Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Student Demonstrations/violence only the beginning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,204 ✭✭✭FoxT

There is a very good chance that there will be more protests, and that the protests will become more violent. They will, of course, achieve nothing.

The Stickies will attempt to stir the pot as will the likes of eirigi, and you'll have the usual scummers joining in for the crack.

In the next 12 months we'll have looting, assaults, riots, and a few cops will be dragged before the courts for overenthusiastic baton usage.

Next topic , please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/gardai-train-in-secret-for-riots-2182078.html

It's the first thing that came up when I googled "Gardaí receive riot training". :rolleyes:

Public Order Unit in riot training shocker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

And I'm a feminist.:)

you say that as if its something to be proud off :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

JFlah wrote: »
    Exactly my situation after the Budget i reckon have a nice hoodie scarf and gloves ready !!!! see how our law enforcement like tackling grown adult men

If you want to look like a grown man, ditch the hoodie and scarves. :rolleyes:
    I hear that the Gardai have been in riot training since last March in preparation for this eventuality.

Yep, they never had training or faced a riot before that.
    BickNarry wrote: »
    Boo feckin hoo.
    Typical middle class attitude. ''violence doesn't solve anything''. It solves some things. And the gov. will only listen to economics. So when police riot gear has to be replaced, the streets have to be cleaned up and a few shops (hopefully only McDonalds etc.) get smashed up, they''ll think "We're paying for people to hate us''. Direct action always works on people who only think economically.

YAY, let's smash up a few shops, take away a few more jobs, put a few employers out of business, cost the taxpayer even more etc.
    hotfeet wrote: »
    We have been living in a police state for a number of years now, but because of the likes of the Provos, J Gilligan and their ilk we were duped into allowing the state to moe or less do what they like with our civil liberties and freedoms, its a grave misconception to even remotely believe that big brother is not watching you. I worked for the Justice Dept', I know what they are up to.

What are they up to? Go on, share some of your insider knowledge from the 'Justice Dept'?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Maybe if we stormed Leinster House,dragged out this shiitpot government and executed them one by one it would prevent further bloodhshed in the long run?*

Hopefully the guards will see sense and stand to one side.

*Only joking of course..

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,613 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Degsy wrote: »
    Maybe if we stormed Leinster House,dragged out this shiitpot government and executed them one by one it would prevent further bloodhshed in the long run?*

Hopefully the guards will see sense and stand to one side.

*Only joking of course..

Most of the guards are hired goons with no opinion of their own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

easyeason3 wrote: »
    I hope not but being honest it probably will happen.
    I just don't see how getting violent will prove a point but then everyones patience is wearing very thin & I can understand how a person can lose control.

The next twelve months will be very interesting but I don't think it will be in a good way.

Are you serious?
    The French cabinet try to fcuk with minimum wage and what does the country do? They burn the gaff to the ground, they kidnap their bosses and dowse them in petrol and sit them next to a lit candle, they block up every port and tunnel...and what does the government do? They back the fcuk down AND they apologise.

Are you serious?
    The French cabinet try to fcuk with minimum wage and what does the country do? They burn the gaff to the ground, they kidnap their bosses and dowse them in petrol and sit them next to a lit candle, they block up every port and tunnel...and what does the government do? They back the fcuk down AND they apologise.

YAY mob rule, intimidation and terrorism... great way to run a country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The students isn't your enemy, your government is.

The gardai are there simply to keep order. I hate what the government has done to our nation but we can't simply take out our frustrations on innocent employees of the state. They're just doing their jobs, like the rest of us.

If all that anger was directed towards something more productive---like perhaps a huge online/TV/radio petition for a general election, things would happen.

But no, we're Irish. So we bitch, moan, argue amongst ourselves, swing fists at gardai, and generally feel hard-done-by.

So it goes.

The only thing that a government understands and fears is violence. PERIOD!
    Petitions and demonstrations and charity concerts achieve SFA. They just give the dickheads in power a bit of time to dream up some sop of a sweetener to hand out to the pestilence strickened multitudes and then continue on with their agenda.

• Registered Users Posts: 221 ✭✭Kitty-kitty

Is anyone else of the view that the scenes in Dublin yesterday were only the beginning of serious protests and violence on our streets ???

Nah. It was students. The only reason things got mad was because

a) Some were eejits.
    b) They were drunk. Not a generalisation, sadly, saw huge flocks heading into the londises and centras around Stephen's Green buying vodka. Not even Dunnes own brand!

Unfortunatly I think that this may well be just the tip of the iceberg and that worries me because violence doesn't solve anything. Look at one of the thousands of wars throughout history.

