Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HDip in Social Policy UCD

• 07-11-2010 5:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 36

I want to apply to do the HDip in Social Policy in UCD next year. Has anyone done this course? Do you have any advice on the application process? Is it competitive to get a place on the course?

Any help or advice would be much appreciated!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I did it 5 years ago now. :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

It's a grand course, you learn a lot, it can be challenging since you do lectures from 1st, 2nd and 3rd year of the social science undergrad. You also have your own classes.

I used it to get onto the MSW in Trinity, most people on the course were doing it to get into social work training. The year I applied there was no interview or anything, don't know if many people were refused tbh. Maybe a newer person can tell you what it's like now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

I know that theres only two places in Ireland that does that H.Dip and thats UCD and UCC. I've deferred my place on the course in UCC until next year but I presume the application process is fairly similar for UCD and UCC.
    It's a competitive course to get into in UCC as there was 70 people interviewing for 12 places.

As Zoegh said most people do the h.dip to get into social work, thats why Im doing it anyway. Do you have experience to show that you have an interest in the area?

I did my undergrad in UCD and thought of doing the H.Dip there but I heard that the course in Cork is a lot more structured and theres a field work trip in Europe, so I decided that would be better for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 nic85

I'm doing the HDip at the moment in UCD. There's about 36 people on the course from a huge range of backgrounds. I think with a 2.2in a degree and a strong application form you shouldn't have a problem getting in.

If you've any other questions let me know.

Good luck!

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Jack09

Hi
    Just wondering have you heard anything back from UCD and UCC for the Hdip in Social policy yet??
    I'm still waiting on an offer :D or rejection :eek: wondering has anyoone else heard back yet??

Jack09 wrote: »
    Hi
    Just wondering have you heard anything back from UCD and UCC for the Hdip in Social policy yet??
    I'm still waiting on an offer :D or rejection :eek: wondering has anyoone else heard back yet??

Isn't the closing date a good month away for UCD?? I've given up my spot in UCC and decided to do it in UCD instead as I missed Dublin too much!Haven't even sent my application in yet, eeek!

I remember for UCC I got called for an interview the third week in April, and then it wasn't until May I heard I got the place. I wouldn't be too stressed If you haven't heard anything yet from UCC. If you do get an interview send me a pm and I will let you know what I got asked in the interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 sunny1510

Just wondering has anybody done the UCC interview for admission to the HDip Social Policy? If so I'd be really grateful of you could tell me what kind of questions to expect!

P.S. UCD/UCC deadline for submission of applications was extended to 25th March 2011.

Cheers :)

When i did the interview there was the head of the programme, Joe Finnerty, and a women from the social work department whom interviewed me.

They asked me why I wanted to do the course, and I was honest and said it was because I wanted to be a social worker. The women then asked me why did I want to become a social worker. This then lead on to, what aspects of the H.Dip am I most looking forward to.

They then asked about my voluntary and paid experience in the social arena.I have been active in political and social activist groups so they asked me a lot of in depth questions about them. It was the first time in an interview that I could be upfront about my membership of the Socialist party :) I have a real passion and interest in equality issues, and I had to talk about aspects of the H.Dip that would nurture that interest.

They then asked me about my academic background. I had to do a thesis to get my primary degree, and they asked me about my research methods. I have to admit I wasn't really expecting the academic questions so was a bit unprepared. They asked me in depth about essay writing skills and reserach techniques.

I think they ended on what could I contribute to the H.dip in social policy in UCC. I answered that I wasn't a passive or benign student and I take action on the social inequalities I learn about, or something along those lines.

I was just honest and open, and I think they appreciate that. Hope that helps!

Thanks for all the info! That's a great help! Fair play for getting a place with all that competition! I think there are only 10 places available on the HDip SP in UCC this year :eek:
    Anyway sure we'll see how it goes!

Thanks again :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 crunch_84

i got a letter this morning from UCD telling me that i've been offered a conditional place... delighted :D

I've been offered UCD as well :D

I'm just wondering about the UCD course. Could any of you who have completed it...tell me what you think about it? What did you think of the course content? I had the interview in UCC on Wednesday. I'm waiting to hear back...
    I'm thinking I want to do Social Work after the HDip in SP but has anybody done this course and not gone on to do Social Work? In other words what are the job prospects like from the HDip in SP only?? :confused:
    Any info/advice would be great! :)

Congrats guys for getting in!
    sunny1510 wrote: »
    I'm just wondering about the UCD course. Could any of you who have completed it...tell me what you think about it? What did you think of the course content? I had the interview in UCC on Wednesday. I'm waiting to hear back...
    I'm thinking I want to do Social Work after the HDip in SP but has anybody done this course and not gone on to do Social Work? In other words what are the job prospects like from the HDip in SP only?? :confused:
    Any info/advice would be great! :)

I haven't done the course but I have researched well into it. The H.Dip will leave you with no formal qualifications, so your job prospects with it will be just the same as any other student with a social science or social policy degree.

You are not guaranteed a place on the MSW just because you have the H.Dip in Social policy. Therefore it is important to keep up volunteer work during the course and show your commitment to doing social work. I was told that youth club volunteer work was the best because so much of Irish social work centers around child protection. However, It depends where your interest lie, and so always volunteer with an agency you are passionate about.

I got an excellent job, with a year contract so I won't be doing the H.Dip this year.I really, really want to do social work eventually though,its just sucks that it takes three years to qualify as one! Does anyone know any online courses, such as open university, that is recognised and equivalent to the H.Dip in Social Policy?

Thank you and congrats on the job!! Would you consider doing the HDip part time?! I'm not sure if there is a part time option in UCD?!!
    Best of luck with everything and thanks for your help :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Ruby T

I recently completed the H. Dip. Students undertake 6 modules each semester and have to complete an assignment for each module so the workload can be quite intense. Modules in semester 1 very interesting. Found some of the modules in semester 2 a bit tedious. Overall, I'd recommend the course!

It's a conversion programme for graduates of different disciplines and the majority of students undertake this course with the aim of securing a place on a Masters in Social Work. However, not everyone in my group managed to secure a place on the Masters which can be a bit soul destroying if that's your reason for undertaking the course. But there's always the option of taking a year out, gaining some relevant work experience and reapplying. For students not interested in Social Work, there's the option of doing a two year Masters in Social Policy by research. It's largely autonomous learning and not too many pursue this option!

As far as I know, it's not possible to pursue the H. Dip. in UCD on a part-time basis.

Hello,
    I'm just wondering would any of you have Higher Diploma Social Policy books that you had bought for the course for sale, e.g. Considine and Dukelow Irish Social Policy (2009) (Dublin: Gill and Macmillan? If so I'd be interested to hear from you!
    Thanks ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Ruby T

Going to hang on to them - sorry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 milkyboo123

Hey anyone applying for this course this year in UCD??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 MajellaS1

Yep, got an offer yesterday. Does anyone know if there were any evening lectures on this course last year (after 5pm), I'm planning on a daily commute from Laois by bus and the last bus leaves UCD at 5pm. Any info greatly appreciated.

Majella.

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭Ciaran20041329

Lads,
    Those who have completed the Hdip, what are the employment prospects without a masters after? I want to get into social work (coming from criminal justice background). But without any break to save between the hdip and a masters, you're talking about €30,000. That's just not feasable right now

• Registered Users Posts: 1 meillouin

Hi has anybody completed the H.Dip part-time in Cork? i'm working part-time nearby and wondering on lecture times/ days as hoping to combine both if of course i get a place!