Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Project on Abandoned buildings

Options
  • 08-11-2010 2:09pm
    Registered Users Posts: 17

Hey guys, I am a photography student and I am doing a project on abandonded buildings, I was wondering if any one knew of any buildings I could get into?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

Check out Abandoned Ireland -plenty of info there

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,536 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

do you mean abandoned in the more modern context of ghost estates and the like, or partially ruined buildings?

• Registered Users Posts: 17 thomascullen

Yeah I have already looked at abandoned ireland but he doesn't really give away the location of the places. I need just abandoned buildings that have a history, but one of the girls in my class is already doing ghost estates so thats not really any use. Thanks for replies

• Registered Users Posts: 6,392 ✭✭✭AnCatDubh

It may be helpful to post whereabouts you are considering for this project.

Your local authority will have a derelict sites register which might help. Give them a call and ask if you can inspect it. If you get to someone who is helpful enough they might even have abandoned properties of their own (I know in my area we have an abandoned swimming pool for instance) and again if you were to nicely explain what you are at and what you need, they might be forthcoming with enabling access for you.