Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

beggars in galway

• Registered Users Posts: 4,391 ✭✭✭inisboffin

soundbyte wrote: »
    Would the word of the Gardai suffice? Also, I've seen in myself at Kirwan's Lane and the laneway beside the library. Lots of times. They are beggars during the day, and pickpockets/prostitutes at night. I'm not saying ALL of them are, BTW.

Also:
    www.galwaynews.ie/14093-gardaí-target-race-week-prostitution-ring

and

www.galwaynews.ie/12932-woman-fined-prostitution-galway-city-centre

The word of the Galway news article mentions a Romanian gang, not a Roma gang, but that could just be ignorance, I think there was a thread about mixing up the two terms. The pic is likely stock foto, but it certainly doesn't look like any of the women who beg in town either. So no for the first article but yes for the second one. It does seem like one person was documented as being charged.
    I am just so shocked that people allege that it is a regular occurrance (not just
    in brothels at race week). It is so culturally taboo for these women that they are more at risk than normal if this is taking place. Thank you for reiterating
    that it is not all these women. This needs to be looked into further,particularly in their traditional society where the women have NO access to any money here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

To be fair, the Roma have scrubbed up well if the pic attached to the piece is anything to go by.

Prostitutes.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭mike kelly

mikom wrote: »
    To be fair, the Roma have scrubbed up well if the pic attached to the piece is anything to go by.

Prostitutes.jpg

long skirts by day, short skirts by night

mike kelly wrote: »

For an extra fiver they'll stick one of their long stemmed roses up your arse during the "deed".

JustMary wrote: »
    So working in the club is so dangerous that if an employee is going home (ie up Shop St, heading away from Dominic St) at 8pm in the middle of summer (broad daylight), she needs an escort?

I believe ya, honest.

(It's quite interesting to sit outside Taffes or Coilis on a summer day, and observe who goes up and down and up and down.)

I don't think it is that outlandish, sad though it is to say. I worked with a woman in the States that put herself through college by working in a fairly well known strip club in the city that was 24 hours. Some mad stories she had. She maintained that the 'biggest creepies' came in to the clubs in the afternoon and they would try to follow the women home all the time. Easier to lose them in a cab in a big city than Galway. I'd honestly believe that as a legit reason for him to be walking with them in daylight but who knows..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Isn't the laneway beside the library locked at night?? I think it's locked from around 5pm??

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭soundbyte

inisboffin wrote: »
    The word of the Galway news article mentions a Romanian gang, not a Roma gang,.
    galwaynews wrote:
    Gangs of Roma gypsies regularly target drunken men in the city centre, offering to perform acts for €50 – in many cases, the ‘customer’ then has their wallet stolen, and many are reluctant to make formal complaints to Gardaí because of the circumstances.

@MadameRazz ... I mean at the Augustine St entrance to the laneway ... it's a fairly large dark area.

That article is confusing to say the least. It starts off by calling them Romanian, and later the quote above. Also the quote from the Garda spokesperson (which I assume is indicated by quotation marks?) does not include the statement above, which I assume comes from the journalist?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭Raging_Ninja

That article is confusing to say the least. It starts off by calling them Romanian, and later the quote above. Also the quote from the Garda spokesperson (which I assume is indicated by quotation marks?) does not include the statement above, which I assume comes from the journalist?

Could just be ignorance on the part of the journalist.

True. I mentioned earlier that I think there was a thread discussing the misuse of words part. Doesn't inspire confidence in the journalist though.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,967 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

i THOUGHT THE HABITUAL RESIDENCY RULE PUT A STOP TO THAT?

As a very broad statement, EU nationals have "stamps" they've paid in other countries recognised by the welfare authorities here, in exactly the way as Irish people who travel to other EU countries do.

There's a fair few EE students who come here to WORK in the summer. Haven't met any who came just to sign.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭Fuinseog

biko wrote: »
    Someone didn't get in to the lapdance club I take it ;)

someone who could not care to frequent that establishment. its not exactly value for money. the last time I was in the building it was a great pub.

JustMary wrote: »
    So working in the club is so dangerous that if an employee is going home (ie up Shop St, heading away from Dominic St) at 8pm in the middle of summer (broad daylight), she needs an escort?

I believe ya, honest.

(It's quite interesting to sit outside Taffes or Coilis on a summer day, and observe who goes up and down and up and down.)

prostitution is a dangerous business and the ladies, if you pardon the pun take people for a ride. probably makes enemies.

Dunjohn wrote: »
    Not to speak ill of the dead or anything, but time was you couldn't even walk past Taffes without choking, let alone sit outside it....

This thread is giving me an insight into Galway's seedier side that I never knew existed. I'm actually shocked at how much more serious some of this is than I'd ever imagined.

you still have a quare smell around there. the street drains need to be cleaned out. the smell does however add to the medieval atmosphere.

they need the long skirts to conceal things. no security guard is going to check underneath if they are suspected of having itchy fingers

Isn't the laneway beside the library locked at night?? I think it's locked from around 5pm??

it would appear we are getting the rundown on the best places in town for a quick shag. keep em comin.
    i am surprised no one has discussed prices of this hitherto unknown street trade. are the roma more recession friendly and can you haggle?
    is it polite to give a tip?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

I'd honestly believe that as a legit reason for him to be walking with them in daylight but who knows..
    Well the alternative is that this individual is a pimp. Just so everyone is aware, prostitution in Ireland is perfectly legal; brothels and organised prostitution are not, and for good reason. If you think you have evidence of or information about such activities please do report them to the guards, it's innocent women who are being put through hell if you don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,967 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

I'd honestly believe that as a legit reason for him to be walking with them in daylight but who knows..

