Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

[BPB] Boards Photobook 2010 launch

• 21-11-2010 1:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭

Starting it in here as not everyone goes to the sub menu.

I had an excellent time and I think the majority of people did.
    As others have said everyone was friendly and was great to meet some new ladies!

Cork girl was babe of the under 30s
    sNarah was babe of the under 40s
    and Mrs P&B was babe of the under 50s

Besides babes I was the drunkest out of everyone and also the loudest, Pull and Bang was the most generous and wily sneaking downstairs in pub for extra booze when upstairs closed.

sNarah was a wonderful wonderful host, totally suited for it and her BF was the hero of the night who stood up to two drunken randomers near the end of the night.

Covey I wasn't too drunk to remember that I'm saving for that Syria trip!!

I never thought I'd see the day where I'd see SineadW wearing a skirt and shoes!! I bet she couldn't get back into jeans quickly enough!!

PixbyJohn and DK32 were great craic as well, sorry if I left anyone else out!

Tallest person was Dutch Guy! and he's a Beamish drinker! :eek:

Ken Sutton get's the most modest pro photographer title!
    It's a pity so many people brought their cars and couldn't drink, it's why the country is in recession people because of your teetotalling ways!!

Oh Devores new facial hairs are the se x eh!

Jim's pics
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=69131653&postcount=77

My pics

F902FD31BE9C4EF399E620C2D68F5062-0000316428-0002040316-00800L-FF7E125E4F874FAEB35DB1AEE167FCB4.jpg
    Dakar

BAE1359E34FB4C48A5CEA847454846CA-0000316428-0002040317-00800L-875DE26F4D9748C3AFA3D44062A3A0D2.jpg
    Covey and Pull&Bang

CB628AC3E0D8426A814F10229AE694CB-0000316428-0002040315-00800L-7C2C91958C0E417FB5966430B0DA2AC0.jpg
    Gandalf and Devore....note his new sex eh facial hair

54DFA36416A14AA1BC65584BECC5B637-0000316428-0002040314-00800L-E1B95E8138DC48388CD8B55F1EC39ABD.jpg
    Happy people

0AF34EA9F4374ED7ABF2B06243656148-0000316428-0002040313-00800L-D6F5D2EEAF414068879D12C322D44440.jpg
    Names required

D17A23CEA96D4A9C9B118057A0DC720E-0000316428-0002040312-00800L-F1ED221E8C1C45C29E38F75BF88E65DC.jpg
    The delightful Mrs P&B

ADD27BA37252448CBBEE7CD0E0953742-0000316428-0002040311-00800L-3339BAF92D83448D987754784962C959.jpg
    P&B along with PixbyJohn

440094038DFA42B78B6D3021167C835E-0000316428-0002040310-00800L-FF4033959CAC4E72B19E07875F1EE6D1.jpg
    SindeadW and BF

5D6E91C322A54CA0825EFB84B617A1C9-0000316428-0002040309-00800L-22F23FAB1F1B4831B5A6E082E2023180.jpg
    Zoeghie

3D8352E9DA0F454DB0A21DD2F801E2CF-0000316428-0002040308-00800L-09A8AD336082408EB3A3154FD57DD711.jpg
    Dutch Guy

1228932CCB704AE18B7574DB13FE46A2-0000316428-0002040307-00800L-C4F10DDAA301456BBA69F10D71E5990B.jpg
    sNarah and BF

C8E8290A99594F0A983C5CE2A2411335-0000316428-0002040306-00800L-7D3CDAC16ECC444D899644C0B0CE9EC0.jpg
    Don't mess with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭AnimalRights

01BDECDF69EF4E7E96A32D09CA7DC343-0000316428-0002040305-00800L-5077E9E6E28F47C28C5E0F6034947D64.jpg
    Some big kid

Oh incase people are wondering why I didn't put up the pics that they took with my Camera it's because they didn't come out!! You people need to learn to use BBF which is the wya my Cam is set up!!

hah! I left out what a privledge it was to meet Pivot Al, that offer is still available Al!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,197 ✭✭✭kensutz

Bloody good night I must say and time flew. I didn't realise how late it was until I looked at my watch and saw it was 1am. How time flies when you're having fun! It was a great laugh sitting down with AnimalRights, Jim, Pullandbang, Mrs P&B and everyone else.

Good to meet a lot of new heads and the only thing is it's a pity I couldn't have got there sooner but I made a decent entrance :)

Big thanks to everyone. Glad I didn't get nabbed to do a speech because when I got to DCC I was sweating buckets from all the running around. It was a pleasure to get the book done and dusted with very little inconvenience and also Vincent in Shakespeare Photo Books who was an absolute gent to deal with.

ps. AnimalRights - glad you remembered to do the best female categories lol!

