Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Banned in Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 32 coolpaddy

I can't marry my boyfriend. Why? Because I'm a man. And before anyone says anything, it's not the same as civil partnership.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Weed isn't legal anywhere afaik.

In the USA it is in some states, for "medicinal" purposes. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Weed isn't legal anywhere afaik.

amsterdam?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Funkfield

The Passion of St. Tibulus film

Down with this sort of thing!

Careful now!

obligatory post

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Is suicide still illegal ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

smoking in a workplace, except if that workplace is outside land!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

oh, and up to a while ago, iTrips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Is it bollocks!!!
    I have several uncles who have farms in the bog. Never once did they have to contact anyone before they had "Francie down the road" come over with the JCB to tear up huge trenches in order to build new slurry pits/septic tanks/foundations for silage pits/whatever.

These farms could have been sites for many a community 1000's of years ago since they are on fertile land with many streams running through them.

Perhaps your several Uncle's farms are not classified for archeological, nature or built heritage protection?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭stevecrow74

paying a licence on a tv, that never gets used to watch tv!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Criticising MCD in any way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

I agree, but fifty Euro plane ticket to Zurich is available. If you are going to check out, why not make a holiday of it?

Sure. But your friends/family/husband/wife/partner can't go with you for that FINAL farewell. Otherwise they get done for assisting a suicide upon their return.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

garv123 wrote: »
    amsterdam?

Nope. Weed is not legal in the Netherlands. Just tolerated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Rabble Rabble

Richie6904 wrote: »
    The Stupid religious laws that ban me from doing things i like! ie. if I want to drink 365 days a year in a licenced premises i should not be stopped by a law based on ANY religion! Its MY LIFE MY CHOICE I should be allowed to do as i please!!!!!!!

What if there were a secular day where you are banned from drinking? WOuld you be ok with that?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Watch foreign television without paying an annual tax/protection money to a state owned broadcaster one has little/no interest in watching.

Not entirely true

The TV Licence Fee is for owning a device that is capable of recieving Television Signals.

TV3 and TG4 both get some of the TV licence.

Remove the reciever from the TV, and bob's your uncle!

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭MrPirate

Driving a car on train tracks at 88mph. Fcuking government, taking the fun out of my weekends...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

chem wrote: »
    Do you not think, if people who metal detect had to offer it for sale to the government at a good price, first, people would not rob historic items but sell them to the government?
    Currently, Its the opposite, I know of a farmer with an urn which appears to be from the bronze age sitting in his living room as a vase. He found it ploughing, and wouldn't dream of reporting his find for fear he'd lose one of his fields to an excavation.
    At least its better than some American with a metal detector finding Celtic gold, like the gold were the bloody important bit...
    It is hereby directed that section 12 of the Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act, 1990 (No. 12 of 1990), shall apply to the following descriptions of weapons:..
    ( c ) a swordstick or dagger cane, that is, a hollow walking-stick or cane containing a blade which may be used as a sword or dagger
    But I've wanted one ever since I first saw A Clockwork Orange :mad::mad:
    triple-M wrote: »
    speeding on the motorways,germany allows it and there roads are just as safe if not safer than ours,what the hells the point in having a car that can go 240km/h if your only allowed utilise half that speed?
    Well then thats why :p
    But seriously I completely agree, and the way speed limits are set is ridiculous, you have a perfectly decent road with a limit of 100km/h and then suddenly a new one opens, it gets downgraded, and boom 80km/h. How does that system make sense, a back road in Dublin generally has a speed limit of 60km/h, but down the country a worse one has a limit of 80km/h
    CCCP wrote: »
    Having a place in Dublin airport to smoke after clearing security.

I agree with the smoking bad, but some people are mortally afraid of flying, for god sakes let them have a smoke before getting on a Ryanair.
    Badly needed, am I right in saying there used to be one? Or were things just a bit more lax and people smoked at doors?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,986 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

The Passion of St. Tibulus film
    To be fair it was also banned in Gdansk

Kxiii wrote: »
    100w lightbulb its their way of dragging Ireland back to the dark ages.
    CFL's only have a Class B energy efficiency rating.

www.heatball.de/en/ have a Class A rating.

