Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beggars in the city centre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

MJRS wrote: »
    Haha, well god love you and your sense of compassion. They do this recycling scheme in a few places I've been to, I wasn't bothered once, everyone just left their empty bottles on the ground beside bins for the homeless to pick up, it's a great system. There was no one hanging around the outdoor tables stinking up the place. And the hundreds of times you're likely to be asked a 3 second question doesn't really add up to the harassment you think it does...

Fair enough if you like being harassed by them but i don't. I was standing at the top of O'connell st. one night as my friend meeting me was late, one beggar and his missus came over to me and started asking me for money, i said I hadn't got any change and he started squaring up to me saying "Go on! Check your pocket there I bet there's money in it" and his missus had to drag him away.

I'd like to avoid incidents like this if possible, god forbid he spotted I had an empty bottle of coke in my hand, god knows what he would have done if i hadn't have given it to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭MJRS

johnn wrote: »
    Fair enough if you like being harassed by them but i don't. I was standing at the top of O'connell st. one night as my friend meeting me was late, one beggar and his missus came over to me and started asking me for money, i said I hadn't got any change and he started squaring up to me saying "Go on! Check your pocket there I bet there's money in it" and his missus had to drag him away.

I'd like to avoid incidents like this if possible, god forbid he spotted I had an empty bottle of coke in my hand, god knows what he would have done if i hadn't have given it to him.
    Fair enough with money, had a few experiences like that myself, but never in any city with the recycling scheme, even when we had a lot of empties on our tables. I just don't understand why you're so protective of an empty coke bottle, it could be the difference between a sandwich and a hungry night for a homeless person.

MJRS wrote: »
    Fair enough with money, had a few experiences like that myself, but never in any city with the recycling scheme, even when we had a lot of empties on our tables. I just don't understand why you're so protective of an empty coke bottle, it could be the difference between a sandwich and a hungry night for a homeless person.

If there was some sort of bin that i could drop it in that they could collect it from I may give it to them, but I know Dublin being Dublin this will result in vagrants approaching you at tables/when you're walking down the street etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Alwayson

You sound like a bit of a Xenophobe to me.

Now that I've looked it up in the dictionary, I couldn't agree more

Alwayson wrote: »
    Now that I've looked it up in the dictionary, I couldn't agree more

Yeah I know mate, we can't all be as tolerant of others as me, i like helping others and would do anything to help my fellow man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

You sound like a bit of a Xenophobe to me.
    He isn't a xenophobe he's a gyppophobe and so am I. Ireland has always been a very considerate or generous country in terms of giving to the poor. It's the small amount of people that take advantage and that con people out of their money are contributing to the hatred and negative attitude towards the homeless. The countless numbers of stories you hear about roma stealing and scamming and living in houses can't ALL be made up. They seal their own reputation by being the way they are. Of course they're not all like that though.

Please tell us why wouldn't your give him your empty coke bottle??

And you say you would be asked a hundred times. like do you have a hundred bottles? I've been to countless countries that have the scheme in place and I have never ever been asked for my empty bottle (even if I did want to keep it for some bizarre reason)

bigbadbear wrote: »
    Please tell us why wouldn't your give him your empty coke bottle??

And you say you would be asked a hundred times. like do you have a hundred bottles? I've been to countless countries that have the scheme in place and I have never ever been asked for my empty bottle (even if I did want to keep it for some bizarre reason)

BTW the guy a few posts back isn't a xenophobe he's a gyppophobe and so am I. Ireland has always been a very considerate or generous country in terms of giving to the poor. It's the small amount of people that take advantage and that con people out of their money are contributing to the hatred and negative attitude towards the homeless. The countless numbers of stories you hear about roma stealing and scamming and living in houses can't ALL be made up. They seal their own reputation by being the way they are. Of course they're not all like that though.

As I explained a couple of posts up, its not that I want to keep the coke bottle, but more it encourages interaction between us and them. Which could lead to intimidation and being bothered while eating with friends etc.

You and your mate there are Xenophobes, you don't like people different than you. The poster even agreed with me if you look a few posts back.

As I explained a couple of posts up, its not that I want to keep the coke bottle, but more it encourages interaction between us and them. Which could lead to intimidation and being bothered while eating with friends etc.

