Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much do i need for 8days in Vegas??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭seanie69r

finbarrk wrote: »
    Not much point in going there if you don't have it.

thats very true!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

If you want to save money on shows, go to the best one and sit near the back. For me the best one is Ka, its amazing.

Like Burgers go to Burger Bar in Madalay Bay, amazing Kobe burger. Money is relative, you will prob spend lots some days and not much on others and hopefully be up a day or two by Gambling however don't count on it :)

JoeyJJ wrote: »
    If you want to save money on shows, go to the best one and sit near the back. For me the best one is Ka, its amazing.

Like Burgers go to Burger Bar in Madalay Bay, amazing Kobe burger. Money is relative, you will prob spend lots some days and not much on others and hopefully be up a day or two by Gambling however don't count on it :)

thanks a mill, wil keep that in mind...;):D

i assume from posts that $1600 is enough???

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 3,728 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeloe

seanie69r wrote: »
    Thanks for your input.. much appreciated. you fairly went to town i take it!!!:D:D

was it a problem getting through customs with your new clothes (i presume you took tags off)

Yeah I had all the tags off the clothes I bought, but I didn't get stopped at customs on the way back!
    If you are going clothes shopping, don't and I repeat don't buy clothes on the strip, go to the outlets, much much cheaper!
    Dc shoes for 30 dollars, tee's for 10 dollars and so on. The same clothes on the strip are nearly 3 times the price!
    The fashion show mall has some nice stuff, like a Paul frank store.

Anything else ya need to know drop me a PM brother!

1600 dollars should be plenty!

When your walking down the strip, PR people will try to get you in to clubs, tip them and you'll get VIP guestlist to some clubs for a 20dollar tip!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

i assume from posts that $1600 is enough???

Impossible to say.

I would have thought that $1000 was plenty. It'll be different for everyone I suppose.

eeloe wrote: »
    Yeah I had all the tags off the clothes I bought, but I didn't get stopped at customs on the way back!
    If you are going clothes shopping, don't and I repeat don't buy clothes on the strip, go to the outlets, much much cheaper!
    Dc shoes for 30 dollars, tee's for 10 dollars and so on. The same clothes on the strip are nearly 3 times the price!
    The fashion show mall has some nice stuff, like a Paul frank store.

Anything else ya need to know drop me a PM brother!

1600 dollars should be plenty!

When your walking down the strip, PR people will try to get you in to clubs, tip them and you'll get VIP guestlist to some clubs for a 20dollar tip!

thanks alot for the info. youv potentially saved me alot of hassle!!:D:D:D:D

would you recommend going to see grand canyon etc...???

where are your best spots for shops???

would you recommend going to see grand canyon etc...???

It's a 5-hour drive to the 'real' canyon (well worth it).

• Registered Users Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

Just do the sensible thing. Land in Vegas....limo to your hotel. Drop bags in your room. Head to nearest roulette table....put your whole budget on red/black and let it spin. Win = head to the nearest strip joint, lose = change your flights.

Either way, you aint coming home with a cent ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭Batigol309

Hey,

Would agree with all of the above...depends really on how mad you go..

Good idea to get the free drinks while playing the tables at start of nite (then hopefully you wont remember having to pay a load later on)

Few good spots on strip for cheap cocktails...add in a few $ shots and you are laughing. Would recommend Lagasse Stadium in the Venetian for a great munch..good prices and you can catch a few NFL games in good atmosphere.

Also check out the Casino where the show is on for any discounts on the day before you buy from the Discount Ticket Kiosks on the Strip- sometimes you get better deal. Also head down to the old strip on Freemont street...great atmosphere and some cheap nice food and drinks.

Id try and get drinks in before the clubs as they really charge a lot. We headed to Pure in Caesers (great place) and we spent ridiculous amounts...you would even be better off getting table service if you are in a big group.

Hit the buffets hard...you will end up eating 2 a day only.

Enjoy...and you are dead right...just spend what you want..you only do it once

Batigol309 wrote: »
    Hey,

Would agree with all of the above...depends really on how mad you go..

Good idea to get the free drinks while playing the tables at start of nite (then hopefully you wont remember having to pay a load later on)

Few good spots on strip for cheap cocktails...add in a few $ shots and you are laughing. Would recommend Lagasse Stadium in the Venetian for a great munch..good prices and you can catch a few NFL games in good atmosphere.

Also check out the Casino where the show is on for any discounts on the day before you buy from the Discount Ticket Kiosks on the Strip- sometimes you get better deal. Also head down to the old strip on Freemont street...great atmosphere and some cheap nice food and drinks.

Id try and get drinks in before the clubs as they really charge a lot. We headed to Pure in Caesers (great place) and we spent ridiculous amounts...you would even be better off getting table service if you are in a big group.

Hit the buffets hard...you will end up eating 2 a day only.

