Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A more light hearted thread on the by-election

• 18-11-2010 1:31am
    Registered Users Posts: 46,098 ✭✭✭✭

Right then, lets have a little fun in predicting the winner (and runners up in order). Post your opinion on the outcome of the election by putting the candidates in order. we can have a look to see who got them right or who was the closest. No prizes by the way. I have you all spoiled in any event ;)

I have posted a poll also for everyone to take part in just to see what people think in advance of the big day.

If anyone has a good joke about politicians then please post it just to lighten the mood a bit. Please keep all serious comments for the other thread.

Who is going to win the Dail seat in the Donegal SW Constituency - open to everyone 40 votes

Pearse Doherty
    0% 0 votes
    Frank McBrearty
    77% 31 votes
    Brian O’Domhnaill
    7% 3 votes
    Barry O’Neill
    7% 3 votes
    Thomas Pringle
    5% 2 votes
    Ann Sweeney
    2% 1 vote
    No idea
    0% 0 votes

• Registered Users Posts: 46,098 ✭✭✭✭muffler

My guess is:

1 Doherty
    2 O'Domhnaill
    3 McBrearty
    4 O'Neill
    5 Pringle
    6 Sweeney

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

muffler wrote: »
    My guess is:

1 Doherty
    2 O'Domhnaill
    3 McBrearty
    4 O'Neill
    5 Pringle
    6 Sweeney

First Preferences:

1. Doherty
    2. O'Domhnaill
    3. O'Neill.
    4. McBrearty.
    5. Pringle.
    6. Sweeney.

Doherty to win on O'Neill's transfers, though after McBrearty it will be a formality.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

I was sorta hoping for the position of the candidates after eliminations but I suppose either/or will do. Its only for a bit of fun anyhow :)

• Registered Users Posts: 692 ✭✭✭Durnish

hm, a view from the north,
    ways to remember the candidates

1) A Shinner
    2) A Tribunal?
    3/4 O'Donnell/O'Neill, didn'they used to be chieftans or earls or sommat?
    4) Reconstituted potato crisp
    5) Sweeney (Todd)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭Carrickman

Seeing as it's only for the craic;)
    1 O'Neill
    2 Doherty
    3 O'Domhnaill
    4 Pringle
    5 McBrearty
    6 Sweeney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

Just watching - looking forward to the evening Vincent Brown opens up with

'Hello I am here tonight with a bunch of different d1cks who p1ssed away you spending time with your children whilst chained to debts these pr1cks created on your behalf and that you are enslaved to whilst giving them a €200K per year pension - introducing the slieveen bertie fresh from a cupboard near you, mr potoato head, Brian the traitor, dick roche who also has an eu pension and last but not least foul mouth mary who we' ll let start off the night with a paragraph containg at least three words rhyming with truck...'

please no ban or snip muffler just fun ;)

I think we talked about this before and you arent exactly playing nice here ^

I'll sleep on it.

Oh, I moved your post btw

muffler wrote: »
    I think we talked about this before and you arent exactly playing nice here ^

I'll sleep on it.

Oh, I moved your post btw

apologies - better here you are right and was truly light hearted having watched vincent brown open up his program - have you seen o'domhnaills office on the diamond yet? Irony manifested.

loved the quote on vincent brown - 'who will bail out the IMF when fianna fail are finished with them...' :D

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭puffdragon

"LADIEEES ANNND GENTLEEEMEENNNNNNN" Welcome to Mc Gee's Palace here in the heart of Donegal and to this specially constructed ring here in the Hexagon Suite, Tonight we have the boxing match of the century and I'll turn you over now to your referee for tonight Mr Pat Kenny. (Pat) "Without further ado Id like to introduce the contestants for tonight"

In the Green corner we have a PD no no not a progressive democrat but Pearse Doherty, sponsored by Sein Fein and comes here tonight as the undisputed champion having won two very important fights recently against the Oraichteas(ghost estates) and not least his most recent victory over the government itself ,---(in the background someone keeps shouting "IM AN ORDINARY MAN")---

And in the rainbow'd coloured corner we have Barry(the bruiser) O Neill waving his hands about furiously there( although its hard to see how he's going to fight with those wires holding him up!)--- (someone still shouting from the sides "I WANT TO FIGHT")---

And in the pale green (and I must say very well presented here tonight , resplendent in his new shorts and gloves and his new coat of many colours) we have Brian O' Donnell, sponsored by Fiana Fail and with his new heart and brain transplant (lets hope he didn't get it from a couple of other Brians I could mention) well who could challenge him? ---(someone still shouting from the sides "YOUR ONLY A FOURTH SUB O'DONNELL")---

Now in the sea blue corner we have Thomas(the tank engine) Pringle, huffing and puffing away there and we don't know who his sponsors are but I'm certain he'll make a few waves here tonight (did someone say there's something fishy about that guy, surely not)

Meanwhile in the Pink corner we have Ann(the slugger) Sweeney we don't know much about this fighter but we hear she has a bit of a chip on her shoulder which makes her a southpaw and that can be dangerous coming from the left like that.

And last but not least
    (mike is grabbed from pats hand)---"IM FRANK MC BREARTY, I SPONSORED MESELF AND IM FIGHTING FOR DONEGAL" (throws down mike and goes back to corner) (pat) Now now now where was I 'Oh yes in the red corner we have Frank(the basher) Mc Brearty frank has had many hard fights in his career when he stops talking he can be a formidable opponent indeed !

Now we want a good clean fight here lads ,no gouging ,no biting, and no sticking your tongues out at each other, or making rude gestures behind each others backs or stuff like that !!! Game on! Ding Ding !!

What was Board na Snippa, coupla years back?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭irish1967

Anyone taking bets as to whether the posters will all be taken down??

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

irish1967 wrote: »
    Anyone taking bets as to whether the posters will all be taken down??

keep them up for the next election, save them selves some money.

How much is the fine for leaving them up ? :)

err, what sort of posters are youse talking about "taking down"?

Durnish wrote: »
    err, what sort of posters are youse talking about "taking down"?
    Maybe he wants me to get rid of a few of the posters here :D

cor, call a vote of no confidence in them, right now!

(after all, like the trial of the Knave of Hearts in Alice, we have to have the verdict before the evidence)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

I'll Support a vote of no confidence in Muffler :pOnly joking

You have to get 18 signatures. Now let's see who will stand up and be counted. Not me, for sure

• Registered Users Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I find the accusations against me scandelous, I wont be going quietly.

are you getting a poster's pension?

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭puffdragon

Does anyone know how many Brians there are in the Fiana Fail party , it strikes me it could get a bit like Abbot an Costello after a while, you know the one about "whos on first base" check it out on U-Tube its hillarious!!

so, no change at the top, as the angry men would not stand up and be counted. Bord na Snippa floats on!

• Registered Users Posts: 373 ✭✭Ford4000

My opinion on this hasnt changed from the start so here goes

1. Doherty or O Domhnaill
    3.Pringle
    4. O'Neill
    5.McBrearty

Ford4000 wrote: »
    1. Doherty or O Domhnaill
    Go on, be brave and pick 1 & 2 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

Got a bit of a shock there, just seen this ad at the bottom of a random American Motorsport site :eek:

hg

It musta been though Google ad's only way i can think of them having an ad on an american site

Damit by mistake i copied the wrong ad :mad: basically it was advertising and telling you to vote for barry o neill on the 25th

It reads your cookies and inserts ads that apply to you.

Ewww were you on FG porn site ?!? ;)

Another text !!! Ffs a text at 8am !! FF YOU ANNOY ME.

Good morning. I would appreciate your No 1 or next highest preference today. This is vital for the future of Donegal and Ireland. Polls close at 10pm. Thank you

Will there be selective gritting, you know, grit one area of FA voters as opposed to another area of well known FB voters?
    XF areas will be using coal dust to smooth the way to the booths.