Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Facebook fookheads

• 16-11-2010 3:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

Has anybody ever had some impersonate them on facebook. Well yeah I found another me with a new account, pretending to be me except just insulting people I used to know. I am hurt and really angry. What is some peoples problems, I have been anything other than a nice person yet some retard has decided to impersonate me.
    I have reported to facebook but they cant do anything. So angry, feel like going to the guards and getting them to find out their identity.:mad:

Does anyone else have any experience of this

Seriously, some people have no life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭deathrider

I've ssen this happen to one of my best mate, although I don't think there was any abuse going on. I don't know the full deal, as the fake won't add me or my mate on for obvious reasons, so we have no idea who it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Daisy Steiner

It's called being 'fraped' and only assholes do it.

Log yourself out op, and change your password!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

That's a bit sh1t. Do they have a profile picture up of you?
    Most people will realize it's not you if it's way out of character.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

That's a bit sh1t. Do they have a profile picture up of you?
    Most people will realize it's not you if it's way out of character.

No, they dont have a profile pic but they know a lot about me clearly. I have had to take down all my pics so they wont get robbed.

Sorry, I misunderstood the situation, that's crap!

Somebody in my group of friends did that and a load of people added them thinking it was one of our friends.

What a freakish thing to do, nosy bastids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

It's called being 'fraped' and only assholes do it.

Log yourself out op, and change your password!

The OP isnt being fraped. Someone has created another facebook account of the same name and is using their identity to insult people from the OP's past.

Op, you best bet would be to report the account to facebook for impersonation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭CliffHuxtabel

Call the Frape Crisis Centre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

MUSEIST wrote: »
    Has anybody ever had some impersonate them on facebook. Well yeah I found another me with a new account, pretending to be me except just insulting people I used to know. I am hurt and really angry. What is some peoples problems, I have been anything other than a nice person yet some retard has decided to impersonate me.
    I have reported to facebook but they cant do anything. So angry, feel like going to the guards and getting them to find out their identity.:mad:

Why won't facebook do anything ?

http://www.facebook.com/#!/terms.php

3.6 You will not bully, intimidate, or harass any user.

3.7 You will not post content that: is hateful, threatening, or pornographic; incites violence; or contains nudity or graphic or gratuitous violence.

3.10 You will not use Facebook to do anything unlawful, misleading, malicious, or discriminatory.

4.1 You will not provide any false personal information on Facebook, or create an account for anyone other than yourself without permission.

5.1 You will not post content or take any action on Facebook that infringes or violates someone else's rights or otherwise violates the law.

5.2 We can remove any content or information you post on Facebook if we believe that it violates this Statement.

Just a few quick points from there own terms, can't understand why they won't get rid of the account.

No, they dont have a profile pic but they know a lot about me clearly. I have had to take down all my pics so they wont get robbed.

The guy who impersonated my mate had a profile pic. He'd nicked it from the band's website. So everyone thought it was my mate.

Caliden wrote: »
    The OP isnt being fraped. Someone has created another facebook account of the same name and is using their identity to insult people from the OP's past.

Op, you best bet would be to report the account to facebook for impersonation.

yep, I've clarified my mistake, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

Go to the Guards then - people shouldn't get away with behaviour like that just because it's on the internet. If it was just a very bad joke, fair enough, but if it's malicious, then f**k 'em. Complain.

SoulTrader wrote: »
    Go to the Guards then - people shouldn't get away with behaviour like that just because it's on the internet. If it was just a very bad joke, fair enough, but if it's malicious, then f**k 'em. Complain.

No, Its not a joke. Some of the stuff this person has posted is just awful and they have been adding people I used to know from school 5 years ago and saying all sorts of sh!te

I'm taking it you have your own fb account too? Simply infrom the folks on your friendslist (wheather through a status, or a collection of PMs) that someone is acting the maggot under your name, and ask them to report the fake profile.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

This guy is the biggest tosser on facebook
    http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?=743264506

Zascar wrote: »

Well played, good sir. How'd ya pull that one? :(

EDIT: Yip... I sussed it. Shame on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Log on ?

