Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Aston Villa v Manchester United Match Thread 13/11/10

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

That photo makes it look like 4 of them went into the crowd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,909 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Archimedes wrote: »
    The bitterness in here, however, is far from refreshing.

No worse than the defensiveness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Xavi6 wrote: »
    No worse than the defensiveness.

Being a City fan, one would expect you to be used to a defensive mindset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

That photo makes it look like 4 of them went into the crowd!

I think I saw fergie in the crowd aswell, surely this heinous, deplorable act by United should be penalised right away for the good of the game . .

United should be docked 10 points for their blatant disregard towards ABU's . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭kilburn

Fantastic game for Villa, great performance in the second half.

I HATE MACHEDA !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

no point argueing about the vidic thing, surely we all remember that rule the fa passed that he cant get sent off against villa no matter what he does?

a red card offence is demoted to a yellow card offence, and if he's booked already a yellow card offence is deemed perfectly acceptable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Helix wrote: »
    from most recent backwards, uniteds last few league results against villa:

draw, 2-2 (villa park)
    draw, 1-1 (villa park)
    villa win, 0-1 (old trafford)
    united win, 3-2 (old trafford)
    draw, 0-0 (villa park)

arguably, villa shouldve won every single one of those too

Non-arguably, Villa haven't beaten United at Villa Park for 15 years in the league.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Drumpot wrote: »
    I think I saw fergie in the crowd aswell, surely this heinous, deplorable act by United should be penalised right away for the good of the game . .

United should be docked 10 points for their blatant disregard towards ABU's . .
    Was he? In that case, 10 points would be fair alright. Typical disregard of the rules.

• Registered Users Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Anthony16

Iv regualrly been slated for coming on here and telling the truth about this united team,but every week im being proven correct.
    This team is nowhere near good enough to win a league title.Disgraceful performance yet again.They were outplayed by a depleted villa team today that had 2 young boys in the centre of midfield.Too many old/average players in the united team.
    Those who say berbatov has been a revelation this season are kidding themselves.he had a decent start to the season and has not scored in 9 games.
    No money to spend,ageing squad,poor young players coming through(hernandez the exception)
    Without the near 36 year old paul scholes this team would do well to finish in the top 4

baz2009 wrote: »
    Non-arguably, Villa haven't beaten United at Villa Park for 15 years in the league.

apart from last season when we beat them 1-0 at old trafford... you know, the result in the post you just quoted?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I find the petty bitterness amusing. Thanks everyone :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Helix wrote: »
    apart from last season when we beat them 1-0 at old trafford... you know, the result in the post you just quoted?

You know the post you quoted when I said at Villa Park, yeah that's not Old Trafford.

baz2009 wrote: »
    You know the post you quoted when I said at Villa Park, yeah that's not Old Trafford.

ahaha epic fail from me

either way, recent results between the teams can hardly be argued with

united havent exactly been guaranteed a win against us of late and often times are fortunate to get anything

even the league cup final last year wouldve been different had the ref done his job and not refused to send vidic off "because it was so early in the game" and he didnt want to "ruin the specticle"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,562 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

delighted with the result in the end but so frustrated with the performance there aint one united player who can be happy with their performance.
    the Young and Vidic celebrations were different ,young jumped a barrier to get to the fans and vidic stopped a few yards short and was pushed towards his fans .glad the ref has stated the reason he didnt book vidic.

Was he? In that case, 10 points would be fair alright. Typical disregard of the rules.

In blackpool game today there should of been 2 penos given against them, one of them was a stone wall penalty. .

Now, if that was United, there would be riots and it would be the main topic of debate on MOTD tonight . . But we both know it wont . . Why ? Because people choose and select when to get upset about differant things in football according to what they prefer to happen.

Ian Holloway didnt get fined last week for fielding a completely differant team from the his main one, yet Mick McCarthy got fined for doing it against United. Not just that, the outcry , particularlyt from the anti United fraternity, made sure that this "travesty" did not go by quietly . . so its ok to change your team, once it doesnt do united any favours, that is the general concensus on most things, including bad decisions (they are ok once they dont favour united).

Very recently in two games in a row, man city won both games by one goal that was down to poor ref decisions. Not much was made of that .