Flamethrowers. Think of the hours of good clean fun you could have with one. It's political correctness gone mad.
    Tell me all about it

http://blog.phi2.net/wp-content/uploads/2007/05/calvin-flame-thrower.jpg

triple-M wrote: »
    speeding on the motorways,germany allows it and there roads are just as safe if not safer than ours,what the hells the point in having a car that can go 240km/h if your only allowed utilise half that speed?
    There are two benefits
    the rest of us have to pay less car tax
    and all the time saved explaining to everyone that you have a tiny weenier :pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭lordstilton

Cannabis is legal in Czech Republic, Honduras, Portugal and Uruguay....Places like Holland, Denmark, Spain, Germany and Belgium are technically Illegal, they are tollerated to the point of being almost legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

xzanti wrote: »
    St. John's Wart :rolleyes: a simple homeopathic remedy for mild seasonal depression.. BANNED.. just why?

You should look up what "homeopathic" means before you use it in a sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭curlzy

xzanti wrote: »
    St. John's Wart :rolleyes: a simple homeopathic remedy for mild seasonal depression.. BANNED.. just why?

It's not a homeopathic remedy, it actually works :D It boosts the immune system, which is good in most cases but not for people with autoimmune diseases such as arthritis, MS and so on. It's banned so that people don't take it without proper guidance from medical professionals. It should have to be prescribed not banned IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

NO!metal detecting is only allowed on beaches here. Anywhere in land needs a cert from the OPW. With dates, times and area map supplied to OPW before hand. OPW= office of public works.
    i was under the belief that you could use a metal detecter if the farmer[land owner] says its OK,and it isent a archaeological site,if not i am a criminal,

I agree, but fifty Euro plane ticket to Zurich is available. If you are going to check out, why not make a holiday of it?
    Do they take credit cards, or do you have to pay in advance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

being a englishman,

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Technically I believe "suicide" itself isnt illegal, attempting suicide IS. A minor point but it saves people from being guilty if they actually succeed!

DeV.

Nope. Weed is not legal in the Netherlands. Just tolerated.

Yup but in Spain you can grow a plant on your own property for personal use.

DeVore wrote: »
    Technically I believe "suicide" itself isnt illegal, attempting suicide IS. A minor point but it saves people from being guilty if they actually succeed!

DeV.

Is attempting suicide still illegal?

I thought they did away with that law in the 90's.

There is the other side of the coin too, for instance Ireland and the Uk are really the only countries that you can walk into a betting shop and bet on whatever you want. Imagine it was illegal to head to the bookies of a Saturday for the racing and have a soccer accumulator etc. Hard to believe that's the case in most of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭thebullkf

Dean09 wrote: »
    Buying alcohol from an off-licence after 10pm.
    (fúcking ridiculous :mad:)

it is for people who adopt common sense...

unfortunately , good sense is not that common.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭CCCP

Ah my friend, there is such a place in Dublin airport!

In one of the newer bar/retaurant, there is an outside heated smoking area. It's beautiful!

If what you say is true, then you sir, are awesome:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭donutheadhomer

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    ****ing when one is under 17

Watching a film containing the word **** when one is under 18

Go figure

Its not "homeopathic" but if it were there might actually be some merit in banning it.

Anyway Lidl and Asda in Northern Ireland both stock it.

homeopatic means just water though right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

curlzy wrote: »
    It's not a homeopathic remedy, it actually works :D It boosts the immune system, which is good in most cases but not for people with autoimmune diseases such as arthritis, MS and so on. It's banned so that people don't take it without proper guidance from medical professionals. It should have to be prescribed not banned IMO.

Ah Christ will you stop. It's not banned it can be prescribed by the doc still!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

curlzy wrote: »

I seriously think people just make stuff up just for the sake of their post count.

