Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bale

• Registered Users Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SuprSi

This is the most ridiculous article I have seen during this whole saga.... Marca would be proud!!

:D:D

http://www.express.co.uk/sport/football/422527/PICTURE-Bale-drops-Spurs-exit-hint-with-EXPIRING-tax-disc

Haha!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭DyldeBrill

Right now, I'd prefer if we took the money. We've made some serious signings that will no doubt boost our chances of finally finishing top table. If we sell Bale, I expect 2-3 more players to come in.

One player that I'd be really hopeful of signing is Lamela and reports in Italy are certainly positive with a few of 30 0dd million being reported. Now don't get me wrong, I'd absolutely love Bale to stay and to be our leader in bringing us to the top, but if the lad doesn't want to stay then let him go. Another factor is, is if Real actually have the capital for Bale. None of this €100m in a load of installments, just give us the money and leave!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

This is the most ridiculous article I have seen during this whole saga.... Marca would be proud!!

:D:D

http://www.express.co.uk/sport/football/422527/PICTURE-Bale-drops-Spurs-exit-hint-with-EXPIRING-tax-disc

Brilliant

• Registered Users Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭celt262

I would hope that if Bale wants to leave he will put in a transfer request. To me it looks like he is hoping that Madrid will put in an offer that Levy will accept and he will get around 10 million for his back pocket.

He wants to go to Madrid but he doesn't want to miss out on his big lump sum. I cant' see Levy letting him away with it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

celt262 wrote: »
    I would hope that if Bale wants to leave he will put in a transfer request. To me it looks like he is hoping that Madrid will put in an offer that Levy will accept and he will get around 10 million for his back pocket.

He wants to go to Madrid but he doesn't want to miss out on his big lump sum. I cant' see Levy letting him away with it though.

I'v seen this mentioned before but I don't understand this 10 million thingy. So Bale loses 10m if he requests a transfer?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,162 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Apparently he gets 10% of the deal, though i'm not sure where that came from. I've never heard anyone mention it before this summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭slegs

Apparently a common clause in contracts, player gets a larger piece of the transfer between 2 clubs but if he initiates or requests the transfer he doesn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,208 ✭✭✭shamrock55

Whats the craic with bale lads is he gonna go or what? Would yee prefer if he stayed or would a big wad of cash help you get over him if so would yee have time to get a few more in?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    I felt like this for most of the summer but the writings on the wall. Bale wants out and if Levey gets the amount he wants(or close to it) then he is gone.

how is the writing on the wall? because a few newspapers wrote about it? does that make it gospel?
    I would like to be wrong on this but if I was given 1,000 euro free bet on this I would back him to go. How would ye bet if ye were given same?

I don't know whether he will be sold or not because I don't have a crystal ball or any working knowledge of how much Bale could be worth in merchandising, how much money Real Madrid have etc etc... I'm guessing you don't either and neither do a few "journalists" from Marca or some other rag.

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭ruiseal

jobeenfitz wrote: »
    I felt like this for most of the summer but the writings on the wall. Bale wants out and if Levey gets the amount he wants(or close to it) then he is gone. I would like to be wrong on this but if I was given 1,000 euro free bet on this I would back him to go. How would ye bet if ye were given same?[/QUOTE]

I'd put €500 on him going and €500 on him staying.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

how is the writing on the wall? because a few newspapers wrote about it? does that make it gospel?

I don't know whether he will be sold or not because I don't have a crystal ball or any working knowledge of how much Bale could be worth in merchandising, how much money Real Madrid have etc etc... I'm guessing you don't either and neither do a few "journalists" from Marca or some other rag.

I understand what your saying but do you really believe he has had two different injuries in the last month? How hard is it to scotch these rumours if he is staying. (I know he doesn't have to, but why not) I am not saying I Know if he is going or not but I do believe he wants out. So you are right I don't know but just like everybody else we are giving an opinion.

Its part of being a fan. Its a couple of days before the first game of the season. Maybe we all become a little more insane at this time of the year.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,713 ✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

I'm really surprised that some people still question the injury ... its 100% percent legit in my eyes, if it wasn't he would have been played in some shape or form by the national team and he wasn't cleared by their medical team. End of story. If he is going to RM what has he got to gain by going there unfit and lacking match practice.

The pressure of been the worlds most expensive players is bad enough without trying to do it when your unfit when you could have done something about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭slegs

You are a gas man

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

We really don't know whether or not Bale wants to go. He has made no secret of his desire to go abroad some day but he could be wary of premature flopulation at RM.

Levy may have said "you can leave if they meet our evaluation" and has him well warned not to comment and risk weakening any potential bargaining position.

Or perhaps he is waiting to see us strengthen the squad until he commits / signs a new contract. Perhaps he cares what the general public thinks of him / has a great respect for the spurs fans and doesn't want to leave a bitter taste in anyone's mouth even though he knows he is leaving.

He might genuinely want to stay but Levy wants to sell. He doesn't want to comment saying "im going nowhere" only for Levy to sell at 11.59pm on deadline day. There is alot which isn't in his control and that could be the reason for the silence.

The possibilities are endless. And maybe I was to quick to jump there, this thread is for speculation and rumours but to me the rags are just running more and more bull**** everyday. I mean the figures involved in the transfer are changing daily.

