Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SAD stories.. (Support thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭SuperStarHoney

I think I might have this too whether it's real or not :D. I was thinking about it during the week and also about this time last year and seem to be always a bit blue around this time of year.

This week has just been really ****e in general though, clocks back, constant rain, awful traffic, budget talk...........

I've kinda cured myself by booking a holiday, having something to look forward to definitely helps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

So can a little thing called "harden the fuck up".

As in: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1EY7lYRneHc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Damn you Outlaw Pete, I now have that ridiculous Duff man song stuck in my head!

"OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOHHHH YYEEEEAAAAAAHHHHHHHH...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Leelaa22

The Fun Police are out in force again tonight I see.

I am fun. Just tired of pepole acting like depression is somthing to ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I've just been staying in bed constantly! I come home and get right into bed, and if its my day off I stay in bed all day.

I don't like this :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭davrho

Not really support but at least us fatties can now go jogging at 5 in the evening without derision.

God bless these winter months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

DOC09UNAM wrote: »
    I got the impression he was pushing 70 from that tbh.
    alwaysadub wrote: »
    Are you a lion or something?!

Yes, you both sussed me .. I'm a 70 year old Lion :p
    alwaysadub wrote: »
    And Lyric FM? You're in your 30's-not your 50's!!!!

*Hangs head*

Mozart was just 35 when he died - classical music is the greatest music of all :mad:

No other music has the ability to alter you mood as quickly and as deeply as classical.

When I'm driving on mortorways, sure - I'll have my Hendrix on (I don't scream SCRUBBERS!! though ;).. wonders if anyone will get that :p) but when I am driving my 1971 MG Roadster Convertible around the back roads with the top down, smoking my cigar .. only one piece of music will do .. and it looks like I'm not the only one who agrees ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

OutlawPete wrote: »
    but when I am driving my 1971 MG Roadster Convertible around the back roads with the top down, smoking my cigar .. only one piece of music will do ..

Steps - Love's Got a Hold On My Heart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Yes, you both sussed me .. I'm a 70 year old Lion :p

*Hangs head*

Mozart was just 35 when he died - classical music is the greatest music of all :mad:

No other music has the ability to alter you mood as quickly and as deeply as classical.

When I'm driving on mortorways, sure - I'll have my Hendrix on (I don't scream SCRUBBERS!! though ;).. wonders if anyone will get that :p) but when I am driving my 1971 MG Roadster Convertible around the back roads with the top down, smoking my cigar .. only one piece of music will do .. and it looks like I'm not the only one who agrees ;)

I was starting to believe you till i read that part:p
    Bar the bit about you being a 70yr old lion....

Is Scrubbers something to do with Withnail and I? Only thing i can think of:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

I drove through the White Mountains in New Hampshire and yes it is worthy of that music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Dont suffer with this as much as I used to and getting older have just learned to adapt to the 4 seasons and the elements that bit better .

Never understood all that clocks going back stuff ....farmers in scotland **** ? ....blah , peoples mental health /mood swings are far more important .

• I suffer from it, no joke. Runs in the family. Some of my aunts have these light boxes they have to sit in front of for several hours a day.....how depressing is that? I always knew I was more affected by sh1te weather than most people. I know nobody likes rain, but for me, it's a total disaster. I literally can't be happy when it's overcast and raining, and I can't understand how other people can. If the weather is miserable, the day is a write off for me. I've learned to accept that over the years. The best time of my life was when I lived in Spain. No matter how many problems I had, life seemed 100 times better and brighter with the sun shining every day. I don't particularly like really hot weather, but I need the sunlight. A cold, crisp winter's day is perfect as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

It doesnt bother me, I actually like the hour change. I prefer getting up when there's still some light and as for coming home when it's dark, then it's time to light a fire which I love doing. Always live in a house with a fireplace.
    My homehouse has a fireplace in every room, even light a fire in my bedroom the odd night :D (rawr etc)

I prefer walking through towns when it's dark too

But then I love to see the evenings get longer again cos summer is coming. Ah sure it's just seasons, I enjoy it. But I would like to live in a more seasonal country for a few years. Canada would be ideal, hot summers and cold cold winters, big changes, big landscapes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD)

Anyone else affected in the last few days?.

