Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Increasingly Depressing Financial Crisis Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Cian92

In the news this eve registration is expected to increase to 2500.

I'm off to the big smoke to shout at politicians tommorow anyway!

I'll be there too!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

MavisDavis wrote: »
    Also, with regards to asking class reps to leave me alone, I do not mean that they shouldn't have posters around UCD or send emails to people. I'm referring to particular reps who are harassing me about my decision not to go. That's all.

If you have a problem with class reps go to the Law officer/s and complain to them.

I will be marching tomorrow since I feel it is the right thing to do, the government aren't going to take any notice if we don't march. One thing that I am fearful about is they have doubled the registration fee once in the last 5 years and now they are at it again. How many times are they going to do it, I have relations younger than me and how much will they have to pay for registration fee. After all it is a registration fee, it isn't tuition fees.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭bythewoods

unknown13 wrote: »
    If you have a problem with class reps go to the Law officer/s and complain to them.

I will be marching tomorrow since I feel it is the right thing to do, the government aren't going to take any notice if we don't march. One thing that I am fearful about is they have doubled the registration fee once in the last 5 years and now they are at it again. How many times are they going to do it, I have relations younger than me and how much will they have to pay for registration fee. After all it is a registration fee, it isn't tuition fees.

THE ONLY WAY WE CAN PROVE WE'RE SERIOUS ABOUT OUR EDUCATION IS BY BEING RECKLESS DRUNKEN MESSES ON THE STREETs INSTEAD OF GOING TO LECTURES.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Of course, you *could* just try not being reckless drunken messes on the streets ... >_>

• Registered Users Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

NO GRANT, NO BANT!

Seriously though, I'll be marching tommorow and hope people show a bit of cop on and don't stroll around locked, bavaria can in hand. If its done right, tommorow can send a very strong message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

Of course, you *could* just try not being reckless drunken messes on the streets ... >_>

Bitch at college gave me a hard time about not wanting to go to the march. Same bitch and friends are taking cans.:rolleyes:

Also, just found out TCDSU spend €14,000 OF OUR MONEY on the glorified piss-up that is the class-rep training weekend. (There might be some benefit to it but €14,000? And then for them to tell us our education basically isn't worth €3000?)
    That figure is offensive. I'm actually disgusted by it. And Jesus, but I'm going to figure out a way to make sure they know just how disgusted I am by it. What an ridiculous waste of money and resources. Can't get my head around it. I'm also going to find out where the SU's expenditure details are available. This is just not on. €14,000, ffs. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭ohthebaby

NO GRANT, NO BANT!

Seriously though, I'll be marching tommorow and hope people show a bit of cop on and don't stroll around locked, bavaria can in hand. If its done right, tommorow can send a very strong message.

This is exactly what I'm afraid of. It just takes a few to completely spoil it on everybody. I mean if there's any sort of drunken behaviour today that's exactly what the media will pick up on in the papers tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

We all know there's going to be some drunken idiots who ruin it. The number of status' on Facebook saying things like "can't wait to get locked at the march" "cans not emigration" etc are going to ruin any credibility of the march.

I won't be going anyway, too many essays to so I'll be locked away in the library.

• Registered Users Posts: 113 ✭✭delonglad

Bitch at college gave me a hard time about not wanting to go to the march. Same bitch and friends are taking cans.:rolleyes:

Also, just found out TCDSU spend €14,000 OF OUR MONEY on the glorified piss-up that is the class-rep training weekend. (There might be some benefit to it but €14,000? And then for them to tell us our education basically isn't worth €3000?)
    That figure is offensive. I'm actually disgusted by it. And Jesus, but I'm going to figure out a way to make sure they know just how disgusted I am by it. What an ridiculous waste of money and resources. Can't get my head around it. I'm also going to find out where the SU's expenditure details are available. This is just not on. €14,000, ffs. :mad:

Hey SU's are politicians, did you not know they all waste money on stupid crap. I'm not going to even get into a rant about them.

They should be sacked for wasting that kind of money..

UCD's is the same. There was something in the paper about it this year, about how they brought it down to only €11,000. They went to a four star hotel for the weekend ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

ALMOSTNEVER FOR TCDSU PRESIDENT! :D
    You should go reform the shít out of that union.... :pac:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Fair play to anyone that marched though, I wish I had your determination! My brother text me earlier saying they were getting soaked but he had the horn of his school and was having a great time!

Just back from giving blood instead of marching! At least I'll know that somebody will benefit from this in the next 4 weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Grindylow

Fair play to anyone that marched though, I wish I had your determination! My brother text me earlier saying they were getting soaked but he had the horn of his school and was having a great time!

Just back from giving blood instead of marching! At least I'll know that somebody will benefit from this in the next 4 weeks.

Woooooo! Go **Timbuk2** :)

Anyways I've a query.. Ya'know if they do up the Reg. fee doesn't the Gov. pay for the Reg. fee as part of a grant anyway? so like.. It's kinda sillly!

Noel2k9 wrote: »

Anyways I've a query.. Ya'know if they do up the Reg. fee doesn't the Gov. pay for the Reg. fee as part of a grant anyway? so like.. It's kinda sillly!

Yeah they do. But I'm guessing the problem would be for those who are barely above the grant limit, and struggling to pay the €1500 as it is, and if the fee was to increase, they probably wouldn't be able to afford this.

I also heard mentioned somewhere that the income levels for the grant may be decreased, so people who had previously gotten the grant and would have been entitled to it, now won't be.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,395 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Thanks! I do feel guilty about not marching though, but I had a very good view of the march from the D'Olier street clinic, whilst eating all the free food ever!

