Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

TA Events The Chernarus Conflict - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

Its possible to ask questions without being so horrifically sarcastic and cheeky.

Lemming has probably the most international gaming experience on the darn forum. Taking the piss and purposefully asking stupid questions that are simply neglegent, and common sense. If its genuine, you can phrase it better, if its to wind up lemming, Cut it out, and show the man a little respect that he deserves. He goes out of his way to provide advice, and share his knowlage for events such as this, and he doesnt need people taking the piss to get a rise.

Grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭cobra 08

Firekitten wrote: »
    Its possible to ask questions without being so horrifically sarcastic and cheeky.

Lemming has probably the most international gaming experience on the darn forum. Taking the piss and purposefully asking stupid questions that are simply neglegent, and common sense. If its genuine, you can phrase it better, if its to wind up lemming, Cut it out, and show the man a little respect that he deserves. He goes out of his way to provide advice, and share his knowlage for events such as this, and he doesnt need people taking the piss to get a rise.

Grow up.
    I think we need to calm down a little. Although Lemming us experienced in such events and his advice is very helpful his first answers where given with a little sarcasm so really a little in return should be expected. If you believe this to be disrespectful (which I don't think was intended) well than he would be the one who cast the first stone, would he not?
    And I'm not trying to get a rise out of anybody with this post just trying to calm it down a little due to the fact that we are all going to be playing together at this event and would hate to see a bit of silly forum tit for tat spill onto the game field. We all want to enjoy the weekend and any advice given by Lemming I'm sure the lads will take onboard :D

Theres no tiff going on frankly. One person makes a stupid question, which would seem logical in answer, it was answered in a humourous manner, that was taken wrongly, Yeah, big mistake. Last question though was utterly antagonistic...

you dont seriously think that 'can we just throw our rubbish anywhere' and the following response were serious do you?

This has gone far overboard as you say, but im afraid the blame doesnt lie with Lemming, it lies with stupid responses and cheeky stabs.

Lets just move the heck on.

Theres no tiff going on frankly. One person makes a stupid question, which would seem logical in answer, it was answered in a humourous manner, that was taken wrongly, Yeah, big mistake. Last question though was utterly antagonistic...

you dont seriously think that 'can we just throw our rubbish anywhere' and the following response were serious do you?

This has gone far overboard as you say, but im afraid the blame doesnt lie with Lemming, it lies with stupid responses and cheeky stabs.

Lets just move the heck on.

But if he answered a question in a humorous manner how is asking a question in a humorous manner any more disrespectful ?Assuming your referring too Ratsquads question!

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭Gray

There is no such thing as a stupid question only stupid answers.

If you don't know the rules you can either ask people or just go & do what you feel like & hope your not wrong.

Sensible is asking a question that you don't know the answer to but you know where to get it.

Stupid is just taking a guess & being wrong when you could have just asked.

A question was asked of the community in general & reply's given, some sensible & some sarcastic. If you start giving sarcastic reply's don't be upset when you get a sarcastic response to them.

If people feel a question is beneath them maybe they should not respond to them.

you want to snipe at people? (aimed at everyone here) do it with a god damn airsoft gun, on the site. Lets not end up bitching and whining like 13 yearolds at sports day. We ALL need to grow the hell up, and get on with whats going to be an amazing event.

To make things simple:

Ask a question if you have one, but be polite.

If you're going to answer, Be polite.

Questions and answers you see as impolite or rude, or stupid, ignore. If you want your question answered, you know how. If you want your reply listened to, you know how. Lets try and vaguely act like adults we apparently are. ok?

I'll say now, I Invite Anyone on boards to the Barn on friday night for a drink. Bring your booze, and your happy face, and we can all socialise together, irespective of 'team' or 'side'.

One Boards.

My comments weren't meant to "snipe" at anyone just to point out that in my view I don't think that anyone ment to disrepect Lemming and that his views are indeed worth taking onboard:D

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭Gray

Ask a question if you have one, but be polite.

If you're going to answer, Be polite.

Questions and answers you see as impolite or rude, or stupid, ignore. If you want your question answered, you know how. If you want your reply listened to, you know how. Lets try and vaguely act like adults we apparently are. ok?