You and your mate there are Xenophobes, you don't like people different than you. The poster even agreed with me if you look a few posts back.

I'm far from xenophobic. I hate ignorance of the fact that a load of these people are dishonest and don't need to beg for money.

About being approached there is no increased reason to approach you any more than already. If they don't approach you now and you potentially have euro coins to give them then why would they come up to you and ask "could you spare an empty bottle you might have in your pocket" (its only worth 10 cent)

I'm far from xenophobic. I hate ignorance of the fact that a load of these people are dishonest and don't need to beg for money.

About being approached there is no increased reason to approach you any more than already. If they don't approach you now and you potentially have euro coins to give them then why would they come up to you and ask "could you spare an empty bottle you might have in your pocket" (its only worth 10 cent)

As I will tell them to get lost if they ask for money, but if they see me with a bottle that is going to be thrown out & I can hardly refuse to give it to them, they are more likely to approach me.

There is no need for you to brand them all as dishonest Scammers tbf.

As I will tell them to get lost if they ask for money, but if they see me with a bottle that is going to be thrown out & I can hardly refuse to give it to them, they are more likely to approach me.

There is no need for you to brand them all as dishonest Scammers tbf.

I didn't brand them all.

why wont you give them your bottle?

I'm far from xenophobic. I hate ignorance of the fact that all of these people are dishonest and don't need to beg for money.

Anyway if you could get money for the empty bottles I would probably go and collect the money for myself.

Don't tell who my mates are, alright mate? We can hardly afford to support ourselves or our own homeless never mind swarms of foreign gypsies. People are more concerned with grey squirrels over-running red squirrels than with Romas driving out the local homeless but that's what they will do, its happened in other countries. Instead of labelling people with big words, try to imagine where this is going in the next few years. Its called organised crime, on a level that will make what we have now seem like kindergarten. Check out the Albanian mafia.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

Don't tell who my mates are, alright mate? We can hardly afford to support ourselves or our own homeless never mind swarms of foreign gypsies. People are more concerned with grey squirrels over-running red squirrels than with Romas driving out the local homeless but that's what they will do, its happened in other countries. Instead of labelling people with big words, try to imagine where this is going in the next few years. Its called organised crime, on a level that will make what we have now seem like kindergarten. Check out the Albanian mafia.

Agreed, you're not xenophobic, just racist!

ebixa82 wrote: »

The only thing missing was him opening that rant with "I'm not racist, but..."

Take it over to the conspiracy theories form mate. We're talking about empty coke bottles here ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

I never have and never will give money to a Roma.

I know a few homeless lads around the Henry street / Abbey street area from charity work, I'll usually stop to have a smoke with them and give them a few quid towards a hostel if I have it.

RMD wrote: »
    I never have and never will give money to a Roma.

I know a few homeless lads around the Henry street / Abbey street area from charity work, I'll usually stop to have a smoke with them and give them a few quid towards a hostel if I have it.

Which they'll then use to buy more smokes/drugs. How do you feel about Roma approaching you during your dinner looking for empty drinks bottles?

I'm not racist, I hate everybody

Eh trying to have a mature discussion here :rolleyes:

Which they'll then use to buy more smokes/drugs. How do you feel about Roma approaching you during your dinner looking for empty drinks bottles?

I know these lads personally, I know they're not on drugs, I know them well enough that they've actually stayed in my house before on my own invite, and guess what, this will probably blow your mind John, they DIDN'T fleece the gaff, nor did they shoot up heroine and then try to rob my empty coke bottles!!!@!@!

I'm not part of this stupid "bottle" debate you've going on so don't rope me into it. The reason I wont ever give a cent to the Romas is because their culture is based around begging and petty crime. They admit that themselves so don't give me this xenophobic shíte, I'm open to anyone coming to this country no matter their nationality as long as they aren't a liability, and in the case of asylum seekers actually have a sound reason for seeking asylum.

You're riding around on some incredibly high horse there John, having the cheek to call people Xenophobes yet you refuse to give an empty bottle to a homeless person, and you refer to the homeless in a "us and them" mentality.