I did not see that coming:rolleyes:

Yeah, copped it a few seconds after I posted.

Back to the whole thinking before posting idea for me...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Not on Facebook, but someone impersonated me on MySpace a couple of years ago. He posted a picture of me from my one of my youtube videos and copied and pasted my profile information.

I reported him and MySpace asked me for my friend ID. I had no idea what a friend ID was as I wasn't a member of MySpace so they told me to send them a picture of myself. I did this and then they told me to send a picture with me holding up a piece of paper with 'MySpace.com' written on it. I did this and then they told me they wanted a picture of me holding up the piece of paper in one hand and holding up the other hand with three fingers pointing inwards (seriously). At this point I gave up because they just seemed to be getting me to do increasingly bizarre gestures. The impersonators page is still there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Has anybody ever had some impersonate them on facebook. Well yeah I found another me with a new account, pretending to be me except just befriending people and being really really nice to the same friends. I am hurt and really angry.

What is some peoples problems, I have been anything other than a mean person yet some retard has decided to impersonate me.

EDIT (serious post) I deleted my Faecesbook account the other day! 12 Steps baby! Woooooooooooooooooo! Now I just need to stay away from my account for...................fourteen....................days.......................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

OP if I were you I would send a message to all of your friends on Facebook telling them what is up and also put a note on the broadcast thing. That's really ****, it must be horrible to think that someone is insulting people and using your name to do it!!!! I'd imagine it's someone you've pissed off or had a run in with lately because it does seem to be alot of trouble to go through if you're just messing about. Also keep on to Facebook, I'd say they'll do something if you keep at them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭FatherLen

we did that to one of our mates before but went around telling his fb friends that his account was actually the fake :D. it may seem mean from your side but take solice in the fact that someone is having a lot of fun ;)

Not on Facebook, but someone impersonated me on MySpace a couple of years ago. He posted a picture of me from my one of my youtube videos and copied and pasted my profile information.

I reported him and MySpace asked me for my friend ID. I had no idea what a friend ID was as I wasn't a member of MySpace so they told me to send them a picture of myself. I did this and then they told me to send a picture with me holding up a piece of paper with 'MySpace.com' written on it. I did this and then they told me they wanted a picture of me holding up the piece of paper in one hand and holding up the other hand with three fingers pointing inwards (seriously). At this point I gave up because they just seemed to be getting me to do increasingly bizarre gestures. The impersonators page is still there.

pics or gtfo please thats classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

After watching Badfellas on RTE last night, I did a facebook search for Wayne Dundon, one of the countrys most feared criminals. Found a profile, only 11 friends, and profile pic taken off the Sunday World.

I hope Mr. Dundon doesnt find who impersonated him, or heads will roll!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

Report it to Facebook; there's a whole team specifically for dealing with issues like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Guill

Hoe does he know who your friends are? When he set up the fake account how did he know who to search for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,257 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Guill wrote: »
    Hoe does he know who your friends are? When he set up the fake account how did he know who to search for?

To answer these questions, the OP would need to know who is impersonating him........ now....... i can't be sure here, don't take this as gospel now, it's very possible that, now bear with me............... the OP doesn't know who it is impersonating him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Guill

"To answer these questions, the OP would need to know who is impersonating him........ now....... i can't be sure here, don't take this as gospel now, it's very possible that, now bear with me............... the OP doesn't know who it is impersonating him! "

but the guy who set u the fake account would have to find the OP's friends in order to abuse them....therefore it is probably a friend of the Op that is doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭BrianD

SoulTrader wrote: »

Please don't waste Garda time on this!

I was watching Coppers last night. Their advice is to press delete.

Report it to Facebook and get over it. Surely your friends already know it's not you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,824 ✭✭✭✭28064212

What (exactly) did Facebook say? The guards almost certainly won't be able to help you

How were MySpace supposed to differentiate between you and someone who wanted a legitimate page taken down? Do you have any idea of how powerful Photoshop is?

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce