Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Important: Check You Are Registered To Vote

• 21-11-2010 10:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭

http://www.checktheregister.ie/
    CHECK THE

REGISTER OF ELECTORS

Are You Registered to Vote? Check the Register in your local area online NOW!

Checking the Electoral Register for your area has never been easier!

City and county councils now allow you to check if you're registered to vote through the online eReg service. Simply click on the relevant link below to check the Electoral Register for your area. If your details do not appear please follow the instructions on your council's website.

Important

The draft register is published on 1st November each year by city and county councils and is made available for examination online and at post offices, public libraries, Garda stations and council offices up to 25th November. To ensure that you are correctly registered you should check the draft register during this period ever year. Any errors or omissions in the draft register should be brought to the attention of your city or county council immediately. This should be done by completing Form RFA1 - available for download here and by returning it to your city or county council before 25th November.

The final register is published on 1st February and comes into force for a year on 15th February.

It is extremely important that each and everyone of you eligible to vote in Ireland checks that they are actually registered. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

And more importantly, be sure to vote the current bunch of incompetent idiots out.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,097 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

no its not. It really really REALLY doesnt matter whos "in charge" at the next election. They won't be allowed make a single decision for themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Chuchoter

I will be 18 by July of 2011, can I register or do I have to wait until next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Hackysack

zuroph wrote: »
    no its not. It really really REALLY doesnt matter whos "in charge" at the next election. They won't be allowed make a single decision for themselves.

Yes. Let's reward the party who got us into this mess with another term in power for five years. Like they've got experience in governing, it'd be bad to change things up now sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

I will be 18 by July of 2011, can I register or do I have to wait until next year?

Unfortunately not
    Who can vote in elections and referenda?
    The type of election you can vote in depends on your citizenship.The following people are eligible to vote:

Irish citizens can vote in every election and referendum
    British citizens may vote at Dáil, European and local elections
    Other EU citizens may vote at European and local elections
    Non-EU citizens can vote at local elections only.
    To be eligible to be included on the Register of Electors, you must:

Be at least 18 years old on the day the Register comes into force (15 February)
    Have been ordinarily resident in the State on 1 September in the year preceding the coming into force of the Register.
    You are eligible for inclusion in the supplement to the Register of Electors on or after the day on which you reach 18 years of age. You can be included if this birthday falls after the closing date for applications but is on or before polling day. If you are within this category, you should accompany your application with a copy of your birth certificate.

Students living away from home while attending college have the choice of being registered at either their home address or their student residential address.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/government_in_ireland/elections_and_referenda/voting/registering_to_vote.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Hackysack wrote: »
    Yes. Let's reward the party who got us into this mess with another term in power for five years. Like they've got experience in governing, it'd be bad to change things up now sure.

Should we reward the likes of Enda Kenny for hiding and saying absolutely nothing throughout all this mess?

can we please leave the political discussion/arguing/bickering to other threads and forums, I just want everyone to be aware of the requirements necessary to vote and to double check the register to make sure they are on it correctly

Hackysack wrote: »

lets elect a team of mimes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

the only thing i've ever got out of registering to vote is being called for jury duty. :(

Random wrote: »
    the only thing i've ever got out of registering to vote is being called for jury duty. :(

I got a tv licence bill. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭bc dub

vote...meh. i really and truly couldnt put my trust in anyone who has the potential to be the next taoiseach.

bc dub doesnt vote

Random wrote: »
    zuroph wrote: »
    I got a tv licence bill. :(

thread fail? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Hope someone can help with this.

When I search my own name, I get this

http://i55.tinypic.com/vshmk0.png

Draft register? does that mean im signed up or do I have to fill out the form?

Krieg wrote: »
    Hope someone can help with this.

When I search my own name, I get this

http://i55.tinypic.com/vshmk0.png

Draft register? does that mean im signed up or do I have to fill out the form?

click on your name and it should bring you to your details, where you vote, elector number etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ravendude

Agree with the OP, its vital that we vote with our feet now and cast Fianna Fail into the hole they belog for at least a generation. The "yerra sure they're all the same" attitude is the one of the typical Fianna Failer, and lurks just behind the "sure haven't I always voted Fianna Fail" attitude in terms of cop out.

I do have some sympathy with the lack of faith in the alternative.
    So to add to the OP's appeal, I think its vital when politicians come knocking at your door to raise the issue of electoral reform.
    We have the rubbish calibre of politician we have due to our electoral system. Our consituencies are too small, hence you have the ilk of Jacky Healy Rae who are more interested in sorting out potholes, local hospitals and country town bypasses than national issues like the IMF coming to town. Many (or most some would say) of our politicians really and truly are thick, apart from a little "cuteness" and simply do not comprehend the national issues at hand. A lot of it goes over their heads.

