Lane and the laneway beside the library. Lots of times. They are beggars during the day, and pickpockets/prostitutes at night. I'm not saying ALL of them are, BTW.

Also:
    www.galwaynews.ie/14093-gardaí-target-race-week-prostitution-ring

and

www.galwaynews.ie/12932-woman-fined-prostitution-galway-city-centre

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭mike kelly

inisboffin wrote: »
    Hmm, I assume by 'here' you mean Ireland.
    If we follow that logic, then surely first we should deport all non-Irish EU nationals who come here just to sign on for the summer??

i THOUGHT THE HABITUAL RESIDENCY RULE PUT A STOP TO THAT?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭mike kelly

Agree with earlier post if people don't give money to those begging they will disappear
    If you feel the need to help donate to a registered charity such as Cope in Galway which does wonderful work
    handing any amount of cash just encourages beggars - be particularly careful where children are involved
    the last thing we want to do is to make sending children out begging a profitable business - this only results in a worse state of affaire for the kids involved :(

do any men give money to roma beggars? It seems always to be women, especially pensioners

mike kelly wrote: »
    i THOUGHT THE HABITUAL RESIDENCY RULE PUT A STOP TO THAT?

I'm not sure exactly, but I think if you're EU national you can sign on here much quicker than the couple of years residency (a few months or less). I can't be sure but I believe it is easier to sign on if you have been in Europe. Anyone?

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Fuinseog wrote: »
    he will get his come uppance one of these days.
    Someone didn't get in to the lapdance club I take it ;)