Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi there,
There is an issue with role permissions that is being worked on at the moment.
If you are having trouble with access or permissions on regional forums please post here to get access: https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2058365403/you-do-not-have-permission-for-that#latest

First Ever 10k...

• 08-11-2010 12:29pm
    Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭

Hi,

I'm new to Boards and new to running. I have signed up for a 10k on St. Stephen's Day and would really appreciate some advice and support as I am seriously doubting my ability to complete the race.

I started running last May using the Couch25K programme and I managed to complete a 5k at the end of July. I stopped running then, however, and only started back mid-September. Although my fitness hadn't dropped completely, it had dropped significantly.

I am a really slow runner. I did the 5k in 35mins 31 seconds and my average pace is 12min miles. I have to do most of my runs on a treadmill as I don't have time to go outside running during the day. I find the treadmill much easier than running outside (though not as enjoyable), but also find it hard to gauge how well I'm doing as I know that 3 miles on a treadmill for me is much easier than 3 miles outdoors.

I am using a 10k beginner's programme off Lakeshore Striders website. It's a 12 week programme that adds half a mile each week (starting from 2 miles).