Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noisy Neighbours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

branners69 wrote: »
    Invest in as many audio receivers with woofers you can afford, I would suggest one for each of the connecting rooms upstairs and downstairs, check adverts.ie. If you dont pay too much you should get most of your money back in the end!! Place the woofers against the walls and let them do their magic and leave the house for 48 hours. If you cant leave for this long then turn them all on when you think she sleeps. You will have to leave the house as the noise is painful, it will make the fillings in your teeth rattle!

That isn't clever at all.

The OP most likely has neighbours on the other side. If the music is that loud then these neighbours who are blameless get the OP making their lives a misery for 48 hours.
    These 3rd party neighbours go through what the OP is getting now; a next door neighbour with loud music.

The advice at the top of your post was better, in my opinion of course

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭branners69

That isn't clever at all.

According to post #19 she is getting it from both sides so why not make both sides lifes a misery??

I understand why you might advise your post but it was a good attempt at getting the problem sorted!

And just to clarify I never mentioned "loud music", I would recommend deep bass which is why I said contact me about how receivers and woofers work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Post 1 and Post 19 are different posters, ah I can see the mixup here

Fair enough

Let rip and can I recommend the deep sexy voice of Barry White :p

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Graces7 wrote: »
    There is an organisation that can and will help; trying to access it on this internet connection is a *****

It is the environmental health people you need; and this group will expedite investigation and force the local environmental folk to act promptly.

They helped us greatly re serious noise issue.

Try your local council; this is a terrible situation.

Ah got it; EPA they are..
    Office of Environmental Enforcement
    Environmental Protection Agency
    They activate the local agencies ie your local enivironmental health. Never saw any local govt act so fast.
    Let us know? The reason we live in rural areas is that we have no nieighbours.
    This is the leaflet that explains the noise regs.

Just back online after a break... Did you try the epa? Now everyone is back after the break of course.

We had trouble with a digger and heavy lorries; the foundations were shaking and the noise was unbearable. We had tried the local council and they were evasive. When we emailed epa they were onto it straight away and the local council were on the job fast.

It is no use "just" sounding off.....As you know by now of course..

As ztoical keeps saying; there ARE laws. Up to you to make them work for you. In the end, you get what you are "willing" to put up with.

We are being bothered now by what sounds like gunfire very near; or a crazily set crowbanger.. We have set some local enquiries in motion and if that doesn;t sort it we will make it formal.

Found this
    http://www.herald.ie/national-news/city-news/nuisance-noise-makers-to-face-onthespot-fine-1724564.html

No idea of this ever went through?

But please; the laws are there to protect YOU; up to you.

Maybe also ask at your local Citizen;s Info? They have free legal advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 51 ✭✭CHRISTINACO

thanks branners..first message to make me smile but i think we are beyond a peace offering at this point..there is a dislike after building up between both of us now so giving her a box of chocolates would not go down well with me especially as we are not the one in the wrong..dont get me wrong,we have tried the nice approach and that has been smash landed on my face so i think i would prefer the woofers....but on the bright side our tenants have been gone somewhere for the last 2 days so we are having great peace from that side.i donth think they have ben evicted but we will enjoy the peace while we have it..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭branners69

Let rip and can I recommend the deep sexy voice of Barry White :p

For me it would be a test mp3 which has various bass frequencies, and put it on repeat and bail for a day or two. Or else hardcore porn, 24 hours of that and they will crack up!
    thanks branners..first message to make me smile but i think we are beyond a peace offering at this point..there is a dislike after building up between both of us now so giving her a box of chocolates would not go down well with me especially as we are not the one in the wrong..dont get me wrong,we have tried the nice approach and that has been smash landed on my face so i think i would prefer the woofers....but on the bright side our tenants have been gone somewhere for the last 2 days so we are having great peace from that side.i donth think they have ben evicted but we will enjoy the peace while we have it..

You could have added some tasty laxatives to the chocolates, only joking!!!

Well if you havent been successful in the nice approach then as feelingstressed says let rip!! You have to pick the time when to let rip like when they are sleeping, when they have guests, or early Sunday morning!!

Best of luck and hopefully you get it sorted soon!!

i was actually thinking of the laxatives but thought i might get in trouble for saying it....:) thanks for the advice though branners..