Well put, lets get back to talking about the important things in life beer & BB's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Betty Blue

Guys on a Lighter Note,If anybody Still hasn't arranged Transport or is Stuck to get over, We Still have a Couple of Seat available, Just PM for Details:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Ratsquad

still luv ye all...hic...big hug firkitten and a big hug lemming...:Di

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭Betty Blue

Ratsquad wrote: »
    still luv ye all...hic...big hug firkitten and a big hug lemming...:Di

On The Vino Again;)

Admitedly that is mildly concerning Cobra ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

AIRSOFT IS THE REAL WINNER!!!!

Everoyne calm the **** down. In fairness everoyne has some fault here.

A genuine question was asked in fairness, from someone with no experience abroad by his own admission.

A simple answer should have sufficed and we all would have moved on.

Lets just review what has happend here
    anybody know will there be camping area for people arriving on the friday? can u light fires to cook and have a few beers around or is it gas cookers only? cheers

The answer that should have been offered was
    Well there is typically some moderate drinking going on the night before. If your in the camp area fires are probably a no no. Your given a binbag on sign in to collect rubbish.

Sure when you sign in you can ask specifics about what you can or can't do and the admins on sign in can let you know.

My sister could have writtern that answer without any knowledge of airsoft. Instead of the question being answered, **** got real out of nowhere.

Bit of cop on folks. While alot of us posting here have had a fair few trips, there are people who havn't, and this is "supposed" to be the place to get information.

*Just realised everyone kissed and made up, but my posts awesome so im keeping it*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭elDiablo79

right i hav a gud one:). snap lights? does each team have to hav a certain colour or can u just use any colour u want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,397 ✭✭✭MerryDespot

I feel a distrubance in the force ... Doc is actually giving advice and being sound?!

Fair play though - there are a lot of people posting on here, but undoubtedly many more just passing through and looking at these posts scratching their heads in wonder, as I have been for most of this evening.

I, for one, have been following this thread to get actual info - like, what's the craic with the attendance/ORBAT, as well as the other stuff like 'what stuff do I need to bring' etc.

elDiablo79 wrote: »
    right i hav a gud one:). snap lights? does each team have to hav a certain colour or can u just use any colour u want?

I would think it wouldnt matter. In saying that it's my first trip so maybe not the best man to answer :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭conor-mr2

Well it is becoming a concern that very little has been coming out of the TA forums as of late.

You get one with your pack.I still have my last two. Colour doesnt matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

you will be issued a snap light again at registration, you will use this at night when you get hit to avoid others firing on you, colour does not matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭AlternateID

conor-mr2 wrote: »
    Well it is becoming a concern that very little has been coming out of the TA forums as of late.

I'll be cancelling two tickets this Friday if there isn't an orbat or at the very least confirmation of numbers.

This is an expensive trip and time off from work has to be booked and planned for.

I'll be cancelling two tickets this Friday if there isn't an orbat or at the very least confirmation of numbers.

This is an expensive trip and time off from work has to be booked and planned for.

Agreed.

• Registered Users Posts: 81 ✭✭jack s

me too, I need to know by Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭JonnyTwoCombs

I feel a distrubance in the force ... Doc is actually giving advice and being sound?!

Is that what that was? :eek: I was going to call the Timelord

But luckly, we seem to have gotten away with it this time. Next time we might not be so fortunate ;)

As Pudding said, will be issued. Green usually, Red for marshals, and out of bounds areas.

Fair play though - there are a lot of people posting on here, but undoubtedly many more just passing through and looking at these posts scratching their heads in wonder, as I have been for most of this evening.

I, for one, have been following this thread to get actual info - like, what's the craic with the attendance/ORBAT, as well as the other stuff like 'what stuff do I need to bring' etc.
    Its on its way, ian is just back from his jolly holls, and will be finalising it as we speak. Progress is being made.
    For 'what do I need to bring' I will pop up an advisory topic in events if you'd like?
    conor-mr2 wrote: »
    It happens, lots happens, then silence, then lots, then event. Nothing really abnormal.