Names required pic is Rocshot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

sNarah : "Oh, Jim! I really like your gig shots....oh, AR, your's are ok to..."

Ahha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Slidinginfinity

AnimalRights sorry I couldn't talk much. Was/am getting over a cold and the throat is sore as heck.

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Pivot_Al

Thanks AnimalRights- nice to meet you too. Glad to see that the Bulmers doesn't affect the memory! I apppreciate your kind offer but I think i will stick to my 350D for the moment!

Thanks to all for a very enjoyable evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

Cork girl was babe of the under 30s
    sNarah was babe of the under 40s
    and Mrs P&B was babe of the under 50s

Woooo woooooo :D So that's what you were on about with my age!! I was wondering what that conversation was about!

Really great pics too - spotted one of me in your pixie - big smiley head on me, sign of a good night!

C0C9E802FFEA40BD8D9C9DA2D36C6773-0000316428-0002040318-00800L-F9C7B9D7E6A94EF5BF7F63EFA9901E4D.jpg

15 pics limit per post so I obviously forgot to put this in post #2!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭oshead

Great set Janer. Do you have any more?

I have class II ones available perhaps, I'll see what I can rustle out of them in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

15 pics limit per post so I obviously forgot to put this in post #2!

Oh jeepers! :o:pac:
    I'm feeling a little more human now anyway! Where did you guys all disappear off to - we found a nice little space in the Palace beside the pool table.. oh how bad I am at pool!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Looks a laugh had by all. Did Kintaro bring the lovely vodka again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭GristlyEnd

Very nice shots and a great night. Unfortunately when we got to our 3.30am bus they turned us away as it was full so we had Supermacs and got a taxi home.

• Registered Users Posts: 215 ✭✭chisel

mmm, never knew this was happening. What the story with the books....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,250 ✭✭✭pixbyjohn

Starting it in here as not everyone goes to the sub menu.

I had an excellent time and I think the majority of people did.
    Great pics, a super night. Thanks to all.

chisel wrote: »
    mmm, never knew this was happening. What the story with the books....
    Submenus is where all the details where.

Humber: dunno about Vodka but Liam bought food and cheesecakes, alas I couldn't eat either but the cheesecakes did smell very very nice.

ABB0CAFB271041E491CE48B86C62DA7C-0000316428-0002040919-00800L-DA6D49DD1A344BFC9A2FAEEBAC28D57A.jpg

3A42EDD52D0B48C9AF451D68B01BD09D-0000316428-0002040916-00800L-62CADF92F4C14557BFF23F811A95F4EC.jpg
    DeVore

A2BD12C8CFA84D76ABFC28186122A4CF-0000316428-0002040915-00800L-714C66A6AC644C309F525C39368E82F4.jpg
    The Book!

FA1AD24DA1BA485F83EBC4B7BA59D764-0000316428-0002040914-00800L-DB87989CC273431FACBA9F82FB00F65B.jpg
    Ken

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭pullandbang

Great great night! Great meeting everyone and I have to say, AR is NUTS! (in a good way) :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,570 ✭✭✭sNarah

Too tired today and crappy internet connection is driving me mad, so a very short reply now

THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH for coming over on the night, was great fun! Just recovered now from the bus not allowing us on and having to taxi back to Co. Meath after an odd SuperMacs visit and playing pool in ... The PALACE! :eek:

And AR... Hm Hm... I haz not passed 30 yet :(

The book....
    037605D3F5294CE78B04C39802937033-0000337267-0002041091-00640L-FC962C0BD000444B9237FC708F0E1685.jpg

The Cup cakes......
    4E4BD9B11CCD432EA78E696328B47CA4-0000337267-0002041090-00640L-B2B1D82EA60343648DA76C3E970B1E50.jpg

Ganging up on the mod....
    27DF785DE78E4CAD8C7ED59F6F883A49-0000337267-0002041089-00640L-484CE125486E490FB03A5C69A1E6A822.jpg

A right shower of browsers.....
    4B7CF2C6D8004139914BB81C3A8DAE66-0000337267-0002041088-00640L-0F9149101BC84A54BAB134DA09BE41EB.jpg

He's the main man......
    EB3E0C6DC9614D6180E8B7C17E9CD1BA-0000337267-0002041087-00640L-1638272AC27441EB9405A1024F123742.jpg

I jush like to shay......
    BFD8DC7FC3B247C3974DF06B62238ED3-0000337267-0002041086-00640L-97C11F4E59084084A67D3EDED0BB8E0C.jpg

