Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

TA Events The Chernarus Conflict - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

Thanks for the offer but I will be driving. Just waiting for Ian to tell us if he has the numbers before I book the ferry.

Same here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Unsinnig

Anyone have any recent contact with Ian?
    Paid deposit and got confirmation from Paypal, but have heard nothing about it from TA, even after querying it by email. Supposedly we get a faction password for the forums?

I'm not getting replies from anyone I've contacted about it, and it's starting to give my boy bits friction burn.. never pleasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

I read a few posts about an inability to contact Ian, Would just like to say that Ian has always been a very honest and up front and gone out of the way to interact with the Irish community, so no one should worry. I imagine the change of location has put a lot of extra work on his desk ( remember he runs these events together with a full time job ) , I'm confident there is a reason for the lake of reply's at the moment and when Ian is avaliable he will post an update.

But on a personal note ferry booked :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭cobra 08

R.A.T.S ferry booked ;) good man johnny.
    Roll on Senny :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Unsinnig

Fair play. Thanks Puding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭cobra 08

wormbyte wrote: »
    I need to do a bit of catching up as I have been away on an IT course in London all week.

But I believe its about:

80x CDF
    10x NAPA
    60x Chedaki

Bookings system is now back and ready to take fresh bookings.

I will be re-selling the event as a new email campaign early next week to drum up fresh interest.

Lads the last count on numbers was pretty good so I wouldn't worry on that. My recommendation is just book your ferries so your not disappointed as I'm sure if there was a problem Ian would've been in touch by now. He was pretty quick to notify everyone about the site change;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭AlternateID

cobra 08 wrote: »
    He was pretty quick to notify everyone about the site change;)

To be fair if he hadn't no one would ever attend a TA game again. Ferries have to be book. Time off work needs to be arranged. Many have families and the date change alone canceled their trip. Myself, I stay over an extra night to rest so that I can play most of the 24hrs.

Last Senny game the ordit was released the day before with 123 people listed. 80 showed up. It changed game completely. During night there was only about 10 of us still going. It costs a lot to attend one of these events and personnally I expect them to be epic. Having said that TA events are my first choice for airsoft games.

As it stands I've booked nothing apart from my event ticket. I need confirmation from Ian that the event is on and the numbers are booked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭roryk1

To be fair if he hadn't no one would ever attend a TA game again. Ferries have to be book. Time off work needs to be arranged. Many have families and the date change alone canceled their trip. Myself, I stay over an extra night to rest so that I can play most of the 24hrs.

ha you dont need sleep for the 24hrs just determination :D and a tactical burger run by some poor martyer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

Are you planning on driving home after 24 hours with no sleep Roryk1? :D
    I believe that's what AlternateID is referring to. I'm doing the same...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

roryk1 wrote: »
    a tactical burger run by some poor martyer

Been there, done that, no t-shirts left though.

I haven't booked my ferry yet, still have 2 spaces in my car if anyone needs a lift. Or if anyone has space for 1 I'll jump in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭roryk1

Are you planning on driving home after 24 hours with no sleep Roryk1? :D
    I believe that's what AlternateID is referring to. I'm doing the same...

ah ok no im on a bus merry will be asleep by the time i get back onto it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Last Senny game the ordit was released the day before with 123 people listed. 80 showed up. It changed game completely. During night there was only about 10 of us still going. It costs a lot to attend one of these events and personnally I expect them to be epic. Having said that TA events are my first choice for airsoft games.

It should also be pointed out that that game was absolutely fantastic and the lower numbers combined with the completely revised order of play combined to provide an absolutely f*cking amazing weekend.

Numbers aren't everything for an event. I'd rather 50% turn-out with committed (as in to the type of game being encouraged) players vs. a higher turn-out that happens to have a large portion of absolute numpties who think it'll be one giant skirmish and pay lipservice to the storyline and experience that TA-Events - or any other event organisers - are trying to provide.

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭dwelby101

Hoppin in on the rats bus,everythin booked,hell yeah!! hopefully not the only guy from the west tho:D this's gonna be my first ever foreign mission, cant bloody wait. If anyone has info/experience on the do's and dont's regarding what to bring to senny, im all ears (at this stage it looks like iv got everything and the kitchen sink!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

dwelby101 wrote: »
    Hoppin in on the rats bus,everythin booked,hell yeah!! hopefully not the only guy from the west tho:D this's gonna be my first ever foreign mission, cant bloody wait. If anyone has info/experience on the do's and dont's regarding what to bring to senny, im all ears (at this stage it looks like iv got everything and the kitchen sink!)