Its very simple. Bad decisions happen in every game, people make more of decisions that go for united, hence the reason people remember them ("united always own refs") and conveniently forget all the other decisions that go on in every other game. .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Ian Holloway didnt get fined last week for fielding a completely differant team from the his main one, yet Mick McCarthy got fined for doing it against United.

McCarthy said he fielded a weakened team cause hd didn't think Wolves could get something either way. Hence his punishment. Holloway said he thought the team he put out could win. Can you see the difference?

Why can't people get this into their head?

Mr Alan wrote: »
    McCarthy said he fielded a weakened team cause hd didn't think Wolves could get something either way. Hence his punishment. Holloway said he thought the team he put out could win. Can you see the difference?

Why can't people get this into their head?

He was mainly fined for fielding a weakened team! !

Trying to differentiate between the two scenarios by saying that the managers said differant things is only valid if what they said is the truth. . McCarthy foolishly told the truth, but Halloway could not of expected a blackpool B team to beat villa away in any world and anybody who excuses this as a differance between mccarthy and Holloway is deluded because there is no net differance . .

The Premier League statement read: 'The Premier League Board has issued
    Wolverhampton Wanderers FC with a suspended £25,000 fine after deciding that the
    team fielded in their league fixture against Manchester United on 15 December
    2009 was not full strength and therefore in breach of Rule E20.

Rule E.20 states that clubs must field full-strength sides in every match,

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1251919/Wolves-hit-suspended-25-000-fine-fielding-weakened-team-Manchester-United.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,852 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

And who are the fa to decide on who the best starting eleven is? What's the point of naming a squad.

United lucky today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,951 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I don't believe we deserved anything from that game.

But then again, the belief to pull back 2 goals like that is what makes me love this team too.

Luck was definitely on our side today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Yet another show of defiance and resilience by United, God I love supporting this club.

Yet another show of bitterness and jealousy from the usual begrudgers, makes it even better. It must be so so sh*t to be a hater all the time.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Yet another show of defiance and resilience by United, God I love supporting this club.

Yet another show of bitterness and jealousy from the usual begrudgers, makes it even better. It must be so so sh*t to be a hater all the time.

You realise you dropped 2 points today right?

Feels like a win. Dug themselves out if a hole yet again. The season is young.

Ah come on Al are u doing this deliberately? United came back from the dead and got a draw they ddint deserve imo

We gained 1.

Glass is always half empty with ABU's!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Vanbis

yabadabado wrote: »
    delighted with the result in the end but so frustrated with the performance there aint one united player who can be happy with their performance.
    the Young and Vidic celebrations were different ,young jumped a barrier to get to the fans and vidic stopped a few yards short and was pushed towards his fans .glad the ref has stated the reason he didnt book vidic.

A question in general regarding this rule. Ashely Young was booked for jumping into the crowd but also a couple of other Villa players did the same while celebrating with Young, surley that means they should be booked as well?

I'm just using this game as a example, no bitterness at all and to be honest, Villa were much the better team today, fully deserved the 3points.

Manutd complete rubbish, never got going. The only two players i think who can come away with a bid of credit are Vidic and Fletcher. Berbatov is back to his old self, not just today but the last month at least.

I can understand the relief alright.

But in the grand scheme of things it's a poor performance and result. In a week you were hoping to gain ground of Chelsea, you've taken 2 points from 6 and been poor in both games.

We gained 1.

Glass is always half empty with ABU's!:D

They should start up a Team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

the draw specialists:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

But in the grand scheme of things it's a poor performance and result. In a week you were hoping to gain ground of Chelsea, you've taken 2 points from 6 and been poor in both games.

what?

we had to play city and villa away, they played fulham and have sunderland at home. i by no means thought we would be gaining ground this week!

p_larkin99 wrote: »
    what?

we had to play city and villa away, they played fulham and have sunderland at home. i by no means thought we would be gaining ground this week!

Dude, I wouldn't bother I won't be anymore!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I could understand if you said no cutting edge against city but Utd poor against city earns you a :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Nope we earned a point today totally- undeservedely.

We also put in a very good performance against city and dropped two points there in my opinion.

Still in the top 4 though and we'll see how things look come March or April.

I never thought United were going to gain much ground on Chelsea when they had City and Villa away in succession.

I was far more disappointed after the City game given the performance than I am today. Two point lost against City and one gained today after an abysmal performance is how I view the week.

Certainly nothing to be too pessimistic about, three points off Chelsea having been pretty sh*te all season is OK, even if they win their game in hand.