I understand people are frustrated and angry but we need to pull together not tear eachother apart.

I don't believe the government can be solely held responsible for the recession. What about the bankers, the developers and just about every Irish citizen who spent well beyond their means during the boom?y.

Theres no point in pretending we don't all have a part to pla

I hope we don't end with our version of the Troubles down here but if things keep going as they are I really worry it'll happen and it'll be a dark day when it does.

Stop being such a milk-sop Audrey. Stock up on water, canned goods and bandages. Then come join the revolution. As for who's going to pay for the damage? Who cares? We're all broke anyway....let U2 pay for it. Those cnuts have been begging us to give money to starving kids for years and they don't pay a cent in taxes to pay the salaries of the police who are the last line of defence between us and frog marching the politicians to the gallows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JFlah

wyndhurst wrote: »
    Chicken s..t idiots like you hiding behind scarf and hoody won't help the situation one bit. I hope some big thick mucker Guard gives you a good hiding. :mad:
    Our 'law enforcement' are public servants & pay taxes too....I am sure they are not overjoyed by the state of the nation either.
    ummmm neither a chicken s**t or an idiot thank you , who said anything about hiding it might be COLD. Also yes our Guards are public servants so why not serve the public not beat on them , yes i know i know some of the "students" hijacked the march but look at some of the videos posted by people , the thick mucker guards loved it , and were indiscriminatlly lashing out in more than a few cases sitting there insulting people will help even less !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

Stop being such a milk-sop Audrey. Stock up on water, canned goods and bandages. Then come join the revolution. As for who's going to pay for the damage? Who cares? We're all broke anyway....let U2 pay for it. Those cnuts have been begging us to give money to starving kids for years and they don't pay a cent in taxes to pay the salaries of the police who are the last line of defence between us and frog marching the politicians to the gallows.

Yes.

When the flames of the glorious revolution have died out and it's time to rebuild, our revolutionaries shall lift Ireland from it's knee's.... By asking U2 for money.

Can't wait.

the only thing a goverment fears is losing power

you can riot and destroy and kill all you want they couldnt care less if they are still in power. the only way to punish this goverment is to vote them out and keep them out for generations to come

• Registered Users Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭The Waltzing Consumer

:D Sure. Ha. Nothing to do with losing power. I hear FF nearly collapse at any sign of football hooligans, they shake in their boots.

Seems to be a lot of people in this thread living the revolutionary "wet dream" :P

prinz wrote: »
    YAY mob rule, intimidation and terrorism... great way to run a country.

As opposed to corruption,racketeering and economic treason,yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

PeakOutput wrote: »
    the only thing a goverment fears is losing power

you can riot and destroy and kill all you want they couldnt care less if they are still in power. the only way to punish this goverment is to vote them out and keep them out for generations to come

Vote them out and vote who in? They're all the same, parliamentary democracy keeps the elite in power. It's clear there's only one solution and that's revolution.

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    Vote them out and vote who in? They're all the same, parliamentary democracy keeps the elite in power. It's clear there's only one solution and that's revolution.

Like the Real IRA? You gonna go down that path?

the rabble that get voted into our goverment due to our electoral system(jackie healy ray) can hardly be described as the 'elite'

i agree our electoral system needs to be changed

fine gael are in favour of changing it iirc

saying they are all the same is a cop out. do something about it

a revolution is never going to happen, the majority of this country are still relatively very well off and they know it

Eh, right so, wtf are you on about? I'm a revolutionary solicialist. Not a terrorist. Those lads believe a small band of guerillas can force a revolution. I believe that only a mass movement of the people can. Completely different thing but indicative of the sheer ignorance of most people towards the far left.

As opposed to corruption,racketeering and economic treason,yes.

That and those responsible can be properly dealt in the proper way. Not by doing a Reservoir Dogs on someone to get your way. Sure why not kidnap a few T.D.'s maybe kill a couple to show you're serious and demand the post of Taoiseach.. is that the new way we do things?

Eh, right so, wtf are you on about? I'm a revolutionary solicialist. Not a terrorist. Those lads believe a small band of guerillas can force a revolution. I believe that only a mass movement of the people can. Completely different thing but indicative of the sheer ignorance of most people towards the far left.

ill try and put the fact that you accept your on the far left out of my mind for a second and just say

'I believe that only a mass movement of the people can' kinda like......a general election so

Ah will you stop being so naive. We don't believe in parliamentary democracy, it's not real democracy as there's no right of instant recall. Worker's councils ftw

Are you gonna tell the mass movement of people that? Or is the tactic hijacking other peoples protests to try get your "revolution" going? It might be a bit more successful if you tell the people first ;)

Also yes our Guards are public servants so why not serve the public not beat on them..