I'll bring a sink :pac: , it'll be my first foreign mission too, slowly getting everything together, god caspers guide is awesome :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

dwelby101 wrote: »
    If anyone has info/experience on the do's and dont's regarding what to bring to senny, im all ears (at this stage it looks like iv got everything and the kitchen sink!)

Lots of info near the start of this topic, a quick search on boards will also provide a bit more and don't forget the info on the TA site*, all of which should answer any possible question you might have.

If something isn't covered, a lot of the lads who were there before are only too happy to answer any other questions you could have.

*before you do, get a cuppa & make yourself comfy cos its a lot of reading :D

*DOBBY* wrote: »
    Anyone heard from Ian in the last 2 weeks? Just had no response from 3 PMs I sent him on his forum.

Isn't he on holiday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭The_ChiefDUB

Shane_ef wrote: »
    Isn't he on holiday :)

That's right. I asked David Ellis (the Chedaki Commander) about this since I had gotten a couple of phone calls telling me of rumors that it was called off. It is 100% still on. David spoke with Ian this morning and all systems are go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭markomongo

From Ian today:

Hi everyone, sorry for my absense. I have had to change ISP as my last one was really screwing me about.

Anyways...I am back now. The event is still most definately on for those that had any doubts and although the numbers are less than Copehill....thank goodness as we had 350 booked in the end....the numbers that we have now are perfect for Sennybridge.

Naturally the scenario has changed slightly and full details will be released before the weekend.

More information to follow....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭*DOBBY*

With the change from Copehill to Senny, we've got a few spaces come up on the Bus and ferry.
    Bus departing from the Old Airport road Friday morning @ 7.00am (approx) for the 8.05 am Irish ferries sailing
    Coming back on the Sunday Night/ Monday morning @ 2.20am and bus back to pick up point.
    Just PM me for booking. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭elDiablo79

anybody know will there be camping area for people arriving on the friday? can u light fires to cook and have a few beers around or is it gas cookers only? cheers;)

elDiablo79 wrote: »
    anybody know will there be camping area for people arriving on the friday? can u light fires to cook and have a few beers around or is it gas cookers only? cheers;)

Torch the grass at the camping area, and there will be some very angry and altogether scary army sorts looking to have your b*llocks for breakfast. After they've been scrambled.

Lemming wrote: »
    Torch the grass at the camping area, and there will be some very angry and altogether scary army sorts looking to have your b*llocks for breakfast. After they've been scrambled.

so thats a no on the fire so but a yes thers a camping area? so is it ok to have a few beers around a led torch? or will some gay army dude want to eat my bollox?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

I wouldnt call em a 'gay army dude' matey... we get privilaged acess to this site, and others, its something they dont have to let us do, but we behave, and keep a good relationship. MANY airsofters will want your blood if you **** that privilage up for them. Yeah you can camp, theres a camp area, have a few beers with your mates, and any cooking to be done on concrete surfaces... ie road, wall, flagstone... just dont damage anything, and its grand. Bit of common sense never hurt... well no, I hear the implant surgery for some can be rather painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

so thats a no on the fire so but a yes thers a camping area? so is it ok to have a few beers around a led torch? or will some gay army dude want to eat my bollox?:D

Ah jaysis. Don't tell me I have to go find a more elitist kind of event to go to.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭FingalAirsoft

gerrowadat wrote: »
    Ah jaysis. Don't tell me I have to go find a more elitist kind of event to go to.

This is inevitable.... you guys harp on about how this is what real airsoft is about.... so naturally people will want to check it out and then it becomes mainstream... so now you have to look for something else!

I'm sure you'll find a troll-a-ton convention somewhere where you guys can stand around and comment how good you look in ACU or Multi-sham and maybe get a game in between the tea and cake!:p:p:p:p

This is inevitable.... you guys harp on about how this is what real airsoft is about.... so naturally people will want to check it out and then it becomes mainstream... so now you have to look for something else!