Well, not long to go. I don't know about all of you, but I'm getting pretty excited... A good game to be had, but what can make it easier?Milsim, or battlesim games like this, can be played on the bare minimum of sunday skirmish kit, marsbar pouch included, but for a 24 hour event, a few little things to remember can be key. First, we'll look at essentials, then move onto comfort Items.

Gat... Well, some method of firing bbs, be it your little slingbacker or your big tan masada with ris tea cup holder, its rather important.

Important:
    Gas,
    Mags,
    Ammo,
    Spare parts that may break... hop rubber perhaps, a few small tools, spare body pins for the likes of m4s. If you have them, it can make the difference between a broken gun, and a working one. Obviously your gearbox launching itself merrily out of your barrel cant be helped.

Kit... Bdus, Webbing... we all know the craic with that, but small things can help. A second set of bdus, kept dry in a bin bag or drysack, for when you get soggy and miserable is a huge morale boost. A second pair of socks is important too, and your little y fronts. Think ahead, its two days in essentially, the open. Plan ahead, and plan for comfort. Even the army carry spare socks on ops.

Sleeping... We all need to, nomatter how much posturing and 'im going to stay up' happens, at about 3am, you will wish that you had somewhere to sleep. (Unless you're doc, and just need redbull).
    Sleeping bag, I would hope, is obvious. Doesnt need to be an army one, your old superted one from your teens works just fine, but do expect to be laughed at.
    Ground mat, or cot.... very important. Insulates you from the cold floor as much as makes you comfortable, anything will do. Foam mats, (no roll mat fights please, we aren't the marines) self inflating mats, or american style cots are grand and can be found fairly cheap. Think ahead, it will make the difference.

Location... Sleeping locations vary. Friday, its either the camp site area, or a random building of your choice should you wish to be far away from everyone else for some welsh broke back mountain antics. (just clean up after ok?) Or, there is the barn near building 11, which is a permanent safe zone/ sleep area for whoever is there. Grand if there's space.

Tidying up... As has been said, Binbags are provided on registration. We're guests of TA events, and guests of the MOD. We treat what is essentially, the countryside, as such. Leave it as we find it. Clean up your rubbish and camping kit, In the past, people have left whole tents festeval stylee... and its caused big problems and severe annoyance. Fires... no, cook with gas stoves, or small disposible bbqs, ON concrete surfaces, any damage is bad damage... (as if good damage exists, (Oh wait, liver, nevermind))

Food and water... Well, we all need to eat. There is a burger van, and some live off that, but its best to bring your own food to supliment such unhealthy eating, otherwise sunday may consist of casevacing those with heart attacks. Water is a big requirement, the site doesnt have potable water. Bring your own, even if that means stopping in Aldi in sennybridge town for a 5l bottle or two. (2 per person is recomended)

Torch... Self explanatory, really, but extremely useful, and not just to find the enemy! I recomend a decently powered unit, and a red filter for the lens, to read your map, hit card, or even just light yourself to identify as hit... Red wont nuke your natural Gen C (Carrot) Night vision, plus, it doesnt refract like white light, so reading a map with it wont give your position away. Too cheap to buy a filter? I hope you like cheese, a red babybell wrapper is excelent for a torch filter.

Knife/ Multitool... No, your name isnt John Rambo, or Crocodile Dundee, you wont need to gut any enemy combatants, but tools like these can be kept in a pouch or pocket, and add next to no weight, but can prove useful cutting string, fixing your aeg, tape... you name it, im sure you can find a use. Its easier to have one, than not.

