Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

LOI Play-offs

• 01-11-2010 12:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭

Tuesday, 2nd November

Galway United v Bray Wanderers Terryland Park 7.45 pm (Match A)
    Waterford United v Monaghan United R.S.C. 7.45 pm (Match B)
    Cobh Ramblers v Salthill Devon St. Colman’s Park 7.45 pm

Friday, 5th November

Winner Match B v Loser Match A TBC 7.45 pm

Saturday, 6th November

Salthill Devon v Cobh Ramblers Drom 7.45 pm

Monday, 8th November

Loser Match A v Winner Match B TBC 7.45 pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Hopefully we beat Bray and Cobh hammer Devon. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I thought there was only one leg to the play offs, and I thought only one spot was a play off in the premier.

I hope Waterford stay down as I think they would cherry pick our best players if they go up.

Hopefully Cobh can come up as well. Salthill offer very little to the league god love them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭popzmaster

Come on the Bray! We're the club they can't relegate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

An away trip to Cobh (always great) or my first trip to Drom, hmmmm, Cobh please!

Also Bray down, thanks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

I thought it was going to be a Waterford Vs Bray playoff. Seems a bit unfair on Galway.

Hopefully Cobh to win as well. It'd be nice to have the derby next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Galway to lose the PD playoff and Salthill to win the FD playoff

3 teams from Galway in next years First Division = Less away game milage for me to drive :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Hoping to see Galway stay up after the favour they did us.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Galway to beat Bray but Bray are unrelegatable, yet on the evidence at Tolka, Waterford could beat them nevertheless..

I thought it was going to be a Waterford Vs Bray playoff. Seems a bit unfair on Galway.
    Yep. We finished 11 points above them. That's a bigger gap than the one between 1st and 5th (St Pat's)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Hardly unfair if you know about it from the start of the season.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Hardly unfair if you know about it from the start of the season.

Yeah, that's fair enough but I don't think it should exist, especially when it's a 10 team league. We're as close to mid-table as we are to the bottom, yet we have to play a relegation play-off.

Anyway, hopefully we'll win it and not get dragged into the two legs against the First Division team. We've an almost fully fit squad for the first time in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Probably to make it competitive tbh. I'm feeling good about this match, think there'll be a few goals. Hopefully we go 4-4-2 with Seamie in the middle.

Seamie in the middle means King at right back. I'm not sure about him back there. He's good going forward but gets skinned too often by wingers running at him. I'd play Philip Reilly beside O'Donnell.

True, I wouldn't play Reilly there in a 4-4-2, though. He doesn't have the legs to play it. Sitting in front of the back 4 is the only place I can see him playing. Be interesting to see what Connor goes with.

He might start with

Ryan
    Seamie Sinnott McKenzie Rhys
    Reilly
    Molloy Curran O'Donnell Derek
    Shep

That way, Molloy can join Shep upfront if needed.

He might start with

Ryan
    Seamie Sinnott McKenzie Rhys
    Reilly
    Molloy Curran O'Donnell Derek
    Shep

That way, Molloy can join Shep upfront if needed.

I'm thinking this is what he's going to go with. Conceded a few the last couple of games, Molloy's good form and with the risk of playing King right full, I reckon he'll go safety first. We were a little overrun the last time Bray played at Terryland too.

That said, Shep can't play up front on his own. He gets frustrated and starts drifting out wide. He needs to just get himself in the box. Wonder what kind of crowd there'll be, I guess the Tuesday doesn't do many a lot of favours.

I'm thinking this is what he's going to go with. Conceded a few the last couple of games, Molloy's good form and with the risk of playing King right full, I reckon he'll go safety first. We were a little overrun the last time Bray played at Terryland too.

That said, Shep can't play up front on his own. He gets frustrated and starts drifting out wide. He needs to just get himself in the box. Wonder what kind of crowd there'll be, I guess the Tuesday doesn't do many a lot of favours.
    Connor likes Stephen Walsh so I wouldn't be surprised if he was involved.

It is a pity that it's on a Tuesday but we should get a bigger crowd than usual. Bray are meant to be bringing 100+ too.

Connor likes Stephen Walsh so I wouldn't be surprised if he was involved.

It is a pity that it's on a Tuesday but we should get a bigger crowd than usual. Bray are meant to be bringing 100+ too.

Yeah, Walsh is a great prospect. Fancy him more up front, doesn't have the positional sense yet to play left full. Can't wait for the game now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

I'm going to predict an edgy 2 1 bray win with jake kelly getting a brace I always had a softspot for bray my childhood team :). Anybody know if this game will be televised ????

ricero wrote: »
    Anybody know if this game will be televised ????

No, you can watch a load of Brazilians playing for a Ukrainian team against a load of Frenchmen playing for an English team though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

It beggers belief how a team can go 11 points clear of another team not at the bottom and still need to beat them in a play-off.

After baytin Bohs I think we'll beat Bray 1-0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

It beggers belief how a team can go 11 points clear of another team not at the bottom and still need to beat them in a play-off.

After baytin Bohs I think we'll beat Bray 1-0.
    Meh I wouldn't worry too much about that. It's time to prove we are indeed 11 points better than Bray. We have home advantage and arguably better players but Bray have the form. Weather will be awful tomorrow night too so ya never know.

The weather has been awful all day here. The groundsman is confident the pitch will hold up though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,048 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Considering Bray's end to the season and the bunch of decent young players they're bringing through I hope they stay up.