>>>>>Also, in agreement with 2nd Row Donkey, I don't question that he is carrying injuries.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭DubPerryman

Rumour* has it Gareth Bale had the name of his daughter changed, by deed poll, to Carla. Apparently he wants to make an early impression on his future boss at Real Madrid.

*I'm selling this one to Marca

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭White Heart Loon

Latest ITK
    Big offer in for Bale. £85m, four instalments plus coentreo

he also added

Under Armour been told Bale is leaving.

http://www.spurscommunity.co.uk/index.php?threads/update-274-mighty-re-bale-payment.100685/

I'd take that tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

Too many itk's for my liking, I'll believe it when I see it..

Latest ITK from The Goat
    This is from a different source but one we believe is decent.

"Fee agreed with Real Madrid a few weeks ago. Deal has been done. Agreement with Real that its will not be announced until we have concluded our purchases.

So long and thanks for the memories Gareth. It's been a pleasure."

That's several very contradictory messages we've had tonight so pick which one you'd like to believe.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

Ha! So all this stuff in the paper yet an actual deal being done has been kept totally secret...yeah...ok

More like some twat in desperate need of attention putting our spending and no comment together to create a source.

Ok, more ITKs saying we were never officially offered, and nothing is happening.

I'm giving up on this now until something official happens, going getting stuck into thinking about the new season

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Cianan2

I find it hard to believe anything about "reliable sources"... Considering not one of them are even able to spell Fabio Coentrao's name correctly!

Said I was giving up on this, but hopefully this is an official backoff. RMs official Twitter account tweeted this

Real Madrid C.F. ✔ @realmadriden

.@MrAncelotti: "I'm very happy with the squad. We don't need to bring any more players." #halamadrid

Carlo Ancelotti not expecting Gareth Bale signing

The La Liga giants have been relentlessly linked with the 24-year-old Wales international, who is thought to be keen on moving to Spain.

Madrid are thought to have tabled a world-record £100m bid for the PFA player of the year but Spurs have made clear their desire to keep hold of their talisman.

And Real Madrid boss Ancelotti admits that there is nothing new to report regarding his club’s pursuit of Bale.

“At the moment I don’t think he will be coming to Madrid,” said Ancelotti.

“There is nothing new to report at the moment. Bale is a very touchy subject with Spurs.”

The former Chelsea boss added: “I’m very happy with the squad I have, but the best players will always make a team better.

“I’m very happy with the team, there is a good balance because there is a lot of experience and other young players.

“We have a good atmosphere and when the team is united, there are no problems. The team is united and I hope it will stay that way for the whole season.”

http://metro.co.uk/2013/08/17/carlo-ancelotti-real-madrid-not-expecting-to-sign-gareth-bale-from-spurs-this-summer-3927698/

WTF? Why are we being painted as the bad guys in all this?

From another forum
    You'll all love this....

http://deportes.elpais.com/deportes/2013/08/16/actualidad/1376680554_046614.html

For those who don't understand Spanish, it basically says that Madrid are getting annoyed with Bale because he is not protesting enough, and that is keeping his price high. They were angry that he didn't play for Wales, as this would have been a clear way of showing that he wanted to leave.

Supposedly they called his agent on Thursday to say that they keep making Bale look good in the Spanish media, and now they need him to do his bit. They wanted him not to train with the team, and then to give a press conference saying that he wants to go. Apparently Bale wants to go, but wants to act professionally. According to the article Levy asked him not to go to Monaco or play for Wales, as he wants to make sure that the price stays high. Spurs are apparently saying that Bale is being completely professional with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,713 ✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

Still on the intro montage on MOTD anyway. Wonder if the Daily Express will run a story based on that.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Very slowly have you noticed people are backing on their wording on this. Ever so slight differnt sayings can change the whole tone of an article.

I genuinely believed that it was all going to come out that Levy had done a WWE level of theatrics and made a deal only to string the media along till all the replacements were in the bag. Now however I think that he is now going to stay for whatever reason (but my guess is RM wouldn't pony up the cash).

Of course I won't fully believe it till this window is closed but as of tonight I will be surprised he leaves as opposed to surprised if he stays

Guillem Ballague on Sky Sports 4 just said that he expects Bale will stay with Spurs for one more year, Bale won't go on strike and Madrid won't pay 120m Euro

Hmmm,

Hotspur Related ‏@HotspurRelated 1m
    Agência are supposedly fairly reliable and normally ahead of most others on transfers via @Zizouology. #COYS

Hotspur Related ‏@HotspurRelated 4m
    Agência claim Real Madrid reached an agreement with Spurs to sign Gareth Bale for €120M on August 2. #THFC

Hotspur Related ‏@HotspurRelated 1m
    Agência also claim on August 2 we agreed a fee of €20 Millions for the signing of Fabio Coentrão - via @Zizouology. #THFC

Hope it's true, I'll have Willian, Lamela and Erikson, Thanks

AVB interview on SSN

AVB confirms not in for osvaldo, interest in Willian but won't comment out of respect (ie we want him) and bale has fitness test today to see if he can be in the squad on Thursday