Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much do i need for 8days in Vegas??

• 01-11-2010 8:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭

i am 22, a drinker, will want to see a show or two, and just general spending, shopping, eating out (take aways mostly)... does anyone know how much il need for 8 days in Vegas. I'm thinking $1500- $1800. i don't want to be consious of spending money . (i.e. restricting myself to budgeting or preventing to eat at dinner time to watch a show later that night!). obviously i will have a go at the gambeling but not extreme. just for a laugh. going with my partner in January so want to enjoy it without worrying about the weight of my wallet

Tagged:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

Just back there myself from a week of madness...

Back on Saturday - regarding spending money - its all relative to your shopping / eating / gambling patterns are. You could easily lose a small fortune in the casinos and the shows are rather expensive.

We went for the "cheap" seats for Lion King and few others and the view was still amazing. No way would I pay for the "better" seats..

Food prices range from F-all to F-n hell! All depends on if you want to go to buffets or to exensive, smart restaurants...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭seanie69r

thewools wrote: »
    Just back there myself from a week of madness...

Back on Saturday - regarding spending money - its all relative to your shopping / eating / gambling patterns are. You could easily lose a small fortune in the casinos and the shows are rather expensive.

We went for the "cheap" seats for Lion King and few others and the view was still amazing. No way would I pay for the "better" seats..

Food prices range from F-all to F-n hell! All depends on if you want to go to buffets or to exensive, smart restaurants...

good time yea??

im not looking to dine in the most expensive resturant or buy the deerest show tickets. bit of buying clothes and stuff. just on average how much would i need to make it "easy going"

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭madanall

Use your head...nobody can advise you on how much you need...you can only spend what you have so budget accordingly. You could spend 100 dollars or 10000000 dollars a day.

madanall wrote: »
    Use your head...nobody can advise you on how much you need...you can only spend what you have so budget accordingly. You could spend 100 dollars or 10000000 dollars a day.

true... but from peoples experience i will be able to get a general figure...otherwise you could bring over too little, worst case scenario.

too much then...??? well what is too much. i have 500euro saved up so far but when do i stop saving...at what point should i go.. "oh that should do me now"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

I reckon if you take about $200 a day you'll be alright. You can eat fairly cheaply (say $50 a day) if you eat breakfast and a mid afternoon lunch at the buffets. Then you'll only need a quick meal at a fast food joint in the evening. Throw in another $50 for beer and $100 for gambling or going to shows.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeloe

I was there in march, only for 5 days tho, and I had a ball!

I'm a HEAVY shopper tho, so don't take my spending as gospel, I'm sure you won't be buying 5-6 pairs of runners and an extra suitcase full of t's and tops!

I brought €1300 dollars with me, which was about 1750us dollars at the time.

I ate well, went to a show every night, played blackjack for 5-6 hours a night and bought loads of clothes and presents for people.

There's no way to tell how much you'll win or loose gambling, but after all of it, it turned up i was around 150 dollar up at the end of the week....not a lot to be up for a weeks worth of gambling, but it was my first time playing and I had so much fun! :-)

You won't regret going!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Well, estimating one ounce per day.....about 8 ounces. Your welcome.

I reckon if you take about $200 a day you'll be alright. You can eat fairly cheaply (say $50 a day) if you eat breakfast and a mid afternoon lunch at the buffets. Then you'll only need a quick meal at a fast food joint in the evening. Throw in another $50 for beer and $100 for gambling or going to shows.

Thanks Jack.

Were you over there??? 200dollars does sound pretty reasonable. Throw another $50 in for shopping a day on average. so do ye reckon $250 a day and you will be fairly alright???:)

eeloe wrote: »
    I was there in march, only for 5 days tho, and I had a ball!

I'm a HEAVY shopper tho, so don't take my spending as gospel, I'm sure you won't be buying 5-6 pairs of runners and an extra suitcase full of t's and tops!

I brought €1300 dollars with me, which was about 1750us dollars at the time.

I ate well, went to a show every night, played blackjack for 5-6 hours a night and bought loads of clothes and presents for people.

There's no way to tell how much you'll win or loose gambling, but after all of it, it turned up i was around 150 dollar up at the end of the week....not a lot to be up for a weeks worth of gambling, but it was my first time playing and I had so much fun! :-)

You won't regret going!