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Joyce Country

it has been pelting down rain all day here in galway. im still heading to terryland, hope it goes ahead - a lot could be put off going either way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭popzmaster

Considering Bray's end to the season and the bunch of decent young players they're bringing through I hope they stay up.

Considering we had about a weeks notice we would be playing in the Premier and the absolutely fine form we've been in the latter part of the season I don't think anyone wants to see Bray playing in the First Division next year. And what a goal Jake Kelly against shammies fantastic. Sound fella tho Chopper for a Rover :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Nothing personal but I don't want to see 3 Galway teams in the 1st Division. Potential 6 trips to the West (which is a great place) if it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭frantic190

You can listen live to the Galway game here:

http://vista.streamguys.com/galwaybayfm

They also have updates of the Salthill Devon match I think.

If it doesn't work:
    http://www.galwaynews.ie/galwaybayfm

Click "Listen Live"

Galway 1 up

Sheppard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,951 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Excellent! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭paddy978

Devon 1 up

Monaghan 1 up, Aidan Lynch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Monaghan 2 up according to soccerway, Waterford would have been better off losing on Saturday and taking their chances in Tolka again tonight.

Waterford pulled one back against Mons, Liam Kearney, 2 - 1

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

frantic190 wrote: »
    Monaghan 1 up, Aidan Lynch.
    G'wan Lynchy :)

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

frantic190 wrote: »
    Waterford pulled one back against Mons, Liam Kearney, 2 - 1

Which one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Bray down to 10 men, come on Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

3-1 Mons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭holidaysong

It's Monaghan vs. Bray on Friday then with the return leg in the Carlisle Grounds on Monday night. Would like to see Monaghan get promoted. They've had a great season and were very unlucky not to go up automatically. Also, they've a lot of ex-Dundalk lads in their team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Well done Galway... Bray get another bite at the apple.
    Well done Salthill and Monaghan, 2 surprises there.

Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

40121_459863086940_323864916940_5285126_5662356_n.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Dissappointing for Cobh. They still have the away leg to hopefully turn it around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Hard luck Bray. A great match and I'm sure ye'll beat Monaghan.

I hope not. I want to see the Magic Mons come up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Lamper.sffc

Congrats to Galway. Glad justice was done and yous stayed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭civis_liberalis

A collection of photos from the Galway United v Bray Wanderers match.

INPHO_00468729.jpg

Karl Sheppard wheels away after scoring what turned out to be the winner.

76944_459858666940_323864916940_5285041_2392354_n.jpg

Still celebrating... :D

INPHO_00468734.jpg

Derek O'Brien makes a well-timed challenge on Bray Wanderers' Daire Doyle, for which he receives a booking from match referee, Damien Hancock.

148773_1494662525179_1192556165_31166419_30846_n.jpg

At half-time, Galway United midfielder, Ciaran Foley (far left) and Galway United mascot, Terry the Tiger help members of the Galway United Supporters Trust make the first monthly Maroon Army Members Draw.

34424_459863631940_323864916940_5285134_3865215_n.jpg

Galway's Karl Sheppard is taken down by Bray's last man back, Adam Mitchell.

150085_459864106940_323864916940_5285138_7905604_n.jpg

Referee Damien Hancock sends off Bray Wanderers' Adam Mitchell following the challenge pictured above.

73445_1494670245372_1192556165_31166484_5215185_n.jpg

Kerry native, Derek O'Brien advances up the wing for Galway in search of the pass that would provide a Galway attacker with a chance to seal it.

149787_1494671525404_1192556165_31166496_2472575_n.jpg

Galway United winger, Derek O'Brien heads for the showers a few minutes early, after receiving the second of two extremely questionable bookings.

40121_459863086940_323864916940_5285126_5662356_n.jpg

Galway United manager, Sean Connor and assistant manager, Gareth Gorman celebrate at the final whistle.

68772_1494677605556_1192556165_31166556_4433676_n.jpg

The players receive the applause of the crowd.

74816_1494679005591_1192556165_31166570_6263275_n.jpg

The delighted crowd in the Corribside Stand.

150373_459859746940_323864916940_5285076_4913334_n.jpg

Referee Damien Hancock, centre, is escorted off the pitch at the end of the game by security and a member of An Garda Síochána as Bray Wanderers' Dave Webster confronts him as they leave the field.

71495_1494680845637_1192556165_31166589_7171579_n.jpg

(Mostly) young fans mob the manager outside the tunnel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

Hard luck Bray. A great match and I'm sure ye'll beat Monaghan.

You know I doubt you would have said that if Waterford had won. Monaghan beat the Blues four times this year, so tonights result, even away from home is hardly a huge shock.

Now what would be nice would be to replace Bray in the PL. A lot of us have long memories of Pat Devlin saying Monaghan United shouldnt be allowed in the league.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

You know I doubt you would have said that if Waterford had won. Monaghan beat the Blues four times this year, so tonights result, even away from home is hardly a huge shock.

Now what would be nice would be to replace Bray in the PL. A lot of us have long memories of Pat Devlin saying Monaghan United shouldnt be allowed in the league.
    Best of luck to ye. Got a really good impression of your supporters the day of the league cup final.

Exciting stuff last night, delighted with the result. Hard luck Bray but Galway were the better team on the night. Good corwd of about 1400 too, it'll be interesting to see what happens over the next few months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Glad Galway did it. Now for Bray to beat Monaghan, Premier doesnt need another club with no fans.