Enjoy...and you are dead right...just spend what you want..you only do it once

thanks for your input!

fingers crossed the weather here improves!!!:(:(:(:mad::(:(:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭daithi2011

true... but from peoples experience i will be able to get a general figure...otherwise you could bring over too little, worst case scenario.

too much then...??? well what is too much. i have 500euro saved up so far but when do i stop saving...at what point should i go.. "oh that should do me now"

That might get you through your first day - with no gambling.
    If you want to have a good time in vegas, it will cost. The good news is though that you have to actually plan to gamble or you wont have time to.

Rough break-down of costs per person.

Food per day $50 - $100
    Booze -Free if you play it right :)
    Show - $100
    Day trip to the grand canyon - $200 - $350
    Loads of other things to do.
    You could spend 2 or 3 nights just looking at the stuff outside the hotels and not half to pay a penny. Freemont, bellagio etc.

daithi2011 wrote: »
    That might get you through your first day - with no gambling.
    If you want to have a good time in vegas, it will cost. The good news is though that you have to actually plan to gamble or you wont have time to.

Rough break-down of costs per person.

Food per day $50 - $100
    Booze -Free if you play it right :)
    Show - $100
    Day trip to the grand canyon - $200 - $350
    Loads of other things to do.
    You could spend 2 or 3 nights just looking at the stuff outside the hotels and not half to pay a penny. Freemont, bellagio etc.

Thanks for your input. I now have $1730 saved up. i dont think i will bring much more than that. Yes the grand canyon is a must but i hear it will cost a fair whack.

Nope. It costs the price of a 1-day car rental and about 9 hours of your time.
    I rented a 5 seater SUV for €110 last June.

The helicoptor rides to the Canyon are fun but IMHO not worth it as it's far from being the actual Grand Canyon which is hours further east.

Ponster wrote: »
    Nope. It costs the price of a 1-day car rental and about 9 hours of your time.
    I rented a 5 seater SUV for €110 last June.

The helicoptor rides to the Canyon are fun but IMHO not worth it as it's far from being the actual Grand Canyon which is hours further east.

so ponster your saying its not worth my while with the grand canyon???

would you reccomend seeing it and the hoover dam??

any attractions/places you suggest i see/do??

thanks

so ponster your saying its not worth my while with the grand canyon???

The GC is excellent and well worth it but you have 2 options :

a) the part that is closest to LV and is where the helicopters go. IMHO this is not the real GC but is pretty to look at. You may be disappointed if you're expecting the GC you see on the telly.

b) the east part is the GC you'll have no doubt seen on TV but is a 4 hour drive away (though the drive is easy and takes in Route 66).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,187 ✭✭✭NewApproach

Balla it up and bring 5k like a man

Definitely get the helicopter down into it. And the boat ride.
    You definitely havent been to the grand canyon otherwise. If there is anything you want to save for, that is it. Not going into it is like standing beside the Empire state building, but not going to the top. If you never did it you wouldnt know what you missed, but by god would you be missing out.

If you get the coach trip out and then the helicopter at the canyon (THere are tours that do it this way) you'll stop at the hoover Dam.
    The Dam is impressive, but if you missed it you wouldnt cry. The GC is a whole other story. If you do it that way there are some nice things to see too.
    You can look all those trips up before you even go over.

Helicopter around the strip is great too. Not too expensive.

But, as I said, if you want to save money, you'll find yourself occupied just going up and down the strip for a few days and just looking at stuff. Having a wander into the casinos and then off to the next outdoor show. Its amazing really. And way bigger than you think. I sat looking at the water in the Bellagio for about 3 hours one night. Loved it.

All of the hotels have loads to offer.

You could try not waiting til the last day to gamble and just gamble what you have left. You'll save that way :)

And if you want to go to shows, go to the matinees. Same show. Half the price. And in Vegas you wont know if its day or night half the time anyway. And the strip is alive at night, so thats time better spent outside.

http://budgettravel.about.com/cs/planningyourtrip/p/cheap_vegas.htm

http://media.newstalk.ie/podcast_xml.php?id=8614

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭Dormy

Went to Vegas about 4 or 5 years ago on a stag. Fantastic place.
    We did the helicopter to grand canyon thing. It was a great day out but expensive. Around $250 pp I think back then. My advice about the GC trip would be to wait until the end of your stay (we went on the last day) and see how the funds are holding up. Some lads took a car to hoover dam another day and went shopping in an outlet centre. 2 birds etc. For thrills try the top of the stratosphere hotel. Too scary for me but highly recommended by those that went up. As others have said you can spend more or less your life savings or practically nothing depending on how you approach it. Be careful with the gambling. Try to avoid late nite gambling as your decision making might not be the best!! The tables totally decided how much people spent on our trip. I got lucky and only ended up spending $300 in total, others spent $2k.(4 nights). One more thing is that most things in Vegas are more expensive on weekends. Enjoy

Balla it up and bring 5k like a man

sound.....do you have 5k for me???:p

Definitely get the helicopter down into it. And the boat ride.
    You definitely havent been to the grand canyon otherwise. If there is anything you want to save for, that is it. Not going into it is like standing beside the Empire state building, but not going to the top. If you never did it you wouldnt know what you missed, but by god would you be missing out.