They were serving the public by protecting public property and the property of other citizens.
    ... the thick mucker guards loved it..

I would have enjoyed it too tbh.

Worker's councils ftw

AKA Soviets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭nermal15

Nah. It was students. The only reason things got mad was because

a) Some were eejits.
    b) They were drunk. Not a generalisation, sadly, saw huge flocks heading into the londises and centras around Stephen's Green buying vodka. Not even Dunnes own brand!

How is that not a generalisation? I wasn't drunk, nor were any of the students I was marching with.

That and those responsible can be properly dealt in the proper way?

How and by whom?

Not by doing a Reservoir Dogs on someone to get your way. Sure why not kidnap a few T.D.'s maybe kill a couple to show you're serious and demand the post of Taoiseach.. is that the new way we do things?

The old way of doing things has brought us to this pass so a new approach may be needed,yes.

Ah will you stop being so naive. We don't believe in parliamentary democracy, it's not real democracy as there's no right of instant recall. Worker's councils ftw

so you want us to have a straight up democracy were everything is voted on by the general public and 50.01% of the vote wins out?

How and by whom?

Prison sentences, assets seizures, fines etc. by the competent authorities under the direction of a decent government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 LolNoob

No it's not the beginning of anything. The violence that took place on Wednesday was the result of scumbag groups getting themselves involved such as the socialists, Sinn Fein and Eirigi. They're a tiny minority and have destroyed the message that the students were trying to send. The country does not support these people, their voter approval at election time highlights this.

The students made the mistake of hanging around while these thugs started trouble. A costly mistake but I suppose one that's understandable given the atmosphere at the time.

The Gardai did an excellent job of controlling the situation and I applaud all those involved. The actions of those assaulting the Gardai should not be seen as positive nor supported, as it was done by the exact same bunch of scumbag knackers who attacked the orange order on O'Connell Street and then took the opportunity in the moment of chaos to do an untold amount of damage to our public property, to our businesses, to the property of our citizens.

If push ever does come to shove I would hope to be on the side of the Gardai (protectors of the people) smashing the faces of the socialist and "republican" scum that appear when given the chance to cause trouble.

The only thing I hope this would be the beginning of is the nation turning its back on these groups with moronic, counter-productive agendas who, in the case of the republicans, are also supporting some of the biggest terrorists this country has ever seen.

**** them and I look forward to the next time we get to see them being rattled about by the Public Order Unit and the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭marglin

i was at the protest and the ensuing 'violence', tbh i didnt see 1 guard get assaulted the beatings were very much one way, there were eggs and things yes, but they were by and large directed at the department.

Violence solves nothing but a little bit by a large number of ppl would show the govt how angry evry1 is, not just students. Hopefully the world might notice and the govt might feel compelled to call a general. Or not, but we should at least tell them how utterly and fcuking pssd off we are.

This cant continue, the same crowd who messed up 3 goes at budgetary adjustments shouldnt get another.

Saying they're all the same is lazy, ya they're similiar cos they have the same occupation bt let sum of the other lads try their hand.

We still have a great country, let's not burn it down but a little more scuffling and just hassle at the dail would make them take notice, maybe we could have a 'random colour' revolution here a la ukraine, peaceful but staunch.

LolNoob wrote: »
    No it's not the beginning of anything. The violence that took place on Wednesday was the result of scumbag groups getting themselves involved such as the socialists, Sinn Fein and Eirigi. They're a tiny minority and have destroyed the message that the students were trying to send. The country does not support these people, their voter approval at election time highlights this.

The students made the mistake of hanging around while these thugs started trouble. A costly mistake but I suppose one that's understandable given the atmosphere at the time.

The Gardai did an excellent job of controlling the situation and I applaud all those involved. The actions of those assaulting the Gardai should not be seen as positive nor supported, as it was done by the exact same bunch of scumbag knackers who attacked the orange order on O'Connell Street and then took the opportunity in the moment of chaos to do an untold amount of damage to our public property, to our businesses, to the property of our citizens.

If push ever does come to shove I would hope to be on the side of the Gardai (protectors of the people) smashing the faces of the socialist and "republican" scum that appear when given the chance to cause trouble.

The only thing I hope this would be the beginning of is the nation turning its back on these groups with moronic, counter-productive agendas who, in the case of the republicans, are also supporting some of the biggest terrorists this country has ever seen.