Eh trying to have a mature discussion here :rolleyes:

Very mature comment coming from someone whose first contribution to this thread was "I'm always fearful that when i lean down towards their cup to drop my coins in that they are gonna hop up and stab me."

What you dislike about me is not my opinion, its the fact that I can articulate it. Some people are looking for a discussion, you're looking for a niggle. Must go now, Romper Stomper is the late night movie.

You're riding around on some incredibly high horse there John, having the cheek to call people Xenophobes yet you refuse to give an empty bottle to a homeless person, and you refer to the homeless in a "us and them" mentality.

I said I would give them the bottles if I could drop them into a bank somewhere, its the giving them reason to approach me more often than they already do that bothers me, which would inevitably happen if this was brought in, the same way putting a price on gold has led to more gold-related house robberies.

I think you should be man enough to admit that your experience of allowing vagrants sleep in your house without robbery would be an extremely rare case and doesn't really add weight to your argument, considering the reason you said you don't like most of them is because their culture is crime :rolleyes:

Very mature comment coming from someone whose first contribution to this thread was "I'm always fearful that when i lean down towards their cup to drop my coins in that they are gonna hop up and stab me."

What you dislike about me is not my opinion, its the fact that I can articulate it. Some people are looking for a discussion, you're looking for a niggle. Must go now, Romper Stomper is the late night movie.

yeah I'm the one watching out for niggles & flaws in your argument when you traced back through 15 pages of a thread to find a petty comeback to make :rolleyes:

I said I would give them the bottles if I could drop them into a bank somewhere, its the giving them reason to approach me more often than they already do that bothers me, which would inevitably happen if this was brought in, the same way putting a price on gold has led to more gold-related house robberies.

I think you should be man enough to admit that your experience of allowing vagrants sleep in your house without robbery would be an extremely rare case and doesn't really add weight to your argument, considering the reason you said you don't like most of them is because their culture is crime :rolleyes:

Did you even read the points I made in my previous 2 posts? It's the Roma's with the culture of begging and petty crime, the people who stayed in my house were homeless Irish who I've known for years through charity work, not on drugs, not alcoholics, their worst habit is smoking. I wouldn't let them within a 100 yards of my house if they were on drugs or if I hadn't known them for years.

Now, try take the time to read this post properly and construct a decent argument after doing so. You've said it yourself "You're trying to have a mature discussion", yet another poster has already proved how much of a joke that statement is.

You're putting the homeless and the Romas on the same level. They're 2 completely different groups, it's incredibly ignorant to put them under one heading.

Did you even read the points I made in my previous 2 posts? It's the Roma's with the culture of begging and petty crime, the people who stayed in my house were homeless Irish who I've known for years through charity work, not on drugs, not alcoholics, their worst habit is smoking. I wouldn't let them within a 100 yards of my house if they were on drugs or if I hadn't known them for years.

yes but unfortunately most of the homeless people I'm referring to are foreign/druggies, which renders your points by and large irrelevant. You have already agreed that they are a menace, I've no interest in talking about your subjective experiences with these homeless. We're not all pals with the homeless we encounter. :rolleyes:

If you asked someone to allow a vagrant into their home to sleep, 99.9% would tell you where to go and rightly so. Yous have no valid arguments to what I'm saying but don't know when to quit.

yes but unfortunately most of the homeless people I'm referring to are foreign/druggies, which renders your points by and large irrelevant. You have already agreed that they are a menace, I've no interest in talking about your subjective experiences with these homeless. We're not all pals with the homeless we encounter. :rolleyes:

If you asked to allow a vagrant into their home to sleep, 99.9% would tell you where to go and rightly so.

This post has summed how little you know. The vast majority of Roma's aren't homeless, a lot of them actually live in and around the inner city Dublin area in rented houses, albeit in large numbers to one house. Most of them even operate a shift system, go down to Marlborough street by the car park tomorrow morning if you want proof of this, there's a Roma lad who'll come down about 8 o'clock and he'll leave around 2, when an elderly Roma lady will come swap with him and beg at the exact same spot.

99.9% would obviously say no because they haven't known these "vagrants" (they're also people surprise surprise) for years so obviously there is no form of trust there. Could you seriously not come up with a better point than that? A bit of common sense for christ's sake.