I'm sure you'll find a troll-a-ton convention somewhere where you guys can stand around and comment how good you look in ACU or Multi-sham and maybe get a game in between the tea and cake!:p:p:p:p

A masterpiece. Up there with the 'you're just a computer nerd' tirade of 2010. Don't ever change, Brennikins.

i cant help but notice the similarity with indie scene kids, and that statement gerrowadat ;) OMG its not underground enough! I must find a more 'cool' 'unknown' event! hehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 913 ✭✭✭fayer

Firekitten wrote: »
    i cant help but notice the similarity with indie scene kids, and that statement gerrowadat ;) OMG its not underground enough! I must find a more 'cool' 'unknown' event! hehe

Batteries.jpg

I think your sarcasm detector is buggered fayer, not ours ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Yes, there's plenty of camping. Your welcome pack will include a map and there will be plenty of people to show you around.

Yes, you can use a gas fire/JetBoil/Tommy Cooker/Trangia. There's plenty of concrete around to light stuff on. The golden rule is to leave the place the same as or better than you find it, i.e. absolutely spotless. We're guests.

Yes, a few beers around the lamps & torches is fine. You probably won't want to overdo it, you'll need to be bright eyed & bushy tailed for Saturday morning.

OzCam wrote: »
    Yes, there's plenty of camping. Your welcome pack will include a map and there will be plenty of people to show you around.

Yes, you can use a gas fire/JetBoil/Tommy Cooker/Trangia. There's plenty of concrete around to light stuff on. The golden rule is to leave the place the same as or better than you find it, i.e. absolutely spotless. We're guests.

Yes, a few beers around the lamps & torches is fine. You probably won't want to overdo it, you'll need to be bright eyed & bushy tailed for Saturday morning.

cheers man thanks for the useful info ;) ah ye i mean just 1or2 beers and to have a chat about the game.

I wouldnt call em a 'gay army dude' matey... we get privilaged acess to this site, and others, its something they dont have to let us do, but we behave, and keep a good relationship. MANY airsofters will want your blood if you **** that privilage up for them. Yeah you can camp, theres a camp area, have a few beers with your mates, and any cooking to be done on concrete surfaces... ie road, wall, flagstone... just dont damage anything, and its grand. Bit of common sense never hurt... well no, I hear the implant surgery for some can be rather painful.

matey?? i wasnt the one who said they eat bollox. i asked a simple question and got a condescending answer, so i gave one back.
    like the answer you gave me good information apart from the condescending rubbish. thanks again :D;):p

I liked all the things you like before they were cool, and now I don't like them any more. I even have a beard.

gerrowadat wrote: »
    I liked all the things you like before they were cool, and now I don't like them any more. I even have a beard.
    You confuse me mr gerrowadat.... oh wait, the beard makes you wise and 'edgy'... like new bohemian?

matey?? i wasnt the one who said they eat bollox. i asked a simple question and got a condescending answer, so i gave one back.

I was the one that gave you the answer. And it's actually quite true. If you damage the site, the powers in charge of admin at the village will notice it, especially if it's a campfire burn on the grass. The site is inspected shortly after the event by army personnel. If you stick around after an event, you'll see entire buildings & roads being swept clear of BBs and pyro into bin bags to be carried up to the site refuse point.

There have been incidents in the past (not criminal damage, but disrespectful nonetheless) that have adversely affected the availability of MoD sites for airsofters. Leave it as you found it. The MoD take that sentence literally when it comes to leasing out their facilities.

And I guaruantee you, when (not if) grass burns from a campfire are noticed there will be some very unhappy army sorts that will be perfectly happy to cut your balls off and feed them to you. And a very long line of airsofters behind them waiting to superglue them back onto you so they can do similar after the MoD says "don't come back".

In short; common sense will go a long way.

To put it in a blunt way for eldiablo, Yes, the responses were somewhat sarcastic, but no less true.

As ex forces, I can TELL you, with utter certainty, that if you were to damage the site calously, by having a fire, the staff that run the site, would provide you with a testicular sandwitch from your own fridge, as it were. May sound rude or blunt, but you'd get screwed for it. Vandalism charges, and likelyhood that no more airsoft games would be allowed. Thus another bunch would come after you. Use your head. its not your property.

If you want to have a few beers... feel free, most people do. Everyone socialises, but dont drink too much, if you're still drunk in the morning, you dont play, full stop. Long way to come for a hangover in the woods. have a few, relax, socialise, mix with other players, its a great social part of the event that makes it much more interesting. Everyhing in moderation eh?

And I guaruantee you, when (not if) grass burns from a campfire are noticed there will be some very unhappy army sorts that will be perfectly happy to cut your balls off and feed them to you. And a very long line of airsofters behind them waiting to superglue them back onto you so they can do similar after the MoD says "don't come back".