**** them and I look forward to the next time we get to see them being rattled about by the Public Order Unit and the Gardai.
    What you gonna do when even the Gardai have had enough and become involved in civil unrest , the hijackings by small groups are over now next one will be violence on a scale we,ve not seen in this country before . Arise children of Ireland ..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

What you gonna do when even the Gardai have had enough and become involved in civil unrest , the hijackings by small groups are over now next one will be violence on a scale we,ve not seen in this country before . Arise children of Ireland ..........

The Gardai in question will have their employment terminated.

Arise? What is this, 1798? Get a grip of yourself will you.

What you gonna do when even the Gardai have had enough and become involved in civil unrest .......

Would you still be calling them thick muckers then?

and you are associated with what group?

tbh i didnt see 1 guard get assaulted the beatings were very much one way,

watch the videos, there were no 'beatings' and i guess because you didnt see any gardai being assaulted that means that the one with a broken nose in hospital did it to themselves?

i dont blame the students, i am a student, that breakaway group was the result of a hijacking by totally seperate groups and a few idiot students decided to follow them. the trouble was caused by the self-interested groups and the gardai responded accordingly simple as that

it is not the start of anything

im sure there will be more protests and probably more riots(probably ona similar scale to this one

there will be no mass unrest and there will be no violent uprising

Uriel. wrote: »
    The Gardai in question will have their employment terminated.

Arise? What is this, 1798? Get a grip of yourself will you.
    why our democratically elected government elected by us to work for us are clearly ignoring the fact that they are not wanted by their employers i.e. us by refusing to give the people an opportunity to remove them from power forever , what other solution is their but revolt?

Their time is about to come within the next few months.

BUT, whoever they are, and what has happened so far in this country is not comparable to the like of Saddam Hussein or Slobadon Milosevic. Have a bit of relativity will you and cop on.

Their time is about to come within the next few months.

BUT, whoever they are, and what has happened so far in this country is not comparable to the like of Saddam Hussein or Slobadon Milosevic. Have a bit of relativity will you and cop on.
    never said it was the same as Iraq or Serbia , you don,t have to be a genocidal lunatic to be a traitor ... i,m grand and copped on they,ve ruined a nation its treason and they have to go and face trial

They were voted for by us, they were voted in by a majority of Irish voters. Just because it doesn't suit you, doesn't mean it's some national conspiracy and the frauds must be ousted. If you're not happy living in a democracy, I suggest you pack up your bags and move off to a nice dictatorship, where those in power got there not by being wanted, but by violent force. I'm sure you'd be happy in Korea or many parts of Africa.

In short, you're talking absolute nonsense. Arise people of Ireland? Utter nonsense.

Also, like it or not, Fianna Fail are the best party to Govern this country at the moment, and this is coming from someone who was quite opposed to them 6 months ago.

never said it was the same as Iraq or Serbia , you don,t have to be a genocidal lunatic to be a traitor ... i,m grand and copped on they,ve ruined a nation its treason and they have to go and face trial

Yes fine, call it treason if you so wish, let them face trial,

but calling for a revolution and mass violence, beatings, destruction of property etc... is the type of reaction reserved for situations such as was experienced in the regimes of Hussein and Milosevic.

FFS, pay cuts, a decrease in quality of life, cuts in services, ecnomic difficulty etc... have hit us here, yes protest, yes remove Government, yes expect betters, but we're not living in the slums of Calcutta or something - we are not in a situation that requires the type of revolution you promote. Have some prespective on life will you.

Yes fine, call it treason if you so wish, let them face trial,

but calling for a revolution and mass violence, beatings, destruction of property etc... is the type of reaction reserved for situations such as was experienced in the regimes of Hussein and Milosevic.

FFS, pay cuts, a decrease in quality of life, cuts in services, ecnomic difficulty etc... have hit us here, yes protest, yes remove Government, yes expect betters, but we're not living in the slums of Calcutta or something - we are not in a situation that requires the type of revolution you promote. Have some prespective on life will you.
    Let who face trial? And where does the blame trail stop? I do laugh at how these moronic radicals (not you) seem to assume it automatically stops at the Government. If you're going to prosecute the Government for doing what they thought was best at the time, you may continue down the line and prosecute those who've now got mortgages on houses they just had to have and now can't afford, those who've overspent on credit cards and aren't paying them back, the bank staff who granted the loans, the bank sales staff who sold the loans, anyone who has abused the social welfare system etc.

In fact, lets fill our jails with everyone except for those strange few who didn't indulge during the celtic tiger years. Then let those few weirdos who are left figure out how to foot the bill.