Seriously, between the clocks going back & fvcking me up, the poxy wind & rain, the darkness etc... This week I'm about ready to kill someone.

Anyone else finding themselves down, stressed and short tempered these days?.

Bring on the funny fvckers.. The Slasher, Dudess, Pete, Zohan, Dr.B, Boner, William.Shakes, Bonito & Degsy etc.. Make me smile!.

Wanna hug?

Im a cranky cow anyway so the seasons dont really have much impact on me but yeah I have to say I love winter nights sitting at home watching the rain lash against the window

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 carobu

Force yourself to laugh 3 times or buy a really funny dvd. No trying to trivialise it but laughter is really the best medicine.

This thread needs a song to cheer up all the SAD people

All the leaves are brown and the sky is grey ,I've being for a walk , on a winters day ,I'd be safe and warm if I was in LA ...California Dreaming ....on such a winters day

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

I've got an epic dose of this. Been suicidal all week with it.

Anyone else find it Kinda goes away in january though? as it tends to be a lot brighter then cos it's too cold for any rain clouds generally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭Ozzy

look at this little fecker! hasn't a care in the world!

If he can be that happy, you can too my friend..

It doesnt bother me, I actually like the hour change. I prefer getting up when there's still some light and as for coming home when it's dark, then it's time to light a fire which I love doing. Always live in a house with a fireplace.
    My homehouse has a fireplace in every room, even light a fire in my bedroom the odd night :D (rawr etc)

I prefer walking through towns when it's dark too

But then I love to see the evenings get longer again cos summer is coming. Ah sure it's just seasons, I enjoy it. But I would like to live in a more seasonal country for a few years. Canada would be ideal, hot summers and cold cold winters, big changes, big landscapes

Completely and totally jealous! my dream home will have fires every room room too! Right now not one fireplace in the whole house :(

Maddison wrote: »
    Wanna hug?
    I'd like a hug, I dont have SAD but I love hugs :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭apsalar

Wow.....thanks for this thread makikomi....the weather has taken a terrible toll on my happy face this last week.

Being subject to the mood swings of pregnancy and having to deal with this now ten year old problem has been a nightmare. Glad to know there are others who understand. The absolute worst is trying to explain to people that don't understand.....:( They just don't get it and talking about depression is a nightmare in itself without having to explain why you feel a certain why. I sometimes just feel like screaming

'I'm sad because I just F**KING am!!!!' Now leave me alone or give me a hug but DON'T ask me why!!!!!'

Here's a great quote from Kate Millett that I sometimes stick to my mental wall to remind me I am not unique:

"During depression the world disappears. Language itself. One has nothing to say. Nothing. No small talk, no anecdotes. Nothing can be risked on the board of talk. Because the inner voice is so urgent in its own discourse: How shall I live? How shall I manage the future? Why should I go on?"

When I begin to hear the voices of my family and friends breaking through, I know I've made it through another cycle....sighs of relief. It isn't easy, but I make do. Perhaps a move to a sunnier climate will be on the cards once the baby is here.

Otherwise, thanks for this thread.:)

apsalar wrote: »
    Wow.....thanks for this thread makikomi....the weather has taken a terrible toll on my happy face this last week.

Being subject to the mood swings of pregnancy and having to deal with this now ten year old problem has been a nightmare. Glad to know there are others who understand. The absolute worst is trying to explain to people that don't understand.....:( They just don't get it and talking about depression is a nightmare in itself without having to explain why you feel a certain why. I sometimes just feel like screaming

'I'm sad because I just F**KING am!!!!' Now leave me alone or give me a hug but DON'T ask me why!!!!!'

Here's a great quote from Kate Millett that I sometimes stick to my mental wall to remind me I am not unique:

"During depression the world disappears. Language itself. One has nothing to say. Nothing. No small talk, no anecdotes. Nothing can be risked on the board of talk. Because the inner voice is so urgent in its own discourse: How shall I live? How shall I manage the future? Why should I go on?"

When I begin to hear the voices of my family and friends breaking through, I know I've made it through another cycle....sighs of relief. It isn't easy, but I make do. Perhaps a move to a sunnier climate will be on the cards once the baby is here.

Otherwise, thanks for this thread.:)

wow that pretty much nails it on the head doesnt it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Working late shifts is pretty sh1te generally, but it's kinda ideal for this time of year as it's bright when you get up, and it would be dark when you finish no matter what time of year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Dudess wrote: »
    Working late shifts is pretty sh1te generally, but it's kinda ideal for this time of year as it's bright when you get up, and it would be dark when you finish no matter what time of year.

Or just be a student. Get up at mid-day & go to sleep when the sun is coming up. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Or just be a student. Get up at mid-day
    Pffft... what sort of student living is that?! You're not experiencing the life properly til you're sleeping til 4pm... :cool:

or just never get up and after 4 years collect your degree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,074 ✭✭✭✭bnt

If you've see the movie Fargo, you've seen the kind of weather they can get in the US & Canadian midwest. I've walked around Edmonton, Alberta in January at -25C, and that was with the sun shining so brightly I would have gotten snow blindness. At night the thermometer drops further and not many people go out. Edmonton is at almost the same latitude as Dublin, and it has the same number of daylight hours - yet gets much more sunshine* . What gives?

The difference is the Gulf Stream ocean current, which channels heat from the Caribbean to Northern Europe. It's much warmer here than in Edmonton, but along with the heat comes cloud. That's the trade-off: warm and cloudy vs: sunny and cold. Take your pick - or think about moving to a sunnier latitude! (I've visited Dubai, and am wondering if I could work there after graduation.)

* Edmonton gets approx 2,300 hours of sunshine per year (Wikipedia), vs 1,400 - 1,700 in Dublin or 4,300 in the Sahara Desert (Met figures).

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

I'm fine April through October, but once November hits - forget about it, last week was a nightmare. Not that I'm a big Christmas fan, but it is some sort of milestone to work towards to get through these months. Once January hits though I get mega depressed, and don't talk to me about February. By March I know it's the last month of it, and you really begin to notice the stretch in the days, I get by at that stage by telling myself in May, two months away, it'll be scorching, and usually it is.
    I don't think I have it so bad that I'd need to use light therapy, and I've certainly never felt suicidal, just lethargic, grumpy, not much 'get up and go' and sometimes sad.
    We'll get through it together lads! ;)

My dad is due to pass away in the coming months (god it sounds weird to write that :( ) from the big C, so the next couple months are going to be hard, tough and sad, yet special too. I do feel bad giving out about winter too, especially knowing it'll be his last.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I smoke weed so I don't get fictional disorders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Good thread. I'm amazed so many people go through this as well.

I suffer so bad from this that as soon as the clocks change I immediately start to go downhill and usually by tthe winter Solstice I'd be seriously immobilised by SAD. It feels so claustrophobic.

This year I went away during the clock change and it's actually made a difference, or maybe just delayed it. Spent a lot of time walking around soaking up as much daylight as possible.

When I had more money in the past I used to go away at Christmas for a week and it helped a lot.

Leelaa22 wrote: »
    I'd like a hug, I dont have SAD but I love hugs :)

I love hugs too which is weird cuz I dont like people touching me that I dont know:confused:

A friend of mine lives in Toronto and it's a lovely city with amazing scenery but says she would glady change the long Canadian winters for the shorter , less severe Irish /British ones .....way to much snow there .

Thing with anybody who suffers with SAD is make sure you get out for a few hrs in daylight to exercise and catch a bit of winter sun if it's around . Waking up late then sitting around just as it's getting dark , letting days overlap into another makes ya feel more lethargic and depressed .

• I got up this morning, looked out of the window and saw it was lashing with rain. I'd planned to go on a day trip and to a party tonight but it's all off now. Just about managed to go to the supermarket, which is only 5 minutes away. Still got poked in the face by several umbrellas, slipped on one of those stupid manhole covers and got the bottom of my jeans soaked and muddy. It's ridiculous how utterly miserable I feel because of the weather. I mean, I have other stuff going on, but when the sun is shining, I feel grand. I don't even have the energy to clean my room or iron my clothes, I just feel like staying in bed all day. I think I need to start looking into emigrating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭cedissapointed

No never had SAD known some people who have suffered with it,thankfully don't have it.I couldn't imagine having it,as it rains nearly 365 days a year in ireland!:eek:

I like when it gets dark there is a certain annonyminity that comes with it :rolleyes:

There are some storms going to hit our shores on ireland on sunday and monday night winds up to 100 mph i hope people driving across bridges don't have panic attacks :D

.. I dont like people touching me that I dont know:confused:

Not a fan of dogging then :p

I love hugs too which is weird cuz I dont like people touching me that I dont know:confused:

They are the best kinda hugs cause you never know what to expect!!! Jazzes the whole hug up a bit
    OutlawPete wrote:
    Not a fan of dogging then

Do people honestly do that?