I'm not pals with all the homeless I encounter, I've **** all time for the majority of them. I wont give a moment of my time to the Roma, I wont try to give any proper help to one on drugs unless they're making an effort to quit. It's the few honest lads who I know, who aren't on drugs, who don't commit crime etc that I will actually stop and talk to.

Your replies are incredibly ignorant at this stage, please don't bother replying unless you're going to use a bit of sense. You've missed the vast majority of points I've mentioned in all my posts so far. I'm almost convinced at this point you're trolling it's that ridiculous.

This post has summed how little you know. The vast majority of Roma's aren't homeless, a lot of them actually live in and around the inner city Dublin area in rented houses, albeit in large numbers to one house. Most of them even operate a shift system, go down to Marlborough street by the car park tomorrow morning if you want proof of this, there's a Roma lad who'll come down about 8 o'clock and he'll leave around 2, when an elderly Roma lady will come swap with him and beg at the exact same spot.

99.9% would obviously say no because they haven't known these "vagrants" (they're also people surprise surprise) for years so obviously there is no form of trust there. Could you seriously not come up with a better point than that? A bit of common sense for christ's sake.

I'm not pals with all the homeless I encounter, I've **** all time for the majority of them. I wont give a moment of my time to the Roma, I wont try to give any proper help to one on drugs unless they're making an effort to quit. It's the few honest lads who I know, who aren't on drugs, who don't commit crime etc that I will actually stop and talk to.

Your replies are incredibly ignorant at this stage, please don't bother replying unless you're going to use a bit of sense. You've missed the vast majority of points I've mentioned in all my posts so far. I'm almost convinced at this point you're trolling it's that ridiculous.

My point is I don't want anyone harassing me. They could be Roma, Homeless, Irish, Druggies, whatever, we need to stop debating what they are cause it doesn't matter. All my point was is that I don't want any measures put in place that will lead to any of the above harassing me.

Although this side argument is irrelevant. You said you wouldn't let Homeless you don't know sleep in your house and don't trust them, which was exactly my point, I don't know 100% of the vagrants approaching me so have no reason to trust them, why you brought up that obviously extremely subjective example I don't know.......and then there's always the possibility that if you bend down to put money in their cup they'll hop up and stab you ;)

Well after watching that documentary on TV3 I don't think anybody can argue that all the homeless vagrants are a nuisance. TV3 were a disgrace acting like the homeless were the victims in this despite showing them as mindless druggies in the hostel using innocent people's donations(who actually work for a living and aren't on the dole's) money to "get their fix" :rolleyes:.

Say for example I had of been having a few after work cocktails in The Bank bar with some colleagues I certainly wouldn't want one of them coming in and hassling me, stinking the place up with a smell of piss etc. I would have shook that barman's hand for doing his duty to the punter like me, I would rather give him a fiver for kicking the vagrant out than give them a 5er for a hostel tbf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭BOHS

Don't know if it was said in this thread but the kid on Henry street isn't homeless (there was a thread on boards a year or 2 about him).

Sharkey 10 wrote: »
    if you were begging , would it not make sense to do do at the best times?

Btw i sometimes bye beggars cups of tea or coffe and a twix or something

I alway hear this thing where people say they are "professional beggars" .
    How much money do you suspect they make.

Im sure many of you will be familiar with the young lad who begs on henry st near the jervis st shopping centre, its at an intersection there. Me heart breaks everytime i see him but theres only so much i can do .
    Sometimes when i think i have it tough i often think of the millions around the world who have it a whole lot worse, after all im typing in front of a fire with the rain pelting of the window , i have it lucky after all

BOHS wrote: »
    Don't know if it was said in this thread but the kid on Henry street isn't homeless (there was a thread on boards a year or 2 about him).

I wouldn't be familiar with any particular vagrants they all are equally annoying to me.

Let's be honest here if he was walking away from a priest in real life clutching a €20 note, he would be doing so with a very sore arse :cool:

Well after watching that documentary on TV3 I don't think anybody can argue that all the homeless vagrants are a nuisance. TV3 were a disgrace acting like the homeless were the victims in this despite showing them as mindless druggies in the hostel using innocent people's donations(who actually work for a living and aren't on the dole's) money to "get their fix" :rolleyes:.