Lighter... Now not everyone is cool enough to smoke, but a little fire stick is useful. It doen't need to be a zippo, but a cheap disposible lighter from your local news agents can be very helpful... especially when cold, wet and hungry, and that cold ration pack or dry bar of noddles doesnt look apetising... Plus, you can melt the end of cut webbing strap or para cord, (or cauterise wounds (slowly) (ok possibly joking about the last bit)

Tape... Black electrical tape will save your life..... quite literally. its cheap, light, and compact, and can waterproof cracks, tape your gucci torch to your gucci rifle in a less than gucci manner, or fix your broken boot. Its stretchy, waterproof, and can find a use just about anywhere. Remember that old adage, 'if you cant fix it with electrical tape, you cant fix it' ? yes? It's very true.
    One more extreme use that I personally have found works wonders, is for blister repair! got a blister from your gucci new boots? stick a plaster on it, and lightly wrap the ankle in electrical tape, it stops the sock and boot rubbing the plaster off, and provides a slick smooth surface to reduce friction, pretty much stopping any further problems. I've used this for years, and in times where a blister doesnt get you out of that 20k stroll. (I had sparky on my foot for 40 miles of the 100 in the Annual Nijmagen March in the Netherlands)

Haribo... It's morale in a bag... it fits in your pouches and pockets, and provides much needed quick easy sugar when you're down, and shared with your squad, is more likely to result in them taking a BB for you to ensure its continued supply.... Just buy some.

so what do you NEED to bring? (bare minimum)
    Sleeping bag
    ground mat
    gat of your liking
    warry type clothing
    water
    food
    torch

What Can you add to make it better? (ideal kit list)

Sleeping bag
    cot/roll mat
    As many Gat's as you can transport
    warry type clothing and tacticool molle stuffs.
    Water
    food
    soux chef
    torch
    multitool
    haribos
    electrical tape
    lighter/matches
    spares for your guns.
    battery charger / spare batteries (yes for the torch too)
    your war face

Well I hope this helps, Feel free to add things you would think might be helpful to the topic, and ask any questions you may have, or possibly think relevant. This is the place to ask.
    Enjoy
    Firekitten/Rachael

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Ratsquad

very useful Rachael. look forward to playing with all you vets .
    cheers
    paddy

I would like to add sanitising gel and/or baby wipes.
    These can come in handy for eating both on and off the game field;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭StevieGriff

Heads up: By gat she means guns, not drink.. I had a bit of a double take moment when I saw "gat":P

+1 on the baby wipes worth there weight in gold :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,120 ✭✭✭moggser

Heads up: By gat she means guns, not drink.. I had a bit of a double take moment when I saw "gat":P

my gawd i hope so cause im not running round senny in a ****ing thong..:):)

nice post very usefull even for the vet's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

What to bring thread merged with this one. No need for two threads for the same event.
    Have fun folks :)

moggser wrote: »
    my gawd i hope so cause im not running round senny in a ****ing thong..:):)

nice post very usefull even for the vet's
    Don't worry Moggser, we dont want you to do that either. Its play war, not real psyops >>

////////Completely unrelated next sentence///////////////////
    And cheers for the compliment. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭OzCam

Snaplights: you'll be issued one at registration. Most of them have been green at previous events. Green appears brightest after dark (due to the way the eye processes colours).

Red snaplights are carried by marshals and are also used to mark out-of-bounds areas and hazards.

You can use whatever you like in your tent.

OzCam wrote: »
    Snaplights: you'll be issued one at registration. Most of them have been green at previous events. Green appears brightest after dark (due to the way the eye processes colours).

Red snaplights are carried by marshals and are also used to mark out-of-bounds areas and hazards.

You can use whatever you like in your tent.

thx for correcting me on that one, tbh know i think about it every time it has been the same although for some reason my brain did not appear to click....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

The chances of the event actually not going ahead is pretty slim I would have thought. You'd also think people who've been to more than one ta event wouldn't assume they were a bunch of fly-by-nights because they're not updating a web forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

We have in the past rolled with ORBATs given to us on the saturday morning due to unforseen and very trying difficulties for TA-Events, so until it's heard from TA-Events themselves this is all a bit of a case of captain overreaction in my opinion. For the forum to be quiet in the run-up to an event is not unusual either for those concerned about that, only to see a flurry of activity in the last weeks.

In any case, smaller numbers of players will simply mean that the pace of play becomes slower and far more tactical. Who knows, people might even enjoy it, rather than finding themselves in a constant BB storm.

