Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Westlife call for Irish 'positivity'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Einhard wrote: »
    Jesus Christ, that's a bit extreme. The amount of vitriolic hatred in AH is pretty astounding at times. He was asked a few questions, and he answered them. He gave his opinon. Is he not entitled to do so? And what on earth does his wife have to do with it? You think that she should be tarred because of Bertie's disastarous reign? That he shouldn't have fallen in love with her because of who her dad is?
    He has basically joined a political mafia. That mafia - the leader of which has been proven to have received funny money that he can't explain - has played a large part in the ruin of this country. And now this twit comes out toeing the party line and telling us to cheer up?

How do you think that a member of the band telling everyone to be positive would have gone down on the deck of the Titanic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

uwala wrote: »
    Why are you defending those knobjockeys? You should be ashamed of yourself. Sell-out boy-band vain little delusional gimps deserve no respect from anyone except 9 year old girls.

Love? lol. Yeah right. And how could anyone marry someone that resembles Bertie? *shudder*

Because those posters reckon it's cool not to care.

Well i agree with ya. They're embarrassing us on a huge scale.

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭srfc19

His opinion to me is worthless, as is his so-called music, and also the worthless family of gombeens he married into as a convenient nest egg for when the fans stop buying his CD's because they've hit puberty.

You really think they need the money?? They have been selling records in huge numbers for the last 10/12 years.
    I'm not sure how long your puberty lasted but it seems to have been significantly longer than most other people's by the sound of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

I'd LOVE to see Westlife..........

..... in a mineshaft explosion, a cable car accident, a toxic chemical spill... the list goes on.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

srfc19 wrote: »
    You really think they need the money?? They have been selling records in huge numbers for the last 10/12 years.
    I'm not sure how long your puberty lasted but it seems to have been significantly longer than most other people's by the sound of it.

All these c*nts want is more money. And forgive me if I wasn't aware they'd been on the go that long. I usually don't chronicle the life & times of Louis Walsh's gimp monkey servants, unless one of them comes out with some hypocritical nonsense he was probably told to say by "de fadder in law".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

Why are you defending those knobjockeys? You should be ashamed of yourself. Sell-out boy-band vain little delusional gimps deserve no respect from anyone except 9 year old girls.

Love? lol. Yeah right. And how could anyone marry someone that resembles Bertie? *shudder*

Sometimes a post comes along that plumbs new depths of idiocy. The above is one of them. I'm actually shaking my head in disbelief here.

His opinion to me is worthless, as is his so-called music, and also the worthless family of gombeens he married into as a convenient nest egg for when the fans stop buying his CD's because they've hit puberty.

So you're saying that he met, courted and married his current wife to provide him with financial support? When he himself is a millionaire many times over? That's just ridiculous. It isn't even cynical, just stupid.

I really don;t understand why people get so worked up and angry over celebrities, and their utterances.

So you're saying that he met, courted and married his current wife to provide him with financial support?

Well considering she'll inherit her father's multiple chins and five o' clock shadow after she hits the 30 mark. . .yeah.

All these c*nts want is more money. And forgive me if I wasn't aware they'd been on the go that long. I usually don't chronicle the life & times of Louis Walsh's gimp monkey servants, unless one of them comes out with some hypocritical nonsense he was probably told to say by "de fadder in law".

If Louis Walsh told me he could make me millions, I could become rich and famous and travel the world just for singing a few songs I think I might take the opportunity.
    The jealousy and begrudgery in your posts is ridiculous.

If Louis Walsh told me he could make me millions, I could become rich and famous and travel the world just for singing a few songs I think I might take the opportunity.
    I'm hardly jealous of these gimps - its just that I see this as nothing more than an extension of "tighten your belts". The same line over again. Its utterly ludicrous.

I'd tell Louis Walsh to go fúck himself. Have fun on tour embarrassing us on a global scale with Jedward.

I'm hardly jealous of these gimps - its just that I see this as nothing more than an extension of "tighten your belts". The same line over again. Its utterly ludicrous.

They are multi millionaires and you're sitting there complaining about what some pop stars think about the economy. I can see why you wouldn't be jealous all right.

I'd tell Louis Walsh to go fúck himself. Have fun on tour embarrassing us on a global scale with Jedward.

We're being bailed outto the tune of €80 billion because we were too bloody incompetent as a nation to manage our own affairs, and you're embarassed because of two pointy haired, talentless teenagers? Jesus, time for a lil perspective...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Poly wrote: »
    I just sent a complaint to the BBC

Seriously? I'm sorry but that is just pathetic.

We're being bailed outto the tune of €80 billion because we were too bloody incompetent as a nation to manage our own affairs, and you're embarassed because of two pointy haired, talentless teenagers? Jesus, time for a lil perspective...

It's salt in the wound.

I don't understand. Do you really think people from other countries look down on us because of Westlife? I can understand Jedward but Westlife are successful worldwide. Do you look down on England because of Take That or America because of the Backstreet Boys? Do you think that those countries are embarrassed by them. No of course they're not, it's pure Irishness.

Self loathing Paddies, it's catching on by the looks of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

the economist Nicky Byrne tells us to be positive:

Mikom tells Nicky Byrne to be HIV positive.

We've now got a reputation for our biggest export being boybands, England hasn't.

I don't think it's right that a nation with so much musical and artistic talent has a detestable manipulative shítstain like Louis Walsh as an ambassador for Irish music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭indiewindy

Maybe he could hook up with bono and start a drop the debt campaign for Irelands maga debt

indiewindy wrote: »
    Maybe he could hook up with bono and start a drop the debt campaign for Irelands maga debt

pffft! Bono is only interested in the plight of people in faraway countries. Where he cant see them and they can't slag him back.

