Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rev limiter

• 11-11-2010 6:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭

I have a nissan sunny 1.4 and there seams to be no rev limiter in her , is there any way i could get it to limit because il end up puttin the rods trough the block :D

theres no rev dials in the car ether :(

lowered1.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Moved to motors as you'll likely get a quicker response here.

Not sure we need a picture for the issue?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

Well, there is one sure fire way of seeing if there is a rev limiter.....

As an aside, I thought that the '95 Sunny had EFI and there was a rev limiter built in. There was in the 1.6 one anyway;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Tidy looking example, have you thought about fitting a rev counter guage

yourself, easy enough. Nice wheels on it too. Try not rev past 3,000rpms

and you'll be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

I agree with Muckie; Id sooner fit a tach than a rev limiter. Maybe something like an APEXi RSM?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Muckie wrote: »
    Try not rev past 3,000rpms

and you'll be grand.

Zzzz boring:P

I go above 5,500rpms in good weather all the time.

It's great fun!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

jaffa20 wrote: »
    Zzzz boring:P

I go above 5,500rpms in good weather all the time.

It's great fun!

5500 my cars only getting started at 5500

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Dark_by_Dezign

3,000 ? zzzzZZZZ

if im feeling abit adventurous i floor it in second till i can hear the injectors whistle which im guessing is about 7000 rpm
    ah after market gauges in a old car make it look seriously tacky

id almost buy one just to see how high i actually rev !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

projectgtr wrote: »
    5500 my cars only getting started at 5500

hondadriver1.jpg&t=1

• Registered Users Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

3,000 ? zzzzZZZZ

if im feeling abit adventurous i floor it in second till i can hear the injectors whistle which im guessing is about 7000 rpm
    ah after market gauges in a old car make it look seriously tacky

id almost buy one just to see how high i actually rev !

OP, I'm almost 99.9999999% certain that your car has a rev limiter as standard. ECU's are a clever thing. Nissan have a habit of setting it 500rpm above the red line, and they have a habit of setting the red line at 6.5k...

I was in a '94 1.4 Sunnny last night, and that had a rev limiter alright.... Can you tell us what speeds you get out of first and second gear (30mph and 55-60mph usually)

Also, Injectors don't whistle or make any noise. It's usually ill-fitting air trunking that is whistling.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭projectgtr

Onkle wrote: »
    hondadriver1.jpg&t=1

hahhahahahahhahahahhah no im a bit younger

roadragebaby1-300x199.jpg

Hey wait arent you a honda driver?:confused:

I'm the one on the left :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Dark_by_Dezign

injectors do whistle at high rpm and i know when a limiter should cut the revs but just seams to keep goin ! dont have a clue , i dont tend to look at the speedometer if i floor it

im afraid to actual go foot to the floor in neutral in-case the gaskets give way it is 15 years old after all !!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

If you insist on revving the bollox out of it, change gears when it runs out of power. Its that simple really. No limiter needed. Power typically drops off before the redline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

I like to rev to 8000.

stick your vtec up your arses lads!
    fecking honda drivers, think you're the only people with a high rev limit :P

• Registered Users Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

SV wrote: »
    I like to rev to 8000.

How about 21,000? :D

MVC-001S.jpg

Not exactly road legal tho...

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭iphone4g

injectors do whistle at high rpm and i know when a limiter should cut the revs but just seams to keep goin ! dont have a clue , i dont tend to look at the speedometer if i floor it

im afraid to actual go foot to the floor in neutral in-case the gaskets give way it is 15 years old after all !!

Learn to drive,you won't need a limiter!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,706 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

iphone4g wrote: »
    Learn to drive,you won't need a limiter!!!!

Some of us enjoy our cars.

No skill in banging a car of a limiter midnight, there's a bit of skill in shifting at peak power though

Now how did you deduce that from my post...?

Looking at my dyno sheet, my peak power is actually near enough to the rev limiter anyway!

Because that is what you implied :)

Peak power is indeed near the rev limit but there's a slight levelling or even drop off in power between the peak and the limit so shifting just after peak and that's the time to shift

Because that is what you implied :)

Peak power is indeed near the rev limit but there's a slight levelling or even drop off in power between the peak and the limit so shifting just after peak and that's the time to shift

That's around 7200 in the EG3 and 7800 in the EK4 :o

What is it in the DC2?

That's around 7200 in the EG3 and 7800 in the EK4 :o

What is it in the DC2?

It's in around 8400, with different mods it tends to move so give me a week or so until I'm finished my engine work and I'll pop up a before and after Dyno sheet

• Registered Users Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Nah, Onkle, I think he was implying that there's more to driving than shifting at 2.5-3k revs EVERY time like an aul granny, tis the way I read it anyway.

Exactly what I was implying, just didn't want to start an argument :o

• Registered Users Posts: 13,994 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

SV wrote: »
    I like to rev to 8000.

fecking honda drivers, think you're the only people with a high rev limit :P

Lol, gets me 80kph in first gear. Tis the only way to roll.

Some of us enjoy our cars.

It's a 1.4 ,there is no point bouncing it off the limiter

Why not?

Does a car have to be of a certain engine size to have fun in?

No,but the power is well gone by the time it hits the limiter

As noted above, not everybody loses power before the limiter.

My own cars limiter is only 250 revs away from when I drop power!

As noted above, not everybody loses power before the limiter.

My own cars limiter is only 250 revs away from when I drop power!

Fair enough, but the op's car is 1.4 and I am not against enjoying a car or engine I have a 2.0L turbo 280 bhp Manta 400 rep on the road myself