Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oxegen 2011 discussion *NO TICKET SALES/REQUESTS*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭Coeurdepirate

Namlub wrote: »
    I was in B23! Sure we might have had a drunken chat without even knowing, you weren't talking to someone called Claire from Cork were you? :pac:
    Also, I have just realised that this...

probably happened because me and my friends stayed at the OxBox thing an hour after it ended licking the railings because we thought they tasted like lettuce. Oh dear.

I could have been, but my memory's a bit ****ed. :rolleyes: Do you remember a David from Galway?

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭SYLT

Jan_Itor wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me what song starts playing at 11.50 of this recording of SHM?

http://www.rte.ie/radio/oxegen/audio.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n_kZdNpf4lY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭Namlub

I could have been, but my memory's a bit ****ed. :rolleyes: Do you remember a David from Galway?
    I generally didn't bother asking anyone their names or where they were from, just went straight into a conversation :P

• Registered Users Posts: 26 Jan_Itor

I was in B23 did ye hear those fellas from the North chanting "Walk of shame" at every girl who walked by their tents?

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Niall09

Jan_Itor wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me what song starts playing at 11.50 of this recording of SHM?

http://www.rte.ie/radio/oxegen/audio.html

Tommy Trash - The End

Unreal song! One of the best in the set :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,577 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Any sign of the Gemini Project, the fellah in the suit of lights who has been cropping up at festivals around Ireland.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭QueenOfLeon

Third year in a row going and had a great time :D The weather was such a big help, it rained the last 2 years and it was so handy this year to be able to sit down and chill near the main stage if you weren't all that bothered about what was on and just wanted to listen.

The best were Foo Fighters, Example, Weezer, Two Door Cinema Club and Coldplay. Thought Coldplay wouldn't be great to close the whole thing but really enjoyed it!

Also saw My Chemical Romance (was looking forward to them but didn't think they were too spectacular), Rubberbandits (thought they did a great show!), BEP (what the hell was up with the DJ'ing in the middle, didn't think they were that great), The Script, Arctic Monkeys, Bruno Mars, Bressie, Manic Street Preachers, some of Beyonce, Ryan Sheridan and Kesha (was a bit strange).

Would have liked to have seen more of The National, only saw the end where he was in the crowd, and missed Neon Trees.

Was amazed at how clean the toilets were this year compared to other years (due to separating the mens and ladies maybe? :P), usually by the Saturday they're unbearable but they were actually spotless, even on Sunday.

We had no major incidents, came back the last night to find our tent slightly slashed, about a 5 inch rip on the outer part of the tent which hadn't fully gone through. Annoying as we were beside a pathway so its as if someone was just walking along randomly hitting out. Thankfully it doesn't seem like the tent had been opened (we camped right beside one of those security towers) but I carried all of our valuables around with me all the time.

There were definitely less people there this year, usually the tents would be close to the shops at the bottom of the red camp but it seemed like there was at least 1, if not 2 rows missing. Even around our tent we assumed people would squash into the small space between ours and the next one but there was no need.

Tl;dr, We had a great, fairly incident free weekend once again, lineup could have been better imo but enjoyed it anyway :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,919 ✭✭✭Grindylow

Was amazed at how clean the toilets were this year compared to other years (due to separating the mens and ladies maybe? :P), usually by the Saturday they're unbearable but they were actually spotless, even on Sunday.

The men's toilets were far from spotless. :P You couldn't even flush them come Saturday, one had a foot long shít in it that many people went in to take pictures of. :pac: One also had a milk carton in it.. and the water was dark blue.. and the toilet seats were.. unsitable :P

Noel2k9 wrote: »
    The men's toilets were far from spotless. :P You couldn't even flush them come Saturday, one had a foot long shít in it that many people went in to take pictures of. :pac: One also had a milk carton in it.. and the water was dark blue.. and the toilet seats were.. unsitable :P

Thats how they used to be everywhere. The flushes never worked, the seats were always covered in...something...and usually because of the weather as well the whole cabin would be filthy. At least ye have urinals! :P

There also used to be queues of 10 or so people for EACH portaloo in the arena in the evenings. Either the numbers were down or the number of toilets were up!

Yeah the toilets weren't as bad as I was expecting at all. We found ones behind the Electric Ballroom that had mirrors, toilet roll and hand sanitiser - they were amazing.

I'm watching bits of Swedish House Mafia's set on youtube (sad life) and I have a craving for Wok n Roll noodles. I miss Oxegen :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Men's toilets?

amacachi wrote: »
    Men's toilets?

