Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Government to hold SW bye-election this month

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭Ford4000

Those are my views and im sticking to them were all entitled to that at least
    some bits i know of hand and to be fair there are more

funding for fintown railway (created employment)
    glenties health centre (to start and will create employment)
    dolmen eco tourism centre (huge benefit to local area, continued employment)
    ardara sewage scheme (employment and knock on effect for local business)
    major improvements in local road network ardara-Killybegs etc (safer and better)
    grant aiding to secure jobs in Gallaghers bakery (hugely important)
    dungloe hospital extension (better patient care badly needed)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,383 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

this could throw a cat amongst the pigeons

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/hotelier-behind-alcoholfree-bar-throws-hat-in-poll-ring-2415816.html

i could see people voting for a truly unattached independant (if she is, i have no idea)
    SHE opened Ireland's first booze-free hotel, but within weeks admitted defeat and was selling beer to her guests.

Now the woman behind the unlikely venture has decided to throw her name in the ring for the Donegal South West by-election.

Ann Sweeney (53) decided to run as an independent candidate after seeing the performance of the four party candidates in a TV debate.

"That was the straw that broke the camel's back for me. I had to turn it off," said the hotelier and mother of three.

"To my mind none of them knew what they were talking about. I feel it is my responsibility to run to make a difference."

Ms Sweeney hit the headlines two years ago when she opened Ireland's first alcohol-free bar in the Carrig Rua Hotel in Dunfanaghy after gardai seized the alcohol as a result of a complication over the transfer of the alcohol licence.

However, it lasted just 10 weeks before she reverted to selling alcohol again.

Since then, she has nurtured a dream of setting up Ireland's first 'New Island Party', which she describes as a collective of "free thinkers and decision makers for the common good".

• Registered Users Posts: 46,098 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Anyone know the closing date for nominations?

muffler wrote: »
    Anyone know the closing date for nominations?

Legislation states that nominations to contest the elections must be recieved by 12 noon on the 7th day after the writ is issued excluding Sunday – so the closing date as a result of today’s developments will be Friday week at 12 noon.

http://www.highlandradio.com/2010/11/04/donegal-south-west-by-election-thursday-25th-november-the-candidates/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Carrickman

Ford4000 wrote: »

major improvements in local road network ardara-Killybegs etc (safer and better)

God they are great aren't they? Is that not their job to fund projects like this with OUR tax money? The Fintown Railway it's a fine project but it wont take you to Dublin or Belfast and it is laughed at when it is suggested about connecting the rail network to Letterkenny, we have no motorway in this county, rampant unemployment forcing emigration I see it all around me down here, the fishing industry was destroyed under FF's watch, what about all the businesses they ignored when they looked for funds?

Cancer services taken from Donegal my poor late mother had to leave Letterkenny at 5.30am for a scan in Dublin and was back at 6.30pm this happened in August she died 6 weeks ago and you talk about about the great job FF have done? That scan should have been available in Letterkenny no it's Dublin or Galway as we don't deserve cancer serves up here and Coughlin would not fight for us, and this is going on for family every day that what annoys me about this country.

Oh yeah better not forget lanes tarred and street lights for loyal followers!

By the way I now think O'Domhnaill will get in as the view above by Ford4000 will be shared by a lot of people unfortunately, as it's win at all cost or means sure it's always been that way my grandfather said to my late mother way back in the 50's they are right and there is be nobody better than them even now as our country sinks the band will play on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Essexboy

Well this is my view, i think it would be in our interests to have a FF man in, why? Because like it or not they are in government and whatever hope we have of getting anything done locally the buck rests with them, opossition members will be back benched and at the end of the day will be able to do little more than whine ! Thats sadly the reality regardless of who is in power!
    I have to admit in the electoral area FF have actuallly a very impressive portfolio of projects under them which will stand to them in election as people when voting in local elections like to see things done locally and boxes have been ticked!!
    Yes this is a global recession and whatever party is in would be just as hated regardless
    As regards students and the thursday issue, to open polling over weekends will cost the taxpayer maybe 3 times as much to run, it affects every one running equally and all had a chance to have there say on it

The gripe i have with SF's policy is this, they plan to make NO cuts, this means borrowing over a 6yr plan rather than 4, longer time to get the bill payed, more interest due, 2yrs more hardship,

They are in government and whatever hope we have of getting anything done locally the buck rests with them,

Brian, you already said this on the Vincent Brown Show!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Firblog wrote: »
    Believe that FF have set up headquarters on the diamond in Donegal Town...In a unit that used to be occupied by Classic Casuals.. Who went bust 2 weeks ago... Due to the recession... caused by FF government... no shame whatsoever...