• Registered Users Posts: 17,340 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

davec9313 wrote: »
    Hi guys,

Could do with some advice.. Both myself and my wife are going insane with the noise from our neighbours.. The music is so loud that it wakes up our 2 year old. It's every Friday and Saturday night. The neighbours are Eastern European and their taste in music is rubbish. I am paying alot of money for a mortgage and do not feel I should have to put up with this. Some weekends the music goes from 1 pm until well after 3 in the morning.
    I have knocked in and asked them to lower the music which they do for a short while and then up the volume again.
    The landlord of the property in question once gave me the number of the estate agent dealing with the rental should I have any problem with the tenants....

My question is how much is too much to take with regards noisy neighbours ?

In a similiar enough position. A bunch of what I can only describe as young scobies in their early 20's moved in next door to me a couple of months back and while they are not too bad during the week. Once it hits Friday morning/afternoon they play extremely loud techno music basically all weekend. One weekend it went on for 25 hours solid. All nighters are no problem to these lads. The repetitive beats are often so mind-bendingly loud that I can only presume they are off their tits on drugs in there. One Saturday afternoon I knocked on their door to tell them to keep it down and some fella answered but to be honest I'm not even sure if he lived there. Could easily have just been someone there for the party. And to be honest I don't really want to have any contact with them. They don't strike me as the type who would keep quiet just because I say "pretty please". Either way it's getting to the stage now where I can feel myself getting stressed out over it. I dread weekends and can't even sleep properly with earplugs in as it's so noisy.

Would my best option be to get on to their landlord? Apparently he lets the house out through an agency so probably doesn't even know who's in there. I figure the Guards would be more or less useless. I had Chinese neighbours in the same house before these new ones arrived and they were fantastic. Not a peep out of them. I would nearly pay for their rent to have them back at this stage.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,468 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

branners69 wrote: »
    For me it would be a test mp3 which has various bass frequencies, and put it on repeat and bail for a day or two. Or else hardcore porn, 24 hours of that and they will crack up!

Postman Pat title music FTW. It actually has a really deep bass line to it, and it is incredibly short, and incredibly repetitive. I think it might actually drive someone off the edge if they had to hear it for 48 hours straight dun dunning through their wall.

In a similiar enough position. A bunch of what I can only describe as young scobies in their early 20's moved in next door to me a couple of months back and while they are not too bad during the week. Once it hits Friday morning/afternoon they play extremely loud techno music basically all weekend. One weekend it went on for 25 hours solid. All nighters are no problem to these lads. The repetitive beats are often so mind-bendingly loud that I can only presume they are off their tits on drugs in there. One Saturday afternoon I knocked on their door to tell them to keep it down and some fella answered but to be honest I'm not even sure if he lived there. Could easily have just been someone there for the party. And to be honest I don't really want to have any contact with them. They don't strike me as the type who would keep quiet just because I say "pretty please". Either way it's getting to the stage now where I can feel myself getting stressed out over it. I dread weekends and can't even sleep properly with earplugs in as it's so noisy.

Would my best option be to get on to their landlord? Apparently he lets the house out through an agency so probably doesn't even know who's in there. I figure the Guards would be more or less useless. I had Chinese neighbours in the same house before these new ones arrived and they were fantastic. Not a peep out of them. I would nearly pay for their rent to have them back at this stage.
    you have my heartfelt sympathies...if the house is leased out thru an agency you will have to contact them..if the tenants do not keep to the rules then they can be evicted.more than likely the landlord does not know anything about the tenants.even if he did he probably would not care. i also have to wear industrial earplugs that i got from ebay..suffer from earaches now. it is a terrible situation to be in.the garda can only tell them to keep it down but a garda told me the best thing to do is go to the local authority..i went last week about my 2 neighbours and he said we have a good case. u can file a complaint with the L.A. and once that is done keep a log and try and get sound recordings if u can.then you will have to go to the court house to set a date to bring the tenants to court..unfortunately it has to be the tenants and not the landlord..if you dont want to go down that route u could contact the letting agency.tell them what you are being put thru and this is what you will do if something is not done about it,no one wants to be taken to court so more than likely the tenants will stop noisy and unbearable or the agency will evict them..one or the other..good luck with that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 cookiemixer

