Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Limerick Businesses Opening

• Registered Users Posts: 6,746 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

grenache wrote: »
    I'd imagine your legs would tell you ;)

You didn't see my last post?
    The route that you said would take 15 minutes is 1.2 miles, the one you said would take 20 minutes is .8 miles, both are completely flat.
    Sorry for being anal but it seemed wrong to me:o

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭Cityslicker1

I found it myself, the Limerick route is .8 miles, the Cork route is a few steps shy of 1.2 miles. In both cases I think I've gone the quickest way (the way I'd walk myself)

The difference is the streets leading off O'Connell street from the Locke bar all the way up to the Daniel O'Connell statue in Limerick are all mainly long wide uniform Georgian streets whereas the streets around Mercy hospital in Cork are more like back streets or alleys-There's no actual proper street in that area,could it be classified as city centre. such as Grattan st & Moore st. Limerick city centre feels more grand and dense in general.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

You didn't see my last post?
    The route that you said would take 15 minutes is 1.2 miles, the one you said would take 20 minutes is .8 miles, both are completely flat.
    Sorry for being anal but it seemed wrong to me:o
    Could well be wrong. Still think Limerick shopping district is more spread out though.

The difference is the streets leading off O'Connell street from the Locke bar all the way up to the Daniel O'Connell statue in Limerick are all mainly long wide uniform Georgian streets whereas the streets around Mercy hospital in Cork are more like back streets or alleys such as Grattan st & Moore st. Limerick city centre feels more grand and dense in general.

From albert Quay I walked past City Hall, up Union Quay, then Georges Quay, turned onto the South Mall, then the Grand Parade, walked down Washington Street before turning down a lesser street to walk the last 80 metres to the Mercy.
    Those are no back streets or alleys:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 208 ✭✭Cityslicker1

From albert Quay I walked past City Hall, up Union Quay, then Georges Quay, turned onto the South Mall, then the Grand Parade, walked down Washington Street before turning down a lesser street to walk the last 80 metres to the Mercy.
    Those are no back streets or alleys:pac:

My point was the area around the Mercy hospital in Cork has no actual streets, if that's the case Limerick city centre should use it's starting point at a less dominant street (The area between locke bar and Daniel O'Connell statue are proper streets not back alleys)- the start of Nicolas street where King John's castle is located to the end of Henry street (near Curry st) which would be almost be 2km.

I only got involved in this thread because we were talking about shopping streets (by the way the back of the Mercy Hospital is on the Mardyke (Sheare Street) one of the best known streets in Cork, Henry Street (front of the hospital) is most certainly a 'Street' and a fine big one as well, I wonder how familiar you are with Cork.
    There are good shopping area in Cork from Mc Curtain Street to the End of Washington Street where it meets the Western Road (very close to the Mercy), everything between the two channels of the Lee, Dozens of side streets off Patrick street, North/South Main street, the Coalquay, the Grand Parade, Paul Street, it goes on and on.
    The shopping city centre in Limerick is about 200 yards of O Connell st, William Street, Thomas Street and Bedford Row. Nothing after Roches Strret can be considered a shopping street surely, a few chemist shops and pubs don't count.
    I love Limerick and I love the city centre but you are completely incorrect if it is indeed a shopping city centre we are talking about.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Vanquished

ongarboy wrote: »
    That's interesting. I wonder why. Is it that the purchasing power of Limerick citizens is less than that of other cities/catchment areas? I wonder is it really because a larger % of the Limerick population are not into the type of clothing that the missing high street chains offer, particularly for men.

Playing the devils advocate here, but when I go out in Dublin, Cork or Galway, I do tend to see more stylishly dressed guys whereas I cannot say the same in Limerick - a lot of guys just seem to wear that generic neutral baggy check shirt and baggy jeans from Dunnes ensemble that they might have also worn in 2005 or 1995. (eg Nancy Blakes on a Saturday night).

Ironically Limerick was the only place I've heard of guys being turned away from a nightclub (Ikon) because they weren't wearing "shoes". Apparently if you wore a cheap 5 euro pair of fake leather shoes from Shoe Zone or Guineys, you'd be left in but if you wear expensive Ted Baker or Hugo Boss trainers, you'd be told "no runners allowed".

Maybe it's observations like above that contribute to the lack of such fashion outlets.

Disposable income in Limerick is above the national average. Indeed it's the fourth highest in the state according to the most recent CSO figures so a perceived lack of purchasing power is completely wide of the mark! It's just indulging in tired, lazy stereotypes!

I've socialised fairly extensively in the 4 main cities and I must say I don't recognise the above characterisation. Plenty of quiffs, hipster beards, sleeve tattoos, skinny jeans, improbably tight shirts and blazers on display in Limerick. If you're not in Nancys that is!

I've always found Galway to be the most "agricultural" city in Ireland. Lumberjack shirts, bootcut jeans and Dubarry Av8s still seem to rule the roost there! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 24,317 ✭✭✭✭phog

Was this mentioned already? I saw it on Twitter this evening that Peter Clohessey is opening up the old McDaids pub on Denmark St.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Jofspring

phog wrote: »
    Was this mentioned already? I saw it on Twitter this evening that Peter Clohessey is opening up the old McDaids pub on Denmark St.