I've never seen him accompanying them to the supermarket.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Fuinseog wrote: »
    the last time I was in the building it was a great pub.
    QFT! Taylors was a great pub, it was a very sad day when they closed. Even sadder the new owners went ahead and made a sleaze joint out of it instead of keeping it nice.
    Was the start of the red light district of Galway.

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    Well the alternative is that this individual is a pimp. Just so everyone is aware, prostitution in Ireland is perfectly legal; brothels and organised prostitution are not, and for good reason. If you think you have evidence of or information about such activities please do report them to the guards, it's innocent women who are being put through hell if you don't.

Since when is prostitution legal in Ireland? Or by that do you mean exchanging money or goods for sex, without actually mentioning it or asking? I'm fairly positive all solicitation is illegal.

And imo (not referring to you Amhran Nua) there is a lot of pure muck on this thread now, not to mention off topic. Some people are showing their true colours.

Fuinseog wrote: »
    i am surprised no one has discussed prices of this hitherto unknown street trade. are the roma more recession friendly and can you haggle?
    is it polite to give a tip?

Muusssst resisssst penile tip based joke as funneh is not cool anymore.....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

exchanging money or goods for sex

I've an old laptop I'd let go for a decent hand shandy. Any takers?

Since when is prostitution legal in Ireland?
    Since around the mid 90s. Most prostitutes put up low key personal massage adverts, the Guards usually pay no heed to that, but they do crack down on brothels and organised prostitution/people trafficking, which is a good thing.

I've an old laptop I'd let go for a decent hand shandy. Any takers?

Bet it's a pc if you are letting it go that cheap :p

Since around the mid 90s. Most prostitutes put up low key personal massage adverts, the Guards usually pay no heed to that, but they do crack down on brothels and organised prostitution/people trafficking, which is a good thing.

I must have been gone when all the liberal stuff came in! ;) didn't know that, but kind of assumed that a blind eye was turned to escort service stuff that had 'extras'. It's the solicitation part I assumed was illegal, I suppose the other stuff only qualifies as 'false advertising' though..

It's the solicitation part I assumed was illegal, I suppose the other stuff only qualifies as 'false advertising' though..
    No, they do legitimately offer massages usually, they just might not be very good at them. As far as I'm aware there is nothing to stop people asking them do they offer other services, including prostitution, and receiving a positive response.

Prostitution is one of those things that is going to happen anyway, and happens everywhere, so by effectively legalising it you give prostitutes the full protection of the law if some criminal types take a fancy to running a prostitution ring and drop by the houses of prostitutes to beat them into agreement. Or some punter decides to do the same for different reasons.

In my travels and work with immigrants here, I've come across cases more than once where non-EU immigrants, men and women, can't find work and are faced with the choice of becoming a prostitute or taking a plane voluntarily or otherwise back to their own country. Its one of the darker corners of the black economy. There's a lot that goes on away from the awareness of most people in Ireland, if you scratch the surface just a little.

No, they do legitimately offer massages usually, they just might not be very good at them. As far as I'm aware there is nothing to stop people asking them do they offer other services, including prostitution, and receiving a positive response.

Prostitution is one of those things that is going to happen anyway, and happens everywhere, so by effectively legalising it you give prostitutes the full protection of the law if some criminal types take a fancy to running a prostitution ring and drop by the houses of prostitutes to beat them into agreement. Or some punter decides to do the same for different reasons.

In my travels and work with immigrants here, I've come across cases more than once where non-EU immigrants, men and women, can't find work and are faced with the choice of becoming a prostitute or taking a plane voluntarily or otherwise back to their own country. Its one of the darker corners of the black
    economy. There's a lot that goes on away from the awareness of most people
    in Ireland, if you scratch the surface just a little.

yeah, that's what I meant by 'false advertising' - offering a service that we all know, most of the time, is not the 'final service' intended.

Absolutely agree with you about the dangers to those in vulnerable positions, particularly those who have little other means of income.

Which is why its absolutely vital that people report any suspected brothels or organised prostitution, whether its Roma women in an alley, some goon marching girls up and down shop street, or any related incidents.

I agree. Report it, but let's not falsely accuse an individual (someone fairly distinctive is described in this thread) or tar an entire group by inference, with the same brush. I am amazed that people allege that this happens regularly in Galway and KIDS are involved, yet it is not repeatedly reported, 'john' or no john.

• Registered Users Posts: 603 ✭✭✭dapto1

This stuff about the fella from the lap dancing club walking around with the women is silly. The dancers walk up and down Shop St giving out cards for the place. It makes sense for him to be with them cos they might get hassle, think of the stag night crowds at weekends for example.