Bigger constituencies and fewer TDs is a good start towards getting politicians to campaign on national issues not on filling potholes.
    So when they inevitably come knocking on your door, please, please make electoral reform the number 1 issue on the doorstep

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Sharkey 10

Im wondering if the next GE will have a record low turn out , everyone im tslking to say they wont vote and they are people who usually vote .
    Im undecided whether i vote . I think some people are deluded and think kenny is some sort of revolutionary (nothing coud be further from the truth) and gilmore is made in the mould of larkin . Well those people are in for a shock

Sharkey 10 wrote: »
    Im wondering if the next GE will have a record low turn out , everyone im tslking to say they wont vote and they are people who usually vote .
    Im undecided whether i vote . I think some people are deluded and think kenny is some sort of revolutionary (nothing coud be further from the truth) and gilmore is made in the mould of larkin . Well those people are in for a shock

People should always vote. Even if you view it as choosing the best of a bad bunch.
    You deserve all you get if you do not even have enough interest to do your due diligence in determining who best to vote for.

ravendude wrote: »
    People should always vote. Even if you view it as choosing the best of a bad bunch.
    You deserve all you get if you do not even have enough interest to do your due diligence in determining who best to vote for.
    what about spoiling my vote? In my constituency there will be no candidate that will have views similar to mine

put yourself forward then!

There's always a candidate that is more aligned to a political ideology than others. You will never have candidates with a perfect match of views to your own, unless you run yourself, that's life.
    Fair enough, there's no real right wing party here, if that's your thing, but you do have a spectrum of centrist to left wing.
    I'd also ask the question have you ever bothered to impress your views on any of them? Issues only come to the fore if you make them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Absurdum wrote: »

It is extremely important that each and everyone of you eligible to vote in Ireland checks that they are actually registered. Thanks.

I am glad to see everyone is finally starting to realise that the problem with this country is not those who vote....

Its actually those who dont vote...

Take my old haunting ground of Ballymun... with a 10-15% turn out in the electorate i would consider this sad.... Considering most of the coming budget cuts will hit areas like this hardest...

Its a bit like sitting in the middle of a boxing ring and getting punched around...

and these people this politicians are stupid...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭bamboozling

Would like to say that I voted in the local election 2 years ago when I was 17. The local counciller knew me to see, I was a big lad and registered me as I found out when to my shock and delight my polling card arrived a few days before the election. Anyone any experience of this?

P.s Didn't vote for the local counciller, he is Fianna Fáil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Overseas voters
    If you are an Irish citizen living abroad you cannot be entered on the Register of electors. This means that you cannot vote in an election or referendum here in Ireland. (The only exception to this is in the case of Irish officials on duty abroad (and their spouses) who may register on the postal voters list).

This bit is quite important for some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭storm2811

My mam checked earlier and it says she isn't, but she registered before, can you be taken off it or what?
    She's going into the county council tomorrow to check anyway, just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭yosemite_sam

Absurdum wrote: »

What is the point of voting for any of them, they have zero power for the next four years at least

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

What is the point of voting for any of them, they have zero power for the next four years at least

This really explains to me why the country is ****ed... Well done...

ravendude wrote: »
    There's always a candidate that is more aligned to a political ideology than others. You will never have candidates with a perfect match of views to your own, unless you run yourself, that's life.
    Fair enough, there's no real right wing party here, if that's your thing, but you do have a spectrum of centrist to left wing.
    I'd also ask the question have you ever bothered to impress your views on any of them? Issues only come to the fore if you make them.
    No i am socialist in my beliefs , in the last election i gave the sinn fein candidate my vote as he was the man that most represented my beliefs i cant remember who i gave 2 3 and 4 . The 3 big parties including labour are all hugging the center quite tightly as far as i can see , in order to have a secure base.
    This country has always been a conservative country .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Mozoltov!

whiskeyman wrote: »
    And more importantly, be sure to vote the current bunch of incompetent idiots out.

Thank you.
    So, who we voting in?

This really explains to me why the country is ****ed... Well done...

Please give me a reason why i am the reason why the country is ****ed. Btw i doubt you can.

Read it again. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

Thanks OP, never knew I was eligible.

Mozoltov! wrote: »
    Read it again. :)

Im confused and a bit drunk . What should i read again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I checked, and I wasn't on it. Then I put a d in my last name (Shiels > Shields) and lo and behold I was there. Why can't anyone spell my name right?! :mad:

Im confused and a bit drunk . What should i read again?
    I'm pretty sure the poster who quoted you and another poster was saying something along the lines of "Ah yes, these are reasons why we're all fecked, thanks a lot Government."

