Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bale

• Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭slegs

DyldeBrill wrote: »
    I take any articles like the one you've shown here with a pinch of salt.

I honestly think Bale is gonna stay with us for one more season. The reality of it is that Real just don't have the money to get Bale. They still have to pastch up things in regards to Ronaldos contract and they've also so pay us the €15m that they still owe us from the Modric deal.

The Banks are fooked, and that's who the usually turn to. I'm pretty confident taht Bale will still be a spurs player come the end of this transfer season.

This is it.

I get the impression we would be gladly taking the foolish money being spoken about but the truth is likely that they are all bluster and dont have the cash to back up the bullsh1t.

This is where the player swap stuff is coming into play as RM want to over value players in the deal to minimise the payment.

The hard part of all this will be getting Bale's head back to Spurs so we dont fcuk up the season start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭White Heart Loon

Serious change of tune in Spanish media these days
    http://as.com/diarioas/2013/08/12/english/1376300373_880422.html

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭Insp. Harry Callahan

Anyone know how far away Bale is from being fit enough to play a match?

My guess is he'll not be fit until 3rd Sept ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

Think he's sitting out against Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

Dawson talking to Sky sports about Bale:

"To be fair Gareth missed quite a lot of it [pre-season] through injury so when you are injured you feel a little bit left out like I did a few years ago, but as players you concentrate on what you are doing on a daily basis and that's all you can do," Dawson told Sky Sports News.

"Gareth is a top player, the season he had last year he is going to attract speculation."

"The manager has said he's staying, the chairman has also, so for us as players we can't concentrate on that we just keep our heads down and as team work hard."

The latest Marca bull****
    The Bale soap-opera appears to be heading towards its final episode. The conversation that Daniel Levy has scheduled for today with the Welshman could prove decisive.

With 48 hours left until the opening day of the Premier League campaign, Levy does not want to prolong what is an uncomfortable situation for all parties involved. The Spurs chairman has already accepted that Bale is leaving for Real Madrid and that the player's decision is final.

Real Madrid is also keen to strike a deal sooner rather than later. Even though Florentino tabled a big-money £85m (€97.8m) offer two weeks ago, to be paid over four years, Levy still insists on a one-off payment.

In an attempt to break the deadlock, Real is prepared to increase its offer by £15m, taking it to a record £100m, more that €117m. The transfer fee would be paid in six annual instalments, which would not only allow Real to pay off the transfer over the six years of the contract it will offer Bale, but would also be an advantage for budgetary and accountancy reasons.

The ball is now in Levy's court. The Tottenham chairman must decide whether he prefers to boast a record transfer fee which would be difficult to beat in the future or whether he prefers to receive the transfer fee as a one-off cash payment.
    http://www.marca.com/2013/08/15/en/football/real_madrid/1376562834.html

I like the last bit, hasn't the ball always been in Levys court

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

Well marca have proven infallible so far :P didn't bale sign for Madrid one month ago :D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

If Bale goes I hope Levy makes him put in a transfer request. We don't want to be losing out on £10m.

As for Marca, lol, nothing else to say really.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

THFC wrote: »
    If Bale goes I hope Levy makes him put in a transfer request. We don't want to be losing out on £10m.

As for Marca, lol, nothing else to say really.

I agree that Bale should put in a transfer request if thats what he wants, just come out and say he wants out. Or else come out and say I am staying. I know this might seem naive as there is politics involved in a big deal as this. But he cant have it both ways imo. At least Suarez had the balls to come out and say he wants out. It won't make much difference what he does as it has to come to a head soon. I am not saying Suarez is a better characters, just on this transfer subject he appears more open. I still hope when this is all done Bale stays and is happy to play for us.