Thanks for your input.. much appreciated. you fairly went to town i take it!!!:D:D

was it a problem getting through customs with your new clothes (i presume you took tags off)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

like i said on previous threads, you bring to vegas ONLY as much as you are willing to lose

you can easily do vegas on a really low budget or go insane and spend the entire budget of the country in one week, there are some great shows such as macking for less than $20, drinks are free if you are playing in the casinos, even if you are playing the penny machines they will be quick bringing around the drinks, drinks are a $1 a bottle in places like casino royale mid-strip. on the food front buffets are the best bet, there are some good buffets for under $10 in places like goldcoast, fremont, the best cheapest buffets on the strip are at the flamingo and harrahs which can be done for under $15 with the coupons available everywhere, after 12am its $2 for large burger and fries in flamingo burger bar (its a popular nightspot around 2-4am)

drinks in the main clubs are stupidly expensive, its about $12-15 for a vodka and mixer

• Registered Users Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

I agree you could spend as much or as little as you like. We were there in 2008 and we definitly spent no more than $200 per day (for two of is) although we weren't gambling or doing the club thing.

As previously stated, drinks are free if you are playing machines, just tip your server a dollar or two per drink and she will make sure to come round to you again quickly. Drinks in bars are dear, we were paying on average $20 for a round of two drinks

Show tickets are dear, you could easily spend $100 per ticket. There are several tkts booths in Vegas that sell same day tickets for up to 50% off. If you're not too fussed about what show you see, this is a good option.

The buffets are good value for dinner (not so much for breakfast or lunch I thought) they average about $35 per person including soft drinks and you can literally stuff yourself silly if you want!

We ate cheaply for breakfast and lunch (pastry and coffee for brekkie, hot dog or similar for lunch) and then ate a nice evening meal. There are all price ranges of restaurants. We like Margharitaville in the Flamingo Hotel for tasty cheap and filling food (plus yummy Margharita's) in a fun environment.

I think $200 per day for just you would be more than ample as long as you don't go too nuts on the gambling!

seanie69r wrote: »
    Thanks Jack.

Were you over there??? 200dollars does sound pretty reasonable. Throw another $50 in for shopping a day on average. so do ye reckon $250 a day and you will be fairly alright???:)

I was there in 2005, 2007, 2008 and 2009. As has been said, you can spend as much or as little as you want. We're not big clubbers nor do we go on major benders so I don't know how much money that'd all cost but having a few beers each night with my meal we were alright and able to go to a show or two and play a bit of blackjack.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭NewApproach

Few friends of mine went for 8 days, on average they went through about $5k. Depends how much gambling/coke/hookers you want.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭PeterKelly!

Few friends of mine went for 8 days, on average they went through about $5k. Depends how much gambling/coke/hookers you want.

As he is going with his partner this should restrict the amount blown on gambling....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 kimmywimmy

HEY seanie! i went 2 years ago with my bro for my 21st....i brought a crazy amount of money as i had gotten alot for my b.day and had alot saved and i found it extremely hard to spend money.the circus circus hotel do the most amazing buffet for 10 dollars,defo worth a visit,u will actually be stuffed for bout 2 days after it!!!like at like 5/6 wen we wud be headin home from the clubs we wud head to mcdonalds for a bacon n egg mcmuffin :) that did as our breakfast too!!!am in relation to drink,there are so many happy hours in places,u wont b long gettin to know where to drink and wat tyms. o sheas irish bar is a good spot for karaoke and cheap drink....am also keep a roll of quaters in your pocket at all times,if ur gambling your drink is free so wen u see the waitresses slot money in the machine and call them over for a drink(a good tip especially in ur own hotel,on the 1st day tip gppd to the waitresses,they will look after you for the rest of the stay);)

As he is going with his partner this should restrict the amount blown on gambling....

...and hookers!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭finbarrk

If I was going for 8 days I would have about $3k.

Well thats great for you but were not all loaded:D

kimmywimmy wrote: »
    Well thats great for you but were not all loaded:D

Well you can't be too badly off if you were there for your 21st! I wouldn't have been able to afford it when I was your age.

Ya well i guess thats why big brothers are great,they get ya the best presents:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭CorkMan

I know New York is a different city from Las Vegas but I went to New York in May and didn't spend a lot.

I spent $14-$16 on a take-out meal from a general store for 2. I brought over €1,500 for the week and didn't spend near enough. Got a load of clothes but they were a lot less expensive than I thought so that didn't amount. I reckon $100 a day on average over the 8 days would be plenty.