And Fine Gael over in the old Subway unit.....who pulled out...caused by the recession, etc......

It will soon be a Diamond of political party retail units.

bohsboy wrote: »
    And Fine Gael over in the old Subway unit.....who pulled out...caused by the recession, etc......

It will soon be a Diamond of political party retail units.

bet they arent paying rent though (i hope they are but somehow .........i doubt it )

• Registered Users Posts: 878 ✭✭✭cosanostra

I think Brian o domhnaill comes across as a puppet and is very false he must have went to the same elocution school as pat the cope they sound that similar all he has is a mouth full of buzz words he will not do anything different for donegal he will just tow the ff party line and we need change for donegal. i think there is a rift between Brians camp and the pat the cope camp and the temptation of the secret of the ballot box could cost brian alot of votes his own party might hang him out to dry then bring pat the cope back in to reclaim the seat in the general election!

Frank mc Brearty i think has the best interests of the people of donegal at heart but i do'nt think the dail is the place for him i do'nt think he would last long in the labour party i think he serves his constituents well in the council and i hope he continues but i think the dail would be the wrong platform for him.

Barry o Neill i must admit i dont know an awfull lot about but he seems to be a well educated decent fella and from what i gather he has worked hard as a councillor but came across a little scared of the role on the vb show.

Undoubtedly Pearse Doherty is the most confident candidate i think he has a strong party support behind him all across the constituency he seems to talk the most sense and has delivered for donegal i think Pearse would protect the people of donegal well and fight hard to get us our fair share which i think we have been lacking badly.However the party behind him might cost him a few votes.

I am a swing voter and hold no party eligences but i feel Pearse Doherty is our strongest candidate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Essexboy

Live Register for Donegal
    October 2009 19,814
    October 2010 20,994
    increase 1,184

Who gets the credit for that, if not FF?

• Registered Users Posts: 154 ✭✭shaggykev

i think you'll find those figures are nicely massaged by emigration

Met the McBrearty camper van in Killybegs this afternoon another bobo it was playing "You'll never walk alone" and when you are not a fan of that team...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

Carrickman wrote: »
    Met the McBrearty camper van in Killybegs this afternoon another bobo it was playing "You'll never walk alone" and when you are not a fan of that team...

They did a bit about him on Radio 1 this evening as he was going about Lifford. It was embarrassing - "You'll Never Walk Alone" and "Ordinary Man" blaring out in the background and he kept repeating "you know what I stand for" to the people on the doorsteps, without ever expanding on what this was!

Sounds like he's putting a lot of his own money into this campaign too.

deemark wrote: »
    They did a bit about him on Radio 1 this evening as he was going about Lifford. It was embarrassing - "You'll Never Walk Alone" and "Ordinary Man" blaring out in the background and he kept repeating "you know what I stand for" to the people on the doorsteps, without ever expanding on what this was!

Sounds like he's putting a lot of his own money into this campaign too.

anyone figured out what he does stand for yet ? :confused:

He is going to represent us in the Bonds market.

I know Frank personally and I suppose the best way I can describe him is that his heart is in the right place and he is sincere and genuine in what he does. Its just the way in which he goes about things is a problem and I do believe that national politics will be a bridge too far for him.

brian cowen just been in donegal town, coughlan looks well pleased with herself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭fontanalis

I'm sure there were a few people there the greet him and bow at his feet, you know the mentally ill and the corrupt.

Well this is my view, i think it would be in our interests to have a FF man in, why? Because like it or not they are in government and whatever hope we have of getting anything done locally the buck rests with them, opossition members will be back benched and at the end of the day will be able to do little more than whine ! Thats sadly the reality regardless of who is in power!
    I have to admit in the electoral area FF have actuallly a very impressive portfolio of projects under them which will stand to them in election as people when voting in local elections like to see things done locally and boxes have been ticked!!
    Yes this is a global recession and whatever party is in would be just as hated regardless
    As regards students and the thursday issue, to open polling over weekends will cost the taxpayer maybe 3 times as much to run, it affects every one running equally and all had a chance to have there say on it

The gripe i have with SF's policy is this, they plan to make NO cuts, this means borrowing over a 6yr plan rather than 4, longer time to get the bill payed, more interest due, 2yrs more hardship,

<SNIP>

Mod edit: There's a politics forum for national issues. Please post there.

fontanalis wrote: »
    I'm sure there were a few people there the greet him and bow at his feet, you know the mentally ill and the corrupt.
    Back to troll again are we?

