Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilternan ski slope experience?

Options
  • 08-11-2010 12:18pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,

Just back from Dubai where I tried skiing for the first time in the indoor ski slope they have in the shopping centre there. Real snow -2 in Dubai. Amazing stuff.

Even more amazing was that I LOVED it. And now I really want to try skiing again.

I know Kilternan have a slope but its dentex (artificial).

So how does it differ from real snow? Is it a lot more dangerous falling wise?

As I say I'm a complete beginner have done 1 hour and so far can start and stop myself pretty well. Next step is learning to turn I suppose.

From what I can see on the website for Kilternan they give lessons and stuff so thats the way to go I'd imagine.

But any advice or experiences before I do would be greatly appreciated.

Lastly any ideas on where to buy cheap skiing trousers/jacket as in Kilternan they dont supply these. (they did in Dubai).

Thanks

ps mods if theres a better place for this thread can you move it please. I couldnt find a skiing section. Cheers.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

Kilternan is the only artificial slope I've been on, but I found it fine.
    Knee pads are a must, and keep your fingers and toes close to the body. I've seen more than my fair share of people dislocating/breaking fingers because they fell and stuck there hands in the holes!