Seems AVB is throwing it back to Levy to make a statement. It's practically an admission that he's playing up and doesn't want to play for us any more.
    “His mental state nobody knows because the player doesn’t speak,” said Villas-Boas. “The only thing that we are able to see or you [media] are able to see is the player arriving in and out of the training ground.
    “We are aware that Real Madrid are interested in the player. It doesn’t mean that we are willing to negotiate on him. Our idea is to count on Gareth.
    “Speculation has arisen with the player because of the quality that he has and the season he had last season, the amazing moments of individual brilliance. Ideally, we’d like the player to continue belonging to Tottenham.
    "We can speak to the players regarding their ambitions and we can explain to them that at certain stages players are under contract and have the responsibility towards their clubs and we as club, or the chairman as the person who controls the club, has to defend their own interest.
    “You take [Lionel] Messi and [Cristiano] Ronaldo out of Barcelona and Real Madrid, you see how many points they have.”

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/tottenham-hotspur/10246379/Andre-Villas-Boas-rules-Gareth-Bale-out-of-Spurs-first-three-games-as-stand-off-increases-over-forwards-future.html

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

Lads, what do you think ? If he's coming in every day, not talking to the manager or players and is basically isolating himself from the group, do we just fcuking sell him, or play hard ball, keep him, and hope he snaps out of it in a few weeks time. It's a difficult one. Obviously I'd love him to stay, but if he's acting the ballicks (not sure if he is or not), maybe he should go !!

• Registered Users Posts: 525 ✭✭✭heartofwhite

Hatch99 wrote: »
    Lads, what do you think ? If he's coming in every day, not talking to the manager or players and is basically isolating himself from the group, do we just fcuking sell him, or play hard ball, keep him, and hope he snaps out of it in a few weeks time. It's a difficult one. Obviously I'd love him to stay, but if he's acting the ballicks (not sure if he is or not), maybe he should go !!

I would take all of the above with a pinch of salt. The fact that Gareth is not talking to his manager and team mates does not ring true. I dearly want to hold onto him but if his heart is set on leaving then making him stay is not good for anybody concerned. As the saying goes - there is no player bigger than the team and nor should there ever be.

Best of luck in Spain!

I'm not so sure that's what AVB said, you could read it two ways. Did he say Bale doesn't talk to anyone including the people at Spurs, or did he say the press doesn't know anything because he doesn't talk to them.

Other than that one sentence nothing has changed from a few days ago
    "Nobody knows Gareth's state of mind because he doesn't speak," he said. "The only thing we see is the player arriving in and out of the training ground. But it's fine. Ideally we'd like him to stay here. This is where his future is.

I'm not so sure that's what AVB said, you could read it two ways. Did he say Bale doesn't talk to anyone including the people at Spurs, or did he say the press doesn't know anything because he doesn't talk to them.

Other than that one sentence nothing has changed from a few days ago

But if it is true, and he is being a bit of a pri*k, surely we need to just get rid.

Or make him play to spite his agent. Barnett is the one pushing this agenda with RM, his contract with Bale runs out early next year so he wants the deal to go through now.

Definitely looks like we are in the last week of this based on previous similar transfers.

I am now leaning back towards the fact that he will be sold.

The ITK around the Roma players looks legit and we would ONLY be buying them if Bale was going.

We are now in Levy time where he will squeeze every last euro and term out of the deal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭DubPerryman

I don't know him personally, so I can only judge him on the character I see in interviews and on the pitch. In my mind, him not handing in a transfer request is honourable. He realises that he his contracted to THFC even if RM are interested. He won't go public because he doesn't want to wash his dirty clothes in public.

He comes across as the type of lad who would take advice from his dad, rather than his agent. I can only assume that the strengthening we've seen over the last few weeks was a part of the conversations that Bale and his dad had with the club about the ambition and future of the club.

I think the media hype is coming from his agent, agents have so many different interests that the media hype will benefit them in many different ways.

Or make him play to spite his agent. Barnett is the one pushing this agenda with RM, his contract with Bale runs out early next year so he wants the deal to go through now.

You can't make him play, that won't help the team. If he doesn't want to play for us, get rid.
    I don't know him personally, so I can only judge him on the character I see in interviews and on the pitch. In my mind, him not handing in a transfer request is honourable. He realises that he his contracted to THFC even if RM are interested. He won't go public because he doesn't want to wash his dirty clothes in public.