In short; common sense will go a long way.[/QUOTE]

i asked cud u light a fire for cookin simple Q. i didnt say i was goin to light 1 even if it wasnt allowed. thats why i asked but again you gave me some useful info thanks but also useless condescending crap.;) cheers i know how to clean up after myself.

To put it in a blunt way for eldiablo, Yes, the responses were somewhat sarcastic, but no less true.

As ex forces, I can TELL you, with utter certainty, that if you were to damage the site calously, by having a fire, the staff that run the site, would provide you with a testicular sandwitch from your own fridge, as it were. May sound rude or blunt, but you'd get screwed for it. Vandalism charges, and likelyhood that no more airsoft games would be allowed. Thus another bunch would come after you. Use your head. its not your property.

If you want to have a few beers... feel free, most people do. Everyone socialises, but dont drink too much, if you're still drunk in the morning, you dont play, full stop. Long way to come for a hangover in the woods. have a few, relax, socialise, mix with other players, its a great social part of the event that makes it much more interesting. Everyhing in moderation eh?

VANDALISM i mean come on i just asked cud u light a bleedin fire for cookin a simple yes or no they dont allow open fires on the site wud have been enough. the last part of your reply thanks this is the kind of info i was lookin for but why you needed to write the rest of the condescending rubbish i just dont know. i mean wat age are you both?? grow up. anyway enough of this sillyness i dont know about you both but i cant wait for this trip and i look forward to meeting you and enjoying the event. and you never know we might even all have a beer together. cheers;)

i asked cud u light a fire for cookin simple Q. i didnt say i was goin to light 1 even if it wasnt allowed. thats why i asked but again you gave me some useful info thanks but also useless condescending crap.;) cheers i know how to clean up after myself.

Allow me to refresh your memory;

What you asked for was a campfire more than anything to cook with. If you were really interested in cooking, there are far easier, quicker, and reliable ways to cook food than to use a campfire (which again ... is exactly what you asked for from your description above).

You asked a simple question; and you received a very simple answer that actually answered two of your questions. Yes there's a camp-site, & no, campfires are a very bad idea and not allowed. Period. Unless they're on concrete of course, like hexi-burners and such.

If you think I'm being condescending about this, there really is no grey area here. The MoD will be so fickle as to say "don't call us, we'll call you" over something like this. They did so over something far less 'damaging' to property in the past regarding CDV.

VANDALISM i mean come on i just asked cud u light a bleedin fire for cookin a simple yes or no they dont allow open fires on the site wud have been enough. the last part of your reply thanks this is the kind of info i was lookin for but why you needed to write the rest of the condescending rubbish i just dont know. i mean wat age are you both?? grow up. anyway enough of this sillyness i dont know about you both but i cant wait for this trip and i look forward to meeting you and enjoying the event. and you never know we might even all have a beer together. cheers;)
    Its not just you hon. Its everyone.

We have come VERY close in the past to losing this precious access. 'ah sure it'll be grand' attitude of airsofters the world over.

the army doesnt like us. The only reason we get access is because they make money.

Im not saying that for YOU. im letting others that read this see WHY its a bad idea. Total 'NO' response, is more likely to get people to notice it than a 'no its not allowed'

I understand the british army's mentality to airsoft better than you can all understand, I understand just how tenuous our ability to play there and other similar locations is. I want to safeguard that. Perhaps we will all have a beer, Infact, I hope we do. Will be good to put faces to names. I just hope you understand why im being over defensive about this?

Allow me to refresh your memory;

What you asked for was a campfire more than anything to cook with. If you were really interested in cooking, there are far easier, quicker, and reliable ways to cook food than to use a campfire (which again ... is exactly what you asked for from your description above).

You asked a simple question; and you received a very simple answer that actually answered two of your questions. Yes there's a camp-site, & no, campfires are a very bad idea and not allowed. Period. Unless they're on concrete of course, like hexi-burners and such.

If you think I'm being condescending about this, there really is no grey area here. The MoD will be so fickle as to say "don't call us, we'll call you" over something like this. They did so over something far less 'damaging' to property in the past regarding CDV.

CAN YOU LIGHT FIRES TO COOK AND HAVE A FEW BEERS AROUND is wat i asked i didnt ask wat wud happen if i lit a fire even tough there not allowed because i want to break the site rules. and thats the way u answered it. look just get over it matey youve already said all this in other replys. good luck and relax there wont be any fires and ill even stay back and clean up to help out the organizers. no hassle ;)

Its not just you hon. Its everyone.