A grinning P&B......
    4E0907CDBD274E9087393367A60782F9-0000337267-0002041084-00640L-B4161DED38734D56A9F4A8A4F0B0A93F.jpg

Happy Camper Van......
    63F74BB47EBE4559867CFB8CDACD117F-0000337267-0002041081-00640L-0C36086CDBD4416E8570F7659360F023.jpg

Oooooh!......
    43FF337A4A6D42CBA0023E1C871CFC6B-0000337267-0002041079-00640L-678DFB1A5FB241E8AF1074CBD3B4CC25.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,197 ✭✭✭kensutz

Great great night! Great meeting everyone and I have to say, AR is NUTS! (in a good way) :)

AR is feckin mental that's all I have to say. sNarah should ban him for getting the age wrong :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,015 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

humberklog wrote: »
    Looks a laugh had by all. Did Kintaro bring the lovely vodka again?

I couldn't find what I had intended to bring, Krupnik but made quiche and cheesecake!

:confused: Jesus Liam.

kensutz wrote: »
    AR is feckin mental that's all I have to say. sNarah should ban him for getting the age wrong :D

I'm sure I can come up with some sort of cunning plan to run by the fellow mods to pretend I have a valid reason... Hmmmm... The mind ponders!!!

Nah :o T is fine, I'm very, um, mature and that haha.

Anyhoooo - I also have a very long list of people who need to be thanked, you know who you are, but a more profound statement shall be posted manana!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

kensutz wrote: »
    sNarah got an age wrong as well. She thought I was 50 :(

:confused: Jesus Liam.

Ehhhh? :confused:

Ha! Well quiche isn't vodka. mind you I do like quiche and do think you can cook....hell I'd have brought my own vodka:).

Hah well I had planned to bring the rather delicous Krupnik. We keep all the unopened alcomohol in a storage cupboard but having gotten back home late and then the rush to get stuff made I just didn't have time to dig it out. Next year Neil!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 9,047 CMod ✭✭✭✭CabanSail

sNarah wrote: »
    I'm sure I can come up with some sort of cunning plan to run by the fellow mods to pretend I have a valid reason... Hmmmm... The mind ponders!!!

AR has bought me a few Pints .... so that makes it a bit harder.

Nah :o T is fine, I'm very, um, mature and that haha.

Is that a nice way of saying Haggard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭zerohamster

That quiche was amazing!!! cheers for bringing it :)

I have books for the following people. Please get in touch so we arrange for you to get your hands on the lovely jubbly books! I will also PM people over the weekend if I haven't heard from you by then.

• Cabaal
    • Cabansail (Can arrange for them to be handed over to DCC'ers if needed)
    • Captain Flaps
    • Homer_Simpson (If anyone is traveling towards Letterkenny - do get in touch with me and Homer)
    • Kev_Longshanks please PM me your address
    • Rainyrun
    • Rameire
    • Rodg3
    • Ruu - We'll work something out re. postage or I can pass it on to family here if needed
    • Sprinkles - See above
    • Superflyninja
    • Darragh
    • WAPAIC
    Not a bad result :o

And now
    The BIG MASSIVE THANK YOU list! Huzzah!!
    Firstly - Devore and Boards.ie HQ for their ongoing support for the book over the past years and for this edition. Thank you for the wine and refreshments and offering the platform which made it all possible.

Off course DCC for offering us the gallery for the launch, with a million thanks to Xia for arranging and making sure we got the keys!

Onwards to Kensutz for being the most patient man in the world and excellent Project management skills and for keeping on answering his phone, DM's, emails and Twitter messages to his personal stalker (Moi!)

Bohsfan for doing a great job on designing the book!

Vincent from Shakespeare Photobooks in Waterford for printing and attending the launch.

Dav from Boards for running around like a madman trying to get wine on the night, with assistance from Thaedyal. He even ran down to the Palace to borrow glasses for soft drinks and we were allowed to return them, dirty, as they were!

Will (SinisterDexter) for being a great help on the night - opening up, setting up, being my right hand man on the night AND cleaning up the day after (and his girlfriend too)!!! You rock!

Humberklog for offering the option to collect money for the books in his gallery - quite a good few people used this option so thanks a mill for making our lives so much easier!

The lovely Eadaoin for making the yummiest blue-est cuppa cakes! And DarrenG for designing and printing the wee flags, and my boyfriend for driving around to collect it all and doing arts & crafts with me gluing the wee flags together!

Liam (Kintaro Hattori) for making numnumnumnummmmy cheescake & quiche and the online media-ness-ness in the run up.

Phil (Buzz Lightyear) for taking all the glasses home to wash them and helping to clean up.