Ian has had to redo the orbat, and game plan, and is working extremely hard at the moment to get a game to function. The MOD forced the game out of copehill, and forced a replan. However, the game is very much still going ahead. NO rumours exist of the game being canceled from TA events end. This seems to have cropped up on boards somehow... im at a loss to explain how or why. As far as my chatting to ian and our side commander goes, neither thinks its off... lol.

Many have said Alternate ID, the quiet patch is normal, it is still 37 days to the event.... yonks away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,120 ✭✭✭moggser

ooooh 37 more sleeps to senny time dunno bout you lot im all fuzzy inside waiting on this ...havent been this excited since the time i forgot how to sit down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Ian has had to redo the orbat, and game plan, and is working extremely hard at the moment to get a game to function. The MOD forced the game out of copehill, and forced a replan. However, the game is very much still going ahead. NO rumours exist of the game being canceled from TA events end. This seems to have cropped up on boards somehow... im at a loss to explain how or why.

From what I heard it just came about from a lack of communication although it stemmed from a small " **** I hope its not off" to a " **** lads its off"

Afaik the Orbat is always like a couple of days beforehand, PR2 we were assigned sections and section leaders on the day.

Really not fussed about not having the orbat weeks in advance.

Week before get told what section I'm in is more then enough notice , then on the day get a brief in the morning as always from platoon and section command

And in all honesty, there is **** all action on the forum anyway, PR3 when I was rocking a secondary Platoon command there was ZERO comms from platoon strength or other sections on the forums, so I didn't bother since it was handy enough to brief on the day.

Like Moggy, I'm ****ing buzzing. Even if the game is average the banter levels are always sky high

Agreed, Really looking forward to this so much. Its going to be propper boss!
    Still stuck deciding what leeeeeetle toys to bring.... too many gorgeous gucci guns, too few hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭Unsinnig

Have a tasty shipment of Flecktarn coming in from Germany on Friday, and received a few new bits 'n bobs yesterday. I've a dump/gasmask pouch the size of Brian Cowen's gut! Jaysus, it looked a fair bit smaller online! I might look a fool with it on, but if anyone needs a place to sleep during the event, sure I've got a fairly warm studio apartment to rent on my upper thigh :D

As for something to make pew-pew with, I've been waiting for my T4-18 to clear customs since before Christmas. Poor Shiva keeps having me bothering him weekly for updates, but we can't hurry the ballistics lads now, can we :D.
    Failing which I'm going to have to come over with my SOCOM gear MEU (the only gun I own), and 30 or 40 magazines taped to various extremities. When life gives you lemons...

Other than that pain in the hole, I'm effing psyched!

Comes a point when you realise youve spent too much money on toys... and you physically cannot decide which is your favourite gun... Every flipping one of mine has been built to suit me, and has reached its pinacle of comfort and kick assery.... damn hard decisions :( the gucci pmc ak, the tar21s... the sa80a2... damn, i need a bigger pack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭deepimpact

Does anyone have a rough idea of what numbers are like at the moment? I'm still trying to get onto NAPA and there is no updated numbers that I can find on the TA-Events site.

Oh, and if anyone has WAS M4 pouches, do they fit AK74 magazines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

scanlant wrote: »
    Oh, and if anyone has WAS M4 pouches, do they fit AK74 magazines?
    To the best of my knowledge, yes they do :)

Thanks Lefty, that saves me from buying a whole new set of pouches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

scanlant wrote: »
    Thanks Lefty, that saves me from buying a whole new set of pouches.
    You'd struggle to fit two though.

One is enough for what I have planned for my loadout.

I know thier bungee top ones fit one in... TIGHT, but fits, have to go in bottom down, the locking lip is too broad for WAS pouches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

What's the story with glow sticks, for lighting "secured" buildings at night, or lighting doors and stairs to help spot any Mysterious people trying to sneak up on you, i know some Irish retailer sells them but can't for the life of me find them.

Shane_ef wrote: »
    What's the story with glow sticks, for lighting "secured" buildings at night, or lighting doors and stairs to help spot any Mysterious people trying to sneak up on you, i know some Irish retailer sells them but can't for the life of me find them.

Here ye go these sell them
    http://armyshop.ie/c6080-lighting.html?page=0,all