Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bale

• Registered Users Posts: 4,746 ✭✭✭irishmover

Ormus wrote: »
    It's all very well having £50m to spend, it sounds great to buy 2 £25m players and have a great team.

What people keep forgetting is that players who are worth £25m usually want higher wages that Spurs can afford and they wanna go to a club that is gonna be in the Champions League every season.

The simple fact is that if we sell Bale we won't be able to attract quality players to the club. We'll have to gamble on new talent and hope that they mature into top players like Bale. The cycle begins again. Maybe we'll sign the new Bale, or maybe he'll turn out to be the new Bentley.

The best we can hope is that we make the Champions League, convince him to stay for one more season, then get a shed load of cash for him and get lucky with replacing him.

If Levy is offered £70m he'll take it.

Never said buy two players for £50m. I said invest it back into the squad. Could buy a bunch of Michu's if Levy & AVB are smart enough. Isco has a £17.5m buyout. Moutinho would cost £20m. Leaves some left over. Sure it would be gamble but Bale is hardly consistent enough to turn down £70m.

We wouldn't have the money to attract these players in the summer, even with Champions League so nevermind using Bale as a bargaining tool to entice players to join.

Also Modric was key to our success in the league past few seasons. We sold him for £33m in the summer. Haven't replaced him but invested in other areas and are currently 3rd in the league.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Who would you buy that would replace Bale?

I just said we'd have the money to buy Moutinho and Isco. With money left over for a new Striker.

There's a few players that would be fine. He's not untouchable or irreplaceable. We might be looking at getting a player from Madrid too? I know Man Utd are in a different league to us but Ronaldo did everything for them. They sold him for £80m and are still a force.

Wouldn't mind seeing Spurs get Luke Shaw. May well be he next Bale.

To be quite honest though. I don't see anyone offering £70m so don't see him leaving for atleast this summer anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Devo from Dublin

He definitely wont go in the summer.

I wouldn't say definitely, more very unlikely.

If it did happen I'd love if it was early on and not drawn out like Berbatov & Modric deals.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,910 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Well he kinda is irreplaceable at the moment as he’s the one smashing the back of the net week in week out, nobody else seems to know where to find it?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

When buying and selling players there is a massive element of luck. For £70m we could buy 35 Michu's... or we could get 1 Andy Carroll and almost 2 Stewart Downings.

What we do know is that Bale is one of the best players in the league and plays for Spurs. He frightens the bejesus out of every defender in the league and his new roaming role is allowing him to affect every game he plays in at the minute.

He is that little bit of something special that grabs the game by the scruff of the neck and that for me is priceless. The next step as a club is to challenge for the league. To make this step you need a Ronaldo, an RVP, a Drogba... so why would we sell ours? We are not broke.

When buying and selling players there is a massive element of luck. For £70m we could buy 35 Michu's... or we could get 1 Andy Carroll and almost 2 Stewart Downings.

What we do know is that Bale is one of the best players in the league and plays for Spurs. He frightens the bejesus out of every defender in the league and his new roaming role is allowing him to affect every game he plays in at the minute.

He is that little bit of something special that grabs the game by the scruff of the neck and that for me is priceless. The next step as a club is to challenge for the league. To make this step you need a Ronaldo, an RVP, a Drogba... so why would we sell ours? We are not broke.

I think you're missing my point. £70m for one player is stupid considering the amount of strengthening we could do to the team with that money. We could sign an Andy Carroll or...... Bale could stay with us, get a bad tackle, crack his knee open and be out of action for 18 months destroying his career. It's all guess work. But what I do know for sure is that Bale won't be worth more than £70m ever. If Levy got an offer like that, knowing the man he is, he'd sell him.

I'd like to think that Spurs fans would have a little more faith in AVB and his staff to find young & cheap alternatives who could overall make us much more of a team capable of challenging for the league. Show faith in the club being able to invest that money correctly.

We aren't broke but arent even close to being rich. We're miles apart from City, Chelsea and Man Utd.

Bale isn't going to win us titles on his own. We haven't got that much money to allow us to sign players to compliment Bale without sacrificing something or someone. It's a difficult game to play. I might be putting it out that I want rid of Bale, I don't, but in reality if an offer is as big as £70m the club would be foolish to not accept.

Not to mention, if a club like Madrid comes in the young lads head would be left spinning.

Sugarlumps wrote: »
    Well he kinda is irreplaceable at the moment as he’s the one smashing the back of the net week in week out, nobody else seems to know where to find it?

One player does not a team make.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,746 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

I'm an early thirties spurs fan and I can't remember in my lifetime a Spurs player being on a run of form like this.

I know there's people saying he's too young to be considered a Spurs great and he could easily feck off and leave us in the summer (please don't!).