I am now finding myself in a similar situation with some very noisy neighbours but the difference is that they shout and argue all night long (this can be heard through recently sound proofed/insulated walls and sometimes into other rooms of the apartment), slam doors and often during the day they play very loud music (the music is just awful and I can hear it through out the whole apartment – even when I have all of the doors in between rooms shut). I have spoken to the neighbours in the past but to no avail. They seem to think that our requests to be quiet and respectful are unreasonable and that we are asking them ‘to live as quiet as mice’. I finally phoned the Garda in the early hours of this morning. In the past some of the screams sounded like someone, a woman, being hurt so I didn’t want to take any chances since the one guy who lives there is large. For the last couple of months I have kept the landlord up to date and he has been helpful in as much as he can be. The company he used to find the tenants keeps telling him the management company need to act. I have sent a few emails to the management company about the situation only to be fobbed off by them. I guess my question pertains to management companies. Do they have any obligation to help owner occupiers? I am really starting to wonder what we are paying large sums of money for. Anyway, I am now in the process of lodging a complaint with Dublin City so hopefully that will bring this to a resolution.
    :(

Hi cookie mixer.
    I'm going to try the ptrb. Maybe you could try them also. I agree that us homeowners are being put into an unwanted situation by the landlords and there seems to be no help out there for us. This is so irritating and makes a lifetime of debt even more stressful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 cookiemixer

I contacted the Dublin City Council about the 'noise law'. It turns out there aren't any although the council is sending me out some forms where I can look at going through some form of the courts. I am going to look at that other option you mentioned as well. I can't believe how we can be held hostage by noisy neighbors.

Held hostage is the perfect way of putting.my neighbours are getting so brazen now they are throwing parties during the day. So what peace I should have while my kids are in school is a no hoper now. He even sits on the wall wit a joint and a cup of tea. What a life to have eh?! If only we had it so cushy.:):confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭Spiritofthekop

We tried it the last two mornings after 10am and I slammed all the doors and press doors..thought it worked up until last nite when she came back at us with slamming banging and pounding until 2am this morning and has started up again @11pm tonight. She knows when my kids go to bed and that's when she starts up. So I know she has to get on with her everyday life but I dont understand how someone can be quiet most of the day and gets elephant feet come a certain time. It's affecting our everyday life because I work at 7am on the weekends and my husband leaves for work at 6am some weekdays so between both our neighbours we get about 2 hours sleep per night. We have looked into soundproofing and it will cost us close to 7grand..we are in enough debt with a mortgage besides having to go in deeper because of these ******

Wow sorry to hear all this....she sounds like pure scum of the earth type knacker.

Before i think of buying somewere im knocking on all the houses beside the house to see what type of people live or if its rented houses

• Registered Users Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Wow sorry to hear all this....she sounds like pure scum of the earth type knacker.

Before i think of buying somewere im knocking on all the houses beside the house to see what type of people live or if its rented houses

Your best bet would be to ask the previous occupant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

old_aussie wrote: »
    I am a home owner and had a renter next door.

Just point the big bass speakers towards their place and the moment they go quite, turn your music up full blast and go out.

Worked for me.

I also use to start the mower at 7.00am and let it sit outside their bedroom window for hours.

They soon got the message.

i like the cut of your jib :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Merch

ztoical wrote: »
    The PTRB is nothing to do with home owners, they deal with renters, you need to speak with your local authority or local district court.

Thats incorrect, little known but incorrect
    spockety wrote: »
    Postman Pat title music FTW. It actually has a really deep bass line to it, and it is incredibly short, and incredibly repetitive. I think it might actually drive someone off the edge if they had to hear it for 48 hours straight dun dunning through their wall.

Thats what I was thinking (Not actually Postman Pat but that is probably ideal) I was thinking something really annoying, maybe supermarket music but postman pat sounds ideal.
    Your best bet would be to ask the previous occupant.

no it wouldn't, you dont really get to see the previous owners, agents wouldnt say a word and they would hardly say. Knock in and talk to the potential neighbours and read into it yourself.

Merch wrote: »
    no it wouldn't, you dont really get to see the previous owners, agents wouldnt say a word and they would hardly say. Knock in and talk to the potential neighbours and read into it yourself.

No harm in trying to get in touch with them, off your own bat, before you move in.

