Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amphibian King opening two more stores !!!

• 28-10-2010 10:58am
    Registered Users Posts: 707 ✭✭✭

I just noticed that Amphibian King seem to be opening a branch of their shop down the west in Oranmore. I drove by the shop yesterday and they were putting up signage. Good news for anyone wanting gait analysis done down the west. I've travelled up to Bray from Galway before for the service so it will be handy to have a local shop.

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭pudgeydev

That's great, any details on when it's due to open? No mention of a new store on the website.
    Hopefully they have the same quality of expert staff and technology as the one in Bray.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭jlang

They seemed to have about 4 stalls at the Marathon expo.

• Registered Users Posts: 707 ✭✭✭finlma

No idea when it's opening but they put a sign up in the shop window yesterday. I drive by every day so I'll keep you posted on when it opens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭clubcard

Just saw this on their facebook:
    Amphibian King
    Amphibian King Irelands biggest technical running shoe specialist are expanding with two new stores, both of them due to open in early December. In early 2006 Amphibian King launched into the Irish market and was the first store in Ireland to offer Gait analysis. They quickly established a strong reputation as the place to go to get runners. Since then many of the high street retailers have begun offering gait analysis but struggling with space have opted for a treadmill. Amphibian King is unique in that they have tracks built into the shops so as to replicate road running and give a more accurate analysis.

The first store is a group venture with bike specialist, swim specialists and orthotics specialist all operating under one roof a unique set up in Ireland. Base2race will be a utopia for triathletes where one of the main features will be a swimming pool to allow customers try on wetsuits and swim in them before they buy.

Amphibian King are also opening a third store in Oranmore Galway which will open in early December. This store will offer all the same brands as Amphibian King in Bray and will use all the same equipment to ensure you get the right shoe for you not the most expensive shoe. Amphibian King has Sligo native Edel O'Reilly at the helm here who has covered a few marathons and triathlons. They are looking to get involved in local races and are already down to sponsor the first ever Spiddal triathlon taking place early May 2011.
    One is in Galway but wonder where the second store will be?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,365 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

As far as I know, Base2race will be opening in Ballymount. That will be cyclesuperstore, wheelworx and base2race all in pretty close proximity to each other. Hows that for some competition! :D

might get a cheap bike then ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭violator13

Surely not Ballymount... every second building is closed down or rundown. A dreadful barren post apocalyptic landscape. A postcard from hell. A zombie ridden cannibal society on its door step. God help us all:(

Wouldn't be a fan of the area either,usually loads of traffic.Think the Tallaght area needs a good run shop though.
    not sure what you mean when you say A zombie ridden cannibal society on its door step. God help us allfrown.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

clubcard wrote: »
    Think the Tallaght area needs a good run shop though.
    Agreed, and not just because I'm lazy and it would be relatively close to home. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

violator13 wrote: »
    Surely not Ballymount... every second building is closed down or rundown. A dreadful barren post apocalyptic landscape. A postcard from hell. A zombie ridden cannibal society on its door step. God help us all:(

Sounds like the movie "28 Days Later." I love that movie. *gets into car and drives to Ballymount*

• Registered Users Posts: 534 ✭✭✭geld

As far as I know, Base2race will be opening in Ballymount. That will be cyclesuperstore, wheelworx and base2race all in pretty close proximity to each other. Hows that for some competition! :D

Competition yes but similar stores like these can also draw in their customers as there is the attraction of choice in close proximity. Best of luck to all of them.

BTW According to their Facebook site their address is "Base2Race, Unit 46, Fashion City Ballymount,"

• Registered Users Posts: 36 baldykav

"wouldn't be a fan of either area" - is that Galway or Ballymount?! Jaysus, the negativity there is something else, maybe you should stop listening to the radio!!!

I was up in Ballymount yesterday and saw Base 2 Race as I know the lads involved and has a quick look. looks pretty flash and modern from the outside. Unfortunately for you Violator it's not a zombie ridden hellhole, it's in fashion city opposite the Honda centre which is just off the M50. I was in there at 16:30 and traffic was fine.

Unfortunately you'll always get one negative person!

Fair play to them though, the idea of a specialist store with experts in each area sounds pretty cool, I was in amphibian king at the weekend and sussed it out. B2R will have an endless pool in store with camera's and all apparently which'll be great, new brands of gear that's not the norm in ireland, running shop (amphibian king), bike shop (blue + stork bikes and a few more), Orthotics + physical therapy (specialist biomechanics not just bog standard analysis and formula orthotics), nutrition shop as well - seems like the whole range

Personally I think it's great to have another place on the M50, just means that I can get anything I want within a 15min radius which means that West dublin will be pretty much a hub for all things SBR

The competition may also improve the customer service of all shops in the area which can be pretty shocking at times (we all know who i'm talking about!)

With all the negativity around maybe waiting until it's open to comment would be a good idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

baldykav wrote: »
    B2R will have an endless pool in store with camera's and all apparently which'll be great, new brands of gear that's not the norm in ireland, running shop (amphibian king), bike shop (blue + stork bikes and a few more), Orthotics + physical therapy (specialist biomechanics not just bog standard analysis and formula orthotics), nutrition shop as well - seems like the whole range

Is all this in Base2Race ?

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Is all this in Base2Race ?

Hi Thisregard, apparently so, it'll all be in B2R. Here's a facebook link to them http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ballymount-Ireland/Base2Race/161244997243831

The new wheelworx store is due to open this weekend too I think, think the original plan was to open December 1st but they seem to have brought it forward. I wonder why?! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭devotional1993

Everybody thinks they can make a buck from the tri ,cycle and running boom. Hopefully the prices will reflect the competition.

• Registered Users Posts: 274 ✭✭violator13

baldykav wrote: »
    "wouldn't be a fan of either area" - is that Galway or Ballymount?! Jaysus, the negativity there is something else, maybe you should stop listening to the radio!!!

I was up in Ballymount yesterday and saw Base 2 Race as I know the lads involved and has a quick look. looks pretty flash and modern from the outside. Unfortunately for you Violator it's not a zombie ridden hellhole, it's in fashion city opposite the Honda centre which is just off the M50. I was in there at 16:30 and traffic was fine.

Unfortunately you'll always get one negative person!

Fair play to them though, the idea of a specialist store with experts in each area sounds pretty cool, I was in amphibian king at the weekend and sussed it out. B2R will have an endless pool in store with camera's and all apparently which'll be great, new brands of gear that's not the norm in ireland, running shop (amphibian king), bike shop (blue + stork bikes and a few more), Orthotics + physical therapy (specialist biomechanics not just bog standard analysis and formula orthotics), nutrition shop as well - seems like the whole range

Personally I think it's great to have another place on the M50, just means that I can get anything I want within a 15min radius which means that West dublin will be pretty much a hub for all things SBR

The competition may also improve the customer service of all shops in the area which can be pretty shocking at times (we all know who i'm talking about!)

With all the negativity around maybe waiting until it's open to comment would be a good idea!

Great to see the store opening but hey -normally you have to pay for blatant advertising on this. Biggest plug ive ever seen.

The new wheelworx store is due to open this weekend too I think, think the original plan was to open December 1st but they seem to have brought it forward. I wonder why?! :pac:

Where's the new Wheelworx ?

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Where's the new Wheelworx ?

Still in the Fonthill retail park, they're moving to a bigger store.

violator13 wrote: »
    Great to see the store opening but hey -normally you have to pay for blatant advertising on this. Biggest plug ive ever seen.

I thought that this was an information based forum, and I was sharing what I know.

You're just dying to find something negative to harp about, I think you need a hug!!!!

Still in the Fonthill retail park, they're moving to a bigger store.
    Cheers RC, didn't think the current store was getting too cramped. Best of luck to all new ventures mentioned in this thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭toomuchdetail

Great to see Amphibian King opening up in Galway , super set up and cant praise them enough . The money I save on the journey east could pay for another piece of kit.

Base 2 Race opened today, I took a peak in, nice endless pool!

• Registered Users Posts: 707 ✭✭✭finlma

The shop in Oranmore is opening tomorrow. There was a sign up in the window today.

• Registered Users Posts: 497 ✭✭Bugsy2000

Called into the new store in Oranmore yesterday for a look. I just wanted to find out if they would be providing gait analysis, as it is only a small shop so I didn't know if they would have the equipment. The husband & wife crew couldn't have been more helpful. I had my gait analysis, free of charge and was able to look on screen at what way my feet / joints were working - barefoot & with various different runners. They spent an hour with me, were very informative and friendly and never once tried to put pressure on me to purchase. It turned out I was running in the complete wrong shoes so I'll be back in over the coming week to remedy that. Thumbs up!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭pudgeydev

Had the same experience in Oranmore today as Bugsy2000, very helpful, spent loads of time with me, they were concerned about getting you the right shoe rather than getting the most money. Well happy with the service, and the runners that I got! Thumbs up again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

mod I deleted a couple of posts extolling this new store. While there's no problem giving recs for a store that might be useful to other posters on the forum, signing up for the express purpose of recommending a new store (as the two posters did) is too close to free advertising for my liking, and is unfair on other sports stores who don't do this. No reflection on any store or poster is meant by me deleting the newbie posts. /mod