Just a reminder to everyone that this thread is about the by-election for the Donegal SW constituency and the effects that it will have on the south west or Donegal in general.

If you wish to post about national issues or about party politics in general then please do so in the Politics forum.

Back to troll again are we?

No. I think I'm justified in thinking that the only people to gain from FF winig are people who are connected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

I know Frank personally and I suppose the best way I can describe him is that his heart is in the right place and he is sincere and genuine in what he does. Its just the way in which he goes about things is a problem and I do believe that national politics will be a bridge too far for him.

and euronational economics - from what I saw on vincent brown - all bark no sense chases his tail - did labour proud

would hate to post my thoughts on mr potato head and foul mouth mary

• Registered Users Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

i would just like to point out the fallacy in what Ford4000 is saying

This makes absolutly no sense whatsoever for the people of donegal. Its actually quite offensive to the intelligence to the good people of Donegal. If the FF candidate is returned he will just melt away into the back benches of FF and vote accordingly. Donegal SW will be treated no differently to any , sorry to say it, other back water out of the way constituency.

What ye want to elect is an independent who will then hold the balance of power in dail votes.

Another arse on the FF seats will just be another vote for the gov. and the impending cuts.

Read this again and I suppose we could extrapolate this same argument to mr potato head, the foul mothed mary and brian the traitor.... no need to excuse frank mcbrearty as useless but heart in the right place etc etc this is the sort of argument that got us into the trouble we are in today

skelliser wrote: »
    What ye want to elect is an independent who will then hold the balance of power in dail votes.

almost feel like agreeing but don't feel the independents are of quality enough to help the country throught the anglo ff mess we are now in and much as I hate to say it I would vote the marxist socialists but have ultimate faith in Pearse Doherty

sligopark wrote: »
    mr potato head, the foul mothed mary and brian the traitor....
    If you wish to refer to particular people then please state their names rather than using constant descriptives. (mod hat on)

no need to excuse frank mcbrearty as useless
    Where did I say that?

this is the sort of argument that got us into the trouble we are in today
    I'm lost on that comment. Can you explain?

According to the video clip on the TV3 news Thomas Pringle is a Senator :eek:

Its a caption that appears where he is being interviewed about 1:15 into the clip.

Where did I say that?

Read this again and I suppose we could extrapolate this same argument to mr potato head, the foul mothed mary and brian the traitor.... no need to excuse frank mcbrearty as useless but heart in the right place etc etc this is the sort of argument that got us into the trouble we are in today
    I'm lost on that comment. Can you explain?

People excusing our present lot of useless gombeen working for their buddies politicians that we have today - this is how we got to were we are where we have politicians in power because of family connections and back clapping over competency and nowhere is this more clearly seen as in an incompetent representative known internationally for her foul mouth known locally for delivering nothing but despite this is now the tanaiste, originally in politics because of family connections.

sligopark, there is nowhere in my previous comment where I said Frank McBrearty was useless. I clearly stated that that the guy is genuine and means well but doesn't necessarily go about things in the normal way. I also expressed my opinion that I didnt think he was up to the challenge of national politics because, in my opinion, he doesn't yet have the experience.

In fact I have the highest regard for Frank at Local Government level but being a Councilor for a little over 2 years leaves him in the wake of Doherty & O'Donnell for example who are much more experienced politicians in both local and central government politics.

Now, I will ask you again to show me where I said he was useless.

I think we will have to agree to disagree as to what I took up upon reading this and what you meant when you stated the same but better extrapolated and explained by this ...
    In fact I have the highest regard for Frank at Local Government level but being a Councilor for a little over 2 years leaves him in the wake of Doherty & O'Donnell for example who are much more experienced politicians in both local and central government politics.

However he is the first person I have met or listened to who could not explain the interest rate for the irish bond sales (sovereign money lending) - it really made him look stupid and given economic reasoning would be a requisite for political life right now - he put himself out of contention during that vincent browne show by buying a bond for 8 euro.

Pearse Doherty and Barry O'Neill make it a two horse race.