Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A bit rusty

Options
  • 09-11-2010 11:56am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Hi All, hope to wire my sons house in a few months, i am an industrial electrician for the past 20 years and havent done much on the house side of things in a while, has anyone any tips, even from where i should start, like chasing, should i run two conduits to sockets and lights and also what about the new regs

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

1 is fine for most sockets

just squeeze the end and push it into box slightly

you might need 2 for some switches if you want to loop t+e supply to switches

rules are a bit tricky-if you're not familiar

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

no ring circuit in kitchen

frezzer on dedicated rcd circuit or non rcd protected spur

in kitchen double pole switch to isolate inacessable sockets

some info here as well

http://www.etci.ie/safety/faq.html#distrbd

2.25 to top of DB's

rcd bathroom lights

socket and switch heights

ocpd for tails in meter cabinet

no unfused spurs off ring final circuits

DP switch for inaccessible sockets

there's a fair bit to catch you out-if reci/ecssa are going to test it(if they still do?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 OD05