Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Magnet`s Long Log...

• Registered Users Posts: 472 ✭✭Magnet

40 miles done and dusted phew! It took me about 6hrs 20mins in the end...Ran down to Tuam from Athenry for the 8k race, ran it around 46mins with my brother and back to Athenry again, I had a few mins in the gym before we took off again so had 6 slices of the brack - it was devine, it was an easier than Saturday`s run so was pleased about that,
    108.2 total for the week so taper starts
    NOW>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> :D;):p:o:rolleyes::):mad::(:eek:confused::P:cool::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

:DCongrats on putting away 6 slices of brack! Oh.. and well done on the 40M and slipping a race into the middle of it too. :D

Enjoy the Taper and dont let the taper madness get the better of you.

After last weeks 40 miles I didn`t run since so I`m heading out tonight for 8miles to see how it feels, the soles of my feet were tender enough over the last week so I made a decision to rest only.
    I have the cleanest/tidiest home ever!! :cool:
    Some one asked me for a training plan for Connemara Ultra so as I was putting it together I came accross what I did for the 100miles, it was like reading someone else`s log, and I don`t think I did as much this time around for what maybe/hopefully a longer run....:o
    Ive all week to work on my mental preparation for the bads times

• Registered Users Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

MY GOd. YOu did more for the Connemara 100 that this one. Youmust have been doing awesome mileage altogehter.
    I would be interested in your take on the Conne Ultra training approach. It will be a training run for me but what do you consider the vital ingredients for a successful finish?
    DId you do your own plan for the 100 or did you modifiy something already out there?

34.5, 47, 54, 31, 57.5, 66.5, 56.5, 52.5, 35, 51.3, 52.7, 20.

These were the weekly miles coming up to the Ultra
    Mondays were hill repeats, wednesdays 2 runs and saturday and sunday were back to back long runs but not many...>>>>

8miles last night, very slow in 87mins so really scared now that I wasn`t as "light" on my feet as I was expecting, but Ive done what Ive done now and that`s that :confused:
    There`s 4 of us running and 4 crew so its a pity it wasn`t an oul drinking session - could have been epic :D
    I might get my boyfriend to post updates here, as and when the sh1t hits the fan - oh hell!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,086 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

How do you find time for a boyfriend and a Fiancé with all that mileage :p

Ha Ha Yeah I got my ring last week so now he`s been upgraded!!
    (and that`s what lunchtimes are for!!;))

This may or may not be updated but we`ll see how it goes,
    http://twitter.com/Espoo2011#
    I`m off early in the morning so thanks for the best wishes and PMs, ill try to do well and an extra lap for each of ye ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭KentuckyPete

Magnet wrote: »
    This may or may not be updated but we`ll see how it goes,
    http://twitter.com/Espoo2011#
    I`m off early in the morning so thanks for the best wishes and PMs, ill try to do well and an extra lap for each of ye ;)

Good luck to ya Magnet - awesome stuff. This is one race report I'm really looking forward to...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Best of luck Val. Dead jealous of ya, can't wait to see how you do.

No bother to you Val, best of luck and enjoy.

Now I'll have to subscribe to twitter to keep track of ya on the day!:cool:

GO Girl! Dont forget to enjoy it .:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭a123

Good luck Val, looking forward to hearing how ye all get on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

2nd lady at the moment.....

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭aigster

Fingers crossed.... I did my firsT ever run beyond the 26 ... A measly 27... And that had some walks in....... Kept telling myself the guys and gals doin 24hr won't wimp out so I crawled the last two miles for them !!!!...

24 hrs..... The more I say it the crazier it sounds.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Wow i'm not keeping up at all and forgot that your long long long run was today. Hope it all goes well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,540 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

littlebug wrote: »
    Wow i'm not keeping up at all and forgot that your long long long run was today. Hope it all goes well.

Best of luck Val. Hope it goes really well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

you can follow live hourly updated results here:
    http://www.kotikone.fi/pjh/running/misc/e24_stat_2011.htm

Magnet going well 50.3k after 5 hours. Still second Lady.
    Mick Rice looks like he has just had a very bad 5th hour (just 4km covered as opposed to 10k in the other hours). I wonder what happened?

Perhaps a strategy...run 4 walk one , or perhaps eating a bit ??? Its still VERY early in the day yet. Arent they incredible though.( chest swells with pride)

All four of them are doing well by the looks of things. Wouldn't worry about Mick, he knows exactly what he's doing...