Moronic. Really. The country ****ed up the country. The Government didn't **** up the country. Yet, we Irish just love to point the finger. Cripes.

FFS, pay cuts, a decrease in quality of life, cuts in services, ecnomic difficulty etc... have hit us here, yes protest, yes remove Government, yes expect betters, but we're not living in the slums of Calcutta or something

Relativity is everything...we might not actually be eating rats but some people are in dire economic difficulty and face losing the roof over thier heads..people are dying on hospital tolleys...crime is endemic in some places,junkies are everywhere..the country is on its knees and the scumbag FF cabal want to finish us off to save thier buddies who caused this mess.
    That is corruption that wouldnt be countenanced in most third world countries..there'd have been civil unrest years ago..still we put up with it.

Walk up marlboro st any day of the week and you'l think you are in the slums of calcutta.

The people who did this are walking away scott free and as a last spitefull conjurers trick they'll bankrupt the country and walk away with thier millions untouched.

The same people who allowed hundreds of millionaires to escape the tax net completely are now going to tax some poor bastard making 200 quid a week.

They deserve to hang..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭The After Hours Troll

Lets get serious here for a second. When is the next protest, the date exactly. Also:

1) How long do we have to drink beforehand?

2) Is there off licenses nearby?

3) Will the off licenses be open on the day?

4) Will the off licenses be dear?

5) Will drinking on the streets rule be allowed for the day?

6) Will there be weapons available nearby?

These my friends, are the most important questions to consider.

Lets get serious here for a second. When is the next protest, the date exactly. Also:

http://www.ictu.ie/press/2010/11/04/congress-calls-major-national-demonstration-for-27-november/

Knock yourself out!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭The After Hours Troll

I'm not in a trade union but I might tag along if there will be craic. Isn't there one on budget day?

Wherever there is the most potential for violence, I'll be there.

Wherever there is cheap alcoholic beverages, I'll be there.

Wherever there is misunderstood women, I'll be there.

For I am Super Troll.

LolNoob wrote: »
    They were voted for by us, they were voted in by a majority of Irish voters. Just because it doesn't suit you, doesn't mean it's some national conspiracy and the frauds must be ousted. If you're not happy living in a democracy, I suggest you pack up your bags and move off to a nice dictatorship, where those in power got there not by being wanted, but by violent force. I'm sure you'd be happy in Korea or many parts of Africa.

In short, you're talking absolute nonsense. Arise people of Ireland? Utter nonsense.

Also, like it or not, Fianna Fail are the best party to Govern this country at the moment, and this is coming from someone who was quite opposed to them 6 months ago.
    I,m not sure it is a democracy when the clear will of the people is being ignored when constituencies are left unrepresented because of a government failing to hold a by election in their desperation to hold onto power ??? i may be wrong but surely a democracy means people having elected representatives which some members of this nation at present don,t . Besides all this does the arrogance of our government at the moment not just gall you , do you seriously think they give a damn about you me our families anyone besides themselves??

Also, like it or not, Fianna Fail are the best party to Govern this country at the moment

LMFAO ............................... arrrghhhh are you SERIOUS ???

Relativity is everything...we might not actually be eating rats but some people are in dire economic difficulty and face losing the roof over thier heads..people are dying on hospital tolleys...crime is endemic in some places,junkies are everywhere..the country is on its knees and the scumbag FF cabal want to finish us off to save thier buddies who caused this mess.
    That is corruption that wouldnt be countenanced in most third world countries..there'd have been civil unrest years ago..still we put up with it.

Walk up marlboro st any day of the week and you'l think you are in the slums of calcutta.

The people who did this are walking away scott free and as a last spitefull conjurers trick they'll bankrupt the country and walk away with thier millions untouched.

The same people who allowed hundreds of millionaires to escape the tax net completely are now going to tax some poor bastard making 200 quid a week.

They deserve to hang..

Oh Jesus!

So it's all the Government's fault? The guy who is "losing the roof over his head" has no responsibility? He didn't live within his means?, save for a rainy day?, manage his finances?

Crime is being dealt with as best it can by AGS, what do you propose to do with Junkies? shoot them?

You say we put up with corruption etc for years without civil unrest? Why? Because the vast majority of people, the joe soaps, never had it so good. AND that is the problem, the nation, overall, touched the gold plated rainbow and clung onto it and thought it would last forever and our now pissed that it couldnt.

I do walk up marlboro street most days and it resembles nothing of a slum.

You speak bull**** tbh.