No harm I suppose, I'd check all avenues, ie knock on the neighbours door, pass by at different times, evenings/weekends to see whats going on at different times, I'd even be checking the land register and comparing that to the phone book and the PRTB website, it may reveal something, only because of experience

In fairness, sounds like you're well on top of it already!

maybe, but I'm not moving nor likely to be anytime soon, but if I was thats what I'd do
    sounds extreme but if you are paying to live somewhere, good idea to know who you will be beside.

I live beside a rented house, current lot moderate some of the previous played music non stop 3-4 nights a week 2-3-5 am, others had gangs of kids-parents out, landlords total idiots
    I'd be happier living beside full owner (not saying all tenants are asshats) but in my experience most have been.

That's just it..the private owner is a teacher with a 10 yr old boy and from a stuck up family and the tenants are nothing but drug dealing scumbags.

• Registered Users Posts: 436 ✭✭Spiritofthekop

That's just it..the private owner is a teacher with a 10 yr old boy and from a stuck up family and the tenants are nothing but drug dealing scumbags.

They come from & in all shapes & sizes and backgrounds ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 35 Scotia Major

Christinaco Iv just read the entire thread, interesting stuff I must say. You seem to be a nice woman and all and doing the right things for your kids too so it is a pity but to be honest you really need to grow a pair of balls.
    Appeasing them, sucking up to them or contacting them via 3rd partys through letters from council or whoever is not going to work any more. You need to fight force with force. What have you got to lose. She's making your life hell anyway. Get the dam woofers and put it to the wall of her room and turn them full blast when she sleeps. Be consistent, treat it as disciplining a child, do it every time she leaves the music up without fail. Banging doors the odd time is not going to help but make things worse. It will prob get worse before it gets better but it will work, you just need to go out and DO IT.

Christinaco Iv just read the entire thread, interesting stuff I must say. You seem to be a nice woman and all and doing the right things for your kids too so it is a pity but to be honest you really need to grow a pair of balls.
    Appeasing them, sucking up to them or contacting them via 3rd partys through letters from council or whoever is not going to work any more. You need to fight force with force. What have you got to lose. She's making your life hell anyway. Get the dam woofers and put it to the wall of her room and turn them full blast when she sleeps. Be consistent, treat it as disciplining a child, do it every time she leaves the music up without fail. Banging doors the odd time is not going to help but make things worse. It will prob get worse before it gets better but it will work, you just need to go out and DO IT.

I definitely don't suck up to anyone or appease them but I do agree to ur point on force with force. I believe in karma and what goes around comes around.....SOMEDAY...

A guy told me ages ago he will give me some woofers...damn I should have taken while I had the chance..real nice of him.hopefully he might be reading these threads..please if u are, I will take the woofers this time

• Registered Users Posts: 35 Scotia Major

I definitely don't suck up to anyone or appease them but I do agree to ur point on force with force. I believe in karma and what goes around comes around.....SOMEDAY...

Sorry I might have been a bit harsh there. I think it really comes down to respect. They will never respect you if you appear weak especially if you ask them to turn down music and they ignore you and then there is no consequence for their actions.
    They need to learn that their actions will result in consequences and it will be consistent. They wont like it at first, they may even up the anti for a bit, they will dispise you for a while but they will respect you and I know this because I was one of them moons ago.

Ps. Try gumtree.ie for cheap sub woofers

• Registered Users Posts: 755 ✭✭✭mr kr0nik

Couple of options.

Get a few neighbours together. Synchronise watches and ring the local garda station at the same time saying you THINK there is a fight in the house. The guards will respond if they get a few call like that at the same time. If the guards then mention anything afterwards, simply say there was so much noise that it sound like a fight. Anyone saying that this is wasting the guards time is correct but it will send a message to the renters in the house.

Otherwise just start putting the house address in the local ads for whatever (renting, car for sale etc).

They make your life a misery then pay them back.

i rang the local authority this morning and just sent them an email there..
    it was like been next door to a witches coven last night..these people are really not the type i want to draw on me. i definitly do not like them nevermind respect them..i despise them..what they are putting us through is madness.BUT to take further action we have to hand them a summons to court.not the landlord..them..its that bit we are not looking forward to..drug dealing thugs + court summons = my car windows been put in = me not very happy