Some people qualify for a grant where the Reg Fees are paid. A lot of people, myself included, unfortuneatly don't. Even those that are receiving grants stand to lose up to 10% (allegedly) of their grant, or they might raise the income limit so people that perviously got a grant might get less of a grant, etc.

kateos2 wrote: »
    Yeah they do. But I'm guessing the problem would be for those who are barely above the grant limit, and struggling to pay the €1500 as it is, and if the fee was to increase, they probably wouldn't be able to afford this.

I also heard mentioned somewhere that the income levels for the grant may be decreased, so people who had previously gotten the grant and would have been entitled to it, now won't be.

Oh yeah I see. It's fairly harsh on that. Could they not have tried to introduce some kind of a means-testing manner of fees instead? Like I know it'd probably cause uproar and stuff, but say if they abolished the whole 'registration' fees thing, and just introduced a system based on incomes? It'd never work like with foreign students and stuff but sure.. seems a bit more realistic!
    Thanks! I do feel guilty about not marching though, but I had a very good view of the march from the D'Olier street clinic, whilst eating all the free food ever!

Some people qualify for a grant where the Reg Fees are paid. A lot of people, myself included, unfortuneatly don't. Even those that are receiving grants stand to lose up to 10% (allegedly) of their grant, or they might raise the income limit so people that perviously got a grant might get less of a grant, etc.

Was there many people at the march? :P

10%? :eek: It was reduced last year already to ~€6200 [afaik?] which would mean another loss of ~€620.. :eek: That'd be a major loss to anyone depending on it for Accomidation/Living costs, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Jamie OD

It was pretty fun watching the march go by O'Connell St while I was having lunch at Burger King. The atmosphere felt more peaceful than I thought it would be, which is a good thing. Only annoying thing was seeing a few Socialism supporters carrying their group banners trying to muscle their way to the front and make it look like they were leading the way.

10%? :eek: It was reduced last year already to ~€6200 [afaik?] which would mean another loss of ~€620.. :eek: That'd be a major loss to anyone depending on it for Accomidation/Living costs, etc.

I'm guessing that's the top up grant you're talking about? For you to be eligible for that, you're parents have to receiving social welfare, I'm under the limit for it, but because my Mum is self employed and working, she isn't entitled to benefits, and I don't get top up.

So for most people the 100% grant is €3250 for non-adjacent and €1,300 for adjacent. Over all last year, after the budget in December, I got I think it was about €200 less than my first cheque. Even then, it makes a pretty big difference.

Jamie OD wrote: »
    It was pretty fun watching the march go by O'Connell St while I was having lunch at Burger King. The atmosphere felt more peaceful than I thought it would be, which is a good thing. Only annoying thing was seeing a few Socialism supporters carrying their group banners trying to muscle their way to the front and make it look like they were leading the way.

It was going along peacefully so? I'm actually shocked! :P I expected a lot of drunken students causing a big scene! Hopefully the media won't have anything bad about the students to report for tomorrow (although I'm sure that they will..)

*sorry for the double post!*
    kateos2 wrote: »
    I'm guessing that's the top up grant you're talking about? For you to be eligible for that, you're parents have to receiving social welfare, I'm under the limit for it, but because my Mum is self employed and working, she isn't entitled to benefits, and I don't get top up.

So for most people the 100% grant is €3250 for non-adjacent and €1,300 for adjacent. Over all last year, after the budget in December, I got I think it was about €200 less than my first cheque. Even then, it makes a pretty big difference.

Yeah I just took the full rate just to try and see the biggest amount of money that would be reduced!
    I don't see how the government thinks reducing the grant rates are going to be of any benefit like! We're living in a country where everything is still incredibly overpriced! Prices for on-campus accommodation for incoming first years varies from ~€4000 at the minimum up to about €6000. So taking that into account if someone was receiving the full grant, It'd leave about €2000 for living costs for the year/purchasing books, stationary, etc/ travelling expenses and a lot more. It's just totally unrealistic considering the amount of money that is being earned by workers in the public sector. If we really wan't to save some money, try cutting at least half of the public sector I]and not in the health industry, like always are effected[/I. Half the teachers in Ireland aren't required, just like half the staff working for the government aren't. They're not capable of doing their jobs correctly anyway, so they shouldn't be getting paid.

Violence has broken out between gardaí and students in Merrion Row after riot gardaí forcibly ejected students who had occupied the lobby of the Department of Finance in Dublin city centre.

Violent scenes are continuing between a large number of riot police, gardaí and students.

Some students have bloody noses and one student has been carried away, possibly unconscious.

Some students have expressed deep upset at the outbreak of violence.

Mounted gardaí and armoured vehicles are also at the scene.

Earlier, a number of protestors occupied the Department of Finance and several hundred students staged a sit-down protest outside the building.

Link.

I'm not surprised in the least that it ended like this tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Top notch journalism from RTE there.

Kinda wish I'd gone now and gotten arrested so I could say in my best Northern accent "I'm a political prisoner!" :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭kev9100

Jesus, the protest went down hill quickly.

I love how the media always portrays the bad side of the young people of Ireland.

If it was a case of the OAP's rioting, the story would probably be "OAP's stick up for their entitlements, much to the dismay of the government, good on ye boiiiiiiiiiiz" etc :P

• Registered Users Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

I love how the media always portrays the bad side of the young people of Ireland.

If it was a case of the OAP's rioting, the story would probably be "OAP's stick up for their entitlements, much to the dismay of the government, good on ye boiiiiiiiiiiz" etc :P
    The OAPs did it without violence.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Back from marching, I didn't see any trouble myself personally

0003e010-640.jpg

Are they lifting her out by her hair? Ouch!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Black hoodie, I'd say, judging by how the lower back is exposed.

Ah, that would make sense!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭kev9100

unknown13 wrote: »
    Back from marching, I didn't see any trouble myself personally

Were you near Merrion Square? Things near the back of the Dail were pretty rough.