They separated the toilets this year. They were really strict about it too, there were 2 stewards in front of the enclosure for the ladies portaloos that wouldn't let any men in.

I miss the Chinese Noodle Buffet in the arena.. the one where you could mix and match for like 6 euro <3 Curry chips, noodles, chicken and fried rice.. such a good combination <3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

They separated the toilets this year. They were really strict about it too, there were 2 stewards in front of the enclosure for the ladies portaloos that wouldn't let any men in.

Ah right. That would somewhat spoil my tactic of spotting a group of girls who were friends queueing for 2/3 toilets because I knew they'd be clean if they went to them in the first place and that they wouldn't wreck them when their mates were next in line. :pac:

I miss the Chinese Noodle Buffet in the arena.. the one where you could mix and match for like 6 euro <3 Curry chips, noodles, chicken and fried rice.. such a good combination <3
    That sounds amazing :O I had other noodles from the Noodle Hut place and they were disgusting, it was all those frozen vegetable packets in like a pepper sauce. Minging.

Ooh we got that the first day! But I'm not a fan of noodles or rice so I asked for very little noodles and no rice in the hopes that I'd get piles of chips...but they had none!! :( They were doing brekkie rolls in the morning as well, they only had sausages left when I arrived (EW) but they did look good besides!

That sounds amazing :O I had other noodles from the Noodle Hut place and they were disgusting, it was all those frozen vegetable packets in like a pepper sauce. Minging.

It was totes amazing, I wish I could've bought more of it.. Even the chicken curry was serious.. And the chips <3
    Ooh we got that the first day! But I'm not a fan of noodles or rice so I asked for very little noodles and no rice in the hopes that I'd get piles of chips...but they had none!! :( They were doing brekkie rolls in the morning as well, they only had sausages left when I arrived (EW) but they did look good besides!

Mm that sounds like a different one. :) This one was in the arena right near the ice cream van. :D It was just literally a buffet of Chinese food and you just picked and chose what you wanted to be threw into a box.. it was so amazing! I only discovered it Sunday so I missed out on 3 more days of meals from there.. :'(

It was totes amazing, I wish I could've bought more of it.. Even the chicken curry was serious.. And the chips <3

Mm that sounds like a different one. :) This one was in the arena right near the ice cream van. :D It was just literally a buffet of Chinese food and you just picked and chose what you wanted to be threw into a box.. it was so amazing! I only discovered it Sunday so I missed out on 3 more days of meals from there.. :'(

We got it in the red campsite, but we saw the same type of van in both campsites and in the arena. The one where noodles something was 5.99 and the buffet was 6.99? They didn't advertise the brekkie rolls on the stall, just on a big flashing sign in the campsite. The campsite one just didn't have chips at the time :(

Ah I didn't go to the campsite one, went to the one in the main arena. :D

Also for anyone who didn't see this epic sign during Beyonce. :pac:

267566_1816298659511_1601448416_31448087_6105478_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,425 ✭✭✭Fidelis

Ended up camped next to a group of absolute scumbags but one of them got slashed in the face so they all moved on Saturday night, other than that none of us had any trouble and it's hardly the cesspit that some people make it out to be

Other than that? Other than somebody right next to you having their face slashed?
    We had no major incidents, came back the last night to find our tent slightly slashed
    f0ggy92 wrote: »
    Had a fairly amazing weekend... the little hand trailer i made to carry all my gear got stolen 3 times.

How can people be so nonchalant about all the crime and violence that happened at Oxegen :confused: It's like an accepted part of the festival. It's abnormal!

• Registered Users Posts: 843 ✭✭✭Yellowledbetter

Thought Id leave it a few days before I gave my thoughts on what was overall a great weekend for myself and my brother. Having been to every Witnness/Oxegen since 2000 except 2002 and 2010 I actually think this year was in the top 3 overall.

We did see some hassle and acts of Gobsh1tery over the weekend,for example on Friday night when 2 lads approached asking had we seen thier mates from the tent next to us who they said were from Dublin;we said we hadnt and that the people next to us were actually from Kerry(we got to know our neighbours as soon as we arrived) so the lads then went and looked in the tent anyway and I just informed them it wasnt their tent and to look elsewhere so they moved on to a tent just up from us and had a good look in that and did this to 2 or 3 other tents.Now this annoyed me and rather than challange them ourselves I found 2 Guards and explained what we had seen and they nabbed the 2 lads and searched and kicked them out,the Guards then came back over to us and thanked us.
    A few hours later some bloke just stopped and started randomly waffling to us which was fair enough and harmless at first untill he some how got it into his head that i had his phone and became a royal pain in the ar$e,a little nod to a security guard eventually got him escorted out too and also followed by thanks from the security guy.