Say for example I had of been having a few after work cocktails in The Bank bar with some colleagues I certainly wouldn't want one of them coming in and hassling me, stinking the place up with a smell of piss etc. I would have shook that barman's hand for doing his duty to the punter like me, I would rather give him a fiver for kicking the vagrant out than give them a 5er for a hostel tbf.

Stupid, ignorant, simple, uneducated...which one sums up that post best?

Let me guess you either didn't see the show, are on the dole or used to be homeless :rolleyes:

Do people like me in having a bite to eat in a nice bistro really want one of them coming in wrecking the ambiance with a smell of piss?

You could tell TV3 didn't respect them either as he tried to make himself sound dumber than normal when he was putting on the homeless act.

Let me guess you either didn't see the show, are on the dole or used to be homeless :rolleyes:

Do people like me in having a bite to eat in a nice bistro really want one of them coming in wrecking the 'sphere and ambiance with a smell of piss?

You could tell TV3 didn't respect them either as he tried to make himself sound dumber than normal when he was putting on the homeless act.

Sorry should have copped you were trolling. Continue with your troll. As if anyone could be this ignorant or stupid. And if you are then it must be your parents fault. And if so, hopefully it's just a phase you'll grow out of..by the way what the f.uck is TV3?

by the way what the f.uck is TV3?

and you have the nerve to call me stupid :rolleyes: My points are those of the most people whether you like it or not. Would you be happy if a vagrant plonked himself down next to you in a nice restaurant?

You call me stupid because I prefer to read books or use the internet as opposed to be up on TV stations, oooook then.

What exactly is your definition of a vagrant and why on earth would they "plonk" beside me in a nice restaurant unless they were about to order something?

You call me stupid because I prefer to read books or use the internet as opposed to be up on TV stations, oooook then.

What exactly is your definition of a vagrant and why on earth would they "plonk" beside me in a nice restaurant unless they were about to order something?

Some people seem to love any reason to argue when they don't even know what they're arguing about. :rolleyes:

So I gather you haven't even watched the TV programme on which my original post which you quoted was based upon before deciding to attack me, I am pretty sure I mentioned that my view was from what i gathered from a programme on TV3(in which a man went undercover as homeless in Dublin city) in the first line of that post.

The event you described with the nice restaurant was one of the things which happened in this show. The undercover vagrant went in and tried to plonk himself in a nice restaurant and was refused entry and rightly so.

A vagrant is a tramp or hobo :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sandmanporto

tv3's programme transformed my view on beggars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭Star Bingo

don't EVER give a BEGGER sh!t. if they're beggin ya, give them some of your valuable time instead you'll see how worthless it is to em.
    your concern is worth less than 10c even, they only want one thing

Star Bingo wrote: »
    don't EVER give a BEGGER sh!t. if they're beggin ya, give them some of your valuable time instead you'll see how worthless it is to em.
    your concern is worth less than 10c even, they only want one thing
    Sur they're trying to survive. I think that 10c is going to help them more than a chat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭mgmt

Why were the homeless not shoveling ice off the pavements last week??? Stick a hat out for donations and at least contribute to society. How unproductive and sad can your life be when you just leach off society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

I was pissed last week, out with me cousins over from the states. Start givin one abuse for heckling tourists, makin a show of us as a country. He got bored listening to me and walked off. :(

The_B_Man wrote: »
    I was pissed last week, out with me cousins over from the states. Start givin one abuse for heckling tourists, makin a show of us as a country. He got bored listening to me and walked off. :(
    I think our politicians and bankers have done that already! So many people here who have internet and a better start in life are so quick to judge the less fortunate! It kind of sickens me.

mgmt wrote: »
    Why were the homeless not shoveling ice off the pavements last week??? Stick a hat out for donations and at least contribute to society. How unproductive and sad can your life be when you just leach off society.
    I doubt they want to have to beg. We have counsil workers for that job where taxes pay for that service. What's the next suggestion, send unemployed mothers to do the same thing?

