Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

AC Milan v Real Madrid RTE2 19:45

• 03-11-2010 7:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭

KO 19:45
    San Siro
    RTE2 / SS4

Since it's on RTE, most neutrals might be lazy enough to just watch this. I'll probably stream the Arsenal game too.

Last time out Real clinched a 2-0 victory over AC Milan at the Santiago Bernabeu and victory in Italy would see them confirm their place in the knockout phase.

Team news

Milan go into the game without experienced full-back Massimo Oddo, who was ruled out for up to six weeks last week after damaging a thigh in training.

Milan's problems in defence also worsened at the weekend when Daniele Bonera was forced off with a shin problem, but he may still be fit to make the game - although Gianluca Zambrotta is fit to return.

Brazilian pair Ronaldinho and Thiago Silva are also fit to return after missing recent games.

Mourinho has not made any changes to his squad with Kaka, Ezequiel Garay and Fernando Gago all long-term absentees.

Lassana Diarra is fit again following a groin problem but he has not made the trip to Italy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

I'm looking forward to this one I see a 1-1 or 2-2 and lots of good football :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

I'm looking forward to this one I see a 1-1 or 2-2 and lots of good football :)

Yeah, looking forward to another good night's football. Nice to see RTE show the good game, thanks Rafa.:pac:

Can see a few goals in it, and Ronaldo/Ronaldinho in one game is enough entertainment even if there isn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

If Madrid get an early goal they could really open up on Milan, but id be suspicious of them tactically with Mourinho in charge, away in Europe. He has a good cushion though so should just allow them to play as they would like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,527 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

You'd have to go for a Madrid victory.
    Milan aren't at the same level at the moment although they do have the players to punish any sloppiness from Madrid, it would take an effort that I'd be surprised to see them produce.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,434 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Liam Brady's lack of knowledge is embarrassing.

God that's a seriously young Real team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Nemanja91

Hopefully this will be a cracker!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭CR 7

.......and di maria, young argentinian player with a good left foot, and there's higuain, he's an argentinian too.

Deeply insightful from dunphy there.:pac:

.......and di maria, young argentinian player with a good left foot, and there's higuain, he's an argentinian too.

Deeply insightful from dunphy there.:pac:

What can I Say!

The man's a Genius!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,353 ✭✭✭MR NINE

Liam Brady just talked so much ****e in such a short space of time there. Milan spent loads of money last summer, Ronaldinho wasn't a free transfer and Ibrahimovic wasn't a swap deal.

Thought Liam was going to break down in tears there when he was talking about being compared with Ozil!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I was hoping they would have researched for this one. Come on Madrid.

Haha after the break we will have highlights of all of last nights matches que Utd clip reel :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Research? This is RTE, this lot have been free-wheeling downhill for years but they get away with it cos of the fighting and Eamos sweeping statements of nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

Still fair play to RTE for changing normal tactics and actually showing us the best game of the night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If Manchester Utd were playing tonight they'd be showing that game its fair to suggest. Arsenal and Chelsea are not really big hitters here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Liam O wrote: »
    Liam Brady's lack of knowledge is embarrassing.

From the man behind the Arsenal youth system I find his ignorance on certain things baffling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

sorry to break it to you girls but they speak for the average joe not all you experts :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Just waiting for the usual Utd bashing from Dunphy after these highlights now.

mike65 wrote: »
    If Manchester Utd were playing tonight they'd be showing that game its fair to suggest. Arsenal and Chelsea are not really big hitters here.

In reality only Liverpool and Utd are big hitters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

mike65 wrote: »
    Research? This is RTE, this lot have been free-wheeling downhill for years but they get away with it cos of the fighting and Eamos sweeping statements of nonsense.

True. I was hoping they wouldn't phone it in for this one since it involved non Premiership teams but they even struggled remembering the names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,434 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

ah, just stop talking Liam!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

Warper wrote: »
    Still fair play to RTE for changing normal tactics and actually showing us the best game of the night.

Delighted, lets have the game of the week and give the formalities a miss!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

JPA wrote: »
    From the man behind the Arsenal youth system I find his ignorance on certain things baffling.

Slightly overstating things, I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭Manc-Red

Alright lads, looking forward to this one..

Hoping AC Milan win this to put a bit of pressure on Madrid for the first time this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,021 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I want Jose Mourinho back in the Premier League. I'd love to see him win everything this year and then walk out of Madrid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

nummnutts wrote: »
    Just waiting for the usual Utd bashing from Dunphy after these highlights now.

Not much he can say after a 3-0 win. Fair enough if they had of drawn we would of got some rant alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Can't wait for this match, hopefully Real go to town on Milan with Ronaldo getting a hat-trick.

Is it still possible to watch RTE online?

EDIT: found it http://www.rte.ie/live/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭syngindub

prounouncing Real ..Reel Madrid. does my head in.

Howard Webb reffing....

San Siro full is an amazing sight isn't it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

syngindub wrote: »
    prounouncing Real ..Reel Madrid. does my head in.

True, then again I'd love to hear a Spanish commentator attempting to pronounce Kilmacud Crokes or Loughmore-Castleiney for example. It'll never happen of course but it would be great fun :D

Manc-Red wrote: »
    Howard Webb reffing....

San Siro full is an amazing sight isn't it
    It really is
    san-siro-7.jpg

Early signs that Madrid are in the San Siro to destroy Milan...

No answers from Milan as of yet

Ooooo Pepe, close. Real pretty dominant with possession so far, first chance though

Ooooo could've been a fantastic goal. AC Milan very direct; get ball, creat chance

Lovely attempt that

Di Maria!!!:eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

syngindub wrote: »
    Not much he can say after a 3-0 win. Fair enough if they had of drawn we would of got some rant alright

You'd usually get some remark about the quality of the opposition etc etc.

Not much out of the lads tonight though. Refreshing.

Ah! Di Maria you eejit. Right idea, just off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Di Maria should've scored there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Ozil is absolute quality to watch.

Come on Ronaldo! Asking to play the man in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

that was onside for me

Ah! Di Maria you eejit. Right idea, just off!

Never the near post from there imo

Manc-Red wrote: »
    Never the near post from there imo

Definite goal if on target.

Lol Pepe there bundling Pato over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Heroics from Pirlo!

Cleared off the line twice. :eek::eek:

Heroic defending Pirlo!

Madrid are turning the screw....

Can't believe their not ahead at this stage

Real Madrid are quality. They'd wanna start taking some of these chances.