You should still use your vote, though. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 739 ✭✭✭flynnlives

you have until this thursday to add your name to the supplemental register.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭spudd

I'm not registered and went to fill out the form there today, but won't be able to go to my local garda station anytime soon (not living in my hometown anymore but want to be registered there)...anyone know what registration authority offices they're talking about that you can send it to instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

flynnlives wrote: »

you have until this thursday to add your name to the supplemental register.

This came up in the other thread in AH. Yes for the annual revision of the draft of register of electors it needs to be in by Thursday.

According to citizensinformation.ie you can still get on it ....
    If your name is not on the Register of Electors in February, you may still make an application to be included in a supplement to the Register on form RFA2 (pdf). You can make this application at any time, but in order to be included in the supplement used at an election, your application must be received by your local authority at least 15 days before polling day (Sundays, public holidays and Good Friday are not counted as days for this purpose).

Just so people know in case they think they have missed the date (this thurs) - they can still get their vote sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Haven't read the whole thread so might have already been answered....

The website is telling me that I'm not registered but I was before. I rang the county council and the woman told me I am still registered though.

Could it just be because a lot of people are using the website now?

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    Haven't read the whole thread so might have already been answered....

The website is telling me that I'm not registered but I was before. I rang the county council and the woman told me I am still registered though.

Could it just be because a lot of people are using the website now?
    Could be the same issue as this poster.
    Lia_lia wrote: »
    I checked, and I wasn't on it. Then I put a d in my last name (Shiels > Shields) and lo and behold I was there. Why can't anyone spell my name right?! :mad:

Mozoltov! wrote: »
    Could be the same issue as this poster.

Nope, I was on it before with the correct spelling and the woman from the coco said my name was spelled right

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    Nope, I was on it before with the correct spelling and the woman from the coco said my name was spelled right

Looks like it's a problem with the website. I can't find any of my family or neighbours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

Its very important to register if you are not registered. Im going to get slated for this generalisation but i dont care. i reckon its the older people of this country that keeps voting for FF. Its extremely important that as much young people as possible gets out and vote or FF will get in again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

The site was telling me that there no were no matches found, then I added in a 6 as my house number and lo behold, the results show up, thankfully, I'm registered.

The only thing is that the street I live on is a little strange as we don't officially use numbers due to some stupid issues with more than 1 house having the same number. So it was natural for me to not enter the house number, so be weary of this, people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,241 ✭✭✭sdanseo

I think there is one basic message in this thread, regardless of your political persuasion:

VOTE or do not complain about anything that happens in Ireland for the next five years.

Voting is a democratic right, but also a democratic duty. Abstaining may be a protest at personal level, but on national level it affects everyone.

USE YOUR VOTE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭mojesius

Neither myself nor my parents' names came up when I checked that website. Loads of people spell my surname wrong so I assumed that was the issue, but it wasn't. Phoned up local coco to check and we're all on it. (Just to save people the possible unnecessary hassle of filling in the forms, the website doesn't seem to be 100% accurate).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭Louthdrog

Dont know if its been answered already but here goes:

I turned 18 on the 17th of february 2010. Missed out on this years electorate or whatever, Does that mean ill be ineligible to vote in any january election?

If thats the case they may aswell just say the voting age is 19 because unless you were born in january, thats the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

mojesius wrote: »
    Neither myself nor my parents' names came up when I checked that website. Loads of people spell my surname wrong so I assumed that was the issue, but it wasn't. Phoned up local coco to check and we're all on it. (Just to save people the possible unnecessary hassle of filling in the forms, the website doesn't seem to be 100% accurate).

The mother said I was signed up by herself. But I am not showing up on the list. But they are ? What will I do ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,362 ✭✭✭mojesius

msg11 wrote: »
    The mother said I was signed up by herself. But I am not showing up on the list. But they are ? What will I do ?

When I submitted my details, I got a message saying 'Your details cannot be found' followed by a ph number for Fingal Coco. I called them up and they said I am definitely on the register, which I thought anyway as I've been voting for 10 years. Call your local county council, they'll tell you in 20 seconds if you're registered or not.

mojesius wrote: »
    When I submitted my details, I got a message saying 'Your details cannot be found' followed by a ph number for Fingal Coco. I called them up and they said I am definitely on the register, which I thought anyway as I've been voting for 10 years. Call your local county council, they'll tell you in 20 seconds if you're registered or not.

Mine was Fingal too so looks like it's their problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

My details were recognised, so I presume that means I'm registered on the register.
    I'm gonna vote the **** out of Fianna Fail, scummy *****.