We've now got a reputation for our biggest export being boybands, England hasn't.

I don't think it's right that a nation with so much musical and artistic talent has a detestable manipulative shítstain like Louis Walsh as an ambassador for Irish music.

So? Are you that insecure in your Irishness that you care what other nations think of our pop music scene?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭sollar

What did they sell out on? their punk roots? heavy metal band gone mainstream??...... they were always pop thats the business they are in how can someone sell out on pop... pop is mainstream.

Anyone who thinks our biggest export is boybands is an idiot, and thus his/her opinion couldn't matter less to me, and nor should it to you.

So? Are you that insecure in your Irishness that you care what other nations think of our pop music scene?

:confused: I think everyone cares what other nations think of theirs, whether they like to admit it or not.
    Having Nicky Byrne as a spokesperson on the economic crash on a BBC news report is not a positive thing, whether you like to admit it or not.

mikom wrote: »
    Mikom tells Nicky Byrne to be HIV positive.

HA HA HA HA HA !! :D:D

post of the day :)

:confused: I think everyone cares what other nations think of theirs, whether they like to admit it or not.
    Having Nicky Byrne as a spokesperson on the economic crash on a BBC news report is not a positive thing, whether you like to admit it or not.

It's more of an indictment of the level of journalism at the BBC for using this story. It's not like Nicky Byrne held a big massive press conference on the matter, get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,129 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

With all these people being told to go fuck themselves, the Irish population will die out in no time.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

A lot of jealous people in this thread

It's more of an indictment of the level of journalism at the BBC for using this story. It's not like Nicky Byrne held a big massive press conference on the matter, get over it.

I knew you'd say that. Nice try. It's not indicative of the BBC's reporting, it's unfortunately indicative of the clowns we have who are most internationally recognised as being Irish, embarrassing as it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭cassi

So what should be be then? Negative miserable fukks!! Cause that's gonna help things :rolleyes:

cassi wrote: »
    So what should be be then? Negative miserable fukks!! Cause that's gonna help things :rolleyes:

Well shite talkin' doesn't help much either.

How much of this will affect Westlight greatly....

Sunday Business Post- Inside the Four Year Plan

Social welfare to be cut by 5% in budget (and by 3% in each of the next 2 years)

minimum wage to be reduced

household charge of €100

water charges in future, but not next year

a levy on existing public sector pensions

student charge to €2,200 with further increases in each year

VAT increases towards end of 4 years

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭bastados

While us poor people chomp on our free cheese we will set aside some time later for being happy...thanks to nicky we just wouldn't have thought of it...God bess him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

Just when you thought you couldn't hate these fukkers any more

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-11802271

Well, what can you expect from a guy who named his children Rocco and Jay (you know what I mean,like, bud, you know) and is the son-in-law of that great Irish economist, Bertie Ahern. Like.

Top class stuff, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

This thread is still going? Everyone is entitled to an opinion, although clearly a lot of emo internet nerds have a huge problem with that :rolleyes:

Dionysus wrote: »
    Well, what can you expect from a guy who named his children Rocco and Jay

Rocco's a legend of a porn star though.............

• Registered Users Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

Can somebody please kill these syrupy wankers. Westlife FFS only teenage girls and gobsh1tes listen to them. Death to all of them and Boyzone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭StereoLove

I'm sure that Westlife are well able to be positive. They made millions!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭ChopShop

Insert sarcy comment about Westlife performing gigs for free.
    Dionysus wrote: »
    Well, what can you expect from a guy who named his children Rocco and Jay (you know what I mean,like, bud, you know) and is the son-in-law of that great Irish economist, Bertie Ahern. Like.

I remember Bertie cringed a little when a TV crew asked their names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

wernstrom! wrote: »
    I remember Bertie cringed a little when a TV crew asked their names.

It couldn't have been too little: he did, after all, name his own sprogs Cecelia and Georgina. You know what I mean, bud, like? Story?

Bertie Ahern: what a culture vacuum.

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭bonzos

Maybe if the Sligo Lads paid the VRT on their bentleys,porsche's,merc's,aston martin's etc...the country would be better off!Total BS this excuse of they spend alot of time out of the country they all have big houses in Sligo,run businesses and their kids go to school in sligo. If the ordinary guy on the street has to pay VRT then why not these boys?thats the sh*t that has this country b****xed,certain sections of society above the law because of who they are!They get plenty of tax breaks as it is and im sure plenty of special treatment where ever they go.It time now for them to play by the rules the rest of us obey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

So a band.......

A "band" ? Where not one of them plays and instrument ?

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    A "band" ? Where not one of them plays and instrument ?

they are to music, what etch a sketch is to fine art.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Oi westlife

Faaaaack Off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Those guys really inspire me.

Thanks lads :)

gimps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Old order Celtic tiger parasites like these can go fcuk themselves

the penny has not dropped with them that their time has past

opening their mouths only angers people even more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭wetling

They are nothing but a single disgrace and mockery of our country. this is what represents international opinion abroad.

I would see them hung just as an example that we still can enforce the will of our people

Hung from streetlights with signs

Whoever removes these bodies shall suffer the same faith

let them rot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

Just when you thought you couldn't hate these fukkers any more

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-11802271
    The same cnut that was in the papers taking delivery of a brand new Audi Q7 worth 80 grand.Jesus wept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Nicky Byrne has inspired me to open a factory producing anti-westlife missiles, employing 50,000 people, good work popstar lad.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭123balltv

Yeah little **** Nicky Byrne

:mad: positivity :mad:
    what do you know you have a great life of luxury