Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

The Crystal Ball Thread: September 1st 2012

• 13-11-2010 8:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭

Thought this might be a bit of fun. How about we all list what we think the shape of your club will be like after the transfer window has closed in 2012. Why 2012? Coz it's far enough away for us all to get it horribly wrong and probably provide some good chuckles when I resurrect the thread after that date...

Team
    Aston Villa

Starting XI
    New Keeper (Signed Summer 2011)

New RB (Signed Summer 2012)--Clark--New CB (Signed Jan 2012)---New LB (Signed Summer 2011)

New MF (Signed Jan 2011)

Albrighton
    Bannan
    Delph
    Downing

Agbonlahor

Squad Members
    Delfouneso
    Collins Snr.
    Gardner
    Luke Young
    Lichaj
    Hogg
    Warnock
    Baker
    Weimann
    Reo Coker
    Cameron
    New RB (Signed Summer 2011)
    New Striker (Signed Summer 2011)
    New Striker (Signed Summer 2012)
    New CM
    New Keeper (Signed Summer 2012)

Players Gone from Current Squad
    Petrov (Summer 2012)
    Dunne (Summer 2012)
    Friedel (Summer 2012)
    Heskey (Summer 2011)
    Carew (Jan 2011)
    Ashley Young (Summer 2011)
    Sidwell (Summer 2011)
    Beye (Summer 2011)
    Cuellar (Summer 2011)
    Guzan (Summer 2012)
    Ireland (Jan 2012)
    Davies (Summer 2011)
    Lowry (Summer 2011)
    Osbourne (Summer 2011)

Season 2012/13 Expectations
    5th Place

Thread might work, thread might fail... up to you lot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Team:Man United

Starting XI:
    De Gea
    Rafael--Smalling--Vidic--Fabio/Evra
    Albrighton/Nani--Fletcher--Defour--Bale
    Hernandez---?????

Maybe a bit optimistic and premature on Albrighton, but right now I'd love it.:pac:

Squad Members:
    B.Amos
    J.Evans
    R.Morrison
    C.Evans
    J.O'Shea
    G.Obertan
    Bebe(not sure, but I'll be nice to him.:P)
    M.Eikrem
    W.Brown
    A.Valencia
    ???Defender???
    ???Midfielder??
    ????Midfielder???

Players Gone from Current Squad:
    Giggs(May 2012)
    Scholes(May 2012)
    Neville(May 2011)
    VDS(May 2011)
    Hargreaves(soon, I'd say. Hope I'm wrong, though.)
    MB.Diouf(May 2011)
    Welbeck(May 2011)
    Macheda(May 2012)
    Carrick(May 2011(unless he can pick up his form))
    JS Park(May 2012)
    Berbatov(May 2012)
    Kusczack(May 2011)
    Rooney(January 2012)

Probably a few glaring mistakes that I haven't noticed, but meh.:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Add your predictions for the next two seasons too lads :D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I started doing an Arsenal one but I tied myself up in knots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Helix wrote: »
    Thought this might be a bit of fun. How about we all list what we think the shape of your club will be like after the transfer window has closed in 2012. Why 2012? Coz it's far enough away for us all to get it horribly wrong and probably provide some good chuckles when I resurrect the thread after that date...

Team
    Aston Villa

Starting XI
    New Keeper (Signed Summer 2011)

New RB (Signed Summer 2012)--Clark--New CB (Signed Jan 2012)---New LB (Signed Summer 2011)

New MF (Signed Jan 2011)

Albrighton
    Bannan
    Delph
    Downing

Agbonlahor

Squad Members
    Delfouneso
    Collins Snr.
    Gardner
    Luke Young
    Lichaj
    Hogg
    Warnock
    Baker
    Weimann
    Reo Coker
    Cameron
    New RB (Signed Summer 2011)
    New Striker (Signed Summer 2011)
    New Striker (Signed Summer 2012)
    New CM
    New Keeper (Signed Summer 2012)

Players Gone from Current Squad
    Petrov (Summer 2012)
    Dunne (Summer 2012)
    Friedel (Summer 2012)
    Heskey (Summer 2011)
    Carew (Jan 2011)
    Ashley Young (Summer 2011)
    Sidwell (Summer 2011)
    Beye (Summer 2011)
    Cuellar (Summer 2011)
    Guzan (Summer 2012)
    Ireland (Jan 2012)
    Davies (Summer 2011)
    Lowry (Summer 2011)
    Osbourne (Summer 2011)

Season 2012/13 Expectations
    5th Place

Thread might work, thread might fail... up to you lot

Though it's not my club, i predict Kevin Doyle will be a Villa player!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,793 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Ah jaysus Helix, cross post much!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,772 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

baz2009 wrote: »

Probably a few glaring mistakes that I haven't noticed, but meh.:P

Rooney????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,562 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

For united I would to see some of the kids make a breakthrough,like Pogba,Ravel,King but its always impossible to know if these kids will make it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

Team:Man United

Starting XI:
    De Gea
    Rafael--Smalling--Vidic--Fabio/Evra
    Albrighton/Nani--Fletcher--Defour--Bale
    Hernandez---?????

P

baz, ye dont have the cash to buy the welsh wizard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

BERBA wrote: »
    baz, ye dont have the cash to buy the welsh wizard

Maybe, but with Spurs being Utd's feeder club, who knows??

monkey9 wrote: »
    Maybe, but with Spurs being Utd's feeder club, who knows??

not anymore , that monkey off the back , i believe utd were sniffing last summer around bale and modric but champo league qualification put paid to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,562 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

BERBA wrote: »
    not anymore , that monkey off the back , i believe utd were sniffing last summer around bale and modric but champo league qualification put paid to that.

ah right,we will be buying them this summer so:)

yabadabado wrote: »
    ah right,we will be buying them this summer so:)

ye dont have the cash , ye gave it all to the little greedy scouser:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭hitman79

Everton
    Howard

Coleman---Jagielka--Duffy---Baines
    Fellaini----Rodwell
    Arteta
    Gueye
    Beckford---Yakubu

Subs
    Turner
    Hibbert
    Mustafi
    Baxter
    Cahill
    Barkley
    Silva
    We'll probably still have no cash for new players by then :mad:
    And will finish about 6th :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭peabutler

Team
    Arsenal

Starting XI

Wojciech Szceszny
    Sagna Koscielny T.Vermalen G Clichy
    A.Song
    J.Wilshere A.Ramsey
    T.Walcott S.Nasri
    RVP

Subs

Fabianski
    Chamakh
    Djourou
    Clichy
    Eboue
    Jay Emmanuel Thomas
    E.Frimpong
    C.Eastmond
    Denilson
    N.Bentdner (Will get good game time due to RVP being a cripple)
    Squillaci
    Diaby
    Rosicky

Gone

Fabregas
    Almunia
    Vela
    Arshavin

Prediction

Should be 1st but who knows

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

peabutler wrote: »

Prediction

Should be 1st but who knows

No one can say that at this time, how do you know how City, United, Chelsea, Liverpool or even Spurs will progress over the next 2 seasons?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

No one can say that at this time, how do you know how City, United, Chelsea, Liverpool or even Spurs will progress over the next 2 seasons?

thats kind of the point of the thread

to make random, unfounded predictions that we can pull back up on september 1st 2012 and chuckle at