We have come VERY close in the past to losing this precious access. 'ah sure it'll be grand' attitude of airsofters the world over.

the army doesnt like us. The only reason we get access is because they make money.

Im not saying that for YOU. im letting others that read this see WHY its a bad idea. Total 'NO' response, is more likely to get people to notice it than a 'no its not allowed'

I understand the british army's mentality to airsoft better than you can all understand, I understand just how tenuous our ability to play there and other similar locations is. I want to safeguard that. Perhaps we will all have a beer, Infact, I hope we do. Will be good to put faces to names. I just hope you understand why im being over defensive about this?

no worries i wudnt do anything to jeopardize airsoft being played on any site and thats why i wanted to know before i went over to senny. thanks again.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭thermo

ok folks keep it civil, or bans/infractions will be handed out. Some of you have been warned already, you know who you are.

Anyway. Only 688Hours and 54mins Until Game time :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Ratsquad

so is there fires aloud :rolleyes::p..only kidding.
    i would have asked the same question as for those who have not been before have to ask first. and do rely on the more experienced of senny.

i would have thought there would have been a controlled fire area initialised by the organisers .say in a barrell or a concreted area. its a simple question that could have been given a simple reply without the loud you should know better attitude.
    just because you havent been to senny doesent mean your an immature idiot thats goin to light fires everywhere. and throw litter around.

oh heres another stupid question for ye is there any bins. or can we just throw our **** every where.
    civil answers on a postcard to.....fukupthecountryside lobby group.
    ballsbridge
    d.4:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

normally you will be provided with a bin bag when your register, this can be used for rubbish, your responsible for cleaning up after yourself rubbish needs to be left outside the church at the end of exercise

normally we will buy a roll of bin bags as well within the group im traveling with

Ratsquad wrote: »
    just because you havent been to senny doesent mean your an immature idiot thats goin to light fires everywhere. and throw litter around.

Or so you'd think ....

I stayed behind after CC1 to help Ian clear up as he had no manpower to help as he had had few volunteers to help with admin that weekend. And from supposedly mature folks, the camping area looked like the aftermath of a music festival. Between people leaving tents fully pitched and/or half collapsed/trashed, sleeping bags, ground-mats, all manner of crap lying around, BBQ stands (not those little metal tins, but a bloody stand on wheels with charcoal lumps), etc. it was absolutely appalling and incredibly disrespectful to our hosts. I do not exaggerate, and hence why at CC2 there was a far more stringent emphasis put on cleaning up after yourself.
    oh heres another stupid question for ye is there any bins. or can we just throw our **** every where.

Dear fukupthecountryside lobby group, yes you can throw your crap everywhere; just don't be surprised when you're told exactly what people think of you.

On a more helpful note, going by past events each player will be provided with a black bin bag for policing their rubbish. You either then leave your bin bag out (depending on what building you're in, or the campsite area) to be picked up or if you want to be really helpful you can take your rubbish up to the refuse area (large metal container with brick wall around three sides) to one side of the village.

I case anyone is interested dunnes are selling cheapo Irish flags for €3, full size flag just well it's €3 quality but good for €3

Or so you'd think ....

I stayed behind after CC1 to help Ian clear up as he had no manpower to help as he had had few volunteers to help with admin that weekend. And from supposedly mature folks, the camping area looked like the aftermath of a music festival. Between people leaving tents fully pitched and/or half collapsed/trashed, sleeping bags, ground-mats, all manner of crap lying around, BBQ stands (not those little metal tins, but a bloody stand on wheels with charcoal lumps), etc. it was absolutely appalling and incredibly disrespectful to our hosts. I do not exaggerate, and hence why at CC2 there was a far more stringent emphasis put on cleaning up after yourself.

Dear fukupthecountryside lobby group, yes you can throw your crap everywhere; just don't be surprised when you're told exactly what people think of you.

On a more helpful note, going by past events each player will be provided with a black bin bag for policing their rubbish. You either then leave your bin bag out (depending on what building you're in, or the campsite area) to be picked up or if you want to be really helpful you can take your rubbish up to the refuse area (large metal container with brick wall around three sides) to one side of the village.

now thats helpfull information :) thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Ratsquad

Or so you'd think ....

there ye go ..now that dident hurt ..did it ..;) .
    i think i like ye now....mwah..xx