Obviously you're going to want to paint a more pessimistic picture of things, work away baby.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

@ Mr Alan, what's your beef with Villa? Are you still crying that we finished ahead of Liverpool last season?

IMO Villa played very well today all things considering and were very unfortunate not to come away with all 3 points..........even the most die hard Utd fans will tell you that they got a lucky draw today.

All eyes on Stoke vs Liverpool now ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,916 ✭✭✭NickDrake

Berbatov - How many games without a goal now - 10???

He was shocking out there today. How many poor games in a row is this?

This is our third season putting up with this waste of space.

£30m for no goals in 10 games. Dear god!!

Our centre midfield is a joke. No creativity without Scholes.

When will Fergie finally cut his losses with Berb??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

2 points from 2 games that Chelsea only took 1 from.

Ground gained!

Oh god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

Considering the absentees, coming from 2-0 down plus the overall paucity of the performance, 2-2 at Villa Park is an excellent result for Man Utd.

They haven't hit any kind of consistent form this season, have had a bunch of injuries to key men and yet they're still second! Talk about being able to grind results out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

That unbeaten record will become a hinderance soon if it keeps going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,468 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

sorry for the lateness of this - not been well today so not been at the computer since much earlier.

Man of the Match Voting link.

https://spreadsheets.google.com/viewform?hl=en&formkey=dE1CQzhqbjFHX1R1alNESUJ6TXZxRHc6MQ#gid=0

As always, open to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Skipped a good few pages to say.

Serious typical fickleness from viewers claiming Vidic should have been sent off.

But I'd gather, from not even watching the game, he leveled the score 2-2 with a few minutes to go, went a bit mad and ran to his fans.

Referee used a bit of cop on and said, nah , I'm not sending him off, thats a silly rule.

If he had of sent him offoff, everyone would be calling the referee a muppet and having a lack of common sense.

Well done ref, you didn't bottle it, you just made a judgement call bsed on your cop on that turned out to be a good one.

I'm not a United fan, but some of the comments agains the United team is shocking just because they are united.

No football viewer of any support should be wanting to see a player get sent off for a second bookable offence for celebrating, its probably the number 1 on the

"Most notibly retarded football rules" along with the offside interference rule.

Get a grip guys seriously.....

TheDoc wrote: »
    S
    Referee used a bit of cop on and said, nah , I'm not sending him off, thats a silly rule.

wasnt a silly rule when he booked ashley young for the same thing 10 minutes earlier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

TheDoc wrote: »
    Skipped a good few pages to say.

Serious typical fickleness from viewers claiming Vidic should have been sent off.

But I'd gather, from not even watching the game, he leveled the score 2-2 with a few minutes to go, went a bit mad and ran to his fans.

If he had of sent him offoff, everyone would be calling the referee a muppet and having a lack of common sense.

Well done ref, you didn't bottle it, you just made a judgement call bsed on your cop on that turned out to be a good one.

I'm not a United fan, but some of the comments agains the United team is shocking just because they are united.

No football viewer of any support should be wanting to see a player get sent off for a second bookable offence for celebrating, its probably the number 1 on the

"Most notibly retarded football rules" along with the offside interference rule.

Get a grip guys seriously.....

Refs shouldn't be using their 'cop on' or 'judgement' when making a decisions. If the rule is there, it should be implemented, regardless of the situation, or how silly you think it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Refs shouldn't be using their 'cop on' or 'judgement' when making a decisions. If the rule is there, it should be implemented, regardless of the situation, or how silly you think it is.

Boo hoo.

Get over it. Thank god common sense has prevailed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭#15

A 2-2 draw with Villa isn't a bad result.

This is:

_49930583_010640125-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Le King wrote: »
    Boo hoo.

Get over it. Thank god common sense has prevailed.

My post had nothing to do with the incident in question, only refereeing in general.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

#15 wrote: »
    A 2-2 draw with Villa isn't a bad result.

This is:

_49930583_010640125-1.jpg
    United are supposedly title contenders though, big difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

AgileMyth wrote: »

they think they are , but they are not really

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

AgileMyth wrote: »

second in the league, unbeaten. i'd say we're not out of it yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

United will always be up there and this year will be no different, all the draws have to be a worry though, unbeaten means nothing when so many of them are draws.