But when is the last time a Spurs player has hit this kind of form, anyone care to chip in?

You're old enough to remember Ginola in 98 and 99, probably not as devastating as Bale at the moment but he played some amazing football that year, just seemed like magic would happen every time he got the ball.

So much of Spurs play is going through Bale at the moment that if he were to leave it would force others to step up, they're well capable of it, with the type of money that he would go for it might make sense, who said we could pick up 2 Andy Carroll's;).

Well that's more what I'm getting at. We have won games without Bale. AVB just plays to Spurs' strength's. Utilizes Bale when he plays but has alternatives when he doesn't. No player is bigger than a club. We could get some excellent talent in for that money. It's a shame it would be without Bale though if it happened.

Also sorry Antisocialiser. Reading back I do see you have understood my points and replied with reasonable points yourself. My head just isn't right at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,913 ✭✭✭Ormus

The only reason we should sell Bale is if we can't keep him.

Even for £70m (which we won't get), we wouldn't improve as a club without him. We can't sign players of anywhere near his calibre unless we happen to get lucky.

But even more than that, selling your best player gives out a clear message that we don't have ambition. That does irreparable damage to our fanbase, de-motivates our players and shows other clubs that they can pick on us.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

what player capable of replacing him (based on his current form) is going to want to come to spurs? we aren't a prestigious club if we're being honest with ourselves. such a player would have their pick of places to go and they simply wouldn't choose us. we would have to take a gamble on who we'd get in to replace him. a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush

Too much Bale love for my liking.

Can't be bothered going round in circles anymore. If Levy sees £70m offer for Bale he'll be sold. Levy knows his value won't be much more than that ever, FFP makes that much obvious. The club is an investment and a Business to Levy and his business partner Joe Lewis. The return from Bale would not be worth more than £70m and then his weekly wages on top of that if he was still at the club.

£70m + wages for two seasons would mean Bale would need to single handedly get us CL football two years in a row. He is not worth that much or capable of doing that on his own.

Bale as I said is not that much of a bargaining tool for potential new signings. Position in the table, CL football and money is. With Bale we may only be able to offer one of those. CL football. Which we could still be able to offer without him.

irishmover wrote: »
    Too much Bale love for my liking.

Can't be bothered going round in circles anymore. If Levy sees £70m offer for Bale he'll be sold. Levy knows his value won't be much more than that ever, FFP makes that much obvious. The club is an investment and a Business to Levy and his business partner Joe Lewis. The return from Bale would not be worth more than £70m and then his weekly wages on top of that if he was still at the club.

£70m + wages for two seasons would mean Bale would need to single handedly get us CL football two years in a row. He is not worth that much or capable of doing that on his own.

Bale as I said is not that much of a bargaining tool for potential new signings. Position in the table, CL football and money is. With Bale we may only be able to offer one of those. CL football. Which we could still be able to offer without him.

I agree with you he probably would be sold for £70m but firstly I think most people here were talking about whether he should be sold, and secondly this talk of £70m is unrealistic. United were only able to get £80m for Ronaldo. That was United and he was Ronaldo. One of the world's biggest clubs, and one of the world's most glamorous players, far more proven both internationally and at club level than Bale, and a far more prolific goalscorer for a far longer time.

Even if Bale kept up this scoring streak for a whole season and took it into the Champions League, I don't think Spurs would get £70m cos Madrid or Barca would just tap him up, get him to make a transfer request, make it so his "head isn't right" and leave us to either keep a player who doesn't wanna play for us until his contract runs out and then snap him up for nothing, or else to sell him for £40m while we can. Sound familiar?

I agree with you he probably would be sold for £70m but firstly I think most people here were talking about whether he should be sold, and secondly this talk of £70m is unrealistic. United were only able to get £80m for Ronaldo. That was United and he was Ronaldo. One of the world's biggest clubs, and one of the world's most glamorous players, far more proven both internationally and at club level than Bale, and a far more prolific goalscorer for a far longer time.

Even if Bale kept up this scoring streak for a whole season and took it into the Champions League, I don't think Spurs would get £70m cos Madrid or Barca would just tap him up, get him to make a transfer request, make it so his "head isn't right" and leave us to either keep a player who doesn't wanna play for us until his contract runs out and then snap him up for nothing, or else to sell him for £40m while we can. Sound familiar?

This was all brought up because I mentioned there were rumours of £70m bid prepared by Madrid. People were saying he shouldn't be sold for any price. Our chairman is Daniel Levy. He likes money.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

If we got offered £70mil, well, who wouldn't bit their hand off...that's insane money. I don't want him to leave, and if he didn't want to leave despite a £70mil offer I'd be delighted that he stayed.