Yes they want to beg. There is a million and one ways to make money, I outlined one. Off course they also want to shoot up on heroin and become loser alcoholics. My next suggestion...hose them down like Thatcher did so they can't stay on the streets:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭lil_lisa

I know this probably won't apply, I just want to give my two cents. I'm living over in the US in a pretty big city and I live on the border of the homeless ("ghetto") area here. When I moved here, I felt so bad for all the homeless who would ask for money every day, and with the heat we have, a lot of homeless move here.

Then I started volunteering at a shelter a few blocks away. We were given a tour and a run down of everything they do there and why they do it and since then, I have never given a homeless person a single cent. They are set up to take in homeless people who commit to staying off drugs and alcohol, they give them showers, beds, food and even training in different areas. There are computer classes and cooking classes and everything here. Everything's free, all you have to do is get off drugs and decide you want to have a better life and get off the streets.

I've never been homeless or addicted to drugs, so I honestly don't know what they're going through. But if I give them money to help them buy more drugs or whatever they're buying, its definitely not helping. I have no problem saying no to homeless people or giving them food instead of money.

Again, I don't know what setup there is available in Ireland, but in such a small country, there must be something extremely similar and I couldn't imagine making homeless people think its ok to keep living on the streets on drugs if there's a better life out there for them. Sometimes they just need a wake up call.

Yes they want to beg. There is a million and one ways to make money, I outlined one. Off course they also want to shoot up on heroin and become loser alcoholics. My next suggestion...hose them down like Thatcher did so they can't stay on the streets:)

Im glad I don't know someone like you. You're compassion is overwhelming. What if your child used heroin? Maybe you could AFFORD to send them to a clinic!
    No one here mentioned the bankers! they worked hard and ended up screwing up a lot of lives driving people to homelessness, what would thatcher do with those bankers?

lil_lisa wrote: »
    I know this probably won't apply, I just want to give my two cents. I'm living over in the US in a pretty big city and I live on the border of the homeless ("ghetto") area here. When I moved here, I felt so bad for all the homeless who would ask for money every day, and with the heat we have, a lot of homeless move here.

Then I started volunteering at a shelter a few blocks away. We were given a tour and a run down of everything they do there and why they do it and since then, I have never given a homeless person a single cent. They are set up to take in homeless people who commit to staying off drugs and alcohol, they give them showers, beds, food and even training in different areas. There are computer classes and cooking classes and everything here. Everything's free, all you have to do is get off drugs and decide you want to have a better life and get off the streets.

I've never been homeless or addicted to drugs, so I honestly don't know what they're going through. But if I give them money to help them buy more drugs or whatever they're buying, its definitely not helping. I have no problem saying no to homeless people or giving them food instead of money.

Again, I don't know what setup there is available in Ireland, but in such a small country, there must be something extremely similar and I couldn't imagine making homeless people think its ok to keep living on the streets on drugs if there's a better life out there for them. Sometimes they just need a wake up call.

A positive post at least. Im sure everyone else on this forum who criticizes homeless were born with a silver spoon in their mouth and use a computer to criticize everyone!

Im glad I don't know someone like you. You're compassion is overwhelming. What if your child used heroin? Maybe you could AFFORD to send them to a clinic!

So you like beggers. You don't mind your child going into town with heroin addicts hanging out at the Luas stops, atms, harresing and intimidating people??
    No one here mentioned the bankers! they worked hard and ended up screwing up a lot of lives driving people to homelessness, what would thatcher do with those bankers?

I'm sorry to burst your fairy land world but you don't become homeless with the state giving you 196e a week. You become homeless when your're a complete ****up on heroin and alcohol.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/politics_show/regions/london/8408294.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

You'd wanna be careful. The rent on that lovely ivory tower gets too high and you could be homeless too.

So you like beggers. You don't mind your child going into town with heroin addicts hanging out at the Luas stops, atms, harresing and intimidating people??

I'm sorry to burst your fairy land world but you don't become homeless with the state giving you 196e a week. You become homeless when your're a complete ****up on heroin and alcohol.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/programmes/politics_show/regions/london/8408294.stm
    I wouldn't let my kid out alone. I think it would be more constructive to try and convert these people rather than slate them! Heroin is addictive! Why did they start using it? Everyone has a story!