Ya mentioned already. Supposedly his son, not peter himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Red King

Hopefully it will attract a better clientele than its last few incarnations.

Red King wrote: »
    Hopefully it will attract a better clientele than its last few incarnations.

They seem to have completely gutted the place and giving it a full re-vamp. Hopefully that helps.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Doubt its a major revamp only got in there last week and opening next week my brother is the drinks trade
    Round house has been bought and reopening too by 2 brothers

bigpink wrote: »
    Doubt its a major revamp only got in there last week and opening next week my brother is the drinks trade
    Round house has been bought and reopening too by 2 brothers

Pics up on Facebook of the whole bar and decore ripped out.

Jofspring wrote: »
    Pics up on Facebook of the whole bar and decore ripped out.

That was ripped out after crafty fox they could anything they could.Was a craft beer place suppose to be looking at it.Cant see a serious job being done if opening the 10 dec

• Registered Users Posts: 4,357 ✭✭✭Tefral

bigpink wrote: »
    That was ripped out after crafty fox they could anything they could.Was a craft beer place suppose to be looking at it.Cant see a serious job being done if opening the 10 dec

You'd be suprised. Fitout contractors work like machines. Alot of the stuff is pre-made!

cronin_j wrote: »
    You'd be suprised. Fitout contractors work like machines. Alot of the stuff is pre-made!

Prob have alot of stuff they have from the old bar too

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Doesn't look like much more than a lick of paint to me.

12311300_10153215471051931_6588643115993102524_n.jpg?oh=660fcc4a977bbd39c932e91167892925&oe=56ED2634

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,893 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I'm still upset that Galway Bay didn't open a bar in Limerick, but I was glad they didn't move into that location. The layout of the place is uncomfortable, unless they manage to move the bar itself cloer to the far wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭zulutango

An File wrote: »
    I'm still upset that Galway Bay didn't open a bar in Limerick, but I was glad they didn't move into that location. The layout of the place is uncomfortable, unless they manage to move the bar itself cloer to the far wall.

Wasn't there talk of them going into Bourke's? That place is made for a craft beer pub given that Uber will be opening up across the road in a few months, with a few hundred hipsters working there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Vanquished

An operator was all set to take over the running of Bourkes but it got bogged down in legal issues I believe.

Hopefully it'll re-open relatively soon as it's been shut now since Summer 2014. I liked the raw, traditional, old school style of the interior although the rear part could do with a bit more light.

The whole craft/international beer trend hasn't really taken hold in Limerick as firmly as it has in other places. We could certainly do with some fresh options as the pub scene in town is pretty limited right now in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,903 ✭✭✭zulutango

Treepole wrote:
    There is probably room for one dedicated Craft Beer pub in Limerick, but given that most bars now stock a range of "craft" beers I don't think it would be the draw it might have been a few years ago.

As I said, the influence of Uber on the city centre might change that somewhat.

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭Treepole

zulutango wrote: »
    As I said, the influence of Uber on the city centre might change that somewhat.

Are they not just basically customer service/call center jobs? It isn't techy/creative types going in there.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Gone a bit off thread I think

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Mc Love wrote: »
    Gone a bit off thread I think

Indeed. Back on topic, I saw an advert saying that DFS is opening on Dec 12th.

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭OfTheMarsWongs

La Piatto restaurant/cafe opening in Grove Island. Looks to be in the old Cafe Mocha unit.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,893 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Slightly off topic, but does anyone know if the crew who ran Casa Nostra by Mount Kennett ever opened up another place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Boradriver

An File wrote: »
    Slightly off topic, but does anyone know if the crew who ran Casa Nostra by Mount Kennett ever opened up another place?

No, unfortunately not. I got to know the owner well and have kept in touch. No plans to open a new place at this time, which is a shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Boradriver wrote:
    No, unfortunately not. I got to know the owner well and have kept in touch. No plans to open a new place at this time, which is a shame.

That's such a pity. It was probably the most authentic Italian in limerick. It would have worked if in better location.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Boradriver

panda100 wrote: »
    That's such a pity. It was probably the most authentic Italian in limerick. It would have worked if in better location.

Oh definitely. What's funny is that the missus and I used to go to an Italian in Galway called Da Roberta's. One day in Casa Nostra, Antonio (the owner) came over chatting to us. We told him about how we used to go to Da Roberta's but the food had gone downhill in the last year or so. Turned out, he had been the head chef there, back when we used to love the food! Lovely guy. The location killed it.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,317 ✭✭✭✭phog

Boradriver wrote: »
    Oh definitely. What's funny is that the missus and I used to go to an Italian in Galway called Da Roberta's. One day in Casa Nostra, Antonio (the owner) came over chatting to us. We told him about how we used to go to Da Roberta's but the food had gone downhill in the last year or so. Turned out, he had been the head chef there, back when we used to love the food! Lovely guy. The location killed it.

Loved the place too, yes the standard did dip but IMHO I think it has improved again.

Fully agree about Casa Nostra too, was a great spot and very competitive pricing.