Lots of ifs there though :D

This was all brought up because I mentioned there were rumours of £70m bid prepared by Madrid. People were saying he shouldn't be sold for any price. Our chairman is Daniel Levy. He likes money.

Leeds chairman was Ken Bates. He didn't like money.

If we got offered £70mil, well, who wouldn't bit their hand off...that's insane money. I don't want him to leave, and if he didn't want to leave despite a £70mil offer I'd be delighted that he stayed.

Lots of ifs there though :D

Yup that's what I'm saying. If an offer of £70m was made he'd be gone. I doubt he'd stay if Levy accepted an offer like that and he was offered almost double the wages the club is paying him.

Just the way people talk him up its as if we'll be a nobody club without him. Almost like people are agreeing with all the rival fans calling us a one man team.

No player is bigger than the club. The only good thing is that Bale himself knows this and seems grounded.

Leeds chairman was Ken Bates. He didn't like money.

I agree. One side of the spectrum is Daniel Levy. The other is Ken Bates.

242921.jpg

When you consider the squads of both teams that's a pretty one sided affair.

Even being only 5 assists is great when you consider there's Pav and Crouch he assisted to. Compared to Rooney and Berbatov for Ronaldo!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Leinstersqspur

As the old saying goes, 'sh1t or get off the pot'

I think we all agree that Levy never wanted to invest in Harry.
    Bale comes across as a very grounded young man and I think he would love the opportunity to win the league and play in, or win the CL with Spurs (repaying the club that showed faith in him).
    However, if AVB gets CL football this season and Levy fails to back him I think Bale will say he's off because the club aren't meeting his expectations.

That said, if Real Madrid offered £70m for Bale I'd bite their hand off, but only if the money is going back into the squad.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

Lads, will yis give it over with all the transfer talk :D , lets enjoy him while we have him, lets not think that far down the line ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭positivenote

the thing with a player like bale is that hes being let down by being at a club run by someone like levy. If we had a chairman who invested in the players that the manager wants we would be challenging for the title and Bale wouldnt be leaving unless it was for the likes of Madrid where they can buy who they want... we would also have a striker and moutinho. Levy will be the reason bale goes if, and unfortunately when it happens.

This does my head in. If it wasn't for a chairman like levy the club could be dead and buried. We are not a club like Chelsea or Man City. We do not have the revenue of Man Utd. Levy has to play the hardball game otherwise we'd end up losing alot of money.

If Levy was the sort of Chairman some fans want him to be we'd be in the same position Leeds are in right now. After having a small glimpse of success.

Levy is building this club with longevity in mind not instant success. Longevity comes with sacrifices. People should take a look at a graph of the steady incline we've had over the past 10 years before hampering on about Levy's **** ups in the transfer market.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭positivenote

Levy is building this club with longevity in mind not instant success. Longevity comes with sacrifices. People should take a look at a graph of the steady incline we've had over the past 10 years before hampering on about Levy's **** ups in the transfer market.

sorry but i cant agree with this longevity thing. Levy is a businessman and the face of ENIC as far as THFC is concerned. His only obligation is the balance sheet and going back to Lewis with a profitable one. His attitude in the Transfer market has stifled our progression rather than caused it imho, we should be challenging for the league and possibly could have been if he had bought a striker that the manager wanted in Jan or the Mouintinho (sic) in the summer. Yes he gets good money in for our best players but the majority of this is aimed at a profitable balance sheet. And dont think for one second that ENIC intentions for the club are anything other than getting a profit with a sale if the opportunity arouse.

Longevity as a successful business. I think you missed what I meant. Which is what this club is building up to be. His attitude in the transfer market is right. Not spending much and getting results increasing his profit margins. I'm not talking about league position at all. Basically what you said is what I said. Apart from we should be challenging for the league.we shouldn't be. In terms of financials we shouldn't be in the top 4. We're punching above our weight lately. Thanks to Levy. But some fans are never happy.

He's managed to not spend much and see the club sit in a higher league position profiting more. Seems like a pretty sound business model to me.

They're obviously building this club to be sold at a profit. New training centre, new stadium, squad developed into a high end team. They're not too far off having Spurs at the highest level to profit off. My worry is that these guys are running the club correctly, will the guys that eventually follow do the same..

Went a bit off topic yesterday...

Back on topic

@Sammoore33: @BarclaysFooty #BPL do you think Spurs will hold on to Bale #COYS

@BarclaysFooty: @Sammoore33 I think he's happy at the moment, he's playing best football of his career and he loves #THFC #NorthLondonDerby - Ledley

Question asked to Ledley on twitter by a fan... Managed to get him to answer my question! Feel privileged....