Other than that we encountered no real hassle and nothing tampered with or robbed and met some really smashing people over the weekend who we just sat,chatted with, and drank with.

My musical highlights were Leftfied,OCS,The Manics,Slash(just a brilliantly rocking show),the Foo's,Coldplay(not a huge fan but they were great) and a few others too who just really impressed me.

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭i124Q

Was it just me or were the Thai Chicken Noodles from Noodle Hut the BEST NOODLES IN THE WORLD!!!

At least my whole group thought so!!

AMAZING!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Thought Id leave it a few days before I gave my thoughts on what was overall a great weekend for myself and my brother. Having been to every Witnness/Oxegen since 2000 except 2002 and 2010 I actually think this year was in the top 3 overall.

We did see some hassle and acts of Gobsh1tery over the weekend,for example on Friday night when 2 lads approached asking had we seen thier mates from the tent next to us who they said were from Dublin;we said we hadnt and that the people next to us were actually from Kerry(we got to know our neighbours as soon as we arrived) so the lads then went and looked in the tent anyway and I just informed them it wasnt their tent and to look elsewhere so they moved on to a tent just up from us and had a good look in that and did this to 2 or 3 other tents.Now this annoyed me and rather than challange them ourselves I found 2 Guards and explained what we had seen and they nabbed the 2 lads and searched and kicked them out,the Guards then came back over to us and thanked us.
    A few hours later some bloke just stopped and started randomly waffling to us which was fair enough and harmless at first untill he some how got it into his head that i had his phone and became a royal pain in the ar$e,a little nod to a security guard eventually got him escorted out too and also followed by thanks from the security guy.

Other than that we encountered no real hassle and nothing tampered with or robbed and met some really smashing people over the weekend who we just sat,chatted with, and drank with.

My musical highlights were Leftfied,OCS,The Manics,Slash(just a brilliantly rocking show),the Foo's,Coldplay(not a huge fan but they were great) and a few others too who just really impressed me.

Well donw on that, most people won't do it for fear of being seen as a rat, but in reality it's the little rats and vermin that are being removed before they can cause harm.

5th year there working, and I have to say it's getting better for me every year. I was only 25 feet from the guy who got slashed in B23 down by the Oxegen sign, I was getting food for the staff I was working with and was just walking back, cops were fast responding I have to say, and the poor security lad who had to deal with it and call it in did a really good job of describing the situation, even with a shaky voice he got the message across and the kid who was slashed is still alive.

Had an event staff pass again this year! :D Was great to just walk around anywhere and blend to see how it all comes together, though for the only band I tried to go side stage for I was moved on! :( Probbaly because of my friend who was hammered. Still, Access All Area's is fcuking great! :D I camped monday to monday and then went out in dublin monday night, now i feel like death, it reaffiirms why I love oxegen! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 843 ✭✭✭Yellowledbetter

Well we had chairs and a few beers nicked on us a few years back so I know what it's like to get back to your tent and find it's not how you left it so We just couldn't sit and watch those scumbags riffeling through other people's stuff.

i124Q wrote: »
    Was it just me or were the Thai Chicken Noodles from Noodle Hut the BEST NOODLES IN THE WORLD!!!

At least my whole group thought so!!

AMAZING!!
    Those were the ones I was talking about a few posts up, I gave mine away. Wok n Roll ftw

• Registered Users Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭chordtype

Not sure if it's been mentioned before but it looks like some footage is gonna be shown on Sky Arts next month.
    Oxegen 6 Aug at 10pm, Sky Arts 1 HD
    Headliners: Foo Fighters, The Script and Coldplay

http://www.skyarts.co.uk/music/article/summer-festivals-2011/

• Registered Users Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

chordtype wrote: »
    Not sure if it's been mentioned before but it looks like some footage is gonna be shown on Sky Arts next month.

I shall be looking forward to this.

I'm actually still wishing I was at Coldplay now:p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

. Weezer especially, that Teenage Dirtbag cover was great!

And about 50% of the people there didn't even notice it wasn't their own song :P

• Registered Users Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

[/QUOTE]How can people be so nonchalant about all the crime and violence that happened at Oxegen :confused: It's like an accepted part of the festival. It's abnormal![/QUOTE]

For the size of the crowd there it was fairly calm I've seen much worse on nights out and after the stabbings things got much better although it's a shame that it took something like that to make it so.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

chordtype wrote: »

I was actually thinking that Sky Arts would be a great since they have been showing Download/Isle of Wight/Sonisphere footage and its been good since they were 2 or 3 hours long.