Yeah .. it's class craic.

Five of us trying to all get our mr happies in a car window last night.

Last week, this really posh couple pulled up in a Land Rover, sure I needed a jockey back to get diddy ****.

Im assuming your joking? yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Suffering pretty badly with this myself and the lack of work the past few weeks isn't helping. Lots of internet time and hot sweet coffee, much telly watching and spliffing to keep it at bay.
    Some work lined up monday which might snap me out of it (if I can manage to crawl out of bed before 6am).
    Hate the week after the clocks change...weather hasn't helped much either.
    I've always put SAD type feeling down to some longing to hibernate or something: you feel a lot more tired, have bigger appetite and have it harder to keep warm. Do/did primates hibernate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Another sh*t day here.

Went to bed last night at 02:30 after a load of can's (11 Carlsberg) and was wide awake at 05:15.

So the first half of this day has been a dizzy haze, got an hour in bed and more or less recharged.. But looking out the window and its miserable outside, burrr.

Im assuming your joking? yeah?

Yup, trying to cheer everyone up and myself .. not working I guess :(

Looks like it's off to the cinema with me so ..

have fun at the moveies and it is funny now that I know your joking. This time of year we all need the little things to cheer us up. And for those of you out there with SAD hand in there till the spring, and seriously conisder light box therapy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Wertz wrote: »
    Suffering pretty badly with this myself and the lack of work the past few weeks isn't helping. Lots of internet time and hot sweet coffee, much telly watching and spliffing to keep it at bay.
    Some work lined up monday which might snap me out of it (if I can manage to crawl out of bed before 6am).
    Hate the week after the clocks change...weather hasn't helped much either.
    I've always put SAD type feeling down to some longing to hibernate or something: you feel a lot more tired, have bigger appetite and have it harder to keep warm. Do/did primates hibernate?

Thats a good question, I dunno. Or did our ancestors go South for the winter or just hole up in caves with loads of dried meat, berries and warm animal skins :confused: Maybe they didn't bother living this far North....?

As for spliffing...was thinking of trying to cut it out this Winter as well as the booze and see if it makes any difference.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,074 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Do/did primates hibernate? No, for the simple reason that they never needed to. All naturally-occurring populations of primates are in the Tropics, where they just don't get Winter.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Since we've all originated in africa and there was no cold season/dark evenings before we moved to high latitudes, hibernation wouldn't have been necessary (warmth and food all year round) for modern humans.
    If there are hibernating ancestors in our past it's way, way back prior to primates...
    [edit] oops sorry bnt didn't see your reply.

As for smoking...oddly enough it keeps the mind off the mild depression (doesn't help with the lethargy though)...you tend to forget that you're down or become distracted from it. Of course there are those who'd say that it merely replaces one kind of depressed with another...
    Drinking gives me worse hangovers in winter, but then I tend to drink more in winter so that probably clears that up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

bnt wrote: »
    Do/did primates hibernate? No, for the simple reason that they never needed to. All naturally-occurring populations of primates are in the Tropics, where they just don't get Winter.
    Not every animal that lives in a cold environment hibernates, the main reason for hibernation is seasonal food not weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭genie

Does anyone know where I can buy a reasonably-priced S.A.D lamp? I found one on Amazon but they won't deliver it to Ireland. :rolleyes:

Thanks! :)

Been suffering with it somewhat here. Between college work that I can't focus on, deadlines that are quickly approaching, tensions where I'm living, the weather forcing me to stay indoors - it's all sort of getting to me. The one silver lining now is that it's almost Christmas and I'll have a rest then, but the realisation of just how screwed I am with other stuff means the silver lining is slowly becoming dull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭foxinsox

genie wrote: »
    Does anyone know where I can buy a reasonably-priced S.A.D lamp? I found one on Amazon but they won't deliver it to Ireland. :rolleyes:

Thanks! :)

I think some Health Shops sell them..

Haven't a clue about price..