St Johns Wort is used to treat mild depression, not an immunostimulant.

It is not banned in Ireland. It is on Rx only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

There is the other side of the coin too...

You're doing it wrong, this is the thread for complaining how bad we have it because you cannot buy alcohol after 10 p.m.

Not like you know, no shopping at all on a Sunday, early closing times on a Saturdays, businesses closing up for up to 2 hours a day, every weekday etc. Those countries have it way better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

Enjoy a bowl of Lucky Charms for breakfast.

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    Buying drink on Good Friday.

rest of the year not enough for you?

Censorship laws here are a joke.

Cannibal Holocaust

thebullkf wrote: »
    Cannibal Holocaust

I would never have watched that had it not been banned... I don't see what all the fuss is about, its tame compared to today's gore. Then again modern stuff should be banned for pure sh1teness.

ditto...apparently @ the time though. there were rumours it was a snuff film...the animal scenes are just shocking:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

ditto...apparently @ the time though. there were rumours it was a snuff film...the animal scenes are just shocking:mad:

true. I went to see the documentary on video nasties at the horrorthon and it made the point that because of the bad quality of the worn down vhs versions of these movies it made everything look more authentic.

I didnt like the animal scenes either.

still other things banned in ireland

Duck soup by the marx bros because they thought it would drive sensible irish people to anarchy :confused:

The graduate was cut to remove any reference to adultary making the whole thing nonsensicle.

Resevoir dogs

I suppose you don't have the usual comfort of "its only a movie"

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

prinz wrote: »
    You're doing it wrong, this is the thread for complaining how bad we have it because you cannot buy alcohol after 10 p.m.

Not like you know, no shopping at all on a Sunday, early closing times on a Saturdays, businesses closing up for up to 2 hours a day, every weekday etc. Those countries have it way better.

Where I live, my supermarket closes at 7. 6 on a Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Luxie wrote: »
    Where I live, my supermarket closes at 7. 6 on a Saturday.

7.6?

do you live in the future?:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭MrPirate

Enjoy a bowl of Lucky Charms for breakfast.

Not completely true. There's a shop in Dublin on Exchequer street (I think it's Fallons and something?) that you can get Lucky Charms, Captain Crunch, Fruit Loops and I think a few more American cereals. They're loads of American foods there (and foods from different countries too), 'cept the cereals are a bit... On the expensive side. O_O (You're looking at like 10euro a box at least.)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭flyton5

Incest is illegal. I find this to be quite unfair. I have to tell people my sister is my cousin...

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Luxie

7.6?

do you live in the future?:pac:

Jeeez, it 'sounded' sensible when I typed it.:D

Anyhoo, when it comes to opening hours Ireland should consider it self lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

the UK white ciders are about 7-8% IIRC

favourite drink of tramps and chavs

just never seen them here:confused:

When I was a lad we called it Bulmers (we need a puking smiley)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

krudler wrote: »
    "its only one day sure didnt Jaysus die fur our sins begorrah begosh,well holy god"

So if we don't sin, Jebus died for nothing? I'm not going to let that happen man......

Licensing laws are a joke. I do shift work but thankfully work relatively normal hours. I know a lot of people who do not. It's not about "x amount of drinking time being enough for you", I want to be able to socialise with my friends when it suits us. If there's enough trade and someone's willing to serve us, why can't a bar be open at 3am when the lads get off work?

And good friday is just a joke. I had no intention of going to the pub that night anyway, but if I had wanted to go out and watch the Munster match with the lads, why does someone else's religion stop me? I know of several places where I can get served after hours, on good friday and even christmas day. I'm sure the Gardai know about them too. Society hasn't imploded on us over a few pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭ART6

DeVore wrote: »
    DeV.

Bill presented to the Dail by XXXTD:

"Given the state of the economy there is evidence of an increasing suicide rate, and this has to be stopped before more people die unnecessarily. Therefore I propose the reintroduction of capital punishment for those who are convicted of attempted suicide".

That'll stop the feckers.