If you get the coach trip out and then the helicopter at the canyon (THere are tours that do it this way) you'll stop at the hoover Dam.
    The Dam is impressive, but if you missed it you wouldnt cry. The GC is a whole other story. If you do it that way there are some nice things to see too.
    You can look all those trips up before you even go over.

Helicopter around the strip is great too. Not too expensive.

But, as I said, if you want to save money, you'll find yourself occupied just going up and down the strip for a few days and just looking at stuff. Having a wander into the casinos and then off to the next outdoor show. Its amazing really. And way bigger than you think. I sat looking at the water in the Bellagio for about 3 hours one night. Loved it.

All of the hotels have loads to offer.

You could try not waiting til the last day to gamble and just gamble what you have left. You'll save that way :)

And if you want to go to shows, go to the matinees. Same show. Half the price. And in Vegas you wont know if its day or night half the time anyway. And the strip is alive at night, so thats time better spent outside.

http://budgettravel.about.com/cs/planningyourtrip/p/cheap_vegas.htm

http://media.newstalk.ie/podcast_xml.php?id=8614

Thanks alot. going by your suggestions i will def consider the GC. It sounds like its unmisable. The helicopter sounds like the best option.how far is it out from the strip?? going on 13th Jan, planet hollywood. Hope it is what people say it is. I was getting my last batch of dollars in credit union and i was stuck with the foriegn exchange guy for about 3min, as he too couldnt tell me enough about the place.

Would the GC be the highlight of vegas???

or is there any other MUST DO'S whilst over there???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

1 billion dollars

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭Dormy

argosy2006 wrote: »
    1 billion dollars

Per night

Dormy wrote: »
    Went to Vegas about 4 or 5 years ago on a stag. Fantastic place.
    We did the helicopter to grand canyon thing. It was a great day out but expensive. Around $250 pp I think back then. My advice about the GC trip would be to wait until the end of your stay (we went on the last day) and see how the funds are holding up. Some lads took a car to hoover dam another day and went shopping in an outlet centre. 2 birds etc. For thrills try the top of the stratosphere hotel. Too scary for me but highly recommended by those that went up. As others have said you can spend more or less your life savings or practically nothing depending on how you approach it. Be careful with the gambling. Try to avoid late nite gambling as your decision making might not be the best!! The tables totally decided how much people spent on our trip. I got lucky and only ended up spending $300 in total, others spent $2k.(4 nights). One more thing is that most things in Vegas are more expensive on weekends. Enjoy

Dormy your a saint. Thanks. AND i didnt even know about the weekend price situation. Yes i know about the spending crack. Im not going to go daft with gambeling. i just want to buy a few clothes, go to the places that everyone talks about and spend ing on food, drink, some minor gambeling etc...

The best story i heard about vegas in terms of gambeling_ my work mates stag was there 7years ago. 8 of them went for 5 nights. each night they put $50 each into a kitty and put it on black every night and that was there gambeling for the night. EVery night bar one they doubled their money ($800) and that was then their drinking money etc..... for the night.

that said i wont be taking their approach;);) maybe 50 a night and leave it at that:)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,350 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

you will freeze in the grand canyon in january, i was there again end of march this year and there was ice and snow everywhere and temperatures were about 5c during the day, it was quite dangerous hiking down with the ice on paths, at least it was clear though, this is the site that welcomes some winter visitors to the canyon, so keep up to date with weather at the gc before booking any trip

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭DULLAHAN2

I am going in august with the misses going to budget 200 per day each as others have said you can get cheap food in the hotels and free drinks. I am going for six days so thats 1200 each and will bring another 400-600 between us just in case, emergency money if you will so all together we will be bringing around 3000. I dont want to too little. We will do the GC thing, prob go to a show or two.Depending on what there is to do when we get there i will go for a game of golf and the wife to the day spa. I will play a couple of sit and go's, herself will hit the slots but we wont do that everyday. There is a couple of sites on the net which give you a how to guide in getting everything either free or next to nothing. Here is one. Will you report back and give me some tips when you come back.

DULLAHAN2 wrote: »
    I am going in august with the misses going to budget 200 per day each as others have said you can get cheap food in the hotels and free drinks. I am going for six days so thats 1200 each and will bring another 400-600 between us just in case, emergency money if you will so all together we will be bringing around 3000. I dont want to too little. We will do the GC thing, prob go to a show or two.Depending on what there is to do when we get there i will go for a game of golf and the wife to the day spa. I will play a couple of sit and go's, herself will hit the slots but we wont do that everyday. There is a couple of sites on the net which give you a how to guide in getting everything either free or next to nothing. Here is one. Will you report back and give me some tips when you come back.

Make sure you book into a hotel with free or cheap entry into the spa - like $10 max.

DULLAHAN2 wrote: »

UNREAL. we have booked again for JULY 2012. amazing place!:D:D

Make sure you book into a hotel with free or cheap entry into the spa - like $10 max.

$10?!?!?!

Add another zero to the end of that. spas are a BIIIIIG no no. way overpriced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

This thread has run its course.

Any future Vegas threads can go to the North America sub-forum