He comes across as the type of lad who would take advice from his dad, rather than his agent. I can only assume that the strengthening we've seen over the last few weeks was a part of the conversations that Bale and his dad had with the club about the ambition and future of the club.

I think the media hype is coming from his agent, agents have so many different interests that the media hype will benefit them in many different ways.

In the ideal world, I'd agree, but let's be honest with ourselves, he wants to go to Madrid, and whether his agent is pushing it our not doesn't matter, the player himself wants to leave. Talking to his Dad is fine and your right, they seem like a decent family etc.. but that all goes out the window. The biggest club in the world want him. He could win European Cups etc.. he wants to go. Yes we can play hardball and say no, but is it worth it. Everyone is banging on about how important this season is with other teams going through transition etc..but do we really want our best player to stay even if he wished to god that he was playing elsewhere ?

There comes a point where you take the money. That is not a small club mentality or a selling club mentality.

They all do it Man U (Ronaldo), Liverpool (Torres), Arsenal (Van Persie) - even if its your best player and you dont want him to go at some point you accept he is going and get the most money.

I think Levy is playing a blinder here if we are selling.

Bale has been as dignified as you can be in an awkward situation like this. I think he will leave on much better terms with the fans than Modric did.

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Left Back on the Bench

hopefully theres a clause put in the contract where we get 1st refusal on him if he doesn't settle.

In the ideal world, I'd agree, but let's be honest with ourselves, he wants to go to Madrid, and whether his agent is pushing it our not doesn't matter, the player himself wants to leave. Talking to his Dad is fine and your right, they seem like a decent family etc.. but that all goes out the window. The biggest club in the world want him. He could win European Cups etc.. he wants to go. Yes we can play hardball and say no, but is it worth it. Everyone is banging on about how important this season is with other teams going through transition etc..but do we really want our best player to stay even if he wished to god that he was playing elsewhere ?

This whole thing screams to me of a player who is unsure what he wants to do. I think that if the window closes and he is still with us then he will be able to put his head down and play as well as he did last season.

He doesn't come across as a sulker.

I can honestly picture him on the Wembley pitch, as the Spurs squad are doing the victory lap after the match and GB is talking to Sky with a medal around his neck saying "...and to think I might have missed this". My premonitions rarely don't come true! :cool:

This whole thing screams to me of a player who is unsure what he wants to do. I think that if the window closes and he is still with us then he will be able to put his head down and play as well as he did last season.

He doesn't come across as a sulker.

I can honestly picture him on the Wembley pitch, as the Spurs squad are doing the victory lap after the match and GB is talking to Sky with a medal around his neck saying "...and to think I might have missed this". My premonitions rarely don't come true! :cool:

you positivity is beautiful :D but on a serious note, I think he does know what he wants, and that's to go play with the ladyboy

Just imagine how gutted I'll be if he does leave... :(

So will I, but I'm kinda prepared for it

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Lads, don't get sucked into the tabloid hyperbole. The club, the manager and (afaik) the player's stance has remained the same; Bale is not for sale.

The fees, the players exchanged, misquotes and all that nonsense.. ignore it.

Until it is confirmed by the club don't worry your pretty wee heads about it.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Lads, don't get sucked into the tabloid hyperbole. The club, the manager and (afaik) the player's stance has remained the same; Bale is not for sale.

The fees, the players exchanged, misquotes and all that nonsense.. ignore it.

Until it is confirmed by the club don't worry your pretty wee heads about it.:D

I felt like this for most of the summer but the writings on the wall. Bale wants out and if Levey gets the amount he wants(or close to it) then he is gone. I would like to be wrong on this but if I was given 1,000 euro free bet on this I would back him to go. How would ye bet if ye were given same?

This is the most ridiculous article I have seen during this whole saga.... Marca would be proud!!

:D:D

http://www.express.co.uk/sport/football/422527/PICTURE-Bale-drops-Spurs-exit-hint-with-EXPIRING-tax-disc