Perhaps a strategy...run 4 walk one , or perhaps eating a bit ??? Its still VERY early in the day yet. Arent they incredible though.( chest swells with pride)

It was actually a mistake in the online results. It looks like they mixed up his and Ray O'connors distance after 5 hours and that has now been corrected. Mick has actually run 9.7 or 9.8 km every single hour and has been moving about 5 places up the rankings every hour.

Magnet also looks to be pacing her race like a metronome.

Atleast when they return they have these messages to show the level of suppourt they have.... Pacing at my average long run pace... Accept for 24hrs!!!!(strangely I'm not as upset about that as i might be..!!!)....tremendous inspiration to all runners I feel.

This seems to be a better way to view updated results.
    Both still running steady after 8 hours.
    http://twitter.com/Espoo2011

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

My legs are hurting just looking at those distances:D

All four are doing really well. What steady pacing.!! COmpetition overall looks pretty impressive. "Go Ireland " shouts at laptop results table :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sarsfieldsrock

Wow! Both through 100k in around 10 hours. Jaysus is all I can say to that.

Ruthanne on the cusp of her 100k. Ray not far behind. What a superbe performance. Rock steady Val and Mick eating up the kms.

If i even dared something like this race id love about 80-90km at half way. Phenomenal running by all.

Val isn't going to finish too far off my 150 mile prediction for her by the looks of things. :pac:

Miss Sheehan had a good night too. The boys just got lazy! ;)

This is well deserved. I cant say it is unbelievable when you see the training she put in but it is totally AWESOME. Not long now. This is more exciting than anything onthe tv. Was supposed to go out for long run ( by normal peoples standards) hours ago but I cant make myself leave the computer.

Reminder that the winning distances in the first Belfast 24 hours were :
    Thomas Maguire 203.89kms =127.43
    Eddie Gallen 191.16kms =119.48 and
    Fred Hammond 177.49kms =110.93
    Noel Hanna 160.04 = 100 Miles

This is well deserved. I cant say it is unbelievable when you see the training she put in but it is totally AWESOME. Not long now. This is more exciting than anything onthe tv. Was supposed to go out for long run ( by normal peoples standards) hours ago but I cant make myself leave the computer.

Reminder that the winning distances in the first Belfast 24 hours were :
    Thomas Maguire 203.89kms =127.43
    Eddie Gallen 191.16kms =119.48 and
    Fred Hammond 177.49kms =110.93
    Noel Hanna 160.04 = 100 Miles

They've all done incredible out there but Val has obviously stood out. The very least she deserves aswell. Must be all over by now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

What an outstanding performance! I can't get my head round those distances/ times at all.

Well done Val!

Stunning performance.... What's next ?..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

You're now an Irish Record Holder Val, best distance ever by an Irish Woman over 24 hours. Congratulations!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

well done magnet,mick ,ROC and RAS....
    aigster wrote: »
    Stunning performance.... What's next ?..
    Pints and lots of them......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

We're all in awe here, Magnet. Stunning performance!

Savage performance by all but val jesus christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,033 ✭✭✭opus

Fantastic results by all, much congratulations, those distances are unreal!

I've only met Mick once , but I think I saw val cruise around dingle.....

I text newstalk sport to give them a mention and they obliged... All credit to all four....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

Well done Val a fantastic distance to cover in 24hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

brilliant; well done.

• Registered Users Posts: 138 ✭✭Woundedknee.

Fantastic result and a fantastic performance. Well done and congrats.

Mega congrats on the record. I was followwing the run all the way and biting my fingernails. Remarkably consisitent pacing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Awesome Val, just awesome. Congrats on the record and a fantastic performance :) Was following it earlier today but didn't have a chance to post

Outstanding running, Well done. An inspiration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Im in total awe:eek:. Congrats Magnet- a true inspriation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭pgmcpq

Amazing - truely amazing stuff. Congratulations - seriously in awe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sarsfieldsrock

What more can be said that hasn't been said already?
    You should be very proud of your achievement.

Thanks all,
    I`ll write a very long report soon, btw it was the other girl running (RAS) that ran dingle 50 and won it, not bad considering she ran her very first marathon in Connemara in 2010 :eek: