Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

board advice for someone new to surfing

Options
  • 19-11-2010 2:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 7

hey everyone im new here and im a bit at sea(pardon pun hehe) as what to do. i havent a clue what type of board to get. im 6 2" and 170 pounds.ive seen a nice 7 9" bic, would this be a good board for a complete beginner or should i go a little bigger. appreciate any input so dont spare me. thanks all

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

I would go 9 or 10 ft if possible to start with, then if you progressed, a 7ft 9 would be a nice step down, and easy to manage....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭ChrisJefferies

I'm 6' 3" and went with a 10'. I am a big 6'3" though so I can chuck it around quite easily and it needs to be big to take my weight. If you're on the leaner side a nice 9' as seachto7 says would be a good start.

Don't fall into the trap of getting a smaller board because it looks cool, you'll get fed up with it real quick. I couldn't find a 10' foamie so I had to go epoxy but you might get one in a 9'.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 surfman1

thanks lads ill stay above 9 so.i definatly dont want to end up geting sick of it real quick cos i cant stay upright.what is the chances of getting one of these boards second hand and how much should i ecpect to pay for one. i wouldnt mind getting a epoxy board cos i have a brother i can pass it on to.

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Launcher