AR, JIm & Mrs. P&B for taking great pictures on the night (that's the only ones I've seen for now :o)

Sineadw for being a barmaid d'exellence and advising me on some of the PR stuff.

Dave66 for pushing the book online and showing great support.

Also thanks to everyone who picked up copies for their neighboring Boardsies!

AND off course A BIG MASSIVE THAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANK YOU for all who attended the launch and made it a fabulous evening!

(I'm sure I'm forgetting people so will add when I remember you!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Buzz Lightyear

And now
    The BIG MASSIVE THANK YOU list! Huzzah!!
    Firstly - Devore and Boards.ie HQ for their ongoing support for the book over the past years and for this edition. Thank you for the wine and refreshments and offering the platform which made it all possible.

Off course DCC for offering us the gallery for the launch, with a million thanks to Xia for arranging and making sure we got the keys!

Onwards to Kensutz for being the most patient man in the world and excellent Project management skills and for keeping on answering his phone, DM's, emails and Twitter messages to his personal stalker (Moi!)

Bohsfan for doing a great job on designing the book!

Vincent from Shakespeare Photobooks in Waterford for printing and attending the launch.

Dav from Boards for running around like a madman trying to get wine on the night, with assistance from Thaedyal. He even ran down to the Palace to borrow glasses for soft drinks and we were allowed to return them, dirty, as they were!

Will (SinisterDexter) for being a great help on the night - opening up, setting up, being my right hand man on the night AND cleaning up the day after (and his girlfriend too)!!! You rock!

Humberklog for offering the option to collect money for the books in his gallery - quite a good few people used this option so thanks a mill for making our lives so much easier!

The lovely Eadaoin for making the yummiest blue-est cuppa cakes! And DarrenG for designing and printing the wee flags, and my boyfriend for driving around to collect it all and doing arts & crafts with me gluing the wee flags together!

Liam (Kintaro Hattori) for making numnumnumnummmmy cheescake & quiche and the online media-ness-ness in the run up.

Phil (Buzz Lightyear) for taking all the glasses home to wash them and helping to clean up.

AR, JIm & Mrs. P&B for taking great pictures on the night (that's the only ones I've seen for now :o)

Sineadw for being a barmaid d'exellence and advising me on some of the PR stuff.

Dave66 for pushing the book online and showing great support.

Also thanks to everyone who picked up copies for their neighboring Boardsies!

AND off course A BIG MASSIVE THAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANK YOU for all who attended the launch and made it a fabulous evening!

(I'm sure I'm forgetting people so will add when I remember you!)
    And a huge, massive thank you to sNarah for all her hard work, driving around, phone calls, emails, texts, tweets, social media organising, bestest speech maker, general dogs body, finance co-ordinator, event co-ordinator and chairwoman :D:D

I never got to meet Xia. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 575 ✭✭✭irish147

Well done to to you all, its great to see your images in print, and a book is a friend for life.

Cant wait to see this book....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

Looks like a great time was had by all, well done.

Now on to the selfish part... didn't see my name on the list above, did someone grab my copy to bring west of the shannon, by any good fortune??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

I never got to meet Xia.
    ...........isn't she a very lucky girl :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭*eadaoin

Was nice to come, have a glass of wine and meet a few boardsies. Thanks for a lovely evening sNarah & co :)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

wow thats an ugly picture of me!! (I had two glasses, honest!).

DeV.

DeVore wrote: »
    wow thats an ugly picture of me!! (I had two glasses, honest!).

DeV.

Yeah, yeah! We believe you, though millions wouldn't! :)

Now on to the selfish part... didn't see my name on the list above, did someone grab my copy to bring west of the shannon, by any good fortune??

Xia collected copies for Galway as she will be attending the photowalk there. She has yours :o
    Also copy for Cosmo_K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭DougL

It looks like I missed a great night. Well done to everyone involved in the organizing for all the hard work, especially sNarah and Kensutz!

Oh and thanks to Buzz Lightyear for dropping my book out to me!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

ps: Bacon and white pudding..... that was real-man-quiche. NYOM!!

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭xia

I never got to meet Xia. :(

How could I miss that statement til now!!??
    Sorry I couldn't make it to the launch - after this even more;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭xia

As sNarah said. Hope you're still up for that walk otherwise we'll arrange something as long as you're in that area that weekend (04.12.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,155 ✭✭✭PopeBuckfastXVI

xia wrote: »
    As sNarah said. Hope you're still up for that walk otherwise we'll arrange something as long as you're in that area that weekend (04.12.)

Thanks a million Petra, if I can't make it maybe one of the natives could take it and I could get it off them later :)

Hoping to make the walk though!