$1000 IMO would be plenty. If you are going to drink loads (like 8-10 pints every night) add a bit more. Obviously if you gamble loads you could spend lord knows, but that is up to you.

thanks a mill!!!! you have summed it up in a nutshell. im planning on bringing over what i have saved so far ($1600), saving like a **** and want to have comfortable money and not be a scab for the week!!! what are the best recreational activities to do??? (like bunge jumping, skydiving, grand canyon etc...) or did you not bother???

seanie

kimmywimmy wrote: »
    HEY seanie! i went 2 years ago with my bro for my 21st....i brought a crazy amount of money as i had gotten alot for my b.day and had alot saved and i found it extremely hard to spend money.the circus circus hotel do the most amazing buffet for 10 dollars,defo worth a visit,u will actually be stuffed for bout 2 days after it!!!like at like 5/6 wen we wud be headin home from the clubs we wud head to mcdonalds for a bacon n egg mcmuffin :) that did as our breakfast too!!!am in relation to drink,there are so many happy hours in places,u wont b long gettin to know where to drink and wat tyms. o sheas irish bar is a good spot for karaoke and cheap drink....am also keep a roll of quaters in your pocket at all times,if ur gambling your drink is free so wen u see the waitresses slot money in the machine and call them over for a drink(a good tip especially in ur own hotel,on the 1st day tip gppd to the waitresses,they will look after you for the rest of the stay);)

thanks a mill!!!! you have summed it up in a nutshell. im planning on bringing over what i have saved so far ($1600), saving like a **** and want to have comfortable money and not be a scab for the week!!! what are the best recreational activities to do??? (like bunge jumping, skydiving, grand canyon etc...) or did you not bother???

seanie

finbarrk wrote: »
    If I was going for 8 days I would have about $3k.

fair play to ya.......someone has money!:D

CorkMan wrote: »
    I know New York is a different city from Las Vegas but I went to New York in May and didn't spend a lot.

I spent $14-$16 on a take-out meal from a general store for 2. I brought over €1,500 for the week and didn't spend near enough. Got a load of clothes but they were a lot less expensive than I thought so that didn't amount. I reckon $100 a day on average over the 8 days would be plenty.

$1000 IMO would be plenty. If you are going to drink loads (like 8-10 pints every night) add a bit more. Obviously if you gamble loads you could spend lord knows, but that is up to you.

Thanks Cork man.... im not going gambeling alot... the odd few dollars the odd night...nothing huge! i want to buy a **** load of clothes, drink about 8/10 pints for 5nights out of the 7.. (4/5 spirits/cocktails) and see a few recreational activities like the grand canyon..one day then go to funfair and general spending that everyone would spend...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Eire Go Brach

The trick is to stick to your budget for gambling. I went for 5 nights in 2000
    My Budget $150 a night on gambling. If you spend it, go home. Sometimes it can be hard to spend as well though.
    $20 dollars got me 6 hours on a roulette table. Was up a couple of hundred.
    Its hard to walk away with money though:)
    We got a bit bored with the gambling on the last 2 nights. Lost the $150 in 5 minutes. Just bet the $50 on black 3 times:)

The trick is to stick to your budget for gambling. I went for 5 nights in 2000
    My Budget $150 a night on gambling. If you spend it, go home. Sometimes it can be hard to spend as well though.
    $20 dollars got me 6 hours on a roulette table. Was up a couple of hundred.
    Its hard to walk away with money though:)
    We got a bit bored with the gambling on the last 2 nights. Lost the $150 in 5 minutes. Just bet the $50 on black 3 times:)

what month did you go in??

yea il be same as you just not as much money spent on gamebling... i wouldnt go over 100dollars a night and id only be gambeling 3/4 nights... did you enjoy it. im rearing to go just dont know what to expect...staying in PH.

you didnt hear of the trick in a hotel to try get a complimentary upgrade??? slip 50$ in your passport/ or be overly nice and make up a huge special occassion

Peops... do you have to tip yanks all the time..???? (no offence but **** that)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,357 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Peops... do you have to tip yanks all the time..???? (no offence but **** that)

some things you have to tip, no getting away from it
    -taxi, tip 15-20% of the fare
    -cocktail waitress in casinos $1-2 per free drink (if you don't she won't come round to you second time :p)
    -tip few dollars for buffet servers who come around with drinks etc
    -15-18% of bill in restaurants for servers

after that i don't really tip much, people tip dealers, bellhops, bar staff, room cleaners etc but its up to yourself, depends on how nice the guy/girl/service is, if someone goes out of their way to help and be nice then a few dollars isn't going to break the bank

fair play to ya.......